Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Palladium Royal Suites Yucatan

5.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2011

Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 5, 2012

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 25, 2011

Azul Sensatori

4.9 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach

3.7 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 20, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

3.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2013

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo  

Carrt Chetumal - Pto Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso 77710, Mexico

"Wonderful , awesome experience...Can't wait to go back!"
Posted by: NANCY on Jul 2, 2011
see all reviews

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Reviews
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Pictures and Information
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Mayan Riviera Mexico

#23
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.6

Based on 5 reviews

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Information


Guests are offered a variety of dining options through the seven specialty restaurants located at the hotel, as well as the opportunity to visit most of the bars and restaurants at the Iberostar Playa Paraiso Resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Reviews

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Review: 4.6 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Wonderful , awesome experience...Can't wait to go back!"

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  NANCY  on Jul 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
253 people found this review helpful

Wonderful!!! Beautiful hotel. Attention to detail.I can't describe how gorgeous the place is.Very pleasant surprise and I'm very picky . Staff very friendly and honest . We lost our wallet and they found it and returned back!!!. Manicure gardens with a lot of entertainment and activities for the family.My husband did shooting and even got his Scuba License. Traveled with my husband and kids(18-26).Rooms super clean with always a cute towel animal waiting for you like in a Cruise.Food excellent all inclusive with great a la cart restaurants(all the alcohol included too!)My favorite restaurants the Steak house and the Japanese! Shows every night, dance...Awesome .I even help to cook a gigantic paella on the beach as part of the fiesta beach with sangria and everything. They also made the arrangements excursions(visited the Tulum Ruins and snorkeling park Hexala) I cant wait to go back!

Room Number:
5439

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Many and beautiful pools for all ages with manicure gardens. Wave pool, Lazy River, Bar cascade. pool super clean . Gorgeous beach with more than enough tap-alas for everybody. Spa also at the beach(did that with my husband)!The entertainment group at the beach also wonderful staff

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Visited Tulum and Snorkeling Park. Did ceramics with family,Lazy River, Disco dance...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An average, but overpriced resort"

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dirk  on Apr 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

This resort is an average but overpriced all-inclusive resort. I will NOT be going to this resort again, nor I can recommend it to anyone else.

GOOD THINGS:
- Close to Cancun, thus short transfer (~30min)
- No rocks on the beach (see bad things)
- Pool large and warm
- Hotel grounds immaculate
- Lots of fun for families with kids, such as pools, lazy river, theater, kids club, ... etc.
- Rooms clean and comfortable
- Plenty of food selection (see bad things)

BAD THINGS:
- Improper food handling. My wife had a food poisoning, from the hotel's food, and was hospitalized for a day. I mean REALLY hospitalized, all together with the IV.
- Beach is always windy, mostly red flagged, occasionally yellow. Hardly suitable for any swimming, especially for kids.
- Life guards on the beach are irresponsible. Although there is a tower (their job post) they almost never climbed it, but rather mingled with buddies on the ground, even though there were people swimming beyond buoy line in high wind and strong rip current. After calling security, a manager came down and made them climb up the tower, ... for about 5 minutes, and then they were down again, after the manager left. Not that long ago a Canadian couple drowned in similar conditions. Now, I see why.
- Our balcony door lock was damaged, and we could not lock it. Requested for someone to come and fix it, ... No one has ever come. Gave it up.
- The only ATM in the hotel dispenses USD only (instead of pesos), so if you want to use your debit card to withdraw cash, you are going through two conversions. Why not dispensing pesos directly is beyond me. Whatever you purchase there is priced in pesos.
- You have to get up very early in the morning (before 7) to "reserve" your beach/pool chair. Although this "reserving" is against hotel's rules, and posted on each palapa's post, people still do that, and the management tolerates it. I've seen many chairs "reserved" all morning long, and then at about 3 pm or later someone shows up to occupy them.

And at the end, one SUGGESTION:

If you are into it, don't miss the snorkeling/scuba trip organized by Dressel Divers, in the resort. I went snorkeling with my 10 yrs daughter, and we had a blast. It's well organized and reasonably priced. See Marco at the main pool!

Room Block:
54

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic! Didn't want to leave"

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tamari  on Nov 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
308 people found this review helpful

My spouse and I have mainly stayed in 4 star resorts in the Carribean and decided to treat ourselves to a 5 star for our honeymoon. We've been to Playa del Carmen before and stayed right on 5th Ave, but this time we wanted to feel like we didn't have to leave the resort to have a good time (been there, done that, bought many t-shirts!). This resort fit our needs perfectly!

Arrival:
***Property***
First and foremost, the property is huge, clean and beautiful! When we booked at the Lindo, we didn't realise we would have access to three other Iberostar resorts on the same beach, with the exclusion of the Iberostar Grand next door (adults only - butler service - premium alcohol - gourmet meals).

One of the things to keep in mind is that the standard for a 5 star in Mexico is not as high as that of the U.S. or Canada. Although I may have a couple of negative comments, in no way did this make my stay less enjoyable. They work really hard at trying to impress, but there were little details that missed the mark. The decor is fun and some of it is very beautiful, but what a mish-mash of styles and eras in one place(like Marocan mixed with classic Roman mixed with religious art)!!!

Restaurants and Bars:

***Food***
Same comment for the food. One of the buffets had a sushi sampler in it one day, and it was actually quite good. At the end of the week, we decided to go to the Hashimi Japanese resto and the sushi was terrrible! Quality and preparation was not always consistent from one restaurant to the next, it's best to ask other guests what they liked that week or go to your favorite buffet to play it safe. Our favorite buffet was the one in the Iberostar Playa with the outdoor eating area, lily pads and wildlife (lots of birdwatching to be had). It seemed to have more vegetable and fish options when we were in the mood for a lighter meal.

If you order your meat a certain way, do not ask for rare, medium-rare, etc. Instead, I suggest you describe what you want your meat to look like on the inside. They overcooked my tuna and undercooked my steak and heard the same complaint from other guests.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
***Pools and Beach***
AWESOME! The Lindo beach has the best stretch. Go to the left or right of that and it gets a little rocky. The pools are to die for and we wanted to try them all out. Get something to float on as I regret not lounging more in the quiet pools - it can get quite noisy during the day with the water games and partying at the wet bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
***Activities and Entertainment***
Again, they work really hard but the nightly entertainement is terrible. The daily activities are fun and you have the freedom to pick and choose what you want to do almost every minute of the day. If you go off the resort, shop around. Another review mentioned a taxi is $21 each way to get to Wal-mart. There is a taxi-bus that costs $4 each way to get to Playa where the Wal-mart is. You can take this type of transportation into town, and then go to the bus station in Playa (on 5th ave), take a local bus to your destination (for example, Xcaret), and pay your own entrance fee rather than following a tour group and paying $100 for something that might only cost $25 on your own.

Overall, loved it and definitely recommend it! Already want to go back!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"management needs to draw a line in the sand - show compassion 4 cats, don't 'get rid of them.'"

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  pat  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful

The security was second to none - I was really worried, as my teens were out and about, but after seeing the property at night, and all the lighting, and staff about, even then, I felt 100% OK about letting them wander around.
You have to see it to understand how secure it is. During the day, as well as all the staff, who were always around, there is a security 'guy' in a formal uniform, who patrols the grounds.

This is Mexico - I understand this, but, with Iberostar and all the money it takes in, they should have a compassionate, caring attitude about some of the starving cats on the property.

As a guest, I felt conflicted - they actually have signs telling us not to feed the 'animals' then they have a (stupid) huge stir-fry on the beach, which of course attracts the animals. I don't get it - they have way 2 much food - a person could gain tons of weight - then they have a gigantic stir-fry on the beach. I thought it was very excessive, unnecessary, and silly, with all the food that is available.
So, there are a few skinny, starving cats which are terrified of all the workers, who either kick them, if they see them, or if, God forbid, some stupid guest is 'offended' by the sight of a cat on the property, they call the manager, who calls a company, who comes and gets them, and 'DISPOSES OF THEM.'
wE NEED TO LET MANAGEMENT AND OWNERS KNOW THAT THIS IS UNNACCEPTABLE. U can have the best service, best food, then ruin it all by not adopting a compassionate and caring policy.

To management - u should not be trying to please everyone!! It is callous, and sad that you do not take care of these animals. They serve a purpose - they keep the bug and lizard population down at the resort.
Think about spaying the cats, and feeding them. Yes, I reallize that there are lots of cats in Mexico, but think what great P.R. it would be, instead of your present policy!!!

Your Arrival:
The only staff who were 'non-responsive' were the front office staff, when we didn't get the rooms we booked. I understand they could not do anything, but it wasn't a gd. way 2 start.

Rooms:
surprisingly quiet. be prepared for hard beds though. Very basic rooms.

Restaurants and Bars:
fabulous restaurants, even 3 teens loved every one of them! And the bottles of wine were very nice quality. Service, second to none, always.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

the cleanest pools I have ever been in - and I am really really picky about this. The ocean was beautiful and clean, but the stir-fry on the beach was really silly and excessive.
Unbelievable, beautiful, too clean grounds - so many workers dedicated to every little thing on the grounds.
Loved the lazy river pool - my favorite place.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

Other Comments:
I would go back every year, if management changed their policy about not getting rid of every thing that moves, that irritates the guests.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The facilities are stunning"

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy from Ft.Worth, TX  on Jan 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
361 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
Awesome, but the refrigerator never worked, the water pressure was low, the toilet flusher is strange and the walls are very thin.

Restaurants and Bars::
Awesome! The donuts and coconut ice cream was to die for. The bufffet closet to the theatre is the best, and the Japanese hibachi grill was very good. Shouldn't have to make reservations at all!

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beautiful, but ICE COLD water. Iberostar has done everything else to make this a fantastic place, how bout spend a little extra to make sure the water is a nice warm even temperature so we aren't freezing?! I literally had to buy a wet suit!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Yes- Xcaret! Awesome!! But weren't told there are cheaper admission options if you bring your own towel/snorkel & go after 3:00pm.

Other Comments::
My husband, 3 1/2 yr. old & myself stayed 5 nights at the Lindo 12/22-12/27th. We literally just returned TODAY so everything is very fresh on my mind. Here is the COMPLETE lowdown & some great tips...

1.:
The facilities are stunning as you've probably read over & over. Yes, they are immaculate & VERY well maintained. It is a "kodak moment" everywhere you look. We were in building 52 on the third floor & did not have an ant problem at all. The water pressure is low in the shower, the toilet flusher is strange & the walls are very thin. You can hear everything right through them. The only "real" issue we had was our refrigerator never worked the entire time we were there, so never any cold drinks in the room (without getting ice). Saw these little racoon-like animals stealing leftover food at night from plates that were left by the guests outside the door (from room service). Very entertaining, actually. My 3 yr. old is still talking about the "racoons". LOL (You'll also see peacocks & iguanas/chameleons- pretty cool.)

2.:
You've probably read complaints about the "hard" beds & possibly the food. The beds were the LEAST of our complaints. We actually slept better than we ever have.

3.:
Food wise, the only thing that was really yucky was the watered down orange juice, the weird tasting sprite & the weird tasting lobster tail. The homemade donuts & coconut ice cream were to die for. The buffet (by the theatre) was the best- especially when you have a picky eating 3 1/2 yr. old. We also ate dinner at the Japanese hibachi and seafood restaurants. Liked the Japanese hibachi the best (as far as reservation type places go). They really really do their best to make everyone happy- especially at the hibachi place. PLEASE bring extra dollars for tips. Don't have to, I know, but ya gotta give these folks a HUGE "E" for effort & great service. ESPECIALLY at the Japanese restaurant. They are very happy to even just get a dollar tip. The mariachi band that would come in periodically and play was also a very nice touch.
The only COMPLAINT about the restaurants: If you arrive between 4:30 & 6:30 & are hungry then, there was no place to eat. We found even the snack bar was closed. Also, we do not like the idea of having to make dinner reservations AT ALL. (We're on vacation for pete's sakes! Should be an "open door" policy.) When you get there, make your reservations as far in advance as possible, or you won't get your choice at all, or will have to eat at 9:00pm at night, or be stuck eating the buffet every day. Plan ahead if nothing else for some variety.
Also, there is NO HAND SANITIZER AT ALL in any of the restaurants. YUCK! That's a very cheap thing they could do to prevent sickness/germs but they don't. BRING SOME &/or some hand wipes when you go to eat.

4.:
Beautiful beach, but by 9:00am all the chairs are usually taken. Get there as soon as possible! Also, need to have pool AND beach towel check in. The only place you can get towels is at the pool- not by the beach.

5.:
All the kids that stayed there were very well behaved. A very laid back atmosphere. Not too inundated with kids at all. That was nice. They also have a "kids club" childcare place on the premises which looked to be nice.

6.:
You'll be walking a lot because the property is huge, so bring comfortable walking shoes & insect repellent because the mosquitoes are bad at night. Also, get used to the trolley. It'll make things a LOT easier & is fun to ride. They run nearly constantly.

7.:
Make time to see the nightly shows. Even the "mini show" is so cute. They get the kids on stage every night to perform, then follow it up with a very nice, impressive show for the grown ups. Israel is the illustrious show host. Very handsome (resembles actor Benjamin Bratt) & does a FANTASTIC job. Even the shyest people will be singing, dancing, & having a blast. Were pleasantly surprised by the nice costumes/outfits/effort.

8.:
If you need to go to WalMart & decide to take a taxi, it is $21 each way and takes about 30 mins.

9.:
If you do an excursion, don't waste the time & money on Tulum. You'll spend the whole day getting there & back, for something pretty boring actually. We went to Xcaret & loved it but were not told about ALL the options (by Lomas travel- on the Lindo property)as far as the entry fee goes. It's cheaper if you bring your own towel, own snorkel & pay for the buffet yourself. It's also cheaper if you go after 3:00pm. These are things you don't know until you actually get there.

10.:
If you need internet access, the only place they have it is by the front lobby and it is $3.00 per 15 mins. The computers are also in Spanish & there is no "@" sign on the keyboard. I spent a good 14 of my 15 mins just trying to figure things out in spanish (which I don't speak) & to get an "@" sign somehow. If internet is important, invest in one of those things where you can plug it into your computer & get internet anywhere in the world because it is extremely inconvienient if you go through the hotel.

11.:
Last, the "biggie" & huge complaint that we had. The pool/wave pool & lazy river is ICE COLD!!! Iberostar was went out of their way to make sure everything else was awesome, you'd think they would have spent a little extra to make sure the pool stayed a nice, comfortable evenly warm temperature!!!! The ocean was actually warmer & even that was cold. I didn't want to miss out on my son's first trip to the beach, wave pool, etc. so I had to break down and buy a WET SUIT because it was miserable, actually. So if you get cold easy, bring a wet suit to keep you warm in their ice cold pool & bring a little zip up lightweight jacket for the evenings because the evenings got pretty cool as well.

We would definately go back, but due to their ice cold pools, may seriously consider a warmer climate area facility a little closer to the equator. Beautiful place, Israel (the illustrious night show host) is gorgeous & very entertaining, but please HEAT THE POOLS!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube