Occidental Grand Cozumel Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cozumel > Cozumel Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Cozumel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cozumel Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Cozumel

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2011

El Cozumeleno Resort

3.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 19, 2012

Melia Cozumel

3.2 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 17, 2013

Occidental Grand Cozumel  

Km 17.5 Carretera Sur Cozumel | San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico

"Loved the Occidental Grand Cozumel "
Posted by: Gail  on Dec 2, 2012
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Cozumel Reviews
Occidental Grand Cozumel Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Cozumel Cozumel Mexico

#1
of 24 Hotels in Cozumel

User rating 4.4

Based on 8 reviews

Occidental Grand Cozumel Information


Experience the authentic Mexican design and upscale comfort of our Grand accommodations, or upgrade to our Royal Club, a hotel within the hotel with personal concierge service, hydro-massage bathtubs and other exclusive amenities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Cozumel Reviews

Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 4.4 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (7)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 7 of 8

"Loved the Occidental Grand Cozumel "

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gail  on Dec 2, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
96 people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at the Occidental Grand November 2 – 18, 2012. One of the reasons why we chose the Occidental Grand was we had stayed at the OG Papagayo in Costa Rica last year and loved it. We also prefer a real beach and the smaller all-inclusive resorts.

The hotel was about half full at the time of our arrival and started to fill up towards the end of our stay with quite a few Ironman contestants and their families.

I read over 2 year’s worth of reviews on this hotel (including the Royal Club reviews) so I knew what to expect, and what not to expect. We have stayed at numerous All Inclusive resorts during our travels through the Caribbean so we know what to expect for food and accommodations. We travel with open hearts and open minds and don’t let the small things bother us.


Room Number:
1632 & 1633

Room Block:
16

Arrival:
We arrived at 1:00 pm and we knew our rooms wouldn’t be ready because check in starts at 3:00. Registration with Carlos took all of 5 minutes, which was very efficient and very organized. We were offered a glass of Champagne that was very refreshing after our trip in from the airport. Carlos was very warm and helpful; he gave us our welcome package that included a map of the resort, the daily newssheet and information on the restaurants and the resort. We were lucky to have also been offered a quick tour of the property that was very nice. We got our bearings and wandered around for a while, went back to reception and were told our rooms were ready.

Rooms:
We were in building 16 and we were very happy with the location. We were close to the quiet pool, the beach and it was a nice walk to the main lobby and the restaurants. Building 16 is also far enough away from the entertainment and disco near the lobby, which can be loud at times.

We had no issues with our room that was located, as requested, on the 3rd floor. The room was always clean, always had lots of fresh towels and we looked forward to the towel art our housekeeper surprised us with every day. We did ask for foam mattress toppers as the beds are very firm. Pillows were OK. The bathroom was excellent, it was huge. We loved the large vanity and sink, loved the walk in shower and the ability to open the bathroom window. The bathtub was a bonus but I had to laugh because the tub tapers in at the back so it was hard getting out. Never had an issue with water or lack of hot water, the shower was excellent. We had to learn to not open the taps all the way in the shower as the drain was very slow (and caused a small pool of water on the floor) but we still had great water pressure for showers. The A/C was very loud which was fine; it masked the sounds from the adjoining room. There isn’t much room to store 2 weeks worth of clothes (the dresser has 3 drawers) but there were ample hangars in the closet and we utilized the storage in the closet for clothes.
We always had enough bottled water in the fridge and it was stocked with beer and pop. The small balcony had 2 very uncomfortable plastic deck chairs and a small table; the rooms in the building across from us had much nicer outdoor furniture.

Restaurants and Bars:
RESTAURANTS: At the time of our visit the a la carts were open on an alternating basis.
La Posada- the buffet: We enjoyed breakfast here almost every day. They had lots to choose from starting with made to order omelet’s and eggs to a large dish of help yourself scrambled eggs, waffles, pancakes, French toast, cold and hot cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and some traditional Mexican foods. There was quite a large selection of breads for toasting, bagels, croissants and other sweet buns if you had a morning sweet tooth. There was always juice (Orange, Mandarin, Grapefruit and some days there was Pineapple). Yes some days if you arrived close to closing time there weren’t always enough juice glasses but one just needed to ask one of the friendly waiters for a glass and that was solved.
Los Olivos – Mediterranean: Ate at this restaurant twice during our 2-week stay. The ambiance was terrific, starting with Arturo greeting us at the door. They had a small salad bar that you started your meal off with and then the food you ordered off the menu arrived after that. We really enjoyed the Minestrone and Tomato soups, the Calamari and some of the pasta dishes.
Sonora – Mexican Grill: We loved this restaurant and we visited 3 times. Once again, the ambiance was terrific, starting with Arturo greeting us at the door. We each had an appetizer: Cheveche Shrimp, Fish Empanadas and Ranch Tacos that were all fantastic. We each had Aztec soup what was great as well. Our main dish was the Filet, which was excellent. The beef was done to perfection, the flavor was great. Almost as good as Alberta beef! Our next visit we decided to add the Cocoanut Shrimp to our filet and the shrimp was excellent as well. Our last visit we purchased the Lobster ($34 US) and it was a very large tail and grilled to perfection. We enjoyed the Sonora Grill each and every visit.
Pizza: We didn’t find out until a couple of days before our last day that pizza was offered at the buffet in the evenings starting at 9:30, take out only. The pizza was quite good for a late night snack.
La Posada - the buffet: Dinner at the buffet was always different with a different theme each evening. There was always soup, a large salad bar and according to each theme, there was fish, chicken, pork and beef dish along with loads of other dishes to compliment your meat choice. We did find the waiters were overworked some evenings, some nights we would get water with our meal (after asking) and some nights they completely forgot.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH: Miles of beautiful, soft white sand, lots of shells. The water was beautiful, blue, warm and very calm 90% of our stay. Enjoyed snorkeling with “Barry” the Barracuda, I only saw him once in his harem of fish but others saw him many times. Also saw a couple of stingrays and lots of bright colored fish. There were always lots of beach chairs and if you wanted shade there was always a palapa to sit under. There was a fellow most days taking drink orders but we opted to get our own.

QUIET POOL: It’s beautiful; the water is cool, clean and refreshing. It’s quiet. We only spent time at the pool 2 days – the rest we spent at the beach because we travel so far to be on the beach! Big Red the Iguana and his entourage visit the quiet pool on a regular basis, we discussed buying him some sunglasses because he was so popular. Sun sun loungers are far more comfortable there too.

ACTIVITY POOL: Bustling with activities from Pool Volleyball to Aerobics, etc. It sounded like there was always something going on at the activity pool. We also attended a class on how to make Guacamole and Pico de gallo by the pool bar that was very informative.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
POTTERY PAINTING: At the beach. Sabastiana has a booth where you can purchase unfinished pottery to paint yourself, she embellishes your work and shellacs it and it turns out beautiful. We did quite a few pieces and we were very pleased with how they all turned out.


STAFF: Exceptional. Customer services shines at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. Many thanks to Yamile for her assistance, Erika for the lovely Spa appointment my daughter had, Carlos and Ricardo at the front desk, Arturo (restaurant greeter extraordinaire), Marisol for our clean rooms and fabulous towel art, Floricel at La Posada, and Fredy at the Beach Bar. It was a pleasure dealing with; you made our vacation so much better!

VENDORS IN COURTYARD: Wednesday nights (before and after the Pre-Hispanic show) and Friday nights there are vendors in the courtyard selling silver, wood products, etc. While they weren’t as pushy as the vendors in San Miguel they still got to be annoying with their “almost free” and “special price for you my friend” spiels. There was a table manned by two wonderful ladies that we spent our money at, they weren’t pushy and they had different homemade crafts which we were looking for.

ENTERTAINMENT: Honestly, there wasn’t much. The courtyard is where anything would happen. There was an evening with “Name that Tune” which was fun, another evening with the Pre-Hispanic show which was fabulous but other than that, not much happened after dinner. It was kind of disappointing because if you weren’t a partier then there wasn’t much to do after dinner.

EXCURSION DESK: We chose Olympic Tours – the guys with the Orange shirts. We dealt with Faustino and Juan Carlos. We didn’t have any issues with them, they were easy to deal with, listened to what we wanted to do on our vacation and booked for us. We did a private tour to Coba and Tulum, a day at Chankanaab (with the Manatees and Snuba), Horseback riding (would highly recommend the horseback riding outfit that’s across the street from the hotel (Rancho Palmitas) and the 3 Reef Snorkel tour (with ChacChoc Tours).

Other Comments:
Customer service rules! I was in contact with the hotel prior to our arrival with our room request, which was honored. It’s nice to see that there are some places still left that cater to their customers.

HOTEL APPEARANCE: It really was like staying at a Mexican Hacienda. The main buildings and surrounding gardens were well kept and clean. The gardens were exceptional; lots of green and fun painted ceramic frogs full of plants and painted vases full of flowers. It was immaculately kept. We did wonder why the fountains at the courtyard weren’t on all the time but they did turn them on as slow season ended and high season started to bring more guests.

HOTEL PETS: I say pets because we enjoyed all the critters at this hotel. We were upset because we didn’t have a room Gecko but I know the hotel does its best to keep them away from the guests. That’s OK because we saw many different “pets” around the resort from the huge Iguana and his friends at the quiet pool to the turtles in the mangrove. Oh and we looked for the alligator every day in the mangrove, I think it’s a myth – depending on how much Tequila you drink whether you see him or not. We saw a Heron at the pool one day, as well as an Egret, they were beautiful. There were lots of Geckos and Anoles and other really neat lizards, we saw tiny, tiny frogs and one huge tree frog, and we saw a baby Boa, a huge tarantula, armadillos and the pigs!

TIME SHARE: The sharks didn’t bother us at all.

WHAT WE DIDN’T LIKE: The housekeeping staff dragging the furniture around every morning. Slamming doors all day and all night. Musak piped in at the quiet pool and along the pathway wasn’t needed. The ridiculous prices for Wi-Fi connection ($200 for 2 weeks), which often didn’t work. Dive Palancar was not a safe company to dive with (will review as well).

SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENT: Invest in some pads to place underneath bed and table legs. Upgrade the Pillows. Partial refund if the Wi-Fi doesn’t work. Offer free Wi-Fi in lobby or common areas like some other Occidental Hotels do. A hanging rack in the room/bathroom or on the balcony to hang wet swimsuits, towels and dive gear. A free shuttle service to and from San Miguel for a shopping day (or even $5 per family). A ping-pong or billiards table indoors (not at the disco – like a games room) so you can play in the evening. Solar lighting for the walkways.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"How We Loved Occidental Grand Cozumel"

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Harlen  on Aug 13, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
124 people found this review helpful

In all our travels, Occidental Grand has the best service and best kept grounds and gardens that we have seen. The food and services are excellent and our room was exceptional with all the amenities. The pools and grounds were well maintained and we found plenty of activities for both adults and children. Thank you Occidental for such a pleasurable stay.

Harlen & LaDonna Core
Oklahoma City, OK

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"How We Loved Occidental Grand Cozumel"

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Harlen  on Aug 13, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
115 people found this review helpful

In all our travels, Occidental Grand has the best service and best kept grounds and gardens that we have seen. The food and services are excellent and our room was exceptional with all the amenities. The pools and grounds were well maintained and we found plenty of activities for both adults and children. Thank you Occidental for such a pleasurable stay.

Harlen & LaDonna Core
Oklahoma City, OK

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great place to relax!"

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carleen  on Mar 19, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
152 people found this review helpful

The Occidental Grand is an excellent resort with a lot of character and appeal. There is plenty of sun and sea where families can play and relax together. I would recommend the resort to anyone who wanted a recommendation for Cozumel - and would consider going back. Many visitors were on there third or fourth visit - which speaks highly to the quality of the staff and the resort.

Room Number:
2111 + 2116

Room Block:
Royal Club

Arrival:
Despite arriving 90 minutes late (thanks to a Sun Wing plane blocking the gate for the Air Canada plane), we were easily escorted to a waiting taxi to take us to the Occidental Grand. I'm not sure why Air Canada Vacations doesn't use a coach service rather than multiple taxis but it's a minor issue. As we had upgraded to the Royal Club, upon arrival we were taken to the separate concierge, checked in and given a glass of champagne. Our luggage was delivered within minutes and we were given advice on where to get a late night snack (as it was past 9pm.)

Rooms:
Our rooms (we had two - one for children, one for adults); each was very large, especially the bathrooms which had a huge stand in shower and a small whirlpool bathtub. Each of the rooms had bathrobes, but surprisingly not slippers. This would be a good addition to consider. The towels and amenities in the bathrooms were great - and the beach towels were already in our room. We never had any problems changing beach on a daily basis, however, I did notice that people not staying in the Royal Club did have some challenges. Each room had a fridge complete with beer, soft drinks and plenty of water which you need, as you cannot drink the water from the taps. My husband was challenged in getting beer replaced in the fridge and ended up making a game of it by leaving an empty beer can on a US dollar - sometimes he was rewarded and sometimes not. The only negative I have about the room is the beds - they are extremely hard. I'd rather have the bed on the more solid side than lumpy but this was to the extreme and I still have a sore back. On the fun side, our maid left towel art almost every day - we had an elephant, a monkey, a dog, a cat and a pig. Also we had turn down service nightly and the list of daily activities plus a chocolate was left on the night stand.

Restaurants and Bars:
As a Royal Club member for the week we had access to our own restaurant for all three meals or we could make use of the buffets and other restaurants.
The buffet had a theme night every night - we went there on Sunday and it was Asian buffet (which I'm always skeptical of in the Caribbean); we all ordered the stirfry which was done on the grill - very fresh but extremely salty. After that, we went to an a la carte restaurant every night. The Mediterranean restaurant was excellent - quality service, nice house wine, the grouper was fabulous. The Mexican restaurant called La Sonora Grill was a real disappointment. If you are looking for an authentic Mexican meal, this is not the place. My two-chili chicken was basically two chicken breasts in the mildest salsa ever - nothing to write home about. We also had two dinners in our own restaurant where the beef tenderloin was excellent as was the pumpkin soup. An improvement could be made by offering more vegetables and ensuring the food is hot (it's warm, but not hot). The most wonderful dinner we had was at the Beach Hut; we paid extra for it but it was worth every cent. On the night we arrived, we met the chef at the Beach Hut (which serves late night pizza -and it's pretty good); he asked if we liked lobster and if we wanted to have a lobster dinner sometime during the week. We said yes and made reservations for our last evening. We had a potato soup, a fresh mango salad made at our table, a huge lobster tail and a huge serving of carotts, cauliflower, zucchini, ice cream and chocolate cream cake for dessert along with flaming coffees and a bottle of champagne - all for $30 a person - and it only cost us $90 for four as my eldest wanted a steak and William threw that into the deal.

For breakfast it is the usual deal - eggs/omelets etc any way you want at the buffet grill, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, waffles, cheeses and so on. You cannot go hungry. For lunch the Beach Hut served burgers and hot dogs and had seafood paella one day - plus a decent salad bar, fruit, ice cream. We did half our lunches at the Beach Hut and half a the Royal Club restaurant where they served fresh grouper everyday and an outstanding club sandwich.

There are several bars - one at the main activity pool which makes just about everything and one at the quiet pool (which does not make any blender drinks to keep things quiet); there is a sports bar which has a pool table and shows movies nightly and there is a lobby bar which unfortunately is not open air. We could also get drinks at the Royal Club restaurant.

The one comment about the restaurants and the bars - the staff work extremely hard to serve you the best they can but they are so thin on the ground; there just weren't enough staff to deal with all the people vacationing on March break - that's a management issue and not the servers fault (as it drives me crazy when guest are yelling at staff).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is outstanding - you can walk for miles in either direction and despite some concern about security in Mexico it appeared to be very safe during the day; people were out walking the beach all the time. There are huts and chairs on the beach but the usually warning follows - he who snoozes, loses. If you aren't at the beach by 7:00 a.m claiming your chair you are out of luck. The water is beautiful and the sunsets fabulous. You can use snorkel equipment for three hours and there is a lot to look at - particularly the one barricuda that seems to hang out just by the swimming ropes. Someone named him Oscar.

The activity pool is aptly named - lots going on, aqua gym, water polo, scuba diving lessons and so on. There is also beach volleyball and it's very easy to transition between the activity pool and the beach. The quiet pool is just that - very quiet - but there is an amazing attraction hanging out at the quiet pool - a four foot orange Iguana. Yes, he's a bit startling when you first see him, but he's harmless and seems rather used to the constant paparazzi taking pictures of him. My youngest son named him Sylvestre.There is also a cute little black and white cat that hangs around - he's a bit shy but will eventually let you pet him. We named him Leonard. And between the quiet pool and the activity pool you have to cross a mangrove swamp which a protected area full of birds and turtles.

The Royal Club has a small pool only for Royal Club guests- so if you want to get away from the noise of the activity pool, it's a good place to hide out.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Air Canada Vacations offered several excursions - we took advantage of two. We went on a three hour cruise (sounds like Giligan's Island) where we were taken to three separate reefs to snorkle. It was just the four of us on the boat - which we accessed right at the resort's dock (that was great - not having to take a bus to get on an excursion). We saw numerous tropical fish, barricuda, grouper, picked up star fish, saw sea turtles, lobster and lots of plant life. Simply awesome. We also went on a four hour dune buggy tour where my husband and I each drove a dune buggy (also let the 17 year old do it on the back roads); we went to a local market, saw some Mayan ruins, and then went to Playa Sur which is an environmentally protected area. We saw the crocodile lagoon and a few crocs, climbed the lighthouse tower and then we went to the beach and did a 45 minute snorkle with our guide. It was a perfect day! However, if scuba diving or snorkling are not your thing, there is horseback riding, parasailing, shopping tours, zip lining - and all kinds of things that you can do - you can never be bored even if all you want to do is lie in the sun!

There are shows in the plaza every night. To me, most of them were meh - but the fire show was excellent! If you have younger children who are participating in the kids club, they put on a show for parents every night. Mine are just a bit older so that had no appeal for them.

Other Comments:
I would highly recommend this resort - it is safe, secure, clean, friendly with a lot of opportunities to engage with the staff and sit back and relax. Two things happened that prevented me from giving this resort a five - first, the Austin High School senior trip - a group of students from this high school decided this was going to be their opportunity to get as drunk and obnoxious as they possibly could. On the first night they came storming into the lobby bar, yelling, screaming, taking over the bar and being so annoying that most of the guests left; on their third night some of them went on a rampage, throwing beach chairs into the mangrove swamp (a protected area full of wildlife), threw a beer keg into the swamp, ripped off the volleyball net at the pool, three more chairs into the activity pool and threw over most of the chairs on the beach front. Everyone was talking about how disgusted they were - and I plan on writing the principal of the school a letter about this disgusting behaviour.

The second issue was the night we were planning to leave (Saturday, March 17), our flight was cancelled; I'm sure it's not the first time the resort has experienced this but the approach was quite disorganized and most of us were able to find out more information on what was going on via the internet than we could from hotel staff. Finally, as we had all checked out of our rooms and packed our bags, we were transported to another hotel a the opposite end of Cozumel (the Cozumeleon) which was nowhere near the standards of the Occidental Grand. In fact, it was quite unnerving the lack of security, receiving a door key (not a key card) that had the name of your room on it, not having access to a safe nor a dead bolt on the door. I didn't sleep well despite the bed being softer! We did receive a buffet dinner and breakfast but the food was quite bad compared to the Occidental Grand and we were all hopeful it wouldn't be too many nights we'd be camped out at this hotel. We were taken to the airport after breakfast and at the end of the day, the plane left approximately 18 hours after we were originally leaving.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific place"

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Connie  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Grand Feb 19-26/11. Have to say this is a great resort! Not sure why there are bad reviews for this resort. The rooms are great. Large and the showers are fantastic!! Yes, the beds are somewhat hard but still slept every night. Chambermaids were great! Towel art everyday.
The beach is awesome! Sandy shoreline with excellent snorkeling. Saw a baraquda and a ray.. Lots of lounge chairs but like at most resorts, for the best chairs need to get up early to reserve them. No matter, we always found chairs no matter what time we decided to go to the beach. Pools are nice and clean. Only thing I think they need is 1 more bartender at the beach bar. Line-ups can get pretty long. Food was good. Have had better but nothing to complain about. Always something that I liked!! Staff were always pleasant,smiling,helpful when needed,especially Miguel in the First Class Club. Overall, this resort is great and we will definatly be going back time and time again.

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
Was good. Got there at 2pm and check in time isn't until 3 so we went to the beach restaurant and had something to eat and drink.

Rooms:
Good. Beds-hard. Shower-awesome!! Sometimes had a little smell in our room but always went away.

Restaurants and Bars:
All good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Terrific

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not alot of activities at this resort. But what they had was alright.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Family Vacation!"

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  JimChristinaTorontoON  on Jan 2, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
271 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 2010

Our Arrival: We flew out of Toronto on Air Canada Vacations. We arrived in Cozumel at 8:00 p.m. Our flight was uneventful considering we were traveling with our daughter who is 30 months. Going through the airport was quick and efficient. We were guided to our mini van and after a speedy ride we arrived at the hotel around 9:30 p.m. Check-in was not at the front desk, they had a meeting room set up for check-in. It was quick!

Room: Our room, which was a 2-minute walk from the beach, the pool and the lobby, was in building 17 on the ground floor. The room was nice; the shower was very spacious and the water pressure was great! I found the pillows a little musty smelling and replaced them with the extra set that was in the closet.

Grounds: The grounds were immaculate, luscious greens everywhere. It was beautiful.

Pools: There were two pools, the “quite pool” which was small and on the way to the beach and the bigger one located next to the beach.

Beach: BEAUTIFUL!!! The water was beautiful and the sand was perfect!!! Lots of shaded areas were available.

Bugs: Lots of mosquitoes. Bring mosquito repellent, it was horrible at night. We also took a day excursion to the ruins in Cozumel and got eaten alive by the mosquitoes at the site.

Restaurants: We ate at all the buffet restaurants and they were good. We also ate at the Mediterranean Restaurant (Los Olivos) which was excellent and the Steak House (Sonora Grill). We also had dinner one night at Alberto’s, which is a short walk from the hotel on the beach. The food was amazing and the tables were set up right on the beach next to the water. A live band played and the breeze was perfect. The only problem – again – the mosquitoes.

Clubs/Bars: We went to the disco every night for the kids club, which was great.

Staff and Service: Everyone we spoke with was really helpful and friendly.

Activities: There were planned activities throughout the day at the beach and the pool.

Shopping: We went to downtown Cozumel and visited a mall. The shopping there was great, You could find an enormous selection of souvenirs and gifts.

Going Home: We had a late flight out of Cozumel and landed in Toronto at 2:00 a.m.

Summary: The primary objective for this trip was to go to a safe, kid friendly resort because of our daughter who is 30 months. This resort was great for her and for us.

Please feel free to email me should you have any questions. christina_samaras@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cute but no 4 star,but relaxing and quiet."

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  village  on Dec 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
257 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Direct flight from Toronto with West Jet. In and out of airport quickly and got through the time shares unscathed. Met by rep and on the van within minutes for a pleasant 25 minute ride to the resort. Nice grounds and entrance , front desk hacienda style. Staff pleasant and helpful, rooms ready at 3.30 so we went down to the beach bar for lunch and a drink.

Rooms:
Got a room on the 2nd floor but no view because of vegitation. Asked to be moved and got a 3rd floor room with a view of the ocean and our own iguana in the tree tops. Basic room ,nice bath room and great maid service daily. Nice towel art. Balconies are very small and there is a distinct aroma which we thought came from the ac

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff were very accomondating and friendly We had the same crew on for 5 days and they got to know you and your drinks. Food was not top quality in cuts of meat or variety but the flavors were fine. Deserts were so so and only had ice cream twice. Beach bar was for lunch and a great place to watch the dive boats come and go.The ala cartes are quieter places to eat and the atmosphere pleasant but the food is really no better than the buffet

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach and you could snorkle right there. Walking was good both ways but it is hard walking as its fine coral sand that doesn,t compact. Good exercise. One active pool and one quiet pool thats great for reading and watching the iguanas

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Apparently a great place to dive from and the snorkeling was fun. Not much night life here and that was fine by us. Didn't go off the resort for any activities.

Other Comments:
We tipped the wait staff in the dining rooms and the maids and they seemed genuinely pleased.There are time share reps within the resort and are relentless in their pursuit of your time Just say no and eventually they will go away

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We'll definately go back"

Occidental Grand Cozumel
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Cozumel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  k_legere  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
319 people found this review helpful

We travel every year over the school Christmas holiday and have been to many spots in Cuba, DR and Mexico. This resort had everything we were looking for. It was a smallish resort with the disco far enough away from even the closest rooms so we were not kept awake all night. The food was splendid and we seldom had to wait to be seated, there were always places to sit in the sun or shade and the snorkeling was fabulous.

Your Arrival:
The instructions about avoiding the time-share salesmen were good and we were met and transported to our resort quickly i a modern air conditioned van. The entire ride was less than 20 minutes. When my paperwork appeared wrong at the gate (a small error by the travel agent) it was no problem and we were admitted immediately.

Rooms:
The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. We were traveling with a person with a walker and although they had an upstairs room initially it was instantly changed to an accessible room on the first floor with grab bars and a wheel in shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was fantastic so we only went to one restaurant but it was very good indeed and we were glad we did. You were seated by staff but seldom waited at all for a table.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was lovely with lots of available chairs and more around the pool on the next level. We spent most of our afternoons at the 'relaxing pool' though more towards the center of the resort and enjoyed the company of many iguanas that hung out there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were activities all the time for kids (we didn't travel with any) and we found that the kids there were well behaved and had a great deal of fun. Next trip we'll try out some of the other activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube