Be Live Grand Playa Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Playa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 8, 2010

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2010

Sun Palace

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2011

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Be Live Grand Playa  

60 Ave Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"I would not recommend this resort to anyone."
Posted by: Joanne_Ottawa on May 1, 2009
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Reviews
Be Live Grand Playa Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Playa Cancun Mexico

#8
of 53 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.5

Based on 13 reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Information


The Hotel Grand Oasis Playa, in Cancun, Mexico, is an exclusive 5-star All-Inclusive Hotel, with around 400 rooms and aimed especially at relaxation, leisure and fun holidays. .

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Playa Reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5 13 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  4
Average
  8
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 13

"A fabulous vacation in Cancun at Oasis Playa"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela_Ontario  on Feb 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
59 people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a fabulous vacation in Cancun at Oasis Playa. I traveled with my husband and another couple. We flew out of Hamilton airport. I would rearrange my travel plans in the future to be able to travel from Hamilton again, it was completely hassle and stress free. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (even customs!). We landed in Hamilton at 4:30pm Thursday afternoon, we were through customs and had our luggage by 4:50pm.

This was the first trip to Mexico for all of us, but I know it will not be the last. Our resort was stunning. I was very quite concerned after having read some of the horrible reviews of Oasis Playa that I had gotten us into something awful. All week we commented to each other that you would have to look pretty hard to find something to complain about in beautiful place like this.

Arrival:
Upon arrival to the resort our "sunquest" group was ushered into a conference room, which initially we were a little concerned about, but it turned out to be the check-in process. Instead of waiting in line we were briefed on the resort and the sunquest amenities, at that time we were each called up to receive our wrist bands, beach towel card, room number, key and remote for the TV. I really liked this method of check-in.....it set a relaxing laid-back tone for the rest of our holiday. As at most hotels, check-in time was until 3pm (we arrived at 11am) so our room wasn't ready yet, but the staff (all of whom were very helpful and friendly) locked up our luggage for us and brought it up to our room once it was ready. We quickly grabbed our bathing suits and sunscreen and headed for the pool. We felt perfectly safe leaving our luggage in their possession.

Rooms:
We were very impressed with our room. First off it was spotless and our chambermaid was an absolute sweetheart. We lucked out with a huge terrace over looking the lagoon side of the resort. We were on the 7th floor (our friends were on the 5th) The terrace was about the same size as our room and surrounded with flower boxes full of hibiscus's and azaleas. Everyday we were surprised with amazing towel creations from our chambermaid....she did everything from swans to roses even elephants! She often took the time to pick flowers to include in the displays. The air-conditioning in our room worked great and yeah the bed was a little hard, but if that is your worse complaint about a vacation, I really don't think you have anything much to complain about.

Beach:
We spent most of our time on the beach, the chairs around the pools seem to go very fast. There was usually stacks of chairs still available on the beach and when there wasn't, we laid on our towels in the sand. The ocean was beautiful, but very rough, everyday was a red flag day, but we had a blast body surfing on the waves. The bar on the beach opened each day at 9am the others didn't open until 10am. We didn't find the drinks watered down at all, they were usually too strong if anything. We also brought with us our own insulated cups....keeps a drink cold for hours (not that the drinks lasted that long). The staff was great about rinsing them out for us and refilling them. The best drinks where by far at the swim bar.....best Mai Tai's EVER!!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We signed up for a package tour at the Aquaworld tour desk....they are very cleverly also the people you have speak to to get your beach towels. For $115 per person we got 3 tours that we spread out through-out the week. The Jungle Tour (although I am unsure why it's called that) we took waverunners on 45min trip across the lagoon through a narrow "jungle" like channel into the ocean and then over to the Mayan Reef for 1 hour of snorkeling. The trip there was a blast, although the machines are not true waverunners and didn't have a lot of power. The snorkeling was ok, but you just jumped in off your machine, we didn't shore-up, just anchored. There was about 10 other tours there all snorkeling at the same time and you had to stay within a roped off area.....it was quite crowed, I think we saw more bodies than fish. I wouldn't really recommended this adventure....overall we were disappointed with it. Parasailing. This was AMAZING and I would recommend it to everyone. It wasn't "true" in a harness parasailing, we actually sat in seat. The seat fit two people. It was so totally calm and peaceful up there. You go 400 feet up in to the sky....what a rush!!! We were taken our to our boat on a true waverunner....that was a ride in itself. Sub See. This was also very cool. We traveled on a party barge with free flowing beer and blasting music over to a "submarine" out in the ocean. The sub is kinda like an underwater bus made of all windows.....we saw amazing things. I would also highly recommend this. It would be great for kids too, but it did make us feel a little sea sick.....we were very ready to get off when we did. I think the sub ride was 20mins.

Food:
The food at the resort was great! The buffet was always fabulous morning, noon and night. The pizza is worth waiting for at lunch and bbq at the beach was good too. The a la cart food was excellent. I ordered off the "not included" menu one night and had a delicious beef, chicken and shrimp kabob...it was only $11 and worth every penny! But the BEST meal all week was after the bar (the only night we made it to a bar) we were starving, but the buffet was closed....it turns out that every night at 12:15am there is a sandwich bar at the Mediterranean restaurant. I don't know if it was because we were so hungry or what, but those sandwiches were fantastic....the bread must have been made only hours before

Nightly Entertainment:
Every night at 9pm there is a show...they are fine, your typical resort style shows. After that there isn't any night life in the resort and all the resort bars close at midnight. But the city buses are wonderful and run 24/7. We went to Senior Frogs in Cancun one night....I guess we are getting old, because we found it too loud and were happier playing cards at the piano bar at the resort, so we left and that was what we did.

Summary:
All in all....go to Oasis Playa.....you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Mexican 2 star."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly_Ontario  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005 | Leisure | Family and Kids
69 people found this review helpful

This one brought us an entirely different experience

Rooms:
From the time we arrived to the time we left, this “all inclusive resort” cost us money upon money upon money (US $). It’s rated as 4 star. That rating should be for the hotel lobby only. The rooms looked okay when we entered, but immediately dropped down to a Mexican 2 star. There is no fridge. The water is entirely undrinkable, it can not even be used to brush teeth. Trust me when I say – you will be ill if you do not follow this advice – violently ill. The bathtub had one of those long metal plugs (about 7” long) that is supposed to be fixed in the tub drain. Ours was sitting on the edge of the tub and it was rusty. The rust complemented the 6” wide ring of bathtub dirt that went around the inside of the tub. The visual of the tub, however, went with the horrible stench of a dirty toilet (feces smell) that pervaded the room. I promptly went to open the window and finally was able to open the curtains (the pulls were all broken, but I managed to work them open) and air out the room. The smell came back every day at around 10:00pm for about ˝ an hour.

We went to turn the lights on. The main table lamp in the room did not work, and when I lifted the shade off to see why, I discovered that the socket was completely out of the lamp and the wires were exposed. We went to turn on the tv only to discover that we had not been given our remote. We decided to get the remote the next day (it was about 11:30pm by now and we were all tired).

The next day, we got the remote and discovered that our cable for the tv was disconnected. I went and asked the front desk to send someone to fix it. That evening, nobody had come so my husband went down and within 10 minutes a repair guy was there. It appears that a man’s voice lends more credibility than a woman’s at Oasis resorts. We also finally got our room safe. In the brochure, it stated that there would be a charge for the in-room safe and there was - $5USD per day.

Beach:
The beach was much, much smaller than we were led to believe it would be. At the bar, the drink mixer was washed out with tap water (which we were told to avoid). Big containers of water were hauled in each day to a dispenser by the bars, but we saw no such dispenser behind the bars mixing the soft drinks and such. Also, ice was brought in by the bag.

Illness:
On our last day there, my 2 kids and I got violently ill. My 7 year old son started throwing up at 2:00am and ended the following afternoon just prior to us leaving the resort. My daughter started at 10:00am of the morning we were leaving. We had to plead with the hotel to make our room available to us and eventually they did – until 4:00pm at a charge of $30USD. We vacated the room by 3:30pm and went to the lobby. Once we got to the lobby, we were told that our 5:00pm pick up time was now going to be 11:30pm. We did not receive an offer of the room from the front desk, even for a further additional charge. We had to beg for a blanket for the kids, who were racing back and forth to the bathrooms in the lobby. After an hour of this (at about 4:30pm) one of the guests that we had befriended was speaking with us and noticed our 10 year old’s greenish complexion and dash to the washroom. He actually offered his room and their beds for both of our kids. It’s rather disgusting when a fellow traveler has the compassion to offer a room to sick children when the hotel staff needs to be begged for a blanket. Our former room was still vacant by the time the bus finally picked us up.

Summary:
Signature tours or vacations or whatever they are called will not be getting our business again, as their representation at the resort was non existent. We saw many people not being able to obtain a safe for their belongings at all; we saw luggage that was completely torn open on the trip (this was an airline issue, but the two girls that it happened to were confused as to what to do because they couldn’t find out where to make a report for their insurance – no rep to help); we saw people being moved to other Oasis resorts because this one was “overbooked” even though we know there were at least 15 rooms vacant by the time we left.

We would not travel with Signature again, nor would we ever, ever again stay in an Oasis resort anywhere in the world. We have complained directly to them and have received absolutely no response. Signature has promised a response within “6 to 8 weeks”. I’m not holding my breath.

We hear from other travelers that the Melia Turquesa (in Cancun) was very pleasant and clean. I’d like to hear more feedback on this one.

Good luck on future vacations and I hope that our feedback will help someone to make a decision on where to go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in all this was a fantastic vacation"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya_USA@temporal.com  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
80 people found this review helpful

I am very much a vacation is what you make it person- so please keep this in mind while you read my review....

Arrival:
We arrived at the airport in Cancun to the most beautiful weather. We have been on many Caribbean vacations but the weather here was phenomenal to say the least! We were greeted by our escort (we booked through AAA travel in NY) who loaded us and another couple into our van for our drive. Very short drive. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the friendly staff, we then checked in with absolutely no problems. People at the front desk were of course complaining and carrying on and one woman was being so abusive to the staff my husband actually asked her to be quiet because she was embarrassing us as Americans with her rotten attitude. But I digress... I could not believe it when we got to our room. We were told upon booking this vacation we would have a garden view or pool view room at best. We were at the far end literally right on the ocean. Our view was breathtaking!!!! Our room was clean and comfortable. Now as I said I have been to the Caribbean so I know what to expect. Their is no carpet, the floors are tile and the ways are concrete. It's is a hot humid country so it gets a little musty. OPEN THE DOOR! The air smells wonderful and the ocean is divine to fall asleep to!

Pools:
We then proceeded down to meet a hotel rep who told us all about the resort. This took a bit too long for my liking as I could not wait to hit the pool bar and see the beach. But to say he was wonderful was and understatement. The entire staff was absolutely fantastic. We then hit the pool. Yes a few tiles are loose. If you have a pool of this size at home with a pool bar and it's in perfect condition feel free to complain. If not enjoy it!! The lime daiquiris are to die for! The activities are non stop and the music plays all day! You can always go up to the other pool if it's too loud but we don't mind. We aren't in New York and we aren't at work so it's fine with us!

Safety:
My favorite part of this resort was that the entire staff called me by name constantly and always asked what I needed or if I was enjoying my stay. I felt so spoiled by these gracious wonderful people. We did not use the safe once. We even left the maid a tip and she stacked even last dime up neatly on the table. We had to write her a note to tell her it was hers. I even left jewelry all over and no one touched a thing except to straighten up!!!

Food:
WOW!!! I love Mexican cuisine and this definitely lived up to my expectations. The pizza is wonderful and we ate one every single day! We did not visit the Italian restaurant but we loved the Mediterranean and my husband ordered the whole fish with the eye and all!

Excursions:
We were there just 5 days so we only did one trip to the Isla Mujeras. We took a boat over to the island and then snorkeled the first half of the day and took a jeep tour the second half of the day. What a blast! The party on the way back was great as well. This is a must! The Isla Mujeras is beautiful also. We also got this trip free as we agreed to tour another resort. Not a waste of time at all, they are a bit pushy but just eat your fabulous breakfast and tell them NO! LOL

Nightlife:
Plenty of it!!! Try it! We didn't do a lot but this city reminds me of Miami. And at Jimmy Buffets get the "vacation size" drink!

Conclusion:
All in all this was a fantastic vacation.
We went with an open mind and the expectation of nice weather and cold drinks and we were not disappointed. The only disappointment I had was in the other guests, who were rude to the staff, demanding, and unreasonable. You aren't a rock star or royalty. Don't expect to be treated as such! Treat these wonderful people with the courtesy and respect they deserve and you won't be disappointed. (I even met a couple from England who dumped water all over their room because they wanted a better one!) Thank you! If you have any questions feel free to email me at tlhasseler@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I definitely would not recommend this resort."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy_Quincy  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
246 people found this review helpful

The good --spacious lobby; three lovely pools; friendly staff

The downside -- Food is just okay in the buffet; Mexican Restaurant - not good at all; Italian Restaurant - food was better; Sushi Bar - excellent. The wine was awful -- We went outside the resort to buy some bottles of good wine. The alcohol in the mixed drinks was terrible; the beer was good. (The children liked the cocktails without the alcohol, of course.)

My room was so moist that in the morning I had to be careful walking on the wet floor. There was a layer of wetness on every surface. We had to dry our bathing suits and coverups on the chairs on our patio. One of our rooms had lots of ants crawling up the walls. The air conditioner in that room did not work. The description of the resort stated there were mini bars and refrigerators in every room; there were none. There was supposed to be a kids club; there was none. There were no activities at all for either children or adults. There was no music at all by the pools. In the week that we were there one evening someone played the piano for one fifteen-minute period. No other music. The elevators only worked occasionally and the stairs were broken in places; some of the railings were either broken or missing altogether.

I definitely would not recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had the time of my life."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Betty_Canada  on Jan 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
302 people found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying at this Resort from Nov 14/06 until Dec 23/06 and would have stayed longer if there had been room over the holidays.
I had the time of my life.
I met so many wonderful people on staff, and made some life long friends.
The food in the buffet , and the 2 a la carte restaurants, as well as the Snack bar was all excellent.
The staff are always cleaning so the pools and areas were always great.
The beach is fabulous and the beach bar is very handy.
The entertainment staff are the most wonderful group of people you will ever meet, and are always on the go with one activity after another.
I had occasion to meet a lot of the staff in this resort over the 5 weeks I was there, up to and including the Director of the Resort. I can not say enough about the treatment by the staff.
Everyone of them go out of their way to do what ever it takes to make you happy. I must mention the fabulous concierges. The head of this department and her staff are the best I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with.
I am a divorced woman and I travelled with a widowed woman.
I own a Vacation Club in Cancun and still chose to go to the Grand Oasis Playa instead.
I must say also that during the time I was there, the resort did change owners, and I literally saw the improvement with my own eyes. They were also slated to open a new restaurant the day I left.
As of December 23/06 the resort also went all Adult. They say there are striving more for the romantic, couples thing. (Guess I won't be going back) (lol) I am moving to Cancun very shortly so I will not need a resort.
I have a lot more information, so anyone wishing more may contact me bussuper2001@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would give it no more than a 3.5 or 4* tops."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Steve&Denise  on Jan 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
271 people found this review helpful

My wife & I are in our middle 40’s & recently stayed at the All Inclusive, Adult Only (23+) 4.5* Grand Oasis Playa in Cancun from January 19th to the 26th 2007.

We were originally booked at the Oasis Cancun but they overbooked & Sunquest offered us the supposed upgrade to the Playa.

We have been to Mexico 5 times now so we are used to the timeshare people at the airport etc so I will not dwell on that issue except to say “Do Not Stop & Talk To Anyone In The Airport!” Go straight through the airport outside & find you tour operator who will be clearly marked with a sign. Please remember that other people will be on the same bus or van with you & they do not want to stand around in the heat waiting while you talk to timeshare people in the airport, they want to get to their hotels ASAP & start to enjoy their vacations! The drive to our hotel was about 15 minutes in an A/C van with 4 other couples (1 of which we had to wait for at the airport as stated above).

Check-in:
Check-in was not a problem as there was only the 2 of us & 1 other couple. The rooms would not be ready until 3:00 pm (it was only 11:00 am), which was not a big deal to us. This enabled us to wander the hotel & bars. All the workers in the Hotel were pleasant & very helpful. The only fault we had was the concierge people were very pushy & irritating & at one point we had one follow us all the way across the lobby to beg us to take a tour of another hotel. Each time you entered the lobby they would again chase you. The hotel is not very well marked. There are no names on the restaurants or bars & the map is terrible.

Hotel / Lobby:
The hotel was very clean looking with marble everywhere & yes there were 2 elevators & only 1 worked. I think the other was under repair as it was boarded up. There are 8 floors & numerous stairs to climb up & down to almost everything & every place. My wife & I do like to walk a lot so we always take the stairs anyway. If you have a problem with negotiating stairs, this is definitely not the hotel for you.
In the lobby area there are numerous chairs to sit on & yes there is a large “red dead tree” in the center but looks rather unique. Off to one side is the Lobby Bar that serves whatever you fancy including cappuccino.

Pools:
Just past the Lobby Bar & out to the front of the Hotel is a somewhat quiet area with a beautiful Infinity Pool that overflows to the rocks around its edges. Also in this area are “swing beds” a bar & I think the massage area but we didn’t spend any time out there. The main pool is beautiful that has 3 levels. The first level is a quiet area that flows to the second level through channels with concrete walkways over it. The second level has a shaded swim up bar that has a waterfall flowing over the ends of it from the first level. I think this bar would be a lot nicer if it was located in the sun as it was never busy. That area overflows to the third level, which is the activities area. The pool has various depths to it that I think are marked by different colored tiles on the bottom & there are steps into each area. All the pools were very nice & warm.

Beach:
All I can say is gorgeous as most in Cancun & the Mayan Riviera are. This hotel is located near the start of the strip so walking south is maybe 2 miles. Walking north goes forever! I talked with a bartender & he said they had to truck in sand as the Hurricane took a lot of it out to sea. There are numerous chairs to be had at any time so there is no need to get up at the crack of dawn to save any. There are 15 or 20 Palapas to sit under, double size mattresses with pillows that can be put on 2 lounge chairs, & there are also bed like enclosures to be had which I never did get the name of.

Bars:
The first bar is the Lobby Bar that greets you upon arrival. It has a very nice atmosphere & is not to busy. This bar serves all drinks including cappuccino. In the corner there is a Baby Grand Piano that I never heard played.
The second bar is out front at the Infinity Pool that is also very quiet. If you like quiet & serene spots this is nice.
The third bar is located just outside on the same level as the lobby. This is a terrace area that overlooks the main pool & has a beautiful ocean view. This bar is open until around 10:00pm.
The fourth bar is the swim up bar that I spoke about before in the pool section.
The fifth bar is the same level as the swim up bar which also serves hotdogs, burgers, nachos, & fries as well as all the drinks.
The sixth bar is a Sushi Bar located down one level from the pool on the way to the beach. I am not a sushi eater so I did not try it out so therefore can’t comment.
The seventh bar is a beach bar located right on the beach that served everything.
The eighth bar is the disco area that opened from 10–2:00am.
All bars have ice-cold Corona on tap not local beer & that was nice to see & taste.

Rooms:
When we did get our room at 3:00pm, we were located on the 6th floor room 612 facing north toward the rest of the Cancun strip overlooking the main pool area & the Caribbean. It was a gorgeous view. The room did not have a balcony but had a large window that opened & you could sit with your feet hanging out just like a balcony. I do think the rooms without the balconies were larger than the ones with balconies. We had a king size bed that was very comfortable with a light material canopy over it…very nice touch. The in-room safe @ $5.00/day is always a good investment. There was a beer fridge stocked with water, beer, pop & they kept it stocked pretty well. A/C worked great, sometimes after being in the sun to long it worked to good. TV took a long time to warm up but worked OK once it was on for 10 minutes or so but I didn’t go all the way to Mexico to watch TV anyway. All in all, we found the rooms quite adequate & the maid service good. We always left a tip for the maid.

Restaurants:
They were nothing to write home about. The buffet for breakfast was about the best it ever got. There was only 1 toaster so always a line up. There were normal items like scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruits, breads, juices etc. Dinners were basically the same every night & food was never hot just warm at best & there were no names on anything which would have eliminated at least some off the waste. There was only one day that the dinner buffet was different; all they did was added fish. There were 3 alacarte restaurants, Mediterranean, Italian, & Mexican. I can only speak about the Italian, as that was the only one we ate at. I had the Cannelloni & my wife had the Medallion Steak. All seemed great until we got back to our room. After about 10 minutes my wife had extreme stomach pain, which was so bad she had to lie on the tile floor to get any relief. She also had the cold sweats. It was a day & ˝ before she was somewhat normal. Room service is included so don’t be afraid to use it. The clubhouse sandwich is pretty good.

Entertainment:
Not much to speak of. We only saw the National Show, which was quite good. The dancers do put a lot of time & work into them. Each day they do aerobics & scuba instruction in the pool. There was only 1-volleyball game that I saw & that was our hotel against the one next to us. The disco was not very busy at all as this is an adult only hotel & most people stayed at the terrace or Lobby Bar for after dinner drinks.

If you want to go anywhere, jump on the bus. Stops are everywhere & the wait is only about 10 minutes. It is $6.50 pesos each or $.65 US each to ride anywhere. If you don’t want to go all the way into town, try La Isla Mall or KuKulcan Plaza they have everything you need.

Conclusion:
All in all I would say if you can get this hotel for under $1,000.00 per person including taxes, that would be acceptable & as far as the 4.5* rating, I would give it no more than a 3.5 or 4* tops.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Next time, would stay at Palm Beach"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marnie_Canada  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Oasis Grand Playa. (March 3-10/07)

Was supposed to stay at Oasis Palm Beach, and wish we had. Were "upgraded" because Palm Beach supposedly did not have the King-size bed we had requested before leaving Canada. The people in front of us in line paid $20, and were given a room with the King-size bed, ocean-view and champagne. Wonder who got bumped so they were accommodated? They said they had only requested a standard room, originally. Found this out when we ran into them at the Flea Market 2 days later.

Beach at Grand Playa had red flags all week. Surf so rough you cannot swim, nor stand upright.

Swim-up bar a disappointment. Have to leave the pool, walk across the pool deck, down a flight of stairs and re-enter the pool to the swim-up area. Never opened on time. Bartender ignored someone asking what time it opened.

Food wonderful. NO complaints here whatsoever. Lots of variety. Waiters terrific.

Room and Hotel spotless, and they are constantly cleaning.

NO activities nor music at the pool. Very dull and quiet. Pool empty most days, the weather was lousy. Only 59 degrees one day. All week, saw the sun the first day, clouds everyday the rest of the week.

NO entertainment at the Hotel, except for a piano player for a couple of hours in the evening, and a dance troupe for a few nights. No one in the Disco. They encourage everyone to join the bus tour at 10:20pm every night to go to various Discos in Cancun.

SunWing rep never showed up at Hotel for Orientation, tours etc. Saw him 1 day, and asked to go back to Palm Beach. Said there was no room. Bus to airport never showed on last morning. Had to cab it to airport to catch flight home. Talked to someone else in airport who had the same problems with SunWing representation and bus.

Next time, would stay at Palm Beach as originally planned. After all our research it was exactly what we were looking for. Should have stayed despite the bed fiasco. Did go spend the day there, and beach was wonderful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, a good resort. not perfect, but perfection is very rare."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Katy_Toronto  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
262 people found this review helpful

Arrival - We were upgraded from the Oasis Palm Beach

Rooms - Room was gorgeous, we asked for and received an ocean view room. Unfortunately hot water was inconsistent and despite the fact that we tipped, we had a hard time getting the maid to clean our room (we had to call several times - it was like pulling teeth to get housekeeping over). But to be fair, that may have been due to the fact that my friends slept in every day until noon, when the maid came by in the morning they would send her away. So housekeeping had to make a special trip to clean our room. But for a 4* they should be able to clean our room within an hour or so of us requesting it, and they didn't.

Restaurants - Excellent! The a la carte restaurants and sushi and pizza were fantastic! I really recommend eating at the a la cartes all the time. The buffet was decent, but not special.

Bars - Wonderful, and plenty of them! I'm just a cerveza drinker myself, can't comment on the mixed drinks.

Beach and Pools - Pools were spectacular, and so was the beach.

Grounds - Very pretty grounds

Activities - Unfortunately, I'm not the person to judge bacause I think activities are really annoying in general and I prefer that there not be any at all. I would have loved to relax by the main pool, but couln't because of the "Animation". For pete's sake, we are on vacation to relax, I can't fathom why these resorts think we want to be "entertained" by noisy aerobics classes, bingo games, etc. If you're looking for peace and quiet, the infiniti pool on the other side of the resort is better.

Tours - I dodn't take any tours from the resort. I was there to do some serious diving, every morning I went with Ben from Mayan Aqua Dive for a two-tank dive and the diving was great (and I've dove Cozumel, Bahamas, etc so I know good diving when I see it). On the last day, got a ride with some friedns to Xel-Ha, a natural waterpark in a lagoon. It's $75 US but worth it - nice snorkelli

Conclusion - Overall, a good resort. not perfect, but perfection is very rare :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would never go to this hotel again."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann_GrandOasis  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008 | Leisure | Solo
292 people found this review helpful

Returned march 8th 2008. no room service until 9 am every day. 17 marble stairs to get to buffet, no elevator available. had to get up everyday to get a lounge chair by 6am, or else there was no lying at pool. the line at customs at arrival was over 2 hours long to get into mexico. would never go to this hotel again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just to many stairs"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane& Jim  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

my husband and i stayed at the grand oasis playa from feb 23 to mar 1

it was a clean place but was not to happy with the place.

there was just to many stairs and when you have bad knees and legs and bad back going up and down the stairs to get to anything was not the greatest if you wanted to go to the pool climb the stairs if you wanted to get to the restraunts you had to climb the stairs. just to many stairs not hardly any activities going on at all. we up graded our room to a larger one and had a view of the ocean which was great. the hotel staff was great but the people that were there in the blue shirts just pushed going to the hyatt just too too much. every time you passed them they stopped you. we were guaranteed that it wasn't a time share but i don't think they know the difference because we went to the presentation and the last time i looked that presentation was about a time share i don't care what they say.

we did go to xcaret which was actually our second time there the first time we were on a cruise and when we stopped there xcaret was one of our excursions so since we liked it the first time we thought we would go again. alex was great on explaining everything to us and where to meet at the end of the day. the only thing was that after walking all day the bus that took us back to the resort left us at the curb instead of driving up the drive and letting us off near the door. it was rough on me i don't think that i would be going to this resort again and don't think that i would recommend it to anyone.

we checked out some of the other sister oasis and they were much nicer and bigger and had better food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube