Iberostar Tucan Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Iberostar Tucan reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 25, 2012

Iberostar Tucan  

Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Absolutely amazing resort close to Playa Del Carmen"
Posted by: Wendy on Nov 28, 2010
see all reviews

Iberostar Tucan Reviews
Iberostar Tucan Pictures and Information
Iberostar Tucan Mayan Riviera Mexico

#40
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 5.0

Based on 2 reviews

Iberostar Tucan Information


Surrounded by spacious, tropical gardens, this complex blends harmoniously into the landscape.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Tucan Reviews

Iberostar Tucan Review: 5.0 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 2 of 2

"Absolutely amazing resort close to Playa Del Carmen"

Iberostar Tucan
User Rating:  Iberostar Tucan Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy  on Nov 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
364 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
I arrived later on a Friday night and the check-in was easy. My only complaint was that there was not a bell boy around and I carried my luggage to my 3rd floor room by myself. The lobby was beautiful and I was pleased as soon as I arrived. I was greeted with a cocktail on arrival as well.

Rooms:
The rooms were very nice and very clean. We had a great view of the jungle in the resort. The air conditioner and the safe were excellent. The maids were very friendly and did a thorough job cleaning daily. We left her many tips. The only downfall of the room were the beds. They are rock hard! We put pillows under the sheets to sleep on as we have soft beds at home.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a la carte restaurants were top notch! The Japanese was a hit and we loved the cooking tables and the show the chefs put on. The Steakhouse and Mexican were also delicious. The buffet food was very good and the selection was varied. I enjoyed a fresh omelet every morning. The bars and drinks were also great. We had a favourite bartender at the beach bar. We tipped him well. There is even drink service on the beach. We were never thirsty! There is a great outdoor lunch stand by the beach too, where you can get burgers, nachos, hot dogs etc. and eat outside if you don't want to go inside to have a buffet lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach on this resort is by far the highlight along with the jungle setting. The beach is vast, it is white sand, very clean, and has great little huts to take cover from the sun. We didn't have a problem getting a beach chair even after 10am. There is a lush jungle in the middle of the resort with animals running around everywhere! Monkeys, peacocks, flamingos, tucan, turtles, etc. We loved taking adventure everyday on our own resort. The pools were nice, but we spent most of our time at the beach since the ocean was so warm and the beach so nice!
The location of this resort is so convenient to Playa. It is on a gated side street with beautiful houses. We walked and jogged into Playa regularly. There are street lights and it is very safe. It is about a 20 min walk into town. There is even a Starbucks 5 min across the street in a little plaza. The cab ride at night was $5 US to the end of 5th Ave in Playa. We went into town 3x to the bars at night.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities staff were so friendly and very enthusiastic. We did yoga in the morning by the beach. There were a ton of other activities to do including beach volleyball, bocce ball, bike tours into town, etc. The staff would even eat breakfast and lunch with the guests. The shows they put on every night were great. This is the first resort I have watched all the shows. They are high end productions with stage effects, props and costumes. A lot of effort goes into these. After the shows the staff would get you on the dance floor at the disco. It was great fun!

Other Comments:
This resort also has a full time doctor on site with a clinic. It is $95 to see the doctor but is covered if you have insurance. I got an eye infection the first day we arrived and had to see the doctor. I was in an out in 30 min with eye drops and on the beach. This was a great convenience for me not having to find a doctor and pharmacy in town.

This is my 2nd time in Playa and my 3rd time in Mexico and this resort by far, topped the others I have stayed at. I would highly recommend this resort to couples, friends or families.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time at the Tucan"

Iberostar Tucan
User Rating:  Iberostar Tucan Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ALAN  on Mar 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
388 people found this review helpful

Stayed: Feb 8 – Feb 15. Had a great time at the Tucan. We've been to other Iberostar’s and liked them, and really liked this one, with it's "jungle" setting. Great atmosphere, facilities, food, and drinks. Our weather was comfortable, with temp topping out at around 79F but the evenings went down to the 60’s. Had a variety of days from sunny to partly sunny to cloudy and a little rain.

Your Arrival:
We used Apple Vacations and flew direct from Chicago O’Hare to Cancun on USA 3000. Went with 2 other couples. Flight was on time and went well. Air conditioned bus took us to the Tucan, part of the Apple package. They are doing roadwork on the main highway close to Playa Del Carmen, so we lost some time due to construction and traffic at the lights. They are putting in an overpass or two at intersections so that the thru traffic won’t have to stop for lights. When the roadwork is done (don’t know when) travel will be much faster. Check in – we had to wait until 3pm, but one couple had to wait until 4pm, I think because we asked for our rooms to be near each other, which they were. Otherwise no other problems. All of us were in fact placed in building 17, which was a fine location.

Rooms:
Room was very clean and typical of a usual Iberostar room. The bed was very firm, perhaps our only small gripe. Would have liked a slightly softer bed. Not a deal breaker though. Bathroom had a nice tiled walk in shower. Each day, different towel art was left on the bed, always fun to see. Had to call one day for more bottled water, and received it with no problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good with lots of choices. It is true that the Buffet offerings were about the same every day. However, the variety was immense. No one had trouble finding plenty of choices to like. The buffet on the Quetzel side had a more scenic entrance with a walkway over a grotto with waterfalls. The specialty restaurants we went to were very good. We ate at the steak, Mexican, Tropical, and Japanese restaurants. The Japanese was the most fun, as they essentially put on a Benny Hanna type cooking show. Good premium Tequila to be found at the lobby and show bars. Also surprised to find they had premium Caribbean rum brands as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is back at Iberostar Tucan, and the other resorts on that stretch as well. It is now very wide with lots of room. Apparently our trip timing was good - we were told that the big project to lengthen the beach has just been completed through the entire area. No more sand bags. The pools were also spacious and well maintained. The pool bar is in its own separate adults only pool you entered down a stairway. It was nicely shaded but the water was a little cold, not unusual for this time of year. Should be a great bar location in hotter weather.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Worth mentioning: Along this stretch of beach, the Tucan and several other resorts are located in a gated community containing private homes, condos, etc. It was easy and very safe to go outside the resort for a walk or jog, even bike-ride, and lots of people from the various resorts were doing just that. You could also walk all the way to Playa although we took a taxi for $5. Playa certainly worth a morning or afternoon visit. Best Tequila prices we found were at Walmart!

Other Comments:
The “jungle” landscaping really is different. This gave the Tucan a different feel from other resorts we’ve been to, very unique and enjoyable. Although the jungle path is hilly you can also walk around on flat wide paths that are on the outside of the buildings. Overall, very easily to get around. The Tucan is not as large as some of the other Iberostars. We saw that as a plus. Thumbs up for the IB Tucan!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube