Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret  

Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 282, #307 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Only Jerks Would Rate 1 out of 5."
Posted by: Mike on Mar 9, 2012
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Mayan Riviera Mexico

#6
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.5

Based on 15 reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Information


Tucked within an ecological and historical preserve, the all-inclusive Occidental Grand Xcaret captivates guests with spectacular grounds, a pristine coastline and unparalleled service and amenities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 3.5 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (14)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 15

"Never Go Back!!!"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  blee_04@hotmail.com  on Feb 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

Loved the hotel itself, the pools, even the man made beach was ok. Staff were pretty good, excellent at the bars. Really enjoyed the food at the buffet restaurant, but service didn't happen unless a tip was paid - what's the point of all-inclusive!!! Speaking of tips...had to tip 20 pesos daily to get water in our room fridge, seems aburd. Water is a neccesity of life! And as for towels, we only received half the towels and in 14 days got 3 face clothes...doesn't seem like a big deal except their water is so bad it turns the towels brown in 2 days! But the worst was Ricardo, the concierge in building #20 ruined our $5,000 holiday from Jan 21 to Feb 4, 2012. The "concierge" are not there to make your holiday more enjoyable as they are in Canada, in Mexico they are there to sell you a time share and make money off you. And knowing this, we politely told him on our first day we were not interested and just wanted to enjoy our two week stay and were friendly. However, everyday, numerous times coming and going from the building he would throw sarcastic remarks our way, make fun of us or laugh in a really disturbing manner, the boy was not mentally right! We compalined 3 times to hotel management, finally on our 3rd complaint on day #10 he was removed from our building. However, this only lasted for 2 days and he was back! We got to the point we'd take everything we needed for the entire day with us in the morning to breakfast so we didn't have to go back to our room and endure his bizarre antics! A hotel that puts time share sales people above its paying guests is a reason I would NEVER GO BACK!!! We used to Mexico for a good deal, it is no longer a good deal. And Mexico is not safe...the four checkpoints with police and AK47's on a 45 minute drive to the hotel made us rethink my travel plans. Next time, definately somewhere safer!

Room Number:
20301

Arrival:
Jan 21, 2012

Rooms:
Not cleaned very well, garbage on the bathroom floor was there for a week. Only received half the towels we should have had for 14 days. . Only received 3 face cloths in 2 weeks. Q-tips etc. were used day one and never replensished during our two week stay! We'd booked a room with a king-size bed but got a room with two double beds. $5000 holiday. Romance $0.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ok. Speciaty restaurants were ok, but not worth the extra effort. Buffet was best, but good luck getting anything to drink before the end of your meal unless you tipped when you got there! Mexico used to be a good deal...they're making Hawaii really good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ok. First time at a man-made ocean beach. Was ok, actually appreciated no waves, but the beach volleyball sucked, my favorite sport was at 10am...way too hot to play, and the 3pm game was always cancelled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pushy, rude, not worth it"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denise  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
345 people found this review helpful

I wish I didn't have to give this hotel such a bad review because it does have some good points. However, the bad far outweighs the good. Pros: Very nice pool, good food, some staff were nice, the park next door is awesome. Cons: Starting the moment we arrived, there were hotel staff perched outside our room waiting to trap us into going to some breakfast/ sales pitch. I had to getnasty with them on multiple occasions to get them to back off. There were three of them assigned to my building and everytime we came or went we were uncomfortable, trying not to make eye contact lest we be pounced on again. The waitstaff at the a la cart restaurants, also rude, poor service. The food was good, but on two of the three nights we ate at one of their a la cart restaurants we did not recieve one of the courses. One evening we were eating on the deck at the seafood restaurant and it was very windy. We couldn't keep our menus on the table, and then a plate flew off the table and accross the deck. We asked to be reseated and the host was a complete jerk about it. We went on a trip one day and got back after the towel exchange had closed. We needed to leave before it opened the next day. We called the front desk and they said to come by in the morning and they would get us new towels. When we did so, the front desk guy was very rude and refused to help my husband. Beds - hard with scratchy sheets. Don't go, it isn't worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A bit below average"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Feb 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
357 people found this review helpful

I had read about the unpleasant time share sales people before we arrived so was prepared for the worst. Our building had 3 full time "ropers" to bring the potential customers to the hard core sales people. My personal opinion is that if you take their gifts etc. you deserve what you get. Anyway if you learn a bit of Spanish, very little, Hola, Moy bien,Gracia, and Da nada ought to do it, they leave you alone. A few more words wouln't hurt either. They think you have been to Mexico before (we had) and aren't as likely to go for a time share.

Your Arrival:
We arrived in the pm and we put in the wrong room for 2 nights before we got moved. Finally got the fruit basket and the bottle of Tequila ( which we left unopened)and the robes which were in the package my wife booked but not in the room.

Rooms:
Large room very small T.V. with the only sport on the tube being soccer! No Olympics what so ever.

Restaurants and Bars:
The specialty restaurants were a huge disappointment, especially Paco Tacos, no open every night and when it is nothing. The sports bars were never open.
I will say that the "pescado" fish was excellent at all times and we ate lots of it, the rest of the food was plain and unimaginative.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool has no heat and on cloudy days even tough Canadians stay out. The beach is very small but O.K. for the purpose, a no smoking section would help.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were no activities that we could use, you were asked to book 24 hours in advance and on sunny days we wanted to be on the beach, so the tennis court, archery and what ever were not used very much. The $10 USD trip to Playa Del Carma is well worth it on a cool or rainy day. My comments about trying to speak a bit of spanish will help you negotiate good deals for sure!

Other Comments:
We won't be going back to the resort but may try the Cancun area again. The damage from the hurricanes is terrible and an issue you should be aware of if you are thinking of a timeshare.
Via con dios!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful But Deceiving"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa Ondrejicka  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
189 people found this review helpful

...

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was late at night and was smooth with no hassles - very efficient no complaints.

Rooms:
Lovely clean rooms with nice towels, fluffy housecoats very impressive!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Absolutely some of the poorest food I've ever had. The buffet was obviously carried on from one day to the next. Out of six adult travellers five of us were ill - myself in bed for three days so it was a good thing the rooms were nice. A la carte restaurants were equally poor in quality and variety - nice atmosphere though!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were superb - pools were freezing cold! No one was ever in them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you weren't laying in your room recovering from poor food.

Other Comments:
I'm quite a seasoned resort traveller and never would I return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not bad for first trip to Mexico"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  krista  on Mar 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
357 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival in 3/21/10 we were informed that the resort was over booked. At first we were annoyed. We had a long flight then an hr. bus ride to the resort. We just wanted to check in and relax. The staff offered to send us to one of their "sister" resorts. We were very apprehensive but didnt want to wait for a room to become available so we took a chance and accepted the offer. It was the BEST decision ever! they sent us to "Royal Hideaway" Playacar. It was an adult only 5 star resort and believe me, it deserved all 5 stars! they only let us stay 2 days until a room was available back at the Grand Flamenco. If by some chance that offer comes your way, take it, you wont regret it but you will be disapointed when you return to Xcarat.

Your Arrival:
Sunday March 21 at noon, then bumped to The Royal Hideaway Playacar for 2 days due to over booking at Grand Flamenco.

Rooms:
Large size room and bathroom, plenty of closet space. smelled a little musty wish i would have brought some air freshner.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet's were average, steak house was disapointing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool was beautiful and well maintained, plenty of lounge chairs and staff around to get you what you need. the beach area they created was small but im more a pool person anyway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Xcarat park was awesome, plenty of shows in the hotel. deff. more family type resort

Other Comments:
I can not say enough about the staff. Everyone was ALWAYS smiling and friendly. very accomodating. I brought $100 singles and used them all. These workers deserved tips. I dont care that its all-inclusive, it drove me nuts when people didnt leave tips. You dont get service like that anywhere else that iv ever been. show your appreciation people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would go back for sure."

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Connie  on Nov 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
327 people found this review helpful

Rooms
The room was nice, clean, overlooking the jungle. Lots of birds and butterflies. TV didn't work, but they fixed it. Bathroom was nice and shower was huge and water pressure great and hot. Fridge restocked every second day

Arrival:
My friend and I arrived at Cancun Airport and Air Canada was there to take us to the resort - fast and professional. Arrived before checkin time - checkin was smooth and we were given a nonalcoholic punch and our bracelets and were free to roam around.

Rooms:


The room was nice, clean, overlooking the jungle. Lots of birds and butterflies. TV didn't work, but they fixed it. Bathroom was nice and shower was huge and water pressure great and hot. Fridge restocked every second day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a la cartes were fully booked all the time and it was very hard to get a reservation, except at the Mexican, where the food was ok and the service friendly and fast. Oddly, when you went to ask if there were any tables available at the others, they would say "no" but the restaurants were only 1/4 full at any time.
The buffets were nice, but I would have liked more "Mexican" food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Hung around the quiet pool mostly. Nice shadey cabanas. Water was cool, but nice. Being from Nova Scotia, it would have to be pretty cold to deter me. lol

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were great. We went to Xcaret park for a day and saw turtles, butterflies, fish, crocs, etc. We took a gondola ride which was really nice. You can also take a ride where you go up in a glassed in panoramic room and see all over the area. The highlight was the show in the evening. Spectacular!!! It traced the history of Mexico from the Maya til today through song, dance and performances. A must see,event.
We took a tour to Isla Mujeres by ferry where you can zipline, swim with the dolphins, snorkle, shop and best of all...drive around the town in golf carts. On the main road. It was an awesome way to sightsee.
We took a tour to Tulum to see the ruins and our guide was very informative. Nice beach too. And we still didn't scratch the surface of what there was to do.
Playa del Carmen is fantastic too. $10 from the resort and lots of food and shopping. Practise your "no grascias " for the vendors.

Other Comments:
The only negitive things I would say is that for a trip to Mexico, it wasn't very Mexican. The shows were good, but I don't necessarily want to see a tribute to Las Vegas, or Elvis - very Americanized. And on international night, the shortest skit was the Mexican hat-dance.
But, the staff was friendly and helpful....but, beware of the ppl trying to sell you the "this is not a timeshare" royal club deal. They are there all the time and haunt you to death. They are so friendly and nice at the start - They promise you T-shirts and tequila and other cheap crap for an hour and a half of your time. Its actually more like 3 hours and when you say no they get really rude and pushy.
But, all told, I will go back again. Sooo much more to still do and see.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort for families travelling with children"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John/Melinda  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
159 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Mexico, and also our first trip that we brought our 2 children ages 9 and 11. We have been to the Dominican Republic twice, Jamaica once, and Cuba twice before. Upon arrival in the cancun airport, we made it through customs, and picked up our luggage without any delays! We quickly were directed by our Sunquest representatives to the location of our bus. It is about 1 hour from the airport to the resort, but we were aware of this before the trip. When we arrived at the resort, the check in was quite painless and efficient. They gave us a map and showed us where to find our room and told us that our luggage would be following us shortly. Everything went without a hitch!

Rooms::
We were put in the 14th building 2nd floor. Our balcony overlooked the "quiet" pool. The room was just as explained in previous reviews. 2 double beds, stocked bar, bathroom with just a stand up shower(which was huge). The water pressure and temperature was amazing! Never short on HOT water no matter what time it was. The room service was outstanding. Everyday we returned to our room to find a new towel ornament layed out on our beds along with a fully retstocked fridge.

Restaurants and Bars::
We made reservation at the oriental restaurant which was good, but our children are picky eaters. We all enjoyed the steakhouse restaurant, as it was kid friendly and had a very relaxed atmosphere. The children loved eating at Paco Taco's also. The buffet restaurants had plenty of selection with some items repetitive. As for the bars, all of them had great service and were extremely friendly. We found the "quiet" pool bar the best. The buffet restaurant found at the beach is quite nice to eat at for breakfast and watch the sun and ocean and waves. It was not as crowded as the main buffet, but did serve the same. It offered amazing pizza at lunch time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
As for the beach, we were aware of the small size. Which is one of the reasons we chose this resort as we wanted to keep an eye on the children. We all brought our own snorkelling equipment and enjoyed snorkelling daily. Lots of fish to see. The pellicans that swooped down were amazing to watch. At times we counted over 20 pellicans. We did go to the "fun" pool for a day where you can take out a raft to float on and take part in the activities that they offer. If you want to be in the hub of everything this is the pool for you. This was the pool with the swim up bar, so it was nice to visit. The adult only pool which is located by the beach buffet resaurant, looked beautiful as it was right beside the ocean and the waves would come crashing up along the shore. Since we had the kids with us, we could not use the pool but we did explore the grounds surrounding the pool. Lots of hermit crabs to be found. The resort itself is very large, but once you know the layout, it isnt that hard to get around. The tram that goes by every 15 minutes is handy if you are tired or just want to go on a tour. The drivers keep you amused the entire ride. The children had a blast exploring the grounds. Everywhere we turned around there were lizzards of all sizes and colours. We took some bananas from the buffet and fed them throughout the day. They have flamingos and deer located near the "fun" pool, and also some monkeys. The fish that are found in the main lobby were fun to feed with the food that the resort supplied daily. Turtles were seen swimming with them and loved to be fed also. We had brought along a couple of flashlights with us and took the kids out exploring in the dark. It was amazing looking at the different bugs and night creatures that we dont have hear in Canada.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
As I mentioned before, it appeared as if the most activities took place at the "fun" pool. There was ping-pong, archery, pellet gun shooting, dancing, beach volleyball and many more. Lots of things offered if you want to take part or not is up to you. We did not feel pressured by any of the staff. One night we took a cab ride into Playa del Carmen. It was 100pesos or $10 each way. It was nice to see the beach and to take in the touristy areas. All the shops were the same but it is fun to do some bartering to buy your souveniers. We did take a tour on our 4th day there. We took a snorkelling/spinaker tour out of Maroma Paradise Marina. The price was right and it only took 6 hours from beginning to end. We got to snorkel twice and if we wanted to, the captain set up a huge kite behind the boat and you could sit in a swing and fly behind the boat and then jump into the ocean. On the tour, we saw lots of colourful fish,a starfish and couple of turtles. The kids loved it and so ! did we. We chose to go to the Xcaret park the last day that we were there. As recommended at the tour desk, we did the underground rivers first. It took about 45 minutes in total. When we got out of the river, there were showers and places to change. They ship your belongings in a bag and you pick them up when you are done the snorkelling of the river. From there we explored the entire park. So much to see. Turtles, mantaray, manaties, butterflies, dolphins, crocodiles, fish, shrimp, jaguars......so much more. This park was out of this world. There were no line ups anywhere, and you could take as much time as you wanted to and enjoy the scenery. The ruins were amazing and the children found it exciting to be able to climb them. The night show which is from 6-8pm was also amazing.

Other Comments::
Overall, great resort for families travelling with children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Resort! Parent tips and Royal Club info included."

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  melissa  on Jan 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

I had been planning our vacation to the Occidental Xcaret for months and have been reading these reviews on a daily basis, so I will try to be as thorough and as helpful as I can and will try to add tidbits that others may have left out. Let me start off by saying that I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely go back. Now, here are the fine details (good and not so good)

We were greeted with champagne:
My husband and I booked a weeklong trip to the Occidental at the highest season time possible, from Dec. 26-Jan. 2. We booked with the Royal Club, so this review will touch on that part as well. We were greeted at the hotel and once they found out we were Royal Club, they whisked us off in a private shuttle to a private area, as though we were VIP. The area stated that it was ‘Exclusively for the use of Royal Club Guests”. We were greeted with champagne by Ericka in RC and she informed us that even though we only booked the standard Luxury RC room, that we were upgraded to a Junior Suite (have your travel agent mention that it is a special occasion and they may be more inclined to give you the upgrade). We were shown our ground floor room and it was gorgeous! A 4 person dining suite, living room with tv and balcony, a bedroom with kingsize bed, another tv and ANOTHER balcony with a hammock, a huge bathroom with toilet and bidet, large walk in shower and huge Jacuzzi tub. It also has a fridge that is restocked every day (as opposed to every second day in the regular rooms) with 4 Modelo beer, 8 cans of pop and 4 bottles of water. There was also a fruit basket on the table. We also had 2 bathrobes to use and high-end toiletries. There were a few geckos on the balconies, that we learned to not mind. We were very impressed and excited about the upgrade, but became slowly disappointed. I requested the RC because we never travel and we thought we’d splurge a bit. I was really hoping for an oceanview room, but that never happened. The television in the living room didn’t work and sparked when I tried to plug it in. On the third morning, we woke up to an inch of hot water flooding the whole marble floor of our suite (supposedly from the Jacuzzi). Ericka immediately upgraded us again to an actual SUITE this time, on the second floor. We were annoyed with the hot water incident but didn’t complain too much, as they gave us the biggest suite available. There were only 2 of us, but we got the largest suite, with a 6 person dining area, living room with working tv/dvd player (only a couple of English channels), king size bedroom with more closet space and more furniture, 2 balconies etc and the same amenities as the other room. The floors were all marble. Gorgeous, but cold and very slippery after a shower. The suite also provided slippers for us to use, although we asked for a hammock twice and never received it. The in room safes were very adequate and we never had any problems. You make up your own digital code and it’s easy to use if you read t

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fabulous"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Jan 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

This was the first trip for us to Mexico. We have stayed in other tropical locations and always enjoy ourselves. We know that no matter where we go, there will always be somethings that could be better but we really don't mind. While we don't expect perfection, we respect effort and this resort is full of that. The staff were all so friendly and eager to help us with whatever we asked for. I will say this that if you can't have a good time here, the problem probably isn't the resort.

Your Arrival:
starting with our arrival in Cancun, we were impressed with how quickly we got through the airport to the bus and then the resort. It takes about an hour to get to Xcaret but the ride was relaxing and enjoyable. the driver stopped to pick up Cervesa for us and the scenery along the way was beautiful considering we were on a highway. Once we go there, our bags were looked after and we checked in right away. We were served with ice cold rum punch while we had some of the detail stuff explained to us. The only unfortunate part of this process was that our flight time had been changed to the the red eye from Kelowna which meant we arrived at around 10:00 a.m. local time and we couldn`t check into our rooms until 3:00 p.m which they were unwavering on. Still, we got our wrist bands so we could start to enjoy the ammenities right away and we were after all, in Mexico so we weren`t concerned.

Rooms:
Very clean and comfortable. A bottle of Tequila greeted us as we walked in and every day, the room attendants created an origami type animal for us out of napkins and towels which they laid out on our bed, sometimes with rose petals. A nice touch for sure. The bathroom was great with a spacious shower and brightly lit vanity. There is safe in the hall closet for security which I appreciated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Non stop booze at many bars in many locations so you don`t have to go too far to lubricate yourself. the bartenders are very entertaining anf friendly and if you throw them the odd $1.00 tip, they love you too death and they deserve this small consideration. The food was plentiful and «I tried pretty much everything. Again, there is no formula which guarantees satisfaction but if you`re willing to step outside your comfort zone, you will be satisfied. I was unimpressed with the grousing from people who seemed to think that the food should be exactly as it would be if they were at home. You`re in Mexico, go with it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean,everything was kept in tip top shape and the grounds are beautiful. The beach is smaller than what you might think but the views are beautiful. They have created their own lagoon which is fed by and open too, if you`re adventurous, the Carribean sea. I loved it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Was too busy relaxing, I didn`t go down to expend a lot of energy but we did visit Xcaret park which if you are willing to invest most or all of a day, is spectacular and the kids will love it for sure.

Other Comments:
Again, I have no benchmark here but we loved it and we would definately go back without any convincing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great for families"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  terry  on May 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
332 people found this review helpful

we stayed from 4/25-5/2/10 resort was beautiful.people were very friendly ,always willing to help.I ate at the seafood restaurant on Monday ,ordered Red Snapper well done,I think I got Grouper raw...got food poisoning.I did'nt get really sick till Thursday..ate chili after that I was down for the count.They have a doctor but the charge you for the food poisoning.I went to a doctor at the airport on Sunday free of charge & he wrote me a prescription for cipro 500....The steaks were tough, no fillets & the booze is all cheap mexican .nothing but Corona on tap & that was not cold.All the reserve restaurants are a waste of time.Stick to the buffet or the beach buffet..I have been to Cancun 8 times & never got sick.I can give you names if you like, thanks Terry

Your Arrival:
good

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
bad restaurants good martini bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
goodfair

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
fair

Other Comments:
playa del carmen was great .I reccomend staying close by

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube