Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mexico Hotel Index > Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe  

Ave Vista Hermosa 13 | Fracc. Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico

"Not satisfactory."
Posted by: Brian on Mar 9, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Reviews
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Pictures and Information
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Manzanillo Mexico

#1
of 4 Hotels in Manzanillo

User rating 4.3

Based on 8 reviews

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Information


Prepare yourself to be pampered like Mayan royalty at the Barceló Karmina Palace Deluxe*****, a tropical beachfront paradise in Manzanillo on the western coast of Mexico .

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Reviews

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 4.3 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (5)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
1 - 8 of 8

"Boring resort"

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lynn  on Jan 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
372 people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful resort and clean and the food is relatively good. Staff is friendly, however, they do not bring on a family or welcoming atmosphere. The services were pathetic and they closed down the restaurants without any warning. You'd walk to one of their 3 restaurants and find it closed and have to figure out which one was opened for that meal. My sister got locked in the restaurant bathroom and they turned the lights out in the bathroom on my brother-in-law while he was in one of the bathrooms because they were closing them down. The maid service was excellent and the concierge was terrific. One bellboy (Raul) was amazing. If they could find more staff like Raul, they would have a much better resort. Some of the staff find themselves above-it-all. Especially two of the girls at the reception. It is a beautiful hotel, but they cater to the mexican visitors before foreigners. I would not go back to a Barcelo resort again.

Your Arrival:
Arrival at the hotel was fine, check-in was relatively painless except that we asked for an oceanview suite and ended up so far away from the ocean with a huge palm tree in the middle of the balcony that we saw nothing and had our room switched. Our friends purchased the premium package and found that it wasn't worth it at all. It basically pays for their meals everyday and that is about it. Other people kept going into the premium club room to use the internet, so apparently without the 'premium club' payment, you have access and can use unlimited internet because it is not monitored at all. The 'perks' that come with the 'premium clum' are not worth the $30.00/day you end up paying per person.

Rooms:
The rooms are all big and very clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are only three restaurants and one snackbar. Two of the restaurants just change their name for dinner and you need reservations for either the 'mexican' menu or the 'italian' menu. Not too impressed. Oh....and there is one waiter 'captain' of one of the restaurants. I think his name was Jorge (an older man with glasses) who is rude and should really be demoted to pool clean up boy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very small and it is difficult to get access to the other beaches. If you like the beach - this is not the resort for you. You'd be better off staying by your pool at home.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hotel is geared to kids/families and even the activities for them is minimal.

Other Comments:
We wouldn't recommend this resort at all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome resort... great service and food!"

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  M  on Jan 18, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Business | With Group
324 people found this review helpful

A group of us (7 adults and 2 children under 4) visited the Barceló Karmina Palace in Manzanillo, Mexico from March 24 - 31, 2010. We had a great time. This place is beautiful. See details below.

Overall we loved the resort and are willing to visit again in future!

Arrival:
Fast, easy, simple.

Rooms:
My fiance and I have been to Mexico 5 times and these are the best rooms we've ever seen. We just had a standard room with a king bed, but it was like a premium room in most other resorts. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were horrible. If you are like me and have neck problems I highly recommend bringing your own pillow. The bathrooms were great. There were 2 sinks, large soaker tub, tiled shower with glass door (no shower curtain to stick to you), and a separate enclosure for the toilet.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food:
The food was amazing. Again the best out of all the times we've been in Mexico. The buffet was great, the Mexican al-a-carte was great, and the Japanese restaurant was descent considering it's Japanese food made in Mexico (have to keep an open mind). The deep-fried ice-cream at the Japanese was my favourite dessert of the week and the cheesecake at the Mexican was my fiancé’s favourite. We didn't go to the Italian, but my mom, sister, and 2 small children did and they said it was pretty good. The desserts at the buffet weren't quite as good as other places we've stayed, but that wasn’t a big deal since we were typically too full to eat much of them anyway.

Drinks:
The resort makes good cappuccinos (especially good with cinnamon added) and the coffee was good too. The bar drinks weren't quite as good as other places we've stayed, but were ok. We liked strawberry & bananas with vodka. There isn't a drink menu so you've got to use your imagination. Sometimes they seemed a little week so we asked for more booze to be added, which wasn't a problem.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort property was very beautiful and fairly easy to get around for those that have difficulty (all areas are accessible without using stairs). There is a bit of an incline when walking from the beach towards the rooms however. There are lots of flowers and palms making the grounds very lush.

There are extensive pools with 3 adult only areas. The pools are a little chilly however, but warm up near the end of the daytime hours. It's not so bad when its 30'C +.

The beach at the resort is small and not for boogie boarding or surfing, but you can snorkel and it's good for small children. When we snorkeled in this small man-made bay it was quite silty and hard to see much. To the right of the resort (facing the ocean) there is a great snorkeling beach (just walk off the resort and it's right there). It was less silty (as long as boats aren't speeding around) and we saw lots of fish (stingrays, puffer fish and a number of others). This is actually the best snorkeling we've seen in Mexico to date. The water is pleasant and actually feels warmer than the pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If you need to use the internet during the week to checkup on things at home then you may be a little frustrated. The system wasn't very good and the connection was really slow. If you need to use the internet and have a small laptop, iPhone/iPod Touch, Blackberry or something else with WiFi capabilities then you can use the resorts free WiFi with much greater ease (we borrowed a friends iPod Touch after trying to use the internet terminals).

A downside to this resort is that everything pretty much stops once the nightly show is over around 9:30 - 10 pm. There typically wasn't music or anything. The bars near the stage were open for a while after however. There is a disco that opens at 11pm and the atmosphere is great since it's located in the open-air Mexican restaurant overlooking the ocean after it's closed for dinner, but it was usually dead. It probably would have been busier if the resort kept the entertainment going after the show to bridge the gap before the disco opened. For those that like to party at night the resort wasn't great, but fantastic till the nightly show was over. The shows were very well done. The stage wasn’t as elaborate as we’ve seen (no big deal at all), but the dancers were very good.

Other Comments:
The service was great. The staff were ready to please and we had no issues at all. There aren't bars near all the adult pools, but a waiter was happy to come around to take your order (we had one come by with a tray every 15 minutes or so and gave him 20 pesos each trip - there were about 3-4 couples so each couple took turns tipping).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"SO much fun!!!!"

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  not telling  on Jan 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
336 people found this review helpful

I cant even begin to say how much i loved karmina palace. i would go there again, again, and again!!! its amazing and SO much fun u could do everything there. the food was delicious and they have a BUNCH of activities to do for grown ups and adults! theres a great kids club and everybody is so nice.theres no hotub for anybody under 18 with kinda sucks but it isnt that bad...its completeley beautiful and i definitly wanna go again.

Arrival:
17 hour delay with can jet(ugh)

Rooms:
amazingly big.

Restaurants and Bars:
good service, great food, an dthey can make any drinks(no corona, root beer)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the sand is a little course on the beach and there r lots of pools so its easy to get lost for little ones, bbut u can snorkel right off the beach, and take pictures undeer water with a special glass and the waterslides really fast

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the walmart sucks, id reccemend going to sorianas in stead which is across the parking lot from burger king, the tous i went on r lots of fun although the vacano tour is a little boring for kids

Other Comments:
i am definitly going back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"So good, we're going back!"

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Sep 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
257 people found this review helpful

We loved our room, which usually isn't of too much importance to us, but it was lovely and the maid service excellent. We were lucky enough to have the ocean view, which overlooked the Bay of Manzanillo, and the 17th hole of the golf course at Las Hades. We saw ships going in and out of port daily, and found that very interesting.

The food was very good, although we have had better. But there was a good variety, and it was always prepared well. There were 3 a la cartes, and we really liked two of them the best (The Mexican, and The Italian) Not so fussy about the Japanese.

The beach is very small, and we never used it after the first day, but thoroughly enjoyed the pools. There were no merchants pedaling their wares at the beach, as you find at other resorts, and I was happy about that! The bar service at the adult pool was excellent.

We were there at a time when the resort was full, so we found it necessary to put towels out in the wee hours of the morning (by 6 a.m.) which seemed rediculous. However, I can't sit in the sun, so we found a favorite spot that had shade until about 3 p.m., so we had to reserve early. We spent most of our time at the adult pool, which was very nice. It was a little cold first thing, but warmed up as the day went on. We later found out that they have to circulate the pool water through a refrigeration unit, to prevent algae from forming. Perhaps that is why all these resorts have such cold pools!

It is a short walk along the beach to Walmart which we found helpful. Also, a short walk to the main road where you can catch a bus for less than a dollar! Saturday is the main flee market, if you are into that sort of thing. The shopping is the usual Mexican fare, but away from the flee markets, I found the merchants less aggressive than in other parts of Mexico that we have been. A pleasant change!

The entertainment in the evening was much the same as you get everywhere. There was internet access.

Security was good. We felt very safe in Manzanillo, and even downtown Manzanillo, we didn't find the hard sell guys that hound you in other parts of Mexico.

We are going back this winter for three weeks!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent hotel. staff and food"

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  penny  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
320 people found this review helpful

This resort was fantastic! The grounds were gorgeous, the pools relaxing, the food was excellent, lots of variety and flavourful. All the ala cartes were great although the Italian was my personal favourite. I can't believe how well beef was cooked there, every cut at lunch and dinner was amazing. We found a hidden gem, the adults only jacuzzi pool, perhaps other guests thought it was a hot pool but it was same temp as all other pools, difference was you could find a chair easily to lounge on and with proximity to bathrooms (and drinks brought right to you from the buffet/capri) it was a perfect escape. The staff was amazing, so helpful and Raul made sure anywhere we wanted to go off resort (completely safe and clean!) was communicated to the cab drivers. My husband and I also got tattoos in a nice shop across the street from the resort. Completely safe! we enjoyed Miramar beach a short cab ride away and got some great deals in the Saturday market. Would definately go back to Manzanillo again and certainly stay in a Barcello resort. trip was worth every penny!

Room Number:
217

Room Block:
partial ocean view

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Leonardito and Snoopy in Barcelo Karmina Palace, Mx."

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Jan 19, 2013  >  18 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
143 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe for 2 weeks and we absolutely
loved it. The Hotel is beautiful with gorgeous manicured grounds and
all kinds of flowers giving you a feeling that you are in Paradise.

Our suite on the 5th floor was beautiful, very well located, and close
to everything. What made it special, was being able to watch the
sunrise from our balcony. The view of the sun appearing slowly over
the mountains was breathtaking. The bed was extremely comfortable. Also, we
had so much space for storage. Two Walking closets, many drawers
and shelves, mini-bar sevice everyday. The cleaning service was
was excellent. Our bathroom had two sinks and plenty of hot water for showering.

The beach is located in a lovely cove. It is not very large but the view is
fabulous. If you prefer the pools, they were numerous, with lots of lounges
chairs available.

The food was very good. In the buffet they had a good choice of dishes
ready to eat and a cook preparing fresh items each meal. In the A la Carte
restaurants they had a high quality of gourmet cuisine to be enjoyed.
There are 3 theme restaurants. The Mexican restaurant has a magnificent
view of the bay and a very good menu, the Capri had delicious
Italian specialties. Finally the Kyoto, had very sophisticated
Japanese and Chinese cuisine for those of love Asian food.
The service in all the restaurants was amazing the entire time we were there.

We had a wonderful vacation, beyond our expectations. We also felt safe walking
outside the hotel. We also made a trip to the city of Manzanillo. It was
very enjoyable to see the daily life outside the Hotel.

To resume our experience,if you would like a nice relaxing surrounding,
good food, comfortable accomodation, and attentive service everywhere this is
what we found at the Barcelo Carmina Palace Deluxe in lovely Manzanillo.
We certainly recommended this resort and would return anytime.

For pictures see : http://leonardito.com/manzbarkar1301n/manzbarkar1301.php

Room Number:
5219

Room Block:
5 th floor.

Photos: http://leonardito.com/manzbarkar1301n/manzbarkar1301.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful visit"

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Oct 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
95 people found this review helpful

We were a family of 5 (With an 8 year old boy)
There was some adverse publicity when we first looked last April. Now we have stayed there it was in our opinion unfounded.
the rooms are immaculate and the bathrooms spectacular.
The food is very good if not outstanding. Plenty of choice.
All the staff were polite and helpful

Room Number:
5019

Arrival:
23 October for 3 nights

Rooms:
Suite. Very large with sitting room and TV
TV in each bedroom
Patio and hot tub

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculate. Very clean

Other Comments:
we will happily stay there again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not satisfactory."

Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Mar 9, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
44 people found this review helpful

We stayed 2 weeks on an all inclusive package. The food was plentiful but of average quality and limited variety. The drinks were weak and made with low quality liquor. No matter how much I tipped the waiter and bartender I got drinks that were 60% ice. I should not have to buy my own bottle to taste the rum in my highball. The architecture was impressive until a closer inspection revealed that much of it was plastic instead of stone. The sofa in our room was worn out. The bathroom needed maintenance. The room was kept clean and cool but was also a bit shabby and worn. The beach was very small. The swimming area was rocky and shallow. There were plenty of deck chairs but not nearly enough umbrellas. The small gap in the rocks was covered by a bridge for golf carts. This blocked out any view of the ocean. Worst of all two items which I left in the inside pocket of my suitcase were missing when I got home. They were STOLEN from my room.

Room Number:
3205

Arrival:
Pleasant greeting. Quick check in and we were quickly in our room.

Rooms:
The sofa in our room was worn out. The bathroom needed maintenance. The room was kept clean and cool but was also a bit shabby and worn.

Restaurants and Bars:
The best restaurant was sometimes closed for one or two days at a time The food was plentiful but of average quality and limited variety. The drinks were weak and made with low quality liquor. No matter how much I tipped the waiter and bartender I always got drinks that were 60% ice. I should not have to buy my own bottle to taste the rum in my highball.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very small. The swimming area was rocky and shallow. There were plenty of deck chairs but not nearly enough umbrellas. The small gap in the rocks was covered by a bridge for golf carts. This blocked out any view of the ocean. The grounds were well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Manzanillo was a good area to visit.

Other Comments:
The coinicerage wss friendly and very helpful. Worst of all two items which I left in the inside pocket of my suitcase were missing when I got home. They were STOLEN from my room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube