Iberostar Paraiso Maya Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Iberostar Paraiso Maya reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Palladium Royal Suites Yucatan

5.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2011

Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 25, 2011

Azul Sensatori

4.9 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

4.5 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach

3.7 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 20, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Maya  

Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso 77710, Mexico

"another great Iberostar hotel"
Posted by: josephine on Oct 30, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Paraiso Maya Reviews
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Pictures and Information
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#36
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.0

Based on 4 reviews

Iberostar Paraiso Maya Information


Iberostar Paraiso Maya is a five-star all-inclusive resort located just minutes away from Playa del Carmen in Riviera Maya, Mexico. "Playa", what the locals call it, is the coolest city in Riviera Maya.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Paraiso Maya Reviews

Iberostar Paraiso Maya Review: 4.0 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
Solo
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 4 of 4

"another great Iberostar hotel"

Iberostar Paraiso Maya
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  josephine  on Oct 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
2 people found this review helpful

I think when you return then it’s a charm because I had the pleasure and opportunity of being a guest at the Iberostar Lindo hotel and it was such a great experience for so coming to Paraiso Maya seemed like déjà vu for me, it was the same experience but a better version of it. I think that this place is more improved than Lindo but maybe it’s my opinion. The rooms were already ready on arrival so check in was pretty smooth and without much ado, I was shown to my room and then my holiday started in earnest. The bed was so comfortable so I jumped on it and lay down a bit just to rest from the jet lag I had. The mattresses were good and here was the icing, there was WIFI in the room, you’ve got to love Iberostar Paraiso Maya. There weren’t much people visiting at this time of the year so the capacity wasn’t much which means that there was always availability of restaurants and rooms if you needed to upgrade or change. The a la carte restaurants had major upgrades when it comes to their menu according to some repeat customers which I met and made friends with. The buffet restaurant wasn’t really all that as throughout my stay here, there were more of repeat foods than the a la carte restaurants. They have a very pleasant staff crew who are always present and available to attend to your needs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another great time at the Iberostar resort!!! "

Iberostar Paraiso Maya
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emily09  on Jul 23, 2013  >  6 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
76 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
6073

Room Block:
60

Arrival:
I traveled with my husband and our 11yr old son.
We arrived on the 11th of July at 11:00am, upon arrival we were given a welcome drink and a cold scented towel....very nice. The lobby area and lobby bar are amazing!!! Front desk staff were great. Went over the layout of the resort and the restaurant times and location. We checked in but couldn't get into our room until 3:00 since check out is at noon, our room was still occupied, not a problem, we walked around and explored a little. We were given room keys at 2:30.

Rooms:
We booked a standard room and I emailed the hotel one week earlier requesting block 60 and an upgrade to a superior room, and they honored our request. We had a king bed and a pull out sofa and a small seating area with table. Also,a balcony with 2 chairs and a hammock. The bathroom was a good size, a Jacuzzi tub and a stand up shower, double sinks. Our fridge was stocked everyday with whatever we wanted. The first day the maid brought us a 6 pack of ice cold beer and soft drinks due to the drinks in the fridge weren't cold enough yet..nice touch!! Our maid was Carmen and she was great! Made us towel animals everyday. Everyday she made us a new one, by the end of our 7 day stay we had 7 towel animals all over the room....lovely!!Building 60 is close to the beach but a 10-15 walk to the lobby, call for a cart, we did, and they were happy to come get you and bring you back. There is a concierge in every building to exchange towels for you, make dinner reservations for you.. they are there from 8:00am to 11:00pm.

Restaurants and Bars:
We made our first night dinner reservation at the sea food restaurant one week earlier and it was also honored, we had a 7:00pm seating. We made all the other dinner reservations every morning around 11:00am for a 7:30 or 8:00 seating, we ate at all the restaurant except the Mediterranean one. Hands down the gourmet was our absolutely favorite!!! The lobster there was the best lobster I've had in a long time!!! My son and husband each were offered a second helping..and they gladly excepted! We ate at the breakfast buffet by the pool every morning and it was very good, it changed a little everyday, but we never grew board of the food. The lobby bar--snake bar is a must in the evenings, they have live music playing and its a nice relaxing place and a great place to socialize.
Room service is limited, but we learned by mid-week that you can order anything, we requested cheese sticks and a plate of fries (which was not on the menu) and the request were granted, doesn't hurt to ask! Room service arrived in about 35-45 minutes every time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are very good and there are many to visit. No rowdy or overtaking, its spread out very well...nice flow to where you don't feel crowed...nice place to relax and catch some sun and watch the daily activities! The lazy river is just that....Lazy! But its also relaxing just to float around, rarely crowed. The wave pool goes off at certain times, probably good for younger kids, my 11yr old grew board of the small waves. There is also a small water park area for kids younger than 10. I heard lots of great things about the kids club.
The beach is nice, crowed but nice. Never had a problem finding a spot whether it was in the shade or in the sun. There is a wait staff that will bring you drinks anytime until 6:00 at the pool and the beach...very nice. The waves were very strong and big during the week we were there, but that didn't stop us from having fun in the waves...although it was red flagged all week, just be careful and safe and you'll be fine.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did several excursions during the week. We booked a whale shark snorkeling trip, a 5th avenue guided shopping trip and a snorkeling and lunch full day sail to Isla Mujeres with Olympus Tours in the lobby and booked 2 dives with Dressel dive center on the beach by the Grand. All was wonderful except the full day sail to Isla Mujeres, we were sold this stating we were going to snorkel around the protected marine park and be on a catamaran, as it turns out it was on a very uncomfortable ferry..too large of a boat for 15 people and we didn't snorkel in a marine park we snorkeled in the path of other ferries and boats that were going to and from Cancun from Isla Mujeres, so the water was somewhat wavy and you could see oil and your skin felt slimy. Just be careful booking things. The whale shark excursion was amazing...awesome!!! Take the sea sick medicine before heading out..you'll need it...rough seas!!

Other Comments:
All in all we had a great trip, the resort is very large, but ask the bell boys for rides and they will take you any where you need to go. Must visit the shopping area on property..the taco place is a must! Very Very Very good!!! Shopping is also reasonable and some prices are a little better the 5th Avenue shopping. Also, try the coconut ice cream above the pool bar...very good also!!
The staff all over are very friendly! We tipped one's here and there and left a few ones for our maid. The bell boys we tipped at the end of our trip, the bar staff at night in the lobby we tipped every night.

I took a lot of pics, I can share them with you and answer questions, don't hesitate to ask, I don't mind to help out!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful vacation spot"

Iberostar Paraiso Maya
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Trudie  on Oct 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
213 people found this review helpful

Staying at this resort was the best vacation! The scenery is beautiful and I have never been anywhere that was kept so clean - pools, rooms, walkways - they even scrub the rock walls! Food was excellent (recommend the Japanese restaurant - my favorite!), staff friendly and helpful, good drinks. The spa was fantastic. Take advantage of the hot tubs/jaccuzzi's and foot treatments included in the package and definitely purchase extra services. This was the best massage I've ever had and the juice bar after was a real treat. Felt really pampered. We hated to leave and want to plan our next trip there right away! One suggestion - take your own hairdryer - they are provided but do not work well and are so low to the floor even a short person will have trouble reaching the top of their head! Again, fantastic place and highly recommended!

Room Block:
60

Arrival:
september 25, 2011

Rooms:
beautiful and very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Fantastic

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Perfect! Cleanest pools I've ever seen. It seems people are cleaning them all night long.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very fun. Suggest shopping in Playa (take advantage of the easy shuttle service back and forth from the hotel only $5/person each way). Visit XelHa and Tulum. Always something going on at the resort if you are interested. Shows are corny, but fun.

Other Comments:
Although most shops take US dollars, would suggest money exchange as stores/vendors never seem to have change.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dissastisfied"

Iberostar Paraiso Maya
User Rating:  Iberostar Paraiso Maya Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Russ  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
315 people found this review helpful

My overall opinion of the Iberostar Paraisio Maya Resort (All Inclusive) is marginal. The facility (Architecture) is quaint and the bars are delightful (all the booze you want at no extra charge, no skimping and good quality to boot), but the resturant food is atrocious and the quality of service at the resturants was in general unsatisfactory. On one ocasion at the Stake House the stakes we ordered came out cold and were not cooked to order and the head waiter did not accommdate us without an argument. On another occasion at the Seafood Resturant it took 20 minutes for all in our party to be served their meals. This was totally unacceptable. The only resturant with acceptable food was the Japanese Habachi Resturant and it was unfortunate we dined there the only once, the last night.

Our party consisted of 9 adults and two children one 2 years and the otehr 5 years. We could not secure reservations at any of the resturants earlier than 9:00 PM even though we made them the day we arrived. Feeding young childeren this late is totally unacceptable for a facility that accommodates children.

We took a side trip to Xel-Ha to snorkel and actually had a great esperience and the food there was outstanding. In this regard, the Iberostar Resorts need to take pointer for this facility for sure. I highly recomment the Xel-Ha facility.

The A/C unit in my room had to be repired twice during our stay.

The water temeperature in the swimming pool was extremely cold and very few guests were enjouying the pool. You would think with the international crsss section of cultures this facility could have provided facilities to adjust the pool water temperature in the winter months. The water temperature in the pool must have been in the high 60 to low 70 deg F. with the daily temperature running in the high 70 to low 80 deg F.

The beds are extremely firm and in my opinion made it impossible to get a restful sleep.

There were bats flying around during the day and night and the sliding doors leading to the patio in the rooms were not furnished with a screen so we could not leave the door open at night.

The beach facility was over crowded every day and it was almost impossible to secure a covered space.

I was surprised to experience such disastidfication for a 5-Star rated Resort even though reviews I read of this Resort all appeared to be favorable. All in all, I could not recommend this facility based on my experience. It was definitely money not well spent.

Room Number:
6531, 6536, 6638

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube