Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral  

SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico

"Great hotel!!!"
Posted by: Nicole on Feb 24, 2014
see all reviews

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Reviews
Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Pictures and Information
Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Mayan Riviera Mexico

#3
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.7

Based on 19 reviews

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Information


All Inclusive Resort, Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya Overview:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa by H10 is a new all-inclusive resort complex located directly on the beach in Puerto Morelos, just 20 minutes from the Cancun Airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Reviews

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 3.7 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (17)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 19

"Terrible hotel - jewelry stolen"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emily  on Jul 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

This hotel is in a nice setting but poorly managed with inconsistent service and terrible food. We upgraded to the Privileges club so we could simply get into the theme restaurants, but the food there was bad as well. My jewelry was stolen from our room with in hours of arrival. The hotel Privileges manager offered no apology, no compensation, refused to call the police and refused to provide a copy of the security report. Overall, very rude and accusatory of me ("we can't prove your jewelry was taken"). This is a badly run resort. We saw many families mislead and lied to re: getting into the theme restaurants. The hotel obviously wants guests to eat in the buffet - very very cheap, unappealing food.

Room Number:
703

Arrival:
06/30/11

Rooms:
Damp and moldy - especially the draperies.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet and lunch meals - cheap and poor quality. Theme restaurants not much better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice; Privelege upgrade allowed us to use the beach and pool that were not noisy and were not crowded. However, the lunch food was terrible.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tried the aqua aerobics - young Mexican guy who had no clue.

Other Comments:
Very poorly run resort that is no bargain

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware! They will try to charge you $55 to wash your sheets!"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kirstine  on Jun 21, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
111 people found this review helpful

I am not picky.. have been on cruises (RC, Carnival, Costa) and loved them all. I've also stayed at all inclusives.. RIU and Sandals resorts and had no complaints. My husband and I are in our 30s & are easy to please. However, something disturbing happened on this trip. We went for my husband's bday. We liked the resort and thought the food was good. However, my husband got sick on this trip. We aren't sure if it was from brushing his teeth with the tap water, but he got sick. He laid down and I had a trash can next to the bed. He threw up and a little sprayed on the sheet (I am talking maybe a teaspoon of throw up). Our maid was slow about coming so I decided to call. They were nice and the maid came and cleaned the room. My husband laid back down and about 30 mins later a man knocked on our door. I thought he was coming to check on my husband,but instead he told my husband that when he felt better he needed to go to guest services to pay for the sheets. My husband was still sick, he didn't want to argue and just kinda just stood there in disbelief. Do they not have washing machines? I would have happily just scrubbed it with a wash cloth if I knew what would transpire. We decided we didn't want to ruin our trip and argue & hoped they would come to their senses.The day came to check out..the lady at the front desk said we owed $55. My husband said "am I buying a new sheet? She said "No, you are NOT buying a new sheet, that is the price to clean it". Remember this is a white sheet that can be thrown in a washer in hot water, detergent and bleach. My husband said to her "can we have the sheet please, we will take it to the laundromat, $55 is absurd to clean a sheet" She refused saying "You will not leave this resort until you pay the $55". He said there was no way he was going to pay so she said "well you aren't leaving this resort without paying" My husband said "well I guess I'll be staying here another night, because I am not paying" Her reply was "you can sleep in the lobby and she pointed at the couches" Any way they can squeeze money out of you, they will. I heard someone break a glass and thought "oh, lord that is going to cost them a small fortune." We tried to leave the resort without paying the fee, but they held our luggage hostage and would not give it to us or issue us this ticket that you HAVE to have to get off the resort, so basically we were prisoners at their mercy...pay the money or lose your luggage and never leave the resort. I am not picky at all and had planned on bringing my kids back to this resort but after this...I will never go back. We spent thousands of dollars on this trip and they can't wash a sheet? Hope they enjoy that $55 and maybe a Maytag representative can visit the resort :) Since I got back, I've read abt other shady stuff they have done. Beware!

Room Number:
17202

Room Block:
17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a resort to get away from kids"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robyn  on Mar 17, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
140 people found this review helpful

Dark gloomy rooms, water down drinks not enough servers to give you your watered down drinks. Even the wine is watered down. Not enough chairs people fighting over them all the time. Drug dealers on the beach. Not enough restrooms outside for a hotel with over 500 rooms. Management is RUDE! Privileged program is over the top disrespectful to guest that did want to pay a extra 1500. USD. Shuttle service once a day. Overall food is OK but not a 5 * resort at best 3-3.5

Room Number:
10106

Arrival:
March 3 - 13, 2013

Rooms:
Big, dark, smelly great balcony (cant see beach from bottom floor and some of the 2nd floor)

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet better than most. Sushi & Mexican very good. The rest bad route 66 is the worst!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean but not enough chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excelent

Other Comments:
The road in is full of potholes very rough ride to this at the most 3.5 * resort! Family resort there are much better for LESS.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT Stay here!"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tim  on Jan 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
213 people found this review helpful

Having previously stayed at the Royal in Cancun and the Moon Palace, perhaps we had our standards set fairly high. We paid for the 'privileged' area of the hotel. What a complete joke, except it's not funny. Where to begin? Let's just call it an awful 10 days.

Room Number:
7314

Room Block:
"Privilege Area"

Arrival:
The Bad (all VERY BAD):
Moldy 'privilege' room. Their solution: sent in a dehumidifier.
Ocean View? Yes, if you step out on the balcony and lean over, there it is.
Mini-Bar? Yes, stocked with the same things every day even though we made specific requests and even tipped. We don't drink sugary drinks.
Pools? ICE COLD! Not heated at all. You know it's bad when there are probably 100 people around a pool and only two will get in the water.
Rain Shower on balcony? Yes, but NO privacy (and I'm no prude).
Jacuzzi on balcony? Yes, took three hours to fill. No exaggeration.
Safe in room? Yes, the kind they made back in the 1950's with a keyed lock ($80 deposit).

Rooms:
Internet in room? Yes, but bring your own Ethernet cable ($25 deposit)
Beds? The absolute worst. Woke up with bedbug bites all over us. Switched rooms (after much fuss), and the other room was bedbug-free.
Food? The absolute worst of any all-inclusive we have ever seen. Want a real cut of steak or lobster? $40 up-charge. Decent glass of wine? Forget about it.
Privilege Pool: no bar service, pool is not private as indicated, food at the 'snack bar' was awful. The guacamole came out of large frozen bags. They didn't even try to hide the fact. The bags were on a cart thawing out every morning. Every day it was set up as if there were burgers, as in bowls of lettuce, tomatoes, onions, etc. Only once was there any use for those items. Cheese for the 'nachos' - straight from a can.
"Nosy Rosie" (the nickname she gave herself) turned what was supposed to be a 90 minute timeshare presentation into three hours of hell - with Nosy Rosy getting nastier and nastier with every Mimosa she drank along the way.
The rooms were decorated similar to a Motel 6 or Super 8. Beyond tacky and way beyond cheap. If they spent half as much time on the rooms as they do on the grounds.

Restaurants and Bars:
This was ten days of pure hell made worse by the fact that absolutely no one cared.

Oh! I almost forgot about room service! Three items to choose from for lunch or dinner - none of them appetizing, and they will not bring soft drinks or alcohol because of the mini-bar in the room.

By the way, the ONLY beer this hotel serves on tap is Corona. The only other beer they have (and you have to be in the 'privilege' area to get it) is Modelo in a can. Seriously.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

I really cannot encourage you enough to stay away from this place. We made our displeasure known to everyone - and, sure enough, everyone in the 'privilege' area had the exact same negative experiences. This place is beyond terrible. It is awful on every level. For the same money, you can stay at any Palace or the Royal and be treated with respect, not bullied around, have better than average food, no bedbugs, heated pools, (and in the case of the Royal, even steam showers in every room.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The 'free shuttle' to Cancun is a load of bull. You are only allowed to go to the shops that have arrangements with the hotel. Rent a taxi ($35 each way) if you really want to go into town - otherwise you will spend eight hours trapped in tourist trap hell.

Other Comments:
Used Bookit.com and will absolutely never do so again. We realized the hotel was not as promised on our second day. It is impossible to get through to Bookit.com for any assistance. I ended up with an enormous phone bill only to be placed on hold after hold after hold.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Shark bite"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Mar 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
297 people found this review helpful

Do not go to this hotel... A friend was bitten in the ankle by a shark and lost part of his foot and the hotel was less yes less then willing to assist with anything.  They did not even ask about his condition..they are trying to downplay this incident stating it's not hat bad but he lost his right ankle... They will not assist with anything... And don't give a crap about their guests. Never again will I have anything to do with this hotel or it's affiliates.

Room Number:
14407

Arrival:
Saturday the 19th of march

Rooms:
Suck

Restaurants and Bars:
Reservations are needed and they are only given to the up grated rooms... So others have to sit and wait while the rest of the open tables become available because the staff is too lazy to let anyone in just to make it look important...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Sharks... Be very careful especially if you have kids

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4 1/2 or 5 star property as they claim it to be"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Jul 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
280 people found this review helpful

We are in our 40's, traveled to the Mayan many times before and have stayed at 5 (Royal Playa Del Carmen) star and 4 1/2 stars (Bahia Prin. Akulmal; Barcelo Resorts), and several others.

We traveled with our 10 year old grand-daughgter, and another family with a 10 year old and a 15 year old.

This hotel is two mirrored properties (Turq. and the Coral), which share everything. The Turq. is the newer of the two. Both are are in desperate need of an update. The hotel offers a privlege upgrade (double the cost and definately not worth the money) as the only thing you recieve different is you get into the restaurants faster and you get a tub and shower on your balcony (no privacy, so anyone walking by or in the room next to you can see you).

The location of the hotel was not great. It was nice being close to the airport but to get a taxi or a bus was rediculous and vey expensive. We were so off of the main road that you could not walk it.

Arrival:
Arrival was a bit odd. When we arrived, there were tables lined up in the lobby with two people standing behind them. They asked for our hotel vouchers and handed us envelopes with our room keys and towel cards. There was no opportunity to request a room change or upgrade.

Rooms:
As we were travelling with another family, we had asked that our rooms be close to each other. We were in two buildings away from them. Also, we were given a king size bed, which meant that the 3 of us had to sleep in one bed. We asked to be moved and got the same ole story that they had no rooms. However, after some persuasion, we were moved to the room next to the our friends. This room also had a king size bed and apparently was the ONLY room left in the hotel.

The rooms were a good size. No drawers to put away your clothes and not enough hangers so we all lived out of our suitcase. Made it easy for packing when leaving but certainly not convenient for the week. The room also had a good size balcony with 2 chairs and a small talbe. Our partical ocean view faced the ocean but the view was partically obstructed because of the man made jungle between our room and the pool/beach. Not sure why any hotel would do this as it only makes the moquitos and bug situation worse.

The beds were very low to the ground and VERY hard and VERY wet from the extreme humidity in the rooms. There was a pullout couch that I would not let my dog sleep on. It was as sturdy and thin as a wet kleenex. rooms were very moldy smelling, dark and in need of an upgrade. I purchased a can of lysol while in Playa Del Carmen, which worked for a few minutes and then the mold smell was back. The pillows on the bed were full of black mold. Requested new pillows, which were delivered immediately. The AC worked fine. The fridge worked just ok. Our fridge was replaced the day before we left. Not sure why, because we did not complain or request this. The fridge was NEVER restocked. The shower and toilet were seperated into glass cubicles. The bathtub was in open view. No privacy. Our shower flooded the room each time we used it, making walking in the room very dangerous. There were what appeared to be security eyes (one on the bathroom and one looking onto the bed). We have seen these at other hotels, however they served a purpose. The Royal Playa Del Carmen used them as motion sensors to control the AC in the rooms. The ones at the Ocean Turq. appeared to serve no purpose and one has to wonder what they were there for. We found it very strange that several hours after dinner one evening we were approached by a staff member while we were nestled in a corner in the resorts huge lobby. They knew me by name and room number. I found that to very strange. How did they know who I was and where I was? What are these little camera's monitoring?

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good HOWEVER, the no reservation thing is terrible. In order to get into one of the 4 al la cartes, you must attend the restaraunt when it opens, give them your name, wait for 3 hours for a table (not leaving the area - nowhere to sit by the way or get a drink). Then once inside, you wait another hour before you eat. Can you imagine doing this with small hungry and tired children? Not a good experience. The Japanese rest. was ok. We enjoyed the italian, mexican and the steak and seafood (note, you have to pay extra for lobster and better quality steaks at the steak and seafood one).

The buffet was good. Cooks and servers were very nice and accomodating. We found that if you tipped first you recieved better service.

The bars were another story. If you are not spansih or from italy (we are italian, but from Canada), you will not get served or will have to wait forever to get served. This was the case at the pool bar. It was so bad that we ended up going into the hotel lobby to be served. The hotel lobby had good service during the evenings. During the day, the service around the pool and beach were nil, unless you were in the privledge section.

Another complaint shared by many was the beach buffet. You had to be completely dried and covered to enter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Had 4 pools, visited all 4. Pools ok, clean most of the days. Some pools have missing tiles. Temp. was nice in all 4. Only one of the pools had a bar. Only one of the pools had an eating area close by. It was an open area with lots of birds flying around. Not great if you don't like birds.

The beach was long, had powdery white sand BUT the ocean and shoreline was full of seaweed. It was more like millions and millions of little sticks. Apparently the beach is always like this because of the coral reef. My daughter stayed as the hotel next door (5 star Paradisus) two years ago and her only compaint was the beach.

Towel cards are also a pain. For one, the towel station is located at the Coral side and you can only change your towel once a day. If you lost the towel or if it was stolen from you, you were charged $35. The towels, longe chairs, umberellas etc... were old and run down.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The evening shows were held indoors in a smal theatre in the coral section of the hotel that accomodates approx. 200 guests. Never enough seating as the resort has over 1000 guests. Very crowded and hot. Only stayed for part of one show.

The pool bar offered dancing in the evenings before and after the shows. Again, not enough seating. This was apparently their version of a disco.

As for daytime activities, not great. We made our own fun.

Other Comments:
If if wasn't for the great company we had with us on this trip, the decent food, and wonderful weather, we would have been very depressed. This resort is jut ok. We would not stay here again because we have experienced other places in the Mayan that are true 5 and 4 1/2 star properties.

There were just too many unhappy guests and some strange things happening here. From a honeymoon couple having their wedding bans stolen while they slept to being made to feel like low lifes if you were not a "privledged" guest. We did not experience the same friendly and superb service that we are use to.

I would be happy to answer any questions at cta-associates@cogeco.ca

Teresa

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Place, but not much Night Life on the Resort"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Albert  on May 25, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
238 people found this review helpful

I have been looking at going to this resort since they opened up. The resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach, unlike most of the Riviera Maya area. There is a sandy beach and you can walk quite away.

We got to our rooms, unpacked and went directly to the beach. We used the Privilege Beach everyday of our vacation as well as had breakfast in the Privilege Office. When the wind picked up at the beach late in the day, we would move up to the pool area. We ate lunch at this pool area everyday. We made all of our reservations the first day at the Privilege Office. The reason it was worth the upgrade is as follows: Reservations at the restaurants, Special top shelf liquor, newspaper and internet access. Definitely worth the $25 per day cost.

We also had a guy Edwardo at the Private Beach who made sure we had plenty of cold water and cold drinks everyday.

Believe me, if you want to eat fine meals, lay at the beach all day, get great drinks and be in bed by 10, this is the perfect spot. If you want to have fun stay up late and dance, this is not the place you want to go. I have never looked at what the entertainment is at any resort I have gone to for the past 12 years, there is always something happening. I will look a little closer after this trip. Their entertainment troop had shows, but they were in an enclosed theater and it was loud and very warm.

Room Number:
1806

Room Block:
1800

Arrival:
I went with my girlfriend and her sister. Before I got to the resort, I requested to be upgraded to Privilege Status via email. Somehow this was not arranged. Not a problem they took care of it and moved me to room 1806 and I requested that they assign the girls a room near by. They got room 1808. Both of them upgraded to Privilege also.

Rooms:
We got to our rooms, unpacked and went directly to the beach. We used the Privilege Beach everyday of our vacation as well as had breakfast in the Privilege Office.

The girls had cockroaches in their room at three days. They finally requested that the hotel get rid of them. I understand that with the humidity, this is normal, but I never saw or had one in my room two doors away. They had two different TV remotes, but they never did get one to work.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at Villa Marina for Lunch everyday. Biggest problem was the birds coming into the area and taking stuff off your plate. We ate at the
Main Buffet Restaurant a few times and the food was great. I was never disappointed in the offerings. We ate at the Sensai and ate at the ala carte tables. We ate at Ritratto d'Italia restaurant. This was probably one of the best dinners we had. Never got to go to The Score. It wasn't open the night we had available. We ate at Los Girasole the night the hotel chain big shots were there and had the manager of the restaurant serving us. I was not disappointed in any of our meals, the service or the atmosphere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We used the Privilege Beach everyday of our vacation as well as had breakfast in the Privilege Office. When the wind picked up at the beach late in the day, we would move up to the pool area. I walked the beach as far north as I could and then headed south and went about 2 miles. This was one of the best beaches I have ever seen. They had a tractor picking up seaweed that washed up on the shore many times during the day. The waterfront is mostly sand with a few large rocks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Now after a day at the beach, we would go to the room shower and dress for dinner about 5:30. We stopped at the beach bar for a cocktail and then go to eat. After dinner, we would end up at the lobby bar for a drink. There wasn't much going on in the entire resort. They had the same old vendors most resorts have on certain nights. They offered a violinist a couple nights (that would have put us to sleep quickly). They had a DJ a couple nights at the pool bar, but there really isn't much seating area and it never lasted more than an hour. We ended up going to be at 10pm. The one good part is we had a waitress named Luisa who helped us with our Spanish, brought us drinks and in general made us feel at home.

They did have a beach party one night, but it was extremely windy and they had a fire on the beach that made it smokey. On top of that they turned off all the lights for Earth Hour from 8:00pm to 9:00pm to acknowledge their commitment to energy conservation. The only problem, is that it was not safe to walk the walkways without tripping. Very Unsafe.

We never got to go Zip lining or to the ruins. One of the ladies got a bug of some sort and never wanted to be more that 10 steps from a bathroom

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/580017624pPyIIG

Videos: http://www.worldisround.com/browse/search.html?scope=travel&q=pullupsman

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice mid size resort at bargain basement price"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Namabeer  on Jul 21, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
316 people found this review helpful


Arrival:
This is my 8th visit to the Mayan Riviera. It my home away from home. This area is home to the best standards and safety and this is why I come back year after yr. The Ocean Turquesa is no exception to the rule. This is by far the cheapest I've paid for a trip to this area and the price does not reflect upon the standards you get. It is at par to other resorts I have enjoyed in the past including Barcelo Tropical, Iberostar Paraiso, Grand Sunset Princess, Gran Sirenis, Grand Occidental, Palladium Colonial etc..

Restaurants and Bars:

FOOD:

Went to a la carte 5 days out of 7. Buffet was actually pretty good. Similar food to the a la cartes and more.

Buffet (7.5 out of 10):
Breakfast - typical omelettes, sausages, bacon, fruits, cold cuts and cheese, smoke salmon,
Lunch - very good selection - no diff from dinner at the main buffet
Dinner - themed. When one a la carte restaruant is closed, that will be the theme of the buffet. And they serve the same stuff as the a la carte and more. Lots of veggies and not over cooked to a mush

Italian: (7 out of 10)
- antipasto - nothing to write home about - carpacciao (not too fresh), brussheta, minestrone soup
- entree - ossobuco - very good. Pasta - good meat sauce and al dante, snapper -fair.
- dessert tray same stuff as Mikes - if you can try a rasberry tart - these are amazing. Cakes a bit lardy for me.

Japanese (5 out of 10)
- yes the show is ok but still not as good as other resorts I found. Always the most popular
- the food is typically overcooked and dried out as it sits there for a while while the guy does the tricks/show
- typically drenched in soya sauce. If it wasn't for the show for my kids I think the buffet would have been better.
- they do have sake but it's completely watered down and they serve it in a wine glass
- the sushi and soup a bit strange and definitely not japanese style (I've lived there in case you are wondering)
- if you are a big eater, you'll prob still be hungry as you just get one plate with a bit of beef/chick/shrimp/veg and fried rice.
- dessert uneventful also
- note, there will always be one character at your table but just enjoy and go with the flow.

Steakhouse/Seafood (Marina) – (7 out of 10)
- went there 2 times but it's outdoor and hot
- salad bar was pathetic
- the bisque pastry soup is good for the appetizer
- fish is huge - and drenched in garlic lime and grilled - very good
- stuffed snapper - so so
- rib eye is huge but hit or miss if tender. Once melted in mouth other time tough.

They do have lobster & filet but extra cost.

Crepier – (7 out of 10)
-amazing atmosphere if you sit near the pool in the candlelight
- huge salads - ok but some of the lettuces were strong in taste
- chicken crepe - good, seafood shrimp crepe so so
- crepe suzzette for dessert was very good.

Didn't try Mexican

Mikes Coffee Shop – (8 of 10)
- skip dessert at the buffet or a la carte and then stop by here for better selection of desserts
- there also cookie jars there
- ice cappacinos/mocha are good but still not exactly like starbucks but good enough
- grab cappacino or expresso or american or bottle of ice cold water
- stress leather seating - good place to hang til 10pm after dinner. Play cards relax or read.
- also have sandwiches during the day time

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing snorkeling if you go to Puerto Morelas. Cheaper to book there and have someone pick you up at the hotel by boat. About $25 pp for adult vs $40 at the hotel. There is a megshift kiosk on the beach about 10 min walk that will go down to $25 also but they won't take you to the best reef which is in front of town. I've done diving and snorkeling around the world and the gardens and marine life in front of PM is amazing. Took my 8 yr old daughter (1st time) and she loved it. Fairly shallow reef. We saw tons, barracuda, rays, giant pomphet, blue tangs, parrot fish, damsels, grunts, yellowtails etc…….. Second reef they took you was not too exciting as its hard to beat the first. The walk to town from the resort is a good 1 hr at least in the heat. But you will be rewarded by an amazing crystal clear beach with no weeds (sort of like a cancun beach).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
OTHER ACTIVITIES:

IF you want to use watersports, you have to pay a one time $3 for use of the national park as it's a protected area. The guys there seem to pocket the $$$ as I didn't see them keep tab of who gave what and what room number. Used the kayaks to go check out the reef area near shore.

Snorkeling off shore. The real reef is too far out but some did venture. There is a bit you can see near the Premier section near the end of the beach. Small reef where I saw conchs, grouper and some other small fish. Not too exciting but it's just off shore pass the seagrass about 30 ft out. You just look for the darker areas in the water when it's calm.

No seashells to be found on the beach which disappointed my kids. But water was shallow in the ocean and sandy.

Do go for a walk to the pretty beach of Puerto Morelas (1-1 ½ hr on foot south). As mentioned above, the beach is crystal clear, shallow waters and vast with local flavor. You can dine there shop or book your snorkel trip. A must is to go snorkelling in the gardens of the national park just off shore from the town. Do bargain if you can. Going rate about $25 pp (hotel is about $40). Bargained down to $40 for one adult and one child including 2 reefs and equipment. You can also have them pick you up at the hotel by boat if.

Other Comments:


So don't listen to the negatives and just go as this place is value for money if you get a deal. If you can't live with seeing some seaweed, go elsewhere. Remember, it's all in the expectations. There are 2 false expectations when coming to these resorts. 5 star is not Hawaii 5 star. Where do you get 5stars for 7 night for under $500 with all the booze and food??? To me, this is craziness and a bargain and you should not complain at all for the great deal you are getting at this resort. The word is exceptional value for money. If you want something more perfect, go pay double or 1 1/2 more the price

If you have any questions, please email me at namabeer@hotmail.com


THE GOOD:
Of course there will be some good and some bad. Here's the lowdown to the story:

THE GOOD

-nice medium size resort as opposed to mega resorts
-resort was wide and shallow so no long walks to the beach to the pool or to anywhere in fact
-no fighting for chairs esp on beach (this is in June).
-nice mix of pools (swim up, quiet, activity, and kiddie - which is still a good size)
-endless beach walks on either side. 45 min walk to Puerto Morelas to the right
-no reservations for a la cartes (good and bad) but they do give you a beeper so just hope off to the bar while you wait
-pretty good selection of food at the buffets (for all 3 meals)
-amazing tailored cooked pastas at buffet. Al Dante and with flaming gas/wine taste.
-Wi fi in the lobby but you have to be very specific where you sit or you'll get cut off
-nice contemp/loungey feel to the resort with loungey club music pumping everywhere
-nicely contemp rooms with LCD tv. Good shower and water pressure
-good air conditioning (on thruout the night unlike other resorts which turn the vent after 3am)
-amazing 4th floor, full frontal ocean view of the main pool/ocean despite paying basic room price. Requested to Gabriella the mgr in an email.
-great chicken wings at snack bar around lunch
-ice cold corona on tap
-ok selection of basic international liquor. Of course prem guest get a bit better choices (no biggy)

THE NOT SO GOOD:

-awful low budget shows. Located everywhere also as no where to accommodate large crowd (sometimes in lobby, fountain area and theatre)
-no real kids dancing at night unless you are Italian. Only ok night was the pinata night for the kids in front of the fountain.
-as everyone knows, there is quite a bit of seaweed. This will depend on the season and weather. Somedays not so bad and others worse. The tractor picks up some but not all. Manual labour would do a better job but more would just was back up in minutes.
-fridge was not cold but no biggy
-no snacks at kids pool as slow season so had to go to main snack bar for drinks and food (4 min walk)
-not close to hiway so can’t use collectivos to get around. $8 US by taxi to Puerto Morelas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Way above your expectations. AWESOME!"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  jason  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
283 people found this review helpful

This is the best place in the Mayan Riviera for the money. 5 star service, 5 GOOD restaurants, you don't need reservations, and you can eat as much as you want, as many times as you want. 24 hr room service!!! I tipped, but on occation I didn't have anything on me and my service was no worse.
Everyone smiles at you and says hello. Nobody hassled you for tips. I tested the maids by leaving some fake jewellery out, and they took nothing. There is a lack of chairs however outside. This is because everyone seems to get up at 5am and "reserves" them with a towel. The ansewr to this is to "de-towel" the chair and take it. As most of the chairs reserved never seee an asss all day because the same people are on the chairs at another pool or beach etc. If anyone has anything else to complain about this resort, they probably have a bentley in the driveway and should be drowned in a toilet. 5 stars! :) ps. they will ask you to go for a "presentation for a time share and offer you a lobster dinner....tell them you want 100.00 cash they will give it to you..go listen...say no and enjoy the 100.00 bucks.

Room Number:
15202

Room Block:
15

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good time had by all"

Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral
User Rating:  Ocean Turquesa & Ocean Coral Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  scott  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
231 people found this review helpful

We were part of a wedding group (80). I have travelled extensively for many years. Service, food , drinks , beach, volleyball, pools, were all very good. I am an experienced scuba diver, divemaster, dove much of the caribbean central, mex., and south america. Although quite small I was quite impressed with the on site dive shop, Dive It. We had 8 uncertified divers do the resort course and shallow dive. Yvonne took great time in and out the pool to ensure their knowledge and safety. I dove the wreck and some shallow dives, I appreciated the extra bottom times,the reef quality and marine life, eagle and sting rays , cudas, turtles, eels,groupers, and lots of usual fish, including Lion fish. The dive boat was right at the resort. Yvonne, Roberto and the boat captains were great. The wedding was wonderful. P.S. I dont complain much and every dive for me is an adventure and learning exp. Its not about the destination, it is the journey, enjoy.

Room Block:
1100

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube