Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret  

Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 282, #307 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Only Jerks Would Rate 1 out of 5."
Posted by: Mike on Mar 9, 2012
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Mayan Riviera Mexico

#6
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.5

Based on 15 reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Information


Tucked within an ecological and historical preserve, the all-inclusive Occidental Grand Xcaret captivates guests with spectacular grounds, a pristine coastline and unparalleled service and amenities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 3.5 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (14)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 15

"Only Jerks Would Rate 1 out of 5."

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Mar 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
191 people found this review helpful

I've never been to an all inclusive resort so I didn't know what to expect. I was told that if I have heart I should tip even though you're not supposed to. I wasn't sure about this until I met the staff. Boy did they deserve it. I didn't walk past one staff member with out receiving a big smile followed by "hola". Each building has it's own concierge that will take care of any problems you might have. When I go away, there are certain comforts of home that I can't take with me. I asked our concierge if he could find these comforts for me and without hesitation, he said he'd have them by the next day. He came through. He new everything about the resort to the point where he was helping us manipulate it's system. He said that we could go to the seminar for the first class club and receive enough funny money to buy one ticket to the Xcaret Eco Park next door or to spend at the spa. He new that we didn't pay full price for the trip and said that would be a problem getting the funny money at the end of the seminar. He made sure we told them we paid for everything and we got the funny money. Later I was talking to another couple that made this mistake and after an hour and a half, they received nothing.

Room Number:
20226

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
As we got off the bus we were approach by a bellhop who tagged our luggage, gave us a slip and told us to give it back with the room number once checked in. Check in was busy because we arrived on a bus but took only ten minutes. All staff members were friendly and spoke great English.

Rooms:
At first, our room wasn't ready and we were told we could get something to eat, get a drink, sit buy the pool, look at the many Mayan ruins on the grounds or look through the many gift shops, jewelery stores and clothing stores. When we got to the room, we found it to be too cold. It was also slightly damp the whole time. It felt like I was sleeping in a wet bed some of the time. Turning off the A/C and leaving the balcony door open helped. Bring your own sheets if you can. The room had a 42" flatscreen with cable. More Spanish than English channels but tolerable. Washroom was nice, clean and well lit. Cleaning ladies were the best. We don't like people going into our room, so when one of them would come by we just ask her to restock the fridge and towels. One time while we were out tour the ruins in Tulum, they cleaned our room and we had a bit of a heart attack when we came back. Was anything taken? No. Did we leave anything out that we didn't want anyone to see? Yes. Did it seem to matter? No. Was the room clean? Very! Blown away!

Restaurants and Bars:
The first time we went to the buffet we had great service but the food was disappointing. We were there late. From there on, the food improved at the buffet and snack bars. You just had to go at certain times. The desserts were amazing. The restaurants that you have to make reservations to go to are good. The Mexican restaurant was a big disappointment and the Asian restaurant was great. The bars are all fantastic! Each one is set in a different setting and the bar tenders are fun, energetic alcohol chemists!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The man made beach is small but beautiful. There are no waves to knock you over while you wade thought the waters half inebriated. The bar buy the beach is big and was never too busy. Washrooms were right next to the bar. The pools were one of the most memorable experiences I had there. They were huge. They had whirlpool in the main pools. There were areas shallow enough to sit in chairs. The bar in the pool was unreal. You had to walk through a waterfall to get to it. The grounds were very well kept. You felt like you were in a jungle half of the time. They had Parrots all over the place during the day. Did I mention the Mayan ruins?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Go Back!!!"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  blee_04@hotmail.com  on Feb 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

Loved the hotel itself, the pools, even the man made beach was ok. Staff were pretty good, excellent at the bars. Really enjoyed the food at the buffet restaurant, but service didn't happen unless a tip was paid - what's the point of all-inclusive!!! Speaking of tips...had to tip 20 pesos daily to get water in our room fridge, seems aburd. Water is a neccesity of life! And as for towels, we only received half the towels and in 14 days got 3 face clothes...doesn't seem like a big deal except their water is so bad it turns the towels brown in 2 days! But the worst was Ricardo, the concierge in building #20 ruined our $5,000 holiday from Jan 21 to Feb 4, 2012. The "concierge" are not there to make your holiday more enjoyable as they are in Canada, in Mexico they are there to sell you a time share and make money off you. And knowing this, we politely told him on our first day we were not interested and just wanted to enjoy our two week stay and were friendly. However, everyday, numerous times coming and going from the building he would throw sarcastic remarks our way, make fun of us or laugh in a really disturbing manner, the boy was not mentally right! We compalined 3 times to hotel management, finally on our 3rd complaint on day #10 he was removed from our building. However, this only lasted for 2 days and he was back! We got to the point we'd take everything we needed for the entire day with us in the morning to breakfast so we didn't have to go back to our room and endure his bizarre antics! A hotel that puts time share sales people above its paying guests is a reason I would NEVER GO BACK!!! We used to Mexico for a good deal, it is no longer a good deal. And Mexico is not safe...the four checkpoints with police and AK47's on a 45 minute drive to the hotel made us rethink my travel plans. Next time, definately somewhere safer!

Room Number:
20301

Arrival:
Jan 21, 2012

Rooms:
Not cleaned very well, garbage on the bathroom floor was there for a week. Only received half the towels we should have had for 14 days. . Only received 3 face cloths in 2 weeks. Q-tips etc. were used day one and never replensished during our two week stay! We'd booked a room with a king-size bed but got a room with two double beds. $5000 holiday. Romance $0.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ok. Speciaty restaurants were ok, but not worth the extra effort. Buffet was best, but good luck getting anything to drink before the end of your meal unless you tipped when you got there! Mexico used to be a good deal...they're making Hawaii really good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ok. First time at a man-made ocean beach. Was ok, actually appreciated no waves, but the beach volleyball sucked, my favorite sport was at 10am...way too hot to play, and the 3pm game was always cancelled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic , going back with my family!"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  trudy  on Oct 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
217 people found this review helpful

My four sisters and myself took my 85 year old mother for her birthday.Staff had organized a cake for my Mom which was so sweet! We had a fabulous time and I have booked the Occidental again for Christmas with my husband and three kids! The food was amazing, the staff were exceptional and David gives great messages on the beach.
Our rooms were clean stylish,shower pressure great, lots to do or not. My Mom loved sitting at the beach bar, having a drink and watching all her daughters laughing and dancing in the water to the music.
There are thousands of placing to go south and I have never been to the same hotel twice, but I loved the Occidental Grande so much I am going back.
I think the Mayan People are sweet, honest and hard working!
So excited to go back to an exceptional place.
The beach is a small cove,but the resort more then makes up for the tiny beach.
I love shade cabanas around the pool and beach, just dreamy!

Rooms:
great

Restaurants and Bars:
great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great

Other Comments:
loved it, small beach though.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time had by all!!!"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  dale Manyguns  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
273 people found this review helpful

We had a great time lots a food, booze and sun. Our first time to Mexico but not our last. Very friendly people working there( Beware of the timeshare people they were nasty) The drinks were cold food was hot. We had not problem with the a la cart but be sure to listen .... When you arrive as they tell you to book reservations for the entire week the next morning to gaurentee you wil get in.

Room Number:
416

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
noon

Restaurants and Bars:
yes

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots to do if you choose to0.

Other Comments:
We will go agian

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would go back for sure."

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Connie  on Nov 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
311 people found this review helpful

Rooms
The room was nice, clean, overlooking the jungle. Lots of birds and butterflies. TV didn't work, but they fixed it. Bathroom was nice and shower was huge and water pressure great and hot. Fridge restocked every second day

Arrival:
My friend and I arrived at Cancun Airport and Air Canada was there to take us to the resort - fast and professional. Arrived before checkin time - checkin was smooth and we were given a nonalcoholic punch and our bracelets and were free to roam around.

Rooms:


The room was nice, clean, overlooking the jungle. Lots of birds and butterflies. TV didn't work, but they fixed it. Bathroom was nice and shower was huge and water pressure great and hot. Fridge restocked every second day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a la cartes were fully booked all the time and it was very hard to get a reservation, except at the Mexican, where the food was ok and the service friendly and fast. Oddly, when you went to ask if there were any tables available at the others, they would say "no" but the restaurants were only 1/4 full at any time.
The buffets were nice, but I would have liked more "Mexican" food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Hung around the quiet pool mostly. Nice shadey cabanas. Water was cool, but nice. Being from Nova Scotia, it would have to be pretty cold to deter me. lol

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were great. We went to Xcaret park for a day and saw turtles, butterflies, fish, crocs, etc. We took a gondola ride which was really nice. You can also take a ride where you go up in a glassed in panoramic room and see all over the area. The highlight was the show in the evening. Spectacular!!! It traced the history of Mexico from the Maya til today through song, dance and performances. A must see,event.
We took a tour to Isla Mujeres by ferry where you can zipline, swim with the dolphins, snorkle, shop and best of all...drive around the town in golf carts. On the main road. It was an awesome way to sightsee.
We took a tour to Tulum to see the ruins and our guide was very informative. Nice beach too. And we still didn't scratch the surface of what there was to do.
Playa del Carmen is fantastic too. $10 from the resort and lots of food and shopping. Practise your "no grascias " for the vendors.

Other Comments:
The only negitive things I would say is that for a trip to Mexico, it wasn't very Mexican. The shows were good, but I don't necessarily want to see a tribute to Las Vegas, or Elvis - very Americanized. And on international night, the shortest skit was the Mexican hat-dance.
But, the staff was friendly and helpful....but, beware of the ppl trying to sell you the "this is not a timeshare" royal club deal. They are there all the time and haunt you to death. They are so friendly and nice at the start - They promise you T-shirts and tequila and other cheap crap for an hour and a half of your time. Its actually more like 3 hours and when you say no they get really rude and pushy.
But, all told, I will go back again. Sooo much more to still do and see.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great for families"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  terry  on May 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
322 people found this review helpful

we stayed from 4/25-5/2/10 resort was beautiful.people were very friendly ,always willing to help.I ate at the seafood restaurant on Monday ,ordered Red Snapper well done,I think I got Grouper raw...got food poisoning.I did'nt get really sick till Thursday..ate chili after that I was down for the count.They have a doctor but the charge you for the food poisoning.I went to a doctor at the airport on Sunday free of charge & he wrote me a prescription for cipro 500....The steaks were tough, no fillets & the booze is all cheap mexican .nothing but Corona on tap & that was not cold.All the reserve restaurants are a waste of time.Stick to the buffet or the beach buffet..I have been to Cancun 8 times & never got sick.I can give you names if you like, thanks Terry

Your Arrival:
good

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
bad restaurants good martini bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
goodfair

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
fair

Other Comments:
playa del carmen was great .I reccomend staying close by

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We all loved it!"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris  on Apr 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
328 people found this review helpful

A group of family and friends flew from Halifax, NS, to the Myan Riviera on April 4th, 2010. Our group consisted of children, teenagers, parents and grandparents.

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the airport I was pleasantly surprised by the simplicity of going through Customs and Immigration. Our buses were waiting and we were on our way within minutes. It was an hour drive to the resort. When we arrived we were headed cold non alcholic drinks and our room was ready, although some of them in our party were not. Check in is 3 p.m. so no fault of the hotel. The staff at the Main Desk spoke perfect English so it was a breeze.

Rooms:
The rooms were spacious, extremely clean and the bathroom had an amazing shower that would have held 6 people (no bathtub) No problems with a lack of hot water as I have experienced in other resorts. We had a King Sized bed which was comfortable. Towel vouchers were given to us at check in and the room contained a digital safee (both free of charge) The room was cleaned daily and the maid left "towel animals" every day as well as a fruit tray and refilled the frige with beer, 4 bottles of water, a pepsi and a 7-up daily!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was amazing. This part of Mexico is very Americanized so the food was for the most part, food we eat at home. There were 4 a la cartes, 2 buffets, a snack bar buffet, a pizza and tacos place that alternated nightly. The Steak House was exceptional!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There were so many pools that we didn't see them all! The grounds are beautiful but if you had mobility issues, this isn't the resort for you. It is BIG and there are a lot of steps. Xcaret Park is only steps from the resort and there are deer grazing on the property and other wildlife as well.

The only draw back to this resort in my opinion is the beach. If you like waves and a beach to go to walk on, this isn't for you. The beach is a man made lagoon. It does have beautiful tropical fish and there is a restaurant and bar there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a taxi to Playa Del Carmen to go shopping. It was a lot of fun to barter and see all the sights on Fifth Avenue! We went to Xcaret Park to the show and that is indeed a must see. For 2 hours you are spellbound by the performers (200 in total)

There is a golf cart with "cars" to take you around the resort.

You will be asked to check out the Time Share. Very expensive and the promise of 1.5 hours of your time always stretches to 3 hours. Sometime the compensation is worth it. See what they have to offer and then made your decision.

We also went to the silver factory. Some items were reasonably prices while others were extremely expensive.

Other Comments:
We had a wonderful vacation with 7 straight days of nothing but sunshine and hot temperatures.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not bad for first trip to Mexico"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  krista  on Mar 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
344 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival in 3/21/10 we were informed that the resort was over booked. At first we were annoyed. We had a long flight then an hr. bus ride to the resort. We just wanted to check in and relax. The staff offered to send us to one of their "sister" resorts. We were very apprehensive but didnt want to wait for a room to become available so we took a chance and accepted the offer. It was the BEST decision ever! they sent us to "Royal Hideaway" Playacar. It was an adult only 5 star resort and believe me, it deserved all 5 stars! they only let us stay 2 days until a room was available back at the Grand Flamenco. If by some chance that offer comes your way, take it, you wont regret it but you will be disapointed when you return to Xcarat.

Your Arrival:
Sunday March 21 at noon, then bumped to The Royal Hideaway Playacar for 2 days due to over booking at Grand Flamenco.

Rooms:
Large size room and bathroom, plenty of closet space. smelled a little musty wish i would have brought some air freshner.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet's were average, steak house was disapointing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool was beautiful and well maintained, plenty of lounge chairs and staff around to get you what you need. the beach area they created was small but im more a pool person anyway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Xcarat park was awesome, plenty of shows in the hotel. deff. more family type resort

Other Comments:
I can not say enough about the staff. Everyone was ALWAYS smiling and friendly. very accomodating. I brought $100 singles and used them all. These workers deserved tips. I dont care that its all-inclusive, it drove me nuts when people didnt leave tips. You dont get service like that anywhere else that iv ever been. show your appreciation people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A bit below average"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Feb 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
346 people found this review helpful

I had read about the unpleasant time share sales people before we arrived so was prepared for the worst. Our building had 3 full time "ropers" to bring the potential customers to the hard core sales people. My personal opinion is that if you take their gifts etc. you deserve what you get. Anyway if you learn a bit of Spanish, very little, Hola, Moy bien,Gracia, and Da nada ought to do it, they leave you alone. A few more words wouln't hurt either. They think you have been to Mexico before (we had) and aren't as likely to go for a time share.

Your Arrival:
We arrived in the pm and we put in the wrong room for 2 nights before we got moved. Finally got the fruit basket and the bottle of Tequila ( which we left unopened)and the robes which were in the package my wife booked but not in the room.

Rooms:
Large room very small T.V. with the only sport on the tube being soccer! No Olympics what so ever.

Restaurants and Bars:
The specialty restaurants were a huge disappointment, especially Paco Tacos, no open every night and when it is nothing. The sports bars were never open.
I will say that the "pescado" fish was excellent at all times and we ate lots of it, the rest of the food was plain and unimaginative.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool has no heat and on cloudy days even tough Canadians stay out. The beach is very small but O.K. for the purpose, a no smoking section would help.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were no activities that we could use, you were asked to book 24 hours in advance and on sunny days we wanted to be on the beach, so the tennis court, archery and what ever were not used very much. The $10 USD trip to Playa Del Carma is well worth it on a cool or rainy day. My comments about trying to speak a bit of spanish will help you negotiate good deals for sure!

Other Comments:
We won't be going back to the resort but may try the Cancun area again. The damage from the hurricanes is terrible and an issue you should be aware of if you are thinking of a timeshare.
Via con dios!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pushy, rude, not worth it"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denise  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
334 people found this review helpful

I wish I didn't have to give this hotel such a bad review because it does have some good points. However, the bad far outweighs the good. Pros: Very nice pool, good food, some staff were nice, the park next door is awesome. Cons: Starting the moment we arrived, there were hotel staff perched outside our room waiting to trap us into going to some breakfast/ sales pitch. I had to getnasty with them on multiple occasions to get them to back off. There were three of them assigned to my building and everytime we came or went we were uncomfortable, trying not to make eye contact lest we be pounced on again. The waitstaff at the a la cart restaurants, also rude, poor service. The food was good, but on two of the three nights we ate at one of their a la cart restaurants we did not recieve one of the courses. One evening we were eating on the deck at the seafood restaurant and it was very windy. We couldn't keep our menus on the table, and then a plate flew off the table and accross the deck. We asked to be reseated and the host was a complete jerk about it. We went on a trip one day and got back after the towel exchange had closed. We needed to leave before it opened the next day. We called the front desk and they said to come by in the morning and they would get us new towels. When we did so, the front desk guy was very rude and refused to help my husband. Beds - hard with scratchy sheets. Don't go, it isn't worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube