Be Live Grand Playa Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Playa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 8, 2010

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2010

Sun Palace

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2011

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Be Live Grand Playa  

60 Ave Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"I would not recommend this resort to anyone."
Posted by: Joanne_Ottawa on May 1, 2009
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Reviews
Be Live Grand Playa Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Playa Cancun Mexico

#8
of 53 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.5

Based on 13 reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Information


The Hotel Grand Oasis Playa, in Cancun, Mexico, is an exclusive 5-star All-Inclusive Hotel, with around 400 rooms and aimed especially at relaxation, leisure and fun holidays. .

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Playa Reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5 13 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  4
Average
  8
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 13

"I would not recommend this resort to anyone."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne_Ottawa  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
290 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 8-15
April 8, 2009: arrived at the hotel around 9:00 p.m. We were given a room on the 7th floor but upon entering we realized it was already occupied. We had to go back down to reception to get another room. There were only 2 rooms left but they were already taken as the previous guests had paid for a late check out. We waited quite a while before they found us another room. We ended up getting an upgrade.

Rooms: Room was great. On the first floor, large patio with hotub and an ocean view (which we paid for).

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet food was terrible, especially breakfast. The scrambled eggs were practically raw. It was disgusting. The Brazillian restaurant was the best one there. The food at the Mexican Restaurant was good but there wasn't anything MEXICAN about it... too weird and there was no atmosphere in the al a carte restaurants. Very boring and the staff was not very friendly (although the staff in the buffet restaurant couldn't do enough for you - they were great). My friend got violently sick for 2 days from the food at the buffet. Beware there are tons of stairs in this place... if you don't like stairs you will be disappointed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and pool were nice. Weather was great but there wasn't much for activities or entertainment around the pool (some activities in the afternoon). The music around the pool (when there was some) was terrible. I think they only had 1 CD that they played over and over. Plus one of the speakers were blown so the sound was terrible - very distorted. One of the guests at one point went over and unplugged the speaker wire.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The night life sucked... or I should say the lack of night life. For an adult resort it was pretty low key. Half the time they didn't play music in the outside lounge. There was only 1 night out of 7 that was a little lively. There was one other night where one of the guests went to his room and brought down a CD player to the outside lounge. Everyone was having fun until the hotel sent security (yes security) out at 10pm to tell us to be quiet as people were sleeping. We couldn't believe what we were hearing. It was more like a retirement home instead of an adult resort in Cancun.

Other Comments: I would not recommend this resort to anyone. Nor would I recommend any Oasis resort based on the comments we received from other clients who stayed at Oasis Canun and Oasis Palm. Even one of the hotel staff (who we were were talking to the morning we left) said that the Grand Oasis Playa was not one of the better resorts in Cancun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All was good."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Rita_Toronto  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

Arrival:Feb - 2009
Arived at 11;30pm, There was only 6 people so it was fast. The 1st room we recived was occupied, so we were given another room.

Rooms
The room was great, bed was very comfortable. The View was amazing.!!!

Very clean.. Restaurants and Bars
Very good food at the buffet and the a la cartes were all great... The mexican had amazing food, veal and rack of lamb... The presentation was wonderful.. The Brazilian was great with all types of meat on squres..

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was great with big waves just so nice to look at..warmer than the pool. The pools were clean and very picturesque with the never ending look.. The back pool was a little quieter.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We mostly took the bus into town very frequent and only 65 pesos can;t beat that. The island of the ladys was great were you could rent golf carts and tour the island for the day.. nice trip.. At the resort they had aqua fit and water volleyball, bingo , yoga, pilates daily, no pressure

Other Comments
All was good, relaxing a little boring after dinner and no baileys or drambuie at the bars but still had a great time.. Warning there are a lot of stairs ... not for people with disablities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Waiting around the Hotel for the Sunquest Representative"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Micowilson  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Group
299 people found this review helpful

Arrived at Oasis Viva Beach ( couldn't see any sign for Grand Oasis Viva Beach), there wasn't any representative for Sunquest at the resort during our check in. We gave our hotel voucher to the front desk and we were assigned 2 rooms on the 10th floor. As we were making our way to our room, we could definitely tell we weren't at a new resort ( doors were marked and scratched, nails sticking out of walls) our rooms had king sized bed, no mini fridge, no mini bar, no balcony, no room service...and the rooms were not new. Talk about false advertising. The Bellboy tried to tell us we were in the new resort.

We went back to the front desk to complain and after a while they finally told us that the new resort was overbooked and they didn't have room for us there. They handed us a piece of paper and told us they were sending us to the Grand Oasis Playa and we were taken there by taxi. We didn't get any choice in were we went...and wouldn't have picked the Grand Oasis Playa if it was up to us.

At the Grand Oasis Playa we were assigned 1 room on the 6th floor and one on the 8th floor. When we got to the room on the 8th floor and we used the toilet the hose came off the back of the toilet and started spraying water all over the room. We had to go back to the front desk and beg for a new room, the staff kept passing us from one person to the next. We were finally given another room on the 8th floor. We were told during check in that the Sunquest Rep would be at the Hotel between 9-12 in the morning and we could meet with them during that time.
We spent the next two morning (April 12 and 13) from 9 - 12 in the lobby of the Hotel waiting for the Sunquest Rep, who never showed up. Whenever we approached staff from the Hotel they kept saying that the Sunquest would be in and/ had already been there and we must have missed them.
There is a Sunquest Book in the Lobby, it has no contact information in it and doesn't list the Representatives time in it.

On Sunday April 13, the lockbox key wouldn't open the safe in the room on the 6th floor and we had to wait around in the room for 2 hours until someone came to open it. The front desk wouldn't give us another key/lock for the lockbox until maintenance gave them a report that the lock had been cut off. We had to store all our belonging in the safe on the 8th floor. The Concierge Desk finally gave us a contact phone number for Sunquest, but told us we would have to buy a phone card or use the phone in our room to call Sunquest. We tried the phones in both of our rooms, they wouldn't work, the front desk told us that they can't make outgoing calls from their phones, we insisted that we needed to talk with someone from Sunquest and they finally dialed the number from their desk.

More Waiting...:
We spoke with Ricardo from Sunquest and he set us up with an appt.with Fred at 6PM on Monday. The Hotel wouldn't give us the $20 dine out card that we were entitled to, they insisted that we had to get it from Sunquest.
After some more discussion with the staff at the Hotel, the coupons were finally given to us. We had to stay around the Hotel on Monday to meet with Fred from Sunquest. At 5:30PM Fred called and cancelled our appointment and wanted to re-book it for Thursday evening ( we were leaving Friday afternoon).We insisted that he had to come to see us before Thursday, an appointment was made for Tuesday morning at 11:30AM. We contacted our travel rep back in Canada with our concerns and told her we would be looking for a refund when we returned to Canada.

Once again we found ourselves waiting around the Hotel for the Sunquest Representative. At 11:40AM, Fred finally showed up. He assured us that he would arrange our pick up on Friday to return to the airport, and we booked an excursion with him for Wednesday at 2:00PM. The representative told us never to book at an Oasis Hotel again.

On Wednesday when we showed up for our tour we found out that Fred (Sunquest) had booked the tour for 12:00PM and we had missed the tour.....another wasted day! The tour was re-booked for Thursday....our last day.

The room on the 8th floor had little white bugs in it, the faucets in the sink leaked all the time, the floors were never swept, and we didn't get the ocean view room that we booked. There was very little animation/entertainment at this resort, which was something that was offered at the Grand Oasis Viva Beach. This seemed like a resort for retired couples.The room on the 6th floor had a large cockroach in it, and the toilet leaked all over the floor. The fridges weren't stocked daily and when we complained we were told to call room service ..which never solved anything.

This is not the vacation we expected, we spent more of our time waiting for the Sunquest Represenative and trying to have things fixed than we did trying to enjoy our vacation.

If you are planning to go...don't go with Sunquest.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would never go to this hotel again."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann_GrandOasis  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008 | Leisure | Solo
297 people found this review helpful

Returned march 8th 2008. no room service until 9 am every day. 17 marble stairs to get to buffet, no elevator available. had to get up everyday to get a lounge chair by 6am, or else there was no lying at pool. the line at customs at arrival was over 2 hours long to get into mexico. would never go to this hotel again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just to many stairs"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane& Jim  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

my husband and i stayed at the grand oasis playa from feb 23 to mar 1

it was a clean place but was not to happy with the place.

there was just to many stairs and when you have bad knees and legs and bad back going up and down the stairs to get to anything was not the greatest if you wanted to go to the pool climb the stairs if you wanted to get to the restraunts you had to climb the stairs. just to many stairs not hardly any activities going on at all. we up graded our room to a larger one and had a view of the ocean which was great. the hotel staff was great but the people that were there in the blue shirts just pushed going to the hyatt just too too much. every time you passed them they stopped you. we were guaranteed that it wasn't a time share but i don't think they know the difference because we went to the presentation and the last time i looked that presentation was about a time share i don't care what they say.

we did go to xcaret which was actually our second time there the first time we were on a cruise and when we stopped there xcaret was one of our excursions so since we liked it the first time we thought we would go again. alex was great on explaining everything to us and where to meet at the end of the day. the only thing was that after walking all day the bus that took us back to the resort left us at the curb instead of driving up the drive and letting us off near the door. it was rough on me i don't think that i would be going to this resort again and don't think that i would recommend it to anyone.

we checked out some of the other sister oasis and they were much nicer and bigger and had better food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, a good resort. not perfect, but perfection is very rare."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Katy_Toronto  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
263 people found this review helpful

Arrival - We were upgraded from the Oasis Palm Beach

Rooms - Room was gorgeous, we asked for and received an ocean view room. Unfortunately hot water was inconsistent and despite the fact that we tipped, we had a hard time getting the maid to clean our room (we had to call several times - it was like pulling teeth to get housekeeping over). But to be fair, that may have been due to the fact that my friends slept in every day until noon, when the maid came by in the morning they would send her away. So housekeeping had to make a special trip to clean our room. But for a 4* they should be able to clean our room within an hour or so of us requesting it, and they didn't.

Restaurants - Excellent! The a la carte restaurants and sushi and pizza were fantastic! I really recommend eating at the a la cartes all the time. The buffet was decent, but not special.

Bars - Wonderful, and plenty of them! I'm just a cerveza drinker myself, can't comment on the mixed drinks.

Beach and Pools - Pools were spectacular, and so was the beach.

Grounds - Very pretty grounds

Activities - Unfortunately, I'm not the person to judge bacause I think activities are really annoying in general and I prefer that there not be any at all. I would have loved to relax by the main pool, but couln't because of the "Animation". For pete's sake, we are on vacation to relax, I can't fathom why these resorts think we want to be "entertained" by noisy aerobics classes, bingo games, etc. If you're looking for peace and quiet, the infiniti pool on the other side of the resort is better.

Tours - I dodn't take any tours from the resort. I was there to do some serious diving, every morning I went with Ben from Mayan Aqua Dive for a two-tank dive and the diving was great (and I've dove Cozumel, Bahamas, etc so I know good diving when I see it). On the last day, got a ride with some friedns to Xel-Ha, a natural waterpark in a lagoon. It's $75 US but worth it - nice snorkelli

Conclusion - Overall, a good resort. not perfect, but perfection is very rare :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Next time, would stay at Palm Beach"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marnie_Canada  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
285 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Oasis Grand Playa. (March 3-10/07)

Was supposed to stay at Oasis Palm Beach, and wish we had. Were "upgraded" because Palm Beach supposedly did not have the King-size bed we had requested before leaving Canada. The people in front of us in line paid $20, and were given a room with the King-size bed, ocean-view and champagne. Wonder who got bumped so they were accommodated? They said they had only requested a standard room, originally. Found this out when we ran into them at the Flea Market 2 days later.

Beach at Grand Playa had red flags all week. Surf so rough you cannot swim, nor stand upright.

Swim-up bar a disappointment. Have to leave the pool, walk across the pool deck, down a flight of stairs and re-enter the pool to the swim-up area. Never opened on time. Bartender ignored someone asking what time it opened.

Food wonderful. NO complaints here whatsoever. Lots of variety. Waiters terrific.

Room and Hotel spotless, and they are constantly cleaning.

NO activities nor music at the pool. Very dull and quiet. Pool empty most days, the weather was lousy. Only 59 degrees one day. All week, saw the sun the first day, clouds everyday the rest of the week.

NO entertainment at the Hotel, except for a piano player for a couple of hours in the evening, and a dance troupe for a few nights. No one in the Disco. They encourage everyone to join the bus tour at 10:20pm every night to go to various Discos in Cancun.

SunWing rep never showed up at Hotel for Orientation, tours etc. Saw him 1 day, and asked to go back to Palm Beach. Said there was no room. Bus to airport never showed on last morning. Had to cab it to airport to catch flight home. Talked to someone else in airport who had the same problems with SunWing representation and bus.

Next time, would stay at Palm Beach as originally planned. After all our research it was exactly what we were looking for. Should have stayed despite the bed fiasco. Did go spend the day there, and beach was wonderful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had the time of my life."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Betty_Canada  on Jan 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
305 people found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying at this Resort from Nov 14/06 until Dec 23/06 and would have stayed longer if there had been room over the holidays.
I had the time of my life.
I met so many wonderful people on staff, and made some life long friends.
The food in the buffet , and the 2 a la carte restaurants, as well as the Snack bar was all excellent.
The staff are always cleaning so the pools and areas were always great.
The beach is fabulous and the beach bar is very handy.
The entertainment staff are the most wonderful group of people you will ever meet, and are always on the go with one activity after another.
I had occasion to meet a lot of the staff in this resort over the 5 weeks I was there, up to and including the Director of the Resort. I can not say enough about the treatment by the staff.
Everyone of them go out of their way to do what ever it takes to make you happy. I must mention the fabulous concierges. The head of this department and her staff are the best I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with.
I am a divorced woman and I travelled with a widowed woman.
I own a Vacation Club in Cancun and still chose to go to the Grand Oasis Playa instead.
I must say also that during the time I was there, the resort did change owners, and I literally saw the improvement with my own eyes. They were also slated to open a new restaurant the day I left.
As of December 23/06 the resort also went all Adult. They say there are striving more for the romantic, couples thing. (Guess I won't be going back) (lol) I am moving to Cancun very shortly so I will not need a resort.
I have a lot more information, so anyone wishing more may contact me bussuper2001@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would give it no more than a 3.5 or 4* tops."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Steve&Denise  on Jan 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
273 people found this review helpful

My wife & I are in our middle 40’s & recently stayed at the All Inclusive, Adult Only (23+) 4.5* Grand Oasis Playa in Cancun from January 19th to the 26th 2007.

We were originally booked at the Oasis Cancun but they overbooked & Sunquest offered us the supposed upgrade to the Playa.

We have been to Mexico 5 times now so we are used to the timeshare people at the airport etc so I will not dwell on that issue except to say “Do Not Stop & Talk To Anyone In The Airport!” Go straight through the airport outside & find you tour operator who will be clearly marked with a sign. Please remember that other people will be on the same bus or van with you & they do not want to stand around in the heat waiting while you talk to timeshare people in the airport, they want to get to their hotels ASAP & start to enjoy their vacations! The drive to our hotel was about 15 minutes in an A/C van with 4 other couples (1 of which we had to wait for at the airport as stated above).

Check-in:
Check-in was not a problem as there was only the 2 of us & 1 other couple. The rooms would not be ready until 3:00 pm (it was only 11:00 am), which was not a big deal to us. This enabled us to wander the hotel & bars. All the workers in the Hotel were pleasant & very helpful. The only fault we had was the concierge people were very pushy & irritating & at one point we had one follow us all the way across the lobby to beg us to take a tour of another hotel. Each time you entered the lobby they would again chase you. The hotel is not very well marked. There are no names on the restaurants or bars & the map is terrible.

Hotel / Lobby:
The hotel was very clean looking with marble everywhere & yes there were 2 elevators & only 1 worked. I think the other was under repair as it was boarded up. There are 8 floors & numerous stairs to climb up & down to almost everything & every place. My wife & I do like to walk a lot so we always take the stairs anyway. If you have a problem with negotiating stairs, this is definitely not the hotel for you.
In the lobby area there are numerous chairs to sit on & yes there is a large “red dead tree” in the center but looks rather unique. Off to one side is the Lobby Bar that serves whatever you fancy including cappuccino.

Pools:
Just past the Lobby Bar & out to the front of the Hotel is a somewhat quiet area with a beautiful Infinity Pool that overflows to the rocks around its edges. Also in this area are “swing beds” a bar & I think the massage area but we didn’t spend any time out there. The main pool is beautiful that has 3 levels. The first level is a quiet area that flows to the second level through channels with concrete walkways over it. The second level has a shaded swim up bar that has a waterfall flowing over the ends of it from the first level. I think this bar would be a lot nicer if it was located in the sun as it was never busy. That area overflows to the third level, which is the activities area. The pool has various depths to it that I think are marked by different colored tiles on the bottom & there are steps into each area. All the pools were very nice & warm.

Beach:
All I can say is gorgeous as most in Cancun & the Mayan Riviera are. This hotel is located near the start of the strip so walking south is maybe 2 miles. Walking north goes forever! I talked with a bartender & he said they had to truck in sand as the Hurricane took a lot of it out to sea. There are numerous chairs to be had at any time so there is no need to get up at the crack of dawn to save any. There are 15 or 20 Palapas to sit under, double size mattresses with pillows that can be put on 2 lounge chairs, & there are also bed like enclosures to be had which I never did get the name of.

Bars:
The first bar is the Lobby Bar that greets you upon arrival. It has a very nice atmosphere & is not to busy. This bar serves all drinks including cappuccino. In the corner there is a Baby Grand Piano that I never heard played.
The second bar is out front at the Infinity Pool that is also very quiet. If you like quiet & serene spots this is nice.
The third bar is located just outside on the same level as the lobby. This is a terrace area that overlooks the main pool & has a beautiful ocean view. This bar is open until around 10:00pm.
The fourth bar is the swim up bar that I spoke about before in the pool section.
The fifth bar is the same level as the swim up bar which also serves hotdogs, burgers, nachos, & fries as well as all the drinks.
The sixth bar is a Sushi Bar located down one level from the pool on the way to the beach. I am not a sushi eater so I did not try it out so therefore can’t comment.
The seventh bar is a beach bar located right on the beach that served everything.
The eighth bar is the disco area that opened from 10–2:00am.
All bars have ice-cold Corona on tap not local beer & that was nice to see & taste.

Rooms:
When we did get our room at 3:00pm, we were located on the 6th floor room 612 facing north toward the rest of the Cancun strip overlooking the main pool area & the Caribbean. It was a gorgeous view. The room did not have a balcony but had a large window that opened & you could sit with your feet hanging out just like a balcony. I do think the rooms without the balconies were larger than the ones with balconies. We had a king size bed that was very comfortable with a light material canopy over it…very nice touch. The in-room safe @ $5.00/day is always a good investment. There was a beer fridge stocked with water, beer, pop & they kept it stocked pretty well. A/C worked great, sometimes after being in the sun to long it worked to good. TV took a long time to warm up but worked OK once it was on for 10 minutes or so but I didn’t go all the way to Mexico to watch TV anyway. All in all, we found the rooms quite adequate & the maid service good. We always left a tip for the maid.

Restaurants:
They were nothing to write home about. The buffet for breakfast was about the best it ever got. There was only 1 toaster so always a line up. There were normal items like scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruits, breads, juices etc. Dinners were basically the same every night & food was never hot just warm at best & there were no names on anything which would have eliminated at least some off the waste. There was only one day that the dinner buffet was different; all they did was added fish. There were 3 alacarte restaurants, Mediterranean, Italian, & Mexican. I can only speak about the Italian, as that was the only one we ate at. I had the Cannelloni & my wife had the Medallion Steak. All seemed great until we got back to our room. After about 10 minutes my wife had extreme stomach pain, which was so bad she had to lie on the tile floor to get any relief. She also had the cold sweats. It was a day & ˝ before she was somewhat normal. Room service is included so don’t be afraid to use it. The clubhouse sandwich is pretty good.

Entertainment:
Not much to speak of. We only saw the National Show, which was quite good. The dancers do put a lot of time & work into them. Each day they do aerobics & scuba instruction in the pool. There was only 1-volleyball game that I saw & that was our hotel against the one next to us. The disco was not very busy at all as this is an adult only hotel & most people stayed at the terrace or Lobby Bar for after dinner drinks.

If you want to go anywhere, jump on the bus. Stops are everywhere & the wait is only about 10 minutes. It is $6.50 pesos each or $.65 US each to ride anywhere. If you don’t want to go all the way into town, try La Isla Mall or KuKulcan Plaza they have everything you need.

Conclusion:
All in all I would say if you can get this hotel for under $1,000.00 per person including taxes, that would be acceptable & as far as the 4.5* rating, I would give it no more than a 3.5 or 4* tops.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I definitely would not recommend this resort."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy_Quincy  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
251 people found this review helpful

The good --spacious lobby; three lovely pools; friendly staff

The downside -- Food is just okay in the buffet; Mexican Restaurant - not good at all; Italian Restaurant - food was better; Sushi Bar - excellent. The wine was awful -- We went outside the resort to buy some bottles of good wine. The alcohol in the mixed drinks was terrible; the beer was good. (The children liked the cocktails without the alcohol, of course.)

My room was so moist that in the morning I had to be careful walking on the wet floor. There was a layer of wetness on every surface. We had to dry our bathing suits and coverups on the chairs on our patio. One of our rooms had lots of ants crawling up the walls. The air conditioner in that room did not work. The description of the resort stated there were mini bars and refrigerators in every room; there were none. There was supposed to be a kids club; there was none. There were no activities at all for either children or adults. There was no music at all by the pools. In the week that we were there one evening someone played the piano for one fifteen-minute period. No other music. The elevators only worked occasionally and the stairs were broken in places; some of the railings were either broken or missing altogether.

I definitely would not recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube