Melia Cozumel Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cozumel > Cozumel Hotel Index > Melia Cozumel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cozumel Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Cozumel

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 2, 2012

El Cozumeleno Resort

3.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 19, 2012

Melia Cozumel  

Km. 5.8 | (formerly Paradisus Cozumel, Melia Mayan Paradise), Cozumel 77600, Mexico

"Careful booking here."
Posted by: Judy on May 17, 2013
see all reviews

Melia Cozumel Reviews
Melia Cozumel Pictures and Information
Melia Cozumel Cozumel Mexico

#2
of 24 Hotels in Cozumel

User rating 3.2

Based on 5 reviews

Melia Cozumel Information


Ideally located on the island of Cozumel, Meliá Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort, host hotel for Ironman 2009, is truly one of the most impressive all-inclusive hideaways in all of Mexico.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Cozumel Reviews

Melia Cozumel Review: 3.2 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Careful booking here."

Melia Cozumel
User Rating:  Melia Cozumel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on May 17, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With friend
95 people found this review helpful

I booked a reservation and paid in full for two weeks in November for March 24th. When I got there they informed me they had no reservation for me for the first week, only the second. I had been on a drug that made my legs stiff and they sent me to another hotel for the first week. I had paid for a sea view and I got a small room with a view of some roofs. As soon as I got to the other hotel, I saw the walkways were all stones and uneven to look like a Mayan Ruin. I called them right away and told them I could not stay there that I would get hurt , which is just what happened. I finally got back there after begging and crying to the captain of the restaurant. I hurt my knee walking at the other hotel and am now in therapy. They gave me a voucher for a free week there and now that I tried to use it , the reneged on it and only gave me for the 3 days that I was away from the hotel. They let me leave with this voucher of 8 days and I planned to go to a wedding in Cozumel in June. Now when I tried to use it, they took back 4 days, I am left going to therapy here and I do not have the money for a hotel to attend the wedding. I was never notified of this change. I think they were very uncaring towards my problem and my well being. The beach is very nice there but they don't have enough chairs and you have to get a chair by 7am or you won't have one. The food is really terrible except for breakfast. You can't ruin that. Be careful of a hotel that does not honor your reservation and vouchers from the damage and inconvenience that occurred to you because of their insensitivity and/ or ineptness.

Room Number:
suite

Room Block:
suite with sea view

Arrival:
Terrible, didn't have my reservation. Shipped me off to another hotel

Rooms:
Suite has a nice ocean view.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bad food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great staff especially (noiki and rest of the gang)"

Melia Cozumel
User Rating:  Melia Cozumel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on May 1, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
94 people found this review helpful

We went there for 17 days,had a time!!! Staff was the best part,they wanted you to get involved in daily activities,or not. I left my safe open one day and the maid did not take any of the two thousand cash( tipped her 50 dollars for her honesty). Go!!! You will have a great time as we both did.The hotel,the beach,the food are good,but the main reason you should go is the staff.They looked after us as well as a five star hotel!!! Paul and Linda.

Room Number:
214

Arrival:
Every thing went smoothly

Rooms:
Maid service was great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was also wonderful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Only Roatan had better beach, this is a close second.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Also great. The staff makes the difference.

Other Comments:
Go, you will love it!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cozumel Scuba Rocks"

Melia Cozumel
User Rating:  Melia Cozumel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephan  on Sep 24, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

My wife and I did a lot of research before we booked this resort.
The pictures of the beach is what sold us on this resort.
The beach itself is great, but the water is very very murky. So murky that we never, ever went into the ocean at the resort.
We love to bath in the ocean most of the day. That's what we do. We love the ocean. We could not get ourselves to go in the water at this beach.
If you walk West down the beach, the next resort has a break wall that stops all the murky waters. It is actuall very nice just to the west of the resort.
Many times, we walked about a half hour up the beach and went snorkeling. The current takes you right back to the Melia. Many nice things to see there. You must stay close to shore because of many boats on the water.

The resort was underwelming. Nothing to write home about.
Rooms were old and need to be re-done.
Food was medium at best.
Ala Carte restarurant was the only saving grace.

Grounds were well kept.
The poeple were very nice.

If you want to scuba, don't book this resort. It is on the wrong side of the island.

But once we got to the scuba area on the other side of the island we had a great time.
As a matter of fact, the scuba made us forget about what a let down the resort was.

Pro Dive shop on site handled our bookings flawlessly.

Ocean view room was great.

The adult only pool was a nice touch. We spent many days meeting new friends and having a good time in that pool.

Room Number:
313

Arrival:
We had nobody at the airport to pick us up, even though we paid extra for a transfer.
Our agent did meet us the day we arrived.
And we did get a transfer to the airport on depature.

Rooms:
Rooms are old and have cob webs.
Bathroom is good, but small.
Rooms were a good size.
Airconditioner was loud. But it over powered any noise from outside.
When we turned it off, we could hear the ocean crashing into the beach at night. I like that.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Buffet was a 5 out of 10.
Nothing special there.
They did a different theme every night.
That changed it up pretty well. But on a two week stay, we had repeats the second week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is un swimmable.
Murky water.
Adult pool was great.
However, my wife had to shoo out many people who thought it was a good idea to bring kids into the pool.
Why was there no woker to keep the kids out of the pool?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Scuba diving in Cozumel is fantastic. It made up for the resort being so average.

Other Comments:
Mexico Pro Dive on site is good.
Took good care of our diving needs.
We pre booked our package and saved a bit of money that way.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very relaxing vacation"

Melia Cozumel
User Rating:  Melia Cozumel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandie  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

Airport close, arrived 8-9 pm. Check in fast. Room a/c noisy but worked although room remained very humid all week. Washroom was very small (door hit your knees) otherwise lots of towels and hot water. Requested oceanview room (we like to have a frig) ended up actually oceanfront, great view!
Annoyance 1 -frig not stocked UNLESS you called front desk daily. You got 2 beer/coke/diet coke/sprite and H2O.
Annoyance 2 -we like to bring our own cups, bartenders were not allowed to fill these...so just order double drinks to fill your mug!
Buffett was fine, we never went hungry. It was just repetitive, no pasta or meat carving stations in the evening.
We just signed up 5 of 7 days for ala cartes. Good food, fab service!
The hands on staff are wonderful, from the maid service, wait staff, bartenders, gardeners. Helpful, patient and go out of their way to assist you.
The beach is stunning, a little rocky out front but no worries...just walk a few minutes and it clears. Enjoyed snorkeling other side of pier, in front of El Cozumelo.Beware the current at end of pier,3 of the 4 of us got caught in a very strong current. Quite a scary experiene, certainly won't make that mistake again!
We went to the Celarin lighthouse,also snorkeling at Chankanaab eco park ....WOW. The week we went both places were not packed, must have missed the cruise crowds...enjoyed both trips! Definitely will go back to Cozumel island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyed our stay at Melia Cozumel"

Melia Cozumel
User Rating:  Melia Cozumel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie and Pat  on Nov 29, 2010  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
319 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Booked through Sunwing Vacations for a one week stay at the Melia Cozumel.

This is a smallish hotel, only 148 rooms, located on the northwest side of Cozumel.
We booked the “M Experience” room.

Flight with Sunwing was okay, going down we had 3 seats to ourselves so that was nice. They do serve a hot meal and give you free headsets.

We flew into Cancun, went through Immigration there, then re-boarded for the 13 minute flight to Cozumel. On the way home we flew nonstop from Cozumel.

On arrival in Cozumel we retrieved our luggage, for the first time we got the red light and had all of our luggage searched, not really a big deal. Went outside and located the Sunwing rep, and she directed us to a taxi that took us right to our hotel, less than 10 minutes away.

Checkin was fast and easy. Found the front desk personnel to be very friendly and efficient.

Rooms:
The M Experience rooms are on the 10th and 11th floors of the tower, and were beautiful. Very large, approximately 600 square feet. King-size bed, marble floors, living area with couch and table and chairs. Complimentary in-room safe and wi-fi, ironing board and iron, mini-fridge, 32 inch TV, coffee-maker, very nice. The hotel website indicates “VIP treatment” and twice-daily maid service for these rooms….the maid came in the evening once only. As for VIP treatment, not sure what that meant. They treated us fine, but no different than anyone else. We had thought we could have the concierge/front desk make our dinner reservations for us at the a la carte restaurant from some other reviews I have read, but we were told to make our own between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. at the main buffet restaurant. I was mentioning this to the Sunwing rep and she too thought they were supposed to make our reservations, so she spoke with them and they said they would. We gave them the days we wanted to eat at the a la carte and they said they would look after it. Of course, that didn’t happen, fortunately I was going by the restaurant the day of the first reservation and went in to check and our name wasn’t on the list. So we just made our own reservations, no big deal really.

There are several sections to this hotel, the main tower, a two-storey building of gardenview rooms, and a two-storey building of oceanview rooms. All of the tower rooms are oceanview (except for the bottom couple of floors).

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food was well-prepared, hot stuff was hot, cold stuff was cold. They had a reasonable selection for the size of the hotel, but I did get bored with the food by the end of the week.

There is a grill restaurant that is open for lunch, where you can order hamburgers, wings, chicken fingers, grilled sandwiches, etc. We ate there a couple of times, it wasn’t too bad. During high season the grill restaurant is open as an a la carte in the evening.

The other a la carte restaurant is Café Paraiso. We had dinner there 3 nights.
Some people raved about it, but we found it just “okay”. There are two seating times available, 6:30 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. Make your same-day reservation at the buffet restaurant between 10:00 a.m. and 1 p.m. For men, long pants, a collared shirt, and closed-toe shoes are required for this restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This hotel is kept spotlessly clean. The employees were all great and service was good.
The day before we left our safe malfunctioned and wouldn’t lock. I told the front desk and someone was at our door 5 minutes later. He couldn’t fix it, but went and brought back a repairman immediately to repair it.

There is an adults-only pool in front of the tower, next to the beach, and another activities pool between the oceanview and gardenview rooms.

I thought the beach was the nicest in that strip, the only big downfall is that the water in front of the Melia was murky brown, not very appealing. Seaweed washed up every day and was cleaned up daily. The hotel next door, El Cozumelo, built a breakfall between their beach and the Melia’s. If you stood on the breakwall and looked at the Melia side water was brown, to the left it was crystal clear with lots of fish. So if you want to go in the ocean, suggest you either walk to the left, or to the right of the hotel, where the water is clearer.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The hotel is only a $7 US cab ride from the town of San Miguel, so there are lots of dining options there if you want something different.

We went into San Miguel one day to look around. High-end stores as well as the usual souvenir stores. And of course everybody tries to get you to come into their store.. At the end of the week, I had the beginnings of an eye infection, so the front desk gave me the name of a pharmacy and we went into town again to the pharmacy so I could get antibiotic drops (no prescription required in Mexico for antibiotics and a number of other drugs that require a prescription here). This time the taxi driver waited for us for about 15 minutes, and the cost round-trip was $15 US.

We did the Pantera Jeep Tour, it was pretty good, a good way to see the whole island. They take you snorkeling, to see some ruins, to a Tequila manufacturer where they explain the process of making tequila, with some free samples, lunch at a restaurant on the east side of the island, and a stop at a nature reserve to see alligators, and the lighthouse. We booked this tour through the Sunwing rep, Kim, who by the way was one of the best destination reps I have ever met!

Take US dollars, with US 1’s for tipping. You can pay for anything in US dollars without having to change into pesos.

There is a spa at the hotel, which was pretty good. I had a great 60 minute massage. I have a MAS card, so that gave me a 10% discount on the massage as well.

For kids, they have a kids club and activites.

In the evening they have shows in their theatre. We only went to one show, it was pretty good, but shows start at 9 p.m. and we were still at dinner.

Other Comments:
The weather wasn’t the best the week we were there. We did have some sun, but lots of overcast days with rain off and on.

To summarize, this was a great hotel and if we were returning to Cozumel we would stay there again. I would recommend getting the M Experience room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube