Gran Melia Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Gran Melia Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Royal Solaris Caribe

4.5 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Gran Melia Cancun  

Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Whame in Gran Melia Cancun."
Posted by: leonardito  on Apr 16, 2012
see all reviews

Gran Melia Cancun Reviews
Gran Melia Cancun Pictures and Information
Gran Melia Cancun Cancun Mexico

#22
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.7

Based on 3 reviews

Gran Melia Cancun Information


Gran Meliá Cancún is just 15 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and 5 minutes from the city's most popular areas for shopping, dining and nightlife.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gran Melia Cancun Reviews

Gran Melia Cancun Review: 3.7 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 3 of 3

"Whame in Gran Melia Cancun."

Gran Melia Cancun
User Rating:  Gran Melia Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Apr 16, 2012  >  18 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
131 people found this review helpful

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at the beautiful hotel Grand Melia Cancun It is located only 25 minutes from the

airport. The Gran Melia Cancun is a very large resort and is divided into different sections. Once entering the

resort, you will be pleasantly surrounded by vines hanging down and lovely ponds where you can observe some happy and

liveley fish swimming in a clean environment. The lounge area had a lot of seating and was very relaxing. The hotel

was immaculately clean at all the times. As for the staff, they are simply the best. They really all work hard and

are always pleasant and helpful with the guest.

Thanks to Rolf and his A-Team, the Hotel has a very high standard of service and organisation.
The restaurants were fantastic. We were especially impressed with the quality of the food. The wait staff were always

checking with us to see if we needed something. The food was simply delicious in all the a la carte restaurants and

also in the buffet. Also one of our favorite was Tempo. It is adult only and located on the ground floor of the

main pyramid and serves contemporary Mediterranean dishes. You will find nothing less than 4 AAA Diamonds

gastronomie. The Ku-Nah Mexican restaurant was also very pleasant with a good choice of menu. Carlos, the F&B

manager, and who is in charge of making sure you gain 10 lbs,during your vacation did a good job of it.

The beach in front of the hotel is one of the best from resorts in Cancun. Swimming was great and the turquoise

color of the ocean is unbelievable. The pools were very pleasant and the main one had a swim-up bar. They were

always clean and inviting.

Our suite was an Ocean Front on the 8th floor, tower 3. What a view from our terrace we had. It was a large and

confortable suite. The housekeeping staff gave us an excellent service.

This vacation was one of the best ones we have had, and if we have a chance to return we will.

If you are looking for relaxation, with good food and drinks, beautiful beach and pool, great service, and management

who cares, this is the place to be.

Room Number:
3803

Room Block:
3

Photos: http://leonardito.com/grmecc1203n/grmecc1203.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WARNING - not an all inclusive resort, nice hotel"

Gran Melia Cancun
User Rating:  Gran Melia Cancun Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  ian  on Jan 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
132 people found this review helpful

We were all looking forward to the resort (9 of us) that we had read about and seen on the web sites. Beautiful resort but so disappointing. The outdoor bars open 10-5 (2) and one inside open 6-11. No entertainment, the place closes down at 11, and I mean closes down at 11. lights in lobby turned off, and no one at front desk. Any type of entertainment you must leave the resort and pay for.
We attended as an all inclusive, but had to sign off on every thing . The al a cartes were booked solid, got in the last two days we were there. One buffet restuarant inside and a smaller reduced buffet outside during the day 12-4.
Stayed over news years. thought would be great party. Boy were we wrong. A party was available for a price, $230 american per person. We ended up at the bar that they kept open to 1130 on newyears? and had last call to get you to newyears!!!!!!
Made us check out at 12pm, remove are all inclusive band. Our pick up was not until 630pm. If you wanted food or drinks between this time YOU payed. Had to beg for a room for 3 hrs between 12-3 ( we had 9 of in the party). Tried charging us for stuff we didnt take. They gave us a lunch voucher to eat between this time.
I have never been to a chincy place like this. Not even 3 star Cuban resorts are this cheap.
Have been to Cancun 5 times, and seen other reviews that say how great this place is... If your 55+ this is place is for you. otherwise STAY AWAY .. go to a three star and have some fun...
We will be contacting Thomas Cooke travel to let them know that this place is not as advertised.

Arrival:
arrived late. checked in ok

Rooms:
Rooms were very nice, clean and nice views

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet good. outdoor buffet limited.
bar open till 11?

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
cancun. always rough strong undertoe. I like it but not that safe for kids

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nothing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just ok, not a five star."

Gran Melia Cancun
User Rating:  Gran Melia Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Al_Canada  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
194 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Apr 10 - 17
Sunquest Tour/Air Transat..ok, except for usual sales pitch @ airport, inside hotel lobby

Rooms
..just ok..not a 5 star - oceanview but only if you stood up - concrete on both sides - felt like you were enclosed in it..do not use the mini bar unless you want a big bill upon leaving..they charged us for water & sodas even though it was all inclusive..we had to fight with them to take it off our bill - bathroom dark & dingy ..needs makeover

Restaurants and Bars
food ok..a la carte good but could not get in to 1 of them...so we ate off the resort a few times

Beach/Pools/Grounds
sooo windy, could not use the beach for walking for 7 days..could not swim for 7 days..no beach left cuz of hurricane ravaged coastline..sales people on beach selling other properties...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
no shows!!..singer (a man & a woman another nite in the piano bar) spa, expensive..gym..did not go on tours..too windy to take ferries...took buses to town & shopping a few times cuz we were bored..

Other Comments
not a great value for your money - no better than a 3 1/2 or 4 star that we've stayed in - not good for people who cannot walk a lot..everything far and lots of steps..(60 of them if you went off the resort to return to the lobby) Only impressive part was the lobby..internet was free if you logged off everytime you use it..all in all not impressed with resort, cancun(our 4th time) and Mexico..will go elsewhere next time

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube