Decameron Los Cocos Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Puerto Vallarta > Puerto Vallarta Hotel Index > Decameron Los Cocos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 8, 2010

Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 16, 2012

Villa Varadero

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 6, 2013

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 21, 2010

Hacienda de Mita Condos

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 16, 2012

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta

3.5 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Decameron Los Cocos  

Retorno Las Palmas S/N, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico

"Los Cocos November 2011"
Posted by: Kevin on Dec 3, 2011
see all reviews

Decameron Los Cocos Reviews
Decameron Los Cocos Pictures and Information
Decameron Los Cocos Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#7
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 4.0

Based on 3 reviews

Decameron Los Cocos Information


Located near Puerto Vallarta on Mexico’s Pacific coast, Decameron Los Cocos offers a full All Inclusive Resort experience in a beautiful, quiet fisherman’s bay.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Decameron Los Cocos Reviews

Decameron Los Cocos Review: 4.0 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"Los Cocos November 2011"

Decameron Los Cocos
User Rating:  Decameron Los Cocos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin  on Dec 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
223 people found this review helpful

We heard so much about Rincon do Guayibitos from people that we had to give it a try. Hotel was a good budget hotel that is more popular with the local holidayers than out of country tourists. That is what is so interesting, you vacation with the locals. Food was standard all inclusive as was the drinks. Service was prompt and freindly all over the resort. Grounds were groomed very nicely and whole resort very clean. One of the best value vacations I have been on. What made the trip was being in Guayibitos. It is real Mexico. From the little Taco stands to the fancier resturants on the beach, it was all Mexican. We ate diner at the resort the first night, but after that explored the rest of the town for meals. Don't be scared to do this!! Went whale watching (OK) and then found Francisco in front of the resort who took us on the San Blas / Jungle tour. Went and saw the Crocidle hatchery , turtles, birds ,fish etc. Great tour. Interesting drive there as you go through the farm land and small villiages to get there. Francisco spoke good english and really took his time letting you experience the tour. Worth the money!!

Room Number:
4110

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
Fast and efficient.

Rooms:
Basic, shower , TV air conditioner. Clean and everything worked.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good service and food was fine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is warm and shallow, Pools OK and grounds well looked after.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do and don't be scared to wander down town. I have travelled a bit and this was the safest place by far. Bonus - NO TIMESHARE SALES PEOPLE!!!!!

Other Comments:
Only thing negative was the entertainment team on the beach, Way to loud . It did encourage you to take a walk down the beach to some great little bars and resturants though.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Value, Great Service"

Decameron Los Cocos
User Rating:  Decameron Los Cocos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kris  on Apr 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
385 people found this review helpful

It is an hour from Airport. There are stairs if you have mobility issues. Yes, the rooms are dated with no shampoo or fridge. But they are kept very clean and everywhere you look someone is cleaning with the grounds being kept nice too.

We thought the food was great, could always find a dish or two that was great. Great drinks and wonderful service. The Decameron's seem to hire very competent and friendly people. We loved our vacation. Oh and the beach club was wonderful too. It was their holiday so the resort had many Mexican families, we found it busy but everyone was friendly and it was a positive experience for us!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Friendly, family oriented hotel"

Decameron Los Cocos
User Rating:  Decameron Los Cocos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larry  on Mar 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
339 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1120

Room Block:
Cocos 1

Arrival:
There were only two groups on our bus, my daughter and I and another family group of eight or so. We were checked in within five minutes, and a porter showed us to our room and where the nearest buffet restaurant was located. Our flight was an hour late, so the buffet was kept open for us. When we entered, the waiter welcomed us to Mexico and to the Decameron, and seemed like he meant it. I have never been made to feel that welcome on arrival anywhere, and it made a very good first impression.

Rooms:
We had a basic hotel room, typical Latin American style-- two beds, tile floor and a table with two chairs. Simple but comfortable. The room was forty feet from the nearest bar and seventy-five feet from the beach. The window was only single-pane glass and opened, so with the tile floor outside, it was a bit noisy when anyone when past.

The complex has five buildings, Cocos 1 through 5. Cocos 1, 5, and 2 (in that order) are on the beach and each has its own small pool, Cocos 3 is across the road and has no pool, and Cocos 4 is a block up and backs up onto the main highway and has the adult only pool.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were three restaurants, the Tropical (the main buffet), La Canoa (Mexican buffet) and La Bamba (the steakhouse and seafood restaurant). The latter two required reservations for dinner but all were open for lunch without. All three were excellent. Food was tasty and plentiful and the serving staff uniformly friendly and helpful.

There are also three bars, two by the beach and one by La Bamba. Again, service was uniformly friendly. The liquors were local brands (not name brands) and the beer was Indio, available on tap in both dark and light varieties. As Mexican beers go, it was quite good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach stretches a good mile from the river at La Penita (the next town) to the point at the west end where it becomes impassable due to a rocky outcropping with a naval base.

The beach is very active. There are restaurants, bars, and hotels along it and lots of people around, especially on weekends. A number of fishing boats work off of the beach, and fishermen clean their fish right on the beach, attracting many birds. There are also many vendors selling everything from oysters and fruit to the usual tourist stuff.

Around the point is the beach at Los Ayalas where the Decameron's beach club is located. There is a free shuttle, but you must sign up to take it (so that the staff will know how many will be eating lunch). The beach club is within easy walking distance, and some people did walk, but the staff urged against this as the walk is along a very busy road with no sidewalks and narrow shoulders.

As mentioned above, there are four pools for the five buildings. The one at Cocos 4 is adults only, and a bit bigger, but none are big and all are shallow. Oddly, the maximum depth in all is only 1.45 metres/4.79 feet. None are heated, and the ocean was warmer for swimming.

The grounds are not extensive, but are cared for well. Every day, people were working away at sweeping and mopping the floors outside the rooms, painting and generally keeping the place neat and clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a market on Mondays in the main plaza in town, and one on Thurdays in the next town, La Peñita. That one, called Tianguis, is bigger and has everything from housewares to CD/DVD's to arts and crafts. It is a short cab ride, costing about $2.50 Canadian each way.

Both markets were worth visiting. I don't know that we got any real deals on anything, but the experience was fun. Many of the same vendors are on the beach in front of the resort or set up tables at the resort in the evening.

Whale watching is apparently good, but we didn't get around to doing that, and other trips are available to be booked on the beach.

Other Comments:
The guests were mainly Mexicans and Canadians, many with children. Because it is in a town, and not in the middle of nowhere, it is easy to wander the streets of the town, shop in local markets and eat or drink out if you want to do so.

This is the fifth Decameron I have stayed at over the years, and I have to say that all have been well run. This one is a bit spread out; obviously, it was once five separate hotels which have be acquired by the Decameron chain over the years. But the quality is consistent with the others, and I felt that the food was better here than at the others I have stayed at, and the staff friendlier. We really did feel welcome and that the staff were glad to have us.

Some photos can be seen at:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=34327&id=100000831464217&l=49e7ebcd1c
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=34378&id=100000831464217&l=b8da749572
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=34335&id=100000831464217&l=a7f7285b2e

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube