Las Brisas Huatulco Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mexico Hotel Index > Las Brisas Huatulco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Huatulco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Crown Pacific Resort Huatulco

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 30, 2010

Dreams Huatulco Resort and Spa

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2010

Barcelo Huatulco Resort

3.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2011

Las Brisas Huatulco  

Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico

"Once was Enough"
Posted by: Cheryl  on Apr 2, 2011
see all reviews

Las Brisas Huatulco Reviews
Las Brisas Huatulco Pictures and Information
Las Brisas Huatulco Huatulco Mexico

#1
of 5 Hotels in Huatulco

User rating 3.7

Based on 6 reviews

Las Brisas Huatulco Information


Keeping a watchful eye on the virgin beaches of Tanglounda Bay, the Las Brisas Huatulco sits perched above the shores, intertwined amongst 50 acres of wild lush terrain. Emphasizing its gift of natural beauty,

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Las Brisas Huatulco Reviews

Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 3.7 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  2
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"Once was Enough"

Las Brisas Huatulco
User Rating:  Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Apr 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
292 people found this review helpful

My sister & I stayed at LasBrisbas for 1 week..at least we were scheduled for 1 week. There are stairs galore, although there are shuttles to take you to/from your room. The concrete building is painted a rusty-brown colour. Had they used white paint, it would look much cleaner. There is just one washroom for those using the pool or beach..& it's located off the lobby bar. The floor is always wet. If you buy something in the tuck shop, whatever you buy is charged to your room. Internet is 30min for 1 week, & must be used all at once. There is no carry-over. If you exceed the 30min limit, the overage is charged to your room.
When paying the bill, if the clerk needs to give you change, she will ask you for identification..all because she's handling money. This is absolutely ridiculous.
A-la-carte restaurants do require reservations. The service is not the greatest. We got to the Mediterranea..were seated..& then practically ignored while 2 other couples who came in behind us were served. Finally our order was taken..everything at once...appetizer, main course, dessert. When the meal was finally brought to us, there was no nice presentation. The plate was just put down in front of you. We were in that restaurant for 2 hrs. Because we were not satisfied with the service, the waiter(s) did not receive a tip.
At late as 10.30AM, the pool area had not been swept, which meant there were fallen leaves everywhere. By the way, if you want something to drink (water in the morning) you can't get it unless you walk to the lobby bar & get the water from a water dispenser..which dispenses WARM water. Otherwise, you'll have to wait 'til 11AM to get just a cup of water. A lot of times, drinks..whether they be beer or mixed drinks were served in a foam cup. I can see this if the drink was being taken to the pool area, but not when sitting in the lobby bar.
The food at LasBrisbas was 'ok'.
During the 4th day, we got a visitors' pass to tour Dreams. My sister bought a membership in the "Unlimited Travel Club". We wanted to transfer because originally, we are big Dreams fans..& certainly liked what we saw..much more to our liking than LasBrisbas.
I'd recommend LasBrisbas if someone was hardpressed for a holiday. It's not very expensive..but be reminded there are a lot of stairs. This location would not be good for someone who has mobility problems.
Our room was considered to be a suite...however there were 2 queen beds, a dresser, & a glass desk which was bolted to the wall on the other side of the room. There was no couch on which to sit, yet this was a suite??? The towels were like sandpaper. The in-room safe was described as big enough to accomodate a laptop. This is not true. The shelves in the safe were very narrow, & for 2 of us wanting to secure our valuables was trying. The lock is very old-fashioned. When you unlock the safe, the lock itself comes right out.Also, you must carry the key with you.

Room Block:
Blue Tower

Arrival:
Greeted with fruit punch. Clerks were very slow at check in and check out.

Rooms:
Clean. Ours was spacious although shouldn't be considered as a 'suite' which is what we were told. There were 2 beds, 1 dresser, & a desk.
The safe isn't big enough to accomodate a laptop, which is contrary to any literature I read.
Towels are very hard.

Restaurants and Bars:
"OK"..slow service. Repeat variety in the buffet restaurant. Reservations required in the a-la-carte restaurants, & you are given only 4 tickets. Presentation of the food isn't good. The plates are simply put in front of you.
You can't get water unless you attend the lobby bar..where you'll get the water from a dispenser. The water is WARM.
Foam cups are sometimes used even at the bar. It's more understandable for persons taking drinks to the pool, but not when relaxing in the bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is clean. Pools are clean, but stay away from the "water stairs" That can be dangerous.
Pool needed to be swept. At 10.30AM there were still fallen leaves around the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very limited. Virtually no entertainment at all.

Other Comments:
Had the experience. Wouldn't diss the place, but wouldn't highly recommend it either.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rated too High!"

Las Brisas Huatulco
User Rating:  Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Mar 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

Huatulco is a perfect vacation spot but Las Brisas is not that great. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly.
The beaches were very nice and clean. Plenty of loungers and even shelters. The restrooms were a hike. The advertisement states restrooms available on the beach...not. We found the main buffet very poor. The selection of food was small and too much mexican. Too many repeat dishes. The food was with little flavor. The fruit was good and that was pretty much what we lived on for the week. The soups were good. I got omlettes 3 different times and each time I ate egg shells. The buffet down by the beach was usually out of Bacon, French Toast or Pancakes and coffee! We would have breakfast around 8 a.m. so it was not like we arrived too late! We went to the lobby and requested coke for drinks in our room. We were told that they would bring them to us at our room...no one showed up! When closing the sheer curtains, the stopper was missing and the sheers went flying. The chain in the toilet kept coming off and finally we fixed it. They leave a sewing kit but no plyers!! lol We were warned about the walking. We love walking but this was too much! It was either stairs or steep hills!
The booze had to be watered down. With the amount that we drank, we should have felt something! A baby Iguana lived in our room.
The advertisement also stated turn down service, happened once on the last night! No welcome basket...
In all...I think this resort is over priced and over rated

Room Number:
2205

Arrival:
1-8 March 2011

Rooms:
Room was clean. A baby Iguana lived on the counter of our Kitchenette. The stopper on teh sheer curtains was missing...curtains went flying! Chain kept coming off inside toilet...we fixed it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was boring. Too many repeat dishes and not enough variety. Too much Mexican, I understand it was Mexico! Just...burittos, enchiladas, refreid beans ALL the time! Egg shells in my omlette everytime! The buffet by the beach was always out of bacon. If there was any it was harder than bacon bites! No coffee! No French Toast, pancakes...we lived on fruit.
Beleive me...hard on the system!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches were very nice and clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Las Brisas-good location and good value"

Las Brisas Huatulco
User Rating:  Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rafal  on Jan 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
266 people found this review helpful

We went to Las Brisas for two weeks All Inclusive vacation in January-February 2010.
Las Brisas offers spectacular views thanks to excellent location on undulating peninsula along Tangolunda Bay near Huatulco, Oxaca state, Mexico. Large area covers manicured grounds never crowded. Expect great walks between room and restaurants or two wonderful beaches. For people with walking disability resort provides shuttle service perfectly functioning. Courteous staff quick to respond to your needs created pleasant vacations.
This resort strongly recommended for young families with children or active people who like swimming, sea kayaking and four catamarans available for guests.

To see resort on photos please explore these two albums:
http://www.komierowskiphotography.com/index.php?what=view_album&album_id=32
or
http://www.komierowskiphotography.com/index.php?what=view_album&album_id=31

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to stay surounding area excelent and the people frendly"

Las Brisas Huatulco
User Rating:  Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  dave  on May 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

No problems with this resort at all lots of walking and stairs but not a problem actualy me and my wife lost weight even though the food was good lots to do in the area and the tours to the remote bays should be experianced we will be going back in 2011.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very large resort"

Las Brisas Huatulco
User Rating:  Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laurica  on Jan 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
323 people found this review helpful

We are from Regina Sask.
Dates of trip - Jan 8 to 22/2010.

Your Arrival:
Airport is very small. If there would be more than 1 plane arriving at a time, the airport would be very crowded. We got through the airport very quickly, just remember to complete the forms as completely as possible and sign the back of the form twice (read carefully!!)

Check in at the hotel was quick, but you don't get your room until after 3 - hint - pack a pair of shorts!)

The hotel staff are wonderful. Just ask and you shall receive if they possibly can.

Rooms:
White! Standard rooms, if you are able, try and book the Brisas Beach Club. It has a balcony overlooking the ocean, there are also 10 rooms with jacuzzis.
There is a Beach Club room for a continental breakfast (7:30 - about 11) and Happy hour from 6-7 with drinks and appetizers.
The Beach club section is also farthest away from the lobby etc. There are cars that will pick up and drop off. We walked down, but not up.

Restaurants and Bars:
Pretty average. Not a lot of seafood other than fish. Food selection is rather repetitive. Omelettes are great!
There are 4 bars, but they do not open until 11. If you want coffee, juice... you can get it at the poolside restaurant.
The al a cartes are ok, but not the quality you expect at home.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We only spent time at the snorkel beach. There is a nice coral reef there, and a nice variety of fish. Even away from the coral, fish swim around you, and the water is clear enough to watch. Fins and masks are available, but I don't know the quality of the equipment, as we bring our own.
Pools are nice. There is an adult only pool - we spent our pool time there. Lots of sun. Bring plenty of suntan lotion and aloe!
The grounds are pretty, but there is little "wandering" space, as the resort is quite hilly.
Lots of lovely birds, squirrels to make you laugh, hermit crabs, iguanas, gecko... some say scorpions (didn't see any)
My husband was lucky enough to see whales and a manta ray. Some folks saw sting rays at the beach by the Solarium (Steak House).

For the most part, things are very crowded. The beach recliners are lined up side by side at all pools ans beaches, There main restaurants are similar - sometimes you have to move so people can get by. A little too squished in for me.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a trip into La Crucecita - lots of shopping, and daily specials! I decide what I want to pay for something, and I stick to it. Cab is 3$ US each way. Try and see the church, it is quite nice. Cruise ships come in on Sundays, and the prices in the stores go up significantly. Best to avoid this day!
We booked a cab (Romeo (Edgar Romero Diaz Jarquin) was our driver, he took us around for about 2 hours and charged $40 US. He speaks very good english and is very polite and friendly. We asked for him and the desk, and they tracked him down for us!

Other Comments:
This resort is not for people who have trouble getting around - there are stairs everywhere - sometimes you walk up the stairs then turn around ang go down more stairs!
There are non-inclusive liquor available, but the bars and the gift shop DO NOT ACCEPT CASH - you have to use your credit or debit card, or set up an account at the front desk.
Thre is free wi-fi available in the lobby upstairs, but it is s-l-o-w, don't bother e-mailing photos! It is also available in the room, 10$ for 1 hour!

Due to plane problems, we got to spend a night at Dreams. It is quite lovely, everything is close by, but it is more hotel like, and quite noisy at night. Thanks to Signature for putting us up there - beats sleeping on a bench!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Come to Las Brisas you won't be disappointed."

Las Brisas Huatulco
User Rating:  Las Brisas Huatulco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug and Maryjane from Waterloo Ontario  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
369 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Las Brisas Huatulco from November 20-27 /09 on a recommendation of one of one of my co-workers who stayed here a couple of years ago.Last year we stayed at the Akumal Beach Resort on the Mayan side and we were looking for something different.

Flight/Arrival;
We booked our vacation with Signature flying on Skyservice. Enough said about Skyservice. We left Toronto at 9:00 am and after 5hrs we arrived at 1:00 pm their time. On our flight home we managed to get in to Toronto 1/2 hr early. Once at the airport it was slow getting through customs but with 3 agents on duty they tried their best. The airport I was told has been in existence for 15 yrs. but the buildings are about 5yrs. old. They are new, clean and beautifully constructedwith all modern amenities. Once we cleared customs we were greeted by our Signature Reps and ushered onto our bus. There were 2 air conditioned buses for las Brisas while parked beside us were 2 mini vans bound for the Barcelo and Dreams resorts. This tells you where everybody was going. Its a 30 min. drive from the airport to our resort. All along the saw road construction and workers grooming and maintaining the highway.

Rooms:
CHECK-IN/ROOMS: When we arrived at Las Brisas check-in was quick and staff was very courteous. They gave us our wrist bands, keys, maps and additional information about the resort. Our luggage was loaded onto a large golf cart size vehicle and we were taken to our room. Our room was 2333 in building 9 of the Stars/Estrellas village with a nice ocean view. Sunrises and sunsets were great. The room is large and clean with 2 wash basins and shower. There was always hot water and water pressure was excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are numerous restaurants and bars throughout the resort. The main buffet restaurant called Bellavista is where a lot of people go for all 3 meals. OMG the amount and variety of food. You will not starve. The other restaurant we found was La Brisis near the main bar. Breakfast and lunch are served here. It was nice to sit outside for breakfast and listen to the birds. For lunch they serve more fast food such as pizza, burgers, hotdogs chips etc. We like coming here after being on the beach because you can wear your bathing suit. There are 4 A-La-Carte restaurants you must make reservations for. You are allowed 3 to chose from. We chose The Kasbah a Morrocan theme restaurant, a Mediteranean and a Mexican restaurant. The Kasbah you sit on pillows or low benches with tables to match and enjoy the belly dancers performace. The Mediteranean restaurant was good but our favorite was El Mexicano located down by the beach. The food was traditional mexican. Ask for a Mexican coffee after your meal. While dining that night a couple was having a private candle light dinner on the beach. The staff went all out for this special meal. Very romantic. There is no shortage of bars on the resortwith the main one near the pool with soft chairs, pool tables big screen tv's and board games. As for tv sports all there is is soccor. How I missed a good hockey game.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are 4 beaches at Las Brisas. One I call the sports beach were you can get sea-doo's and other water equipment. The other I call the family beach and then there's the snokel beach where the reef is located. This is where we sent our days as we like to snorkel. Its a novice reef where you see a lot of fish. The 4th beach is through El Mexicano restaurant. Its not much of a beach but the breeze here is great. Chairs and umbrellas were plentiful and at 11:00 am the bar opens for drinks. A nice lady comes down to take your order and within minutes delivers them to your lounger. Sweet. There is one big pool down by the main bar. Its about 6 feet deep at the deepest. There was less than 6 people in the pool at any one time and the views of the bay are breath taking. They have an adults only pool and a basketball pool. On the resort they also have 12 tennis courts,squash,basketball and vollyball courts as well as a soccor field. No shortage of activities. The grounds are immaculant. There are people working everywhere each day raking watering and prunning. These people work hard.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are numerous on site activities for both adults and kids. Check the board near Las Brisis bar daily. One morning the wife wanted to go bird watching so 7:00 am out we go around the resort with a gentleman for an hour to show us the birds of Huatulco. Off site trips are extra of course ranging from $25-$85. There are 8 trips. Magic Falls, Paradise Found Bay, Outback Safari, Huatulco Adventure, Rough Guide, Mountain Coffee and Croc's and Turtles. We did 2 trips Paradise Found Bay @$45pp and Rough Guide @$25pp. The Paradise trip is a snokling trip into the protected state park. What a blast we had. On the day before we were to leave we took a cab (30 pesos or $3)into the town of La Cruceita. The best time we were told is after 3pm. Tell the cab driver to drop you off at the town square. Its very safe. There are great restaurants, coffee bars as well as silver and hand made crafts Be sure to visit the church

Other Comments:
As stated before this resort has a lot climbing. If you like to walk as we do it keeps the buffet pounds off. Most of the guests were canadians from the Toronto area or from the Vancouver/Calgary or Mexican families. Huatulco is now in their dry season and by Jan/Feb everything will be brown. Temp. were 32C in the day and 28C at night. Signature reps were always there at their table every day to answer questions or solve your problems. Come to Las Brisas you won't be disappointed. Adios Amigos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube