Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Riviera Maya reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

Gran Porto Real Resort

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 16, 2014

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya  

Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez | Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico

"Awesome staff.....good location"
Posted by: Jo Anne  on Jan 30, 2012
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Reviews
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#19
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.1

Based on 7 reviews

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Information


An exclusive getaway with the highest standards of quality, to enjoy a relaxed, chill out atmosphere. Enjoy the ambiance of candlelight dinners or relax to the sound of the ocean waves as you take a gastronomical stroll through the ample supply of restaurants and bars that offer a variety of flavors from the Sushi to the gourmet offerings of the new Mexican kitchen.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Reviews

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 3.1 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  1
Average
  4
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 7 of 7

"Awesome staff.....good location"

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jo Anne  on Jan 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
184 people found this review helpful

Just returned from a two-week vacation (jan 13-27, incl).... rooms were good or adequate....I use the room to sleep and that I did, comfortably. Even the cheapest room (which is where I stayed) was just 7 minute walk from the beach! Had huge walk-in shower, which I really enjoyed.

Meals were superb. From the daily buffets to the a la cartes. Staff always eager to please. VERY FRIENDLY.

Excellent beach with excellent snorkeling right in front of complex! Nice walk north and south of the resort.

Enjoyed Tulum and Chichen Itza. Highly recommend Xcaret.....be sure to spend the whole day. We did the day trip without the meal and that was just fine. We ate at a nearby restaurant which cost about $10 plus $14 for a one litre bottle of Corona to share. Take extra batteries or ration your photos as the evening show is awesome!


Small resort with a country feel to it. I will gladly return.


Room Number:
1307

Room Block:
BASH

Arrival:
Jan 14, 2012

Rooms:
Clean. Well equipped.

Restaurants and Bars:
Clean. wonderful service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean. well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
plenty. Get moving. LOL

Other Comments:
If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday, this is the place to go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst Vacation Ever"

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rachael  on Jun 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
235 people found this review helpful

This resort is not a four star and should be shut down.
Our power went out multiple times throughout.
Our water went out multiple times throughout.
Our hot water wasnt working.
We couldnt get water anywhere... They sent us on a wild goose chase to get it.
There are no do not disturb signs and they woke us up on several occasions (no pen or paper pad advertising resort in room)
There is no entertainment.
The staff is lazy and rude and begged for tips for doing nothing.
The equipment sucked (gym, beach, tennis).
The food was cold, uncooked and unedible.
They do not serve you water or coffee without having to ask every time.
Spa was not open.
The el au carte was just as bad as the rest of the food.
There is no air conditioning anywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In plus 38 it is a must.
Only one bar was open at a time and often a long wait.
Our sunwing representative did not know we were there and only by chance we spoke to another representative... Otherwise we would have had no ride back to the airport (never fly sunwing).
When we called sunwing to complain they said we had to send an email to complain... There is no one to speak with to voice concerns. Then they said that they would forward it to the hotel and to wait 3 weeks for them to get back to us.

This was the worst vacation and value you could possibly get for your money.
There is no air conditioning anywhere! The hotel is a old heap of junk. The lobby has no air conditioning, our rooms air conditioning was broken (and the other people we talked to had none either), and the gym has no air conditioning (not possible in 38 degrees).
The staff are not helpful and very rude (especially at the front desk).
The mini bar was empty upon arrival and didn't keep 2 bottles of water cold (luke warm).
We were not allowed more than 2 bottles of water a day... And sometimes the water guy didn't even come. No room service is available. In fact... We had to pay $4/day extra for the safe and key and they forgot to give us the key and would not bring it up 3 flights of stairs to our room. The safe is old school and difficult to open (not electronic like most 4 star all inclusives).
The food was terrible... Often cold and uncooked (the burgers were red in the center).
Everyone was begging for tips... We went to the gift shop and the woman wanted a tip just for buying a pack of cigarettes.
The snorkeling equipment and tennis equipment was falling apart. The snorkels do not have a valve to drain and the flippers are so overused they are limp, not stiff like they should be to swim.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big Disappointment"

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty  on May 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
245 people found this review helpful

Second time to Mexico ...thought I had a deal...no deal. Had been re-opened under a new name and they were not fully stafffed. Most services not up and running and those that were were only half, Generally, very disorganized, even the a la carte restaurants. Would have been a long week if not for meeting some great new friends...... and the beach was very nice

Arrival:
Apr 19, 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great stay, but last stay... not 4.5 stars."

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Becky  on Apr 5, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
258 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week's vacation. I enjoyed my stay very much. However, having experienced a 5-star resort, I was a "little" disappointed that Be Live Grand Riviera Maya is rated 4.5. I would personally rate it 3.5-4.0 depending on which part of the resort you're considering.

We did have a wonderful vacation at this resort, but I do this it's overrated and the reviews aren't just all made up for this one. Decent, but not up to the expecations of a 4.5 star resort. We are glad we went, but wouldn't go back to Be Live in the future.

I love south, so south is always amazing... but for the price, it was just "good".

Room Number:
3204

Arrival:
The bus ride was a bit of a hassle being the last stop on the list, and having to travel 1.5-2 hours after already spending 5 on the plane. In my opinion, I do think it's unorganized and is suffering from the switch from the Oasis name. The map is a small black and white one that is very hard to read until you are more familiar with the location and can figure out what is what. A clear understanding of hotel facilities and locations should always be provided, especially in the room or at the front desk upon check-in. We had no idea where to go without exploring first.

Rooms:
Our room was always clean... IRMA rocked! We tipped her well and she never disappointed us. The rooms however were a little older, paint peeling quite a bit off the bottom of the tub and adjusting the water temperature was a pain at times... either too hot or not warm enough. We didn't have an alarm clock. The remote to our tv was missing, but the trip was for more than watching tv. We didn't touch the phone. Other guests were charged for attempting to make collect calls and there are no instructions for usage or how to contact the front desk if you needed anything.

Restaurants and Bars:
Supper hour was NOT fun to wait for. Hamburgers/hotdogs/sushi were served by the beach during the afternoon, but unless you had that, you always had to wait until at least 6:30 to eat that night. I was always hungry by 5 and there was nothing to snack on. If I had children, this would have bothered me much more to have kids wanting to eat. There was no food served late in the evening (I believe the last seating at certain restaurants was at 8:30), but the buffet would be closed and room service wasn't available at all. The food was pretty good though.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What bothered us most was the lack of pool chairs... we didn't have a problem laying out at the beach, but only one day during the week did we actually get to lay out by the pool with the swim-up bar (after laying our towels on a chair when we woke momentarily at 4:30 am!). By 7am when we normally awoke, they were always gone. There is plenty of space... but they need way more chairs!!!!!

The pool and the beach area were AMAZING! Water was so warm. The beach was conveniently located near the lobby and the buffet and the pool near our room. We went to a couple of the restaurants at the resort and were happy with them. But make sure to be there early enough because others had to wait to get in for the next seating.

Peacocks everywhere... lots of photo opportunities! Beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Water aerobics is fun!

Lots of excursions available... we went on the Mayan Adventure (snorkelling) to Akumal and also to Playa del Carmen for the Party Hopper. I'm not a big drinker... but COCO BONGO and the experience at that club is worth going! Shows imitating Michael Jackson, Moulin Rouge, acrobatic-type performances in the air... Lots of people, drinks, and the best entertainment we've ever had!

Other Comments:
Gift shop was the worst I've seen. Very small, hardly anything. Most decent shirts were in the largest of sizes. My husband purchased some souvenirs, including a hat and t-shirt set for himself. It was wrapped together and from the section for his size. I noticed the size was incorrect & too small, so he immediately took it back (still unopened as he had just bought it). The lady refused to let him have his correct size and kept telling him "NO ES POSSIBLE". It was the exact same thing! We were very disgusted with the attitudes from this and bought nothing else afterwards. The front desk apparently couldn't do anything about it as the gift shop is separate from the management of the resort.

Other staff... servers/bartenders.... FANTASTIC. Always pleasant and going out of their way for you.

Convenient for bus pickup (30 pesos/person) to travel 40 minutes to Playa del Carmen where there is a TON of shopping! Definitely recommend doing this if you want to shop. It's simple and inexpensive. Gorgeous area on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice, but not 4.5 * as advertised"

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alica  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
261 people found this review helpful

This was our first Mexican vacation, so I can only compare with Cuban resorts.
Flight was smooth, plane full, got through customs without problems, found the connecting bus easily.
The resort is 90 km from the airport, but the ride took over 2 hours - stopping in other resorts on the way unloading passengers.

Resort was nicely maintained with lots of flowering shrubs, palms and other vegetation. Peacocks wander through the grounds, but they are not distracting, just another interesting thing to look at.

We traveled through SunWing - they advertise that the resort has internet - without the $ sign, so we assumed it's included - but it wasn't so. Internet was available for a fee and only in the lobby. Also the hammocks they advertise are un-frequent, probably one of 5 rooms had a hammock.

Arrival:
We arrived shortly after noon. Check in is supposed to be at 3pm, but they gave us a room sooner - maybe half an hour after we arrived - there was a bit of confusion, but it was resolved eventually.

Rooms:
The rooms were the biggest dissapointment - going to 4.5* resort you expect something more - furniture was old and wobbly, missing handles on drawers, rusty, noisy AC, mini fridge worked just barely, the patio door didn't lock. Found a bug or 2 during our stay. They fixed the door lock , stock our fridge and supplied towels the same day, but it took several reminders - "Right away" obviously doesn't have the same meaning everywhere ;)
Room was cleaned daily, they also changed the sheets and towels - no complaints here ;)

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was wonderful, maybe too good for our own good. The buffet had so much variety, we didn't feel the need to go to the a la carte restaurants. With 2 kids the buffet was much more convenient.
The bars were nice too, waiters friendly and fast.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were cleaned daily, beaches too. We had the red flag on the beach during our whole stay, but the ocean was warm and kids had fun playing in the waves.

Other Comments:
no kids playground or kids club.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ok stay - not as good as expected"

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debby  on Mar 20, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
286 people found this review helpful

Pretty location, nice beach, clean rooms and overall hard-working staff. Quiet, maybe a little too quiet. Food ok, but not as varied as other 4 and 5 star all inclusives. There is little evening entertainment and there is not enough staff to address all guest needs. There are also issues with water pressure at certain times of the day (when the demand is high).

Room Number:
2111

Arrival:
Acceptable - required to wait but were able to leave luggage in a secure place.

Rooms:
Very confortable. Old televisions. Clean. Issues with water pressure during high demand times. Pretty view of the sea.

Restaurants and Bars:
A la carte restaurants do not require reservations - if not at the door at opening, just don't count on getting in. Food at the Asian A la Carte was good. The Italian one was not great. Only 3 of 4 open in a given evening.

The buffet is good. Often the lunch buffet was better than the evening buffet. AT lunch there is always a BBQ with hot dogs and hot dogs on the grill. The suchi bar is good.

Bar are ok but have seen better at other all inclusives. The staff, however, were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice and clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do. Suggest visiting any of the Mayan ruins. Very interesting and informative.

Other Comments:
Had a great holiday but would likely stay elsewhere unless improvements made (water pressure, additional staff, more varied food including more sea food)a

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Breathtaking beauty, private beach, great service!"

Be Live Grand Riviera Maya
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chelsea  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
328 people found this review helpful

A group of 28 of us went down for a friends wedding, and it was absolutely magnificent! My mom and I had stayed at the Oasis Cancun last year and was not impressed so had low expectations, but it blew them all away! The only downside was that with a big group the rooms were sometimes a bit far about, but otherwise it was amazing! Super friendly staff, great food selection (including awesome fresh fish sushi!), fast bar service (although not the best wine), gorgeous beach, clean rooms, variety of pools (4 or 5), and a private reef! So many sun-tanning options, with a full resort we still didn't have a problem getting lounge chairs! Daily and nightly entertainment, nice and private resort yet close enough to Tulum, Playa del Carmen, and Akumal (1 hrs walk), tons of day-trip options! Words just cannot do it full justice, but I would definitely go there again and recommend it to friends.

Your Arrival:
Quick and easy, but would recommend that if you have lots of luggage or heavy luggage ask at the front desk for help as there are stairs and they don't always offer right away.

Rooms:
While they can be a bit spread out if you're with a large group, our room was large with a gorgeous patio (that happened to be the night perch of 3 peacocks). Nice shower, although tub was chipped (as expected in Mexico), but large closet and mini fridge was restocked daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great choices, including revolving menus at the large buffet with fresh fruit juices in the morning. Fresh tuna sushi at the patio bar at lunch, the restaurant that takes reservations inside is amazing! Bars are everywhere with creative servers, including a poolside smoothie bar (great for kids). Make sure to check out the rooftop bar, especially at night. Only downside is that for several hours each day, the only food available is on the patio and it takes a very long time, so would recommend stocking up on snacks when in town (gift shop also sells some).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
So many pools! It took us awhile to find them all, but it was well worth it. Only a few lounge chairs on the beach have cushions, but there were more than enough chairs to go around. We could always find a chair in the afternoon, either on the beach or next to a pool. Amazing beach! Private reef at your toes, with tons of fish and free snorkeling equipment to check it all out. Strong tide though. We also walked by a soccer pitch and a very small golfing green. Tons of peacocks and lizards and bright coloured flowers, gorgeous everywhere!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Free snorkeling, kayaking, and windsurfing at a hut on the beach, scuba-diving for a price including lessons/certifications. Fishing boats are cheap and right on the beach too. Beach activities and dance lessons every day, and something going on every night too. Close to turtles in Akumal, catamaran in Puerto Aventuras, Tulum Mayan ruins, lazul factory nearby, shopping/nightlife in Playa del Carmen about 40 min. drive away but super easy to catch the local bus at the edge of the resort.

Other Comments:
Get to know the staff! Once we got to know the entertainment/sports staff, they would always come to find us to let us know if something was about to begin. Biggest suggestion is that if the front-desk staff don't seem to be understanding you, go ask the Concierge. I ended up just always going to them first, since they knew all the tips and tricks and spoke English wonderfully! They can also help you contact tour companies without the resort or your travel company getting a commission.

Wedding:
We were there for a friend's wedding, and it was absolutely gorgeous! They had it all planned, including the minister and flowers, and even brought in someone to do the bride's hair since the spa/salon didn't have a hairdresser. It was right on the beach, and they had champagne for us, security guards to keep away people including in the water, and held a private reception for no extra charge (the no extra charges became the group's motto and was not hard to live by!). Would recommend bringing your own photographer though as theirs can get pricey (my mom did theirs). Beautiful wedding overall!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube