Be Live Grand Playa Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Playa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Royal Solaris Caribe

4.5 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)

4.5 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2011

Be Live Grand Playa  

60 Ave Kukulcan, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"I would not recommend this resort to anyone."
Posted by: Joanne_Ottawa on May 1, 2009
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Reviews
Be Live Grand Playa Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Playa Cancun Mexico

#8
of 55 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.5

Based on 13 reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Information


The Hotel Grand Oasis Playa, in Cancun, Mexico, is an exclusive 5-star All-Inclusive Hotel, with around 400 rooms and aimed especially at relaxation, leisure and fun holidays. .

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Playa Reviews

Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.5 of 5 13 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  4
Average
  8
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With friend
11 - 13 of 13

"Waiting around the Hotel for the Sunquest Representative"

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Micowilson  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Group
840 people found this review helpful

Arrived at Oasis Viva Beach ( couldn't see any sign for Grand Oasis Viva Beach), there wasn't any representative for Sunquest at the resort during our check in. We gave our hotel voucher to the front desk and we were assigned 2 rooms on the 10th floor. As we were making our way to our room, we could definitely tell we weren't at a new resort ( doors were marked and scratched, nails sticking out of walls) our rooms had king sized bed, no mini fridge, no mini bar, no balcony, no room service...and the rooms were not new. Talk about false advertising. The Bellboy tried to tell us we were in the new resort.

We went back to the front desk to complain and after a while they finally told us that the new resort was overbooked and they didn't have room for us there. They handed us a piece of paper and told us they were sending us to the Grand Oasis Playa and we were taken there by taxi. We didn't get any choice in were we went...and wouldn't have picked the Grand Oasis Playa if it was up to us.

At the Grand Oasis Playa we were assigned 1 room on the 6th floor and one on the 8th floor. When we got to the room on the 8th floor and we used the toilet the hose came off the back of the toilet and started spraying water all over the room. We had to go back to the front desk and beg for a new room, the staff kept passing us from one person to the next. We were finally given another room on the 8th floor. We were told during check in that the Sunquest Rep would be at the Hotel between 9-12 in the morning and we could meet with them during that time.
We spent the next two morning (April 12 and 13) from 9 - 12 in the lobby of the Hotel waiting for the Sunquest Rep, who never showed up. Whenever we approached staff from the Hotel they kept saying that the Sunquest would be in and/ had already been there and we must have missed them.
There is a Sunquest Book in the Lobby, it has no contact information in it and doesn't list the Representatives time in it.

On Sunday April 13, the lockbox key wouldn't open the safe in the room on the 6th floor and we had to wait around in the room for 2 hours until someone came to open it. The front desk wouldn't give us another key/lock for the lockbox until maintenance gave them a report that the lock had been cut off. We had to store all our belonging in the safe on the 8th floor. The Concierge Desk finally gave us a contact phone number for Sunquest, but told us we would have to buy a phone card or use the phone in our room to call Sunquest. We tried the phones in both of our rooms, they wouldn't work, the front desk told us that they can't make outgoing calls from their phones, we insisted that we needed to talk with someone from Sunquest and they finally dialed the number from their desk.

More Waiting...:
We spoke with Ricardo from Sunquest and he set us up with an appt.with Fred at 6PM on Monday. The Hotel wouldn't give us the $20 dine out card that we were entitled to, they insisted that we had to get it from Sunquest.
After some more discussion with the staff at the Hotel, the coupons were finally given to us. We had to stay around the Hotel on Monday to meet with Fred from Sunquest. At 5:30PM Fred called and cancelled our appointment and wanted to re-book it for Thursday evening ( we were leaving Friday afternoon).We insisted that he had to come to see us before Thursday, an appointment was made for Tuesday morning at 11:30AM. We contacted our travel rep back in Canada with our concerns and told her we would be looking for a refund when we returned to Canada.

Once again we found ourselves waiting around the Hotel for the Sunquest Representative. At 11:40AM, Fred finally showed up. He assured us that he would arrange our pick up on Friday to return to the airport, and we booked an excursion with him for Wednesday at 2:00PM. The representative told us never to book at an Oasis Hotel again.

On Wednesday when we showed up for our tour we found out that Fred (Sunquest) had booked the tour for 12:00PM and we had missed the tour.....another wasted day! The tour was re-booked for Thursday....our last day.

The room on the 8th floor had little white bugs in it, the faucets in the sink leaked all the time, the floors were never swept, and we didn't get the ocean view room that we booked. There was very little animation/entertainment at this resort, which was something that was offered at the Grand Oasis Viva Beach. This seemed like a resort for retired couples.The room on the 6th floor had a large cockroach in it, and the toilet leaked all over the floor. The fridges weren't stocked daily and when we complained we were told to call room service ..which never solved anything.

This is not the vacation we expected, we spent more of our time waiting for the Sunquest Represenative and trying to have things fixed than we did trying to enjoy our vacation.

If you are planning to go...don't go with Sunquest.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All was good."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Rita_Toronto  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
853 people found this review helpful

Arrival:Feb - 2009
Arived at 11;30pm, There was only 6 people so it was fast. The 1st room we recived was occupied, so we were given another room.

Rooms
The room was great, bed was very comfortable. The View was amazing.!!!

Very clean.. Restaurants and Bars
Very good food at the buffet and the a la cartes were all great... The mexican had amazing food, veal and rack of lamb... The presentation was wonderful.. The Brazilian was great with all types of meat on squres..

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was great with big waves just so nice to look at..warmer than the pool. The pools were clean and very picturesque with the never ending look.. The back pool was a little quieter.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We mostly took the bus into town very frequent and only 65 pesos can;t beat that. The island of the ladys was great were you could rent golf carts and tour the island for the day.. nice trip.. At the resort they had aqua fit and water volleyball, bingo , yoga, pilates daily, no pressure

Other Comments
All was good, relaxing a little boring after dinner and no baileys or drambuie at the bars but still had a great time.. Warning there are a lot of stairs ... not for people with disablities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not recommend this resort to anyone."

Be Live Grand Playa
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Playa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne_Ottawa  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
821 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 8-15
April 8, 2009: arrived at the hotel around 9:00 p.m. We were given a room on the 7th floor but upon entering we realized it was already occupied. We had to go back down to reception to get another room. There were only 2 rooms left but they were already taken as the previous guests had paid for a late check out. We waited quite a while before they found us another room. We ended up getting an upgrade.

Rooms: Room was great. On the first floor, large patio with hotub and an ocean view (which we paid for).

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet food was terrible, especially breakfast. The scrambled eggs were practically raw. It was disgusting. The Brazillian restaurant was the best one there. The food at the Mexican Restaurant was good but there wasn't anything MEXICAN about it... too weird and there was no atmosphere in the al a carte restaurants. Very boring and the staff was not very friendly (although the staff in the buffet restaurant couldn't do enough for you - they were great). My friend got violently sick for 2 days from the food at the buffet. Beware there are tons of stairs in this place... if you don't like stairs you will be disappointed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and pool were nice. Weather was great but there wasn't much for activities or entertainment around the pool (some activities in the afternoon). The music around the pool (when there was some) was terrible. I think they only had 1 CD that they played over and over. Plus one of the speakers were blown so the sound was terrible - very distorted. One of the guests at one point went over and unplugged the speaker wire.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The night life sucked... or I should say the lack of night life. For an adult resort it was pretty low key. Half the time they didn't play music in the outside lounge. There was only 1 night out of 7 that was a little lively. There was one other night where one of the guests went to his room and brought down a CD player to the outside lounge. Everyone was having fun until the hotel sent security (yes security) out at 10pm to tell us to be quiet as people were sleeping. We couldn't believe what we were hearing. It was more like a retirement home instead of an adult resort in Cancun.

Other Comments: I would not recommend this resort to anyone. Nor would I recommend any Oasis resort based on the comments we received from other clients who stayed at Oasis Canun and Oasis Palm. Even one of the hotel staff (who we were were talking to the morning we left) said that the Grand Oasis Playa was not one of the better resorts in Cancun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube