Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret  

Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 282, #307 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Only Jerks Would Rate 1 out of 5."
Posted by: Mike on Mar 9, 2012
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Mayan Riviera Mexico

#6
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.5

Based on 15 reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Information


Tucked within an ecological and historical preserve, the all-inclusive Occidental Grand Xcaret captivates guests with spectacular grounds, a pristine coastline and unparalleled service and amenities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Reviews

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 3.5 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (14)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
11 - 15 of 15

"fabulous"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Jan 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

This was the first trip for us to Mexico. We have stayed in other tropical locations and always enjoy ourselves. We know that no matter where we go, there will always be somethings that could be better but we really don't mind. While we don't expect perfection, we respect effort and this resort is full of that. The staff were all so friendly and eager to help us with whatever we asked for. I will say this that if you can't have a good time here, the problem probably isn't the resort.

Your Arrival:
starting with our arrival in Cancun, we were impressed with how quickly we got through the airport to the bus and then the resort. It takes about an hour to get to Xcaret but the ride was relaxing and enjoyable. the driver stopped to pick up Cervesa for us and the scenery along the way was beautiful considering we were on a highway. Once we go there, our bags were looked after and we checked in right away. We were served with ice cold rum punch while we had some of the detail stuff explained to us. The only unfortunate part of this process was that our flight time had been changed to the the red eye from Kelowna which meant we arrived at around 10:00 a.m. local time and we couldn`t check into our rooms until 3:00 p.m which they were unwavering on. Still, we got our wrist bands so we could start to enjoy the ammenities right away and we were after all, in Mexico so we weren`t concerned.

Rooms:
Very clean and comfortable. A bottle of Tequila greeted us as we walked in and every day, the room attendants created an origami type animal for us out of napkins and towels which they laid out on our bed, sometimes with rose petals. A nice touch for sure. The bathroom was great with a spacious shower and brightly lit vanity. There is safe in the hall closet for security which I appreciated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Non stop booze at many bars in many locations so you don`t have to go too far to lubricate yourself. the bartenders are very entertaining anf friendly and if you throw them the odd $1.00 tip, they love you too death and they deserve this small consideration. The food was plentiful and «I tried pretty much everything. Again, there is no formula which guarantees satisfaction but if you`re willing to step outside your comfort zone, you will be satisfied. I was unimpressed with the grousing from people who seemed to think that the food should be exactly as it would be if they were at home. You`re in Mexico, go with it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean,everything was kept in tip top shape and the grounds are beautiful. The beach is smaller than what you might think but the views are beautiful. They have created their own lagoon which is fed by and open too, if you`re adventurous, the Carribean sea. I loved it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Was too busy relaxing, I didn`t go down to expend a lot of energy but we did visit Xcaret park which if you are willing to invest most or all of a day, is spectacular and the kids will love it for sure.

Other Comments:
Again, I have no benchmark here but we loved it and we would definately go back without any convincing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Resort! Parent tips and Royal Club info included."

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  melissa  on Jan 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
220 people found this review helpful

I had been planning our vacation to the Occidental Xcaret for months and have been reading these reviews on a daily basis, so I will try to be as thorough and as helpful as I can and will try to add tidbits that others may have left out. Let me start off by saying that I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely go back. Now, here are the fine details (good and not so good)

We were greeted with champagne:
My husband and I booked a weeklong trip to the Occidental at the highest season time possible, from Dec. 26-Jan. 2. We booked with the Royal Club, so this review will touch on that part as well. We were greeted at the hotel and once they found out we were Royal Club, they whisked us off in a private shuttle to a private area, as though we were VIP. The area stated that it was ‘Exclusively for the use of Royal Club Guests”. We were greeted with champagne by Ericka in RC and she informed us that even though we only booked the standard Luxury RC room, that we were upgraded to a Junior Suite (have your travel agent mention that it is a special occasion and they may be more inclined to give you the upgrade). We were shown our ground floor room and it was gorgeous! A 4 person dining suite, living room with tv and balcony, a bedroom with kingsize bed, another tv and ANOTHER balcony with a hammock, a huge bathroom with toilet and bidet, large walk in shower and huge Jacuzzi tub. It also has a fridge that is restocked every day (as opposed to every second day in the regular rooms) with 4 Modelo beer, 8 cans of pop and 4 bottles of water. There was also a fruit basket on the table. We also had 2 bathrobes to use and high-end toiletries. There were a few geckos on the balconies, that we learned to not mind. We were very impressed and excited about the upgrade, but became slowly disappointed. I requested the RC because we never travel and we thought we’d splurge a bit. I was really hoping for an oceanview room, but that never happened. The television in the living room didn’t work and sparked when I tried to plug it in. On the third morning, we woke up to an inch of hot water flooding the whole marble floor of our suite (supposedly from the Jacuzzi). Ericka immediately upgraded us again to an actual SUITE this time, on the second floor. We were annoyed with the hot water incident but didn’t complain too much, as they gave us the biggest suite available. There were only 2 of us, but we got the largest suite, with a 6 person dining area, living room with working tv/dvd player (only a couple of English channels), king size bedroom with more closet space and more furniture, 2 balconies etc and the same amenities as the other room. The floors were all marble. Gorgeous, but cold and very slippery after a shower. The suite also provided slippers for us to use, although we asked for a hammock twice and never received it. The in room safes were very adequate and we never had any problems. You make up your own digital code and it’s easy to use if you read t

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful But Deceiving"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa Ondrejicka  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
191 people found this review helpful

...

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was late at night and was smooth with no hassles - very efficient no complaints.

Rooms:
Lovely clean rooms with nice towels, fluffy housecoats very impressive!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Absolutely some of the poorest food I've ever had. The buffet was obviously carried on from one day to the next. Out of six adult travellers five of us were ill - myself in bed for three days so it was a good thing the rooms were nice. A la carte restaurants were equally poor in quality and variety - nice atmosphere though!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were superb - pools were freezing cold! No one was ever in them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you weren't laying in your room recovering from poor food.

Other Comments:
I'm quite a seasoned resort traveller and never would I return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort for families travelling with children"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John/Melinda  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
164 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Mexico, and also our first trip that we brought our 2 children ages 9 and 11. We have been to the Dominican Republic twice, Jamaica once, and Cuba twice before. Upon arrival in the cancun airport, we made it through customs, and picked up our luggage without any delays! We quickly were directed by our Sunquest representatives to the location of our bus. It is about 1 hour from the airport to the resort, but we were aware of this before the trip. When we arrived at the resort, the check in was quite painless and efficient. They gave us a map and showed us where to find our room and told us that our luggage would be following us shortly. Everything went without a hitch!

Rooms::
We were put in the 14th building 2nd floor. Our balcony overlooked the "quiet" pool. The room was just as explained in previous reviews. 2 double beds, stocked bar, bathroom with just a stand up shower(which was huge). The water pressure and temperature was amazing! Never short on HOT water no matter what time it was. The room service was outstanding. Everyday we returned to our room to find a new towel ornament layed out on our beds along with a fully retstocked fridge.

Restaurants and Bars::
We made reservation at the oriental restaurant which was good, but our children are picky eaters. We all enjoyed the steakhouse restaurant, as it was kid friendly and had a very relaxed atmosphere. The children loved eating at Paco Taco's also. The buffet restaurants had plenty of selection with some items repetitive. As for the bars, all of them had great service and were extremely friendly. We found the "quiet" pool bar the best. The buffet restaurant found at the beach is quite nice to eat at for breakfast and watch the sun and ocean and waves. It was not as crowded as the main buffet, but did serve the same. It offered amazing pizza at lunch time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
As for the beach, we were aware of the small size. Which is one of the reasons we chose this resort as we wanted to keep an eye on the children. We all brought our own snorkelling equipment and enjoyed snorkelling daily. Lots of fish to see. The pellicans that swooped down were amazing to watch. At times we counted over 20 pellicans. We did go to the "fun" pool for a day where you can take out a raft to float on and take part in the activities that they offer. If you want to be in the hub of everything this is the pool for you. This was the pool with the swim up bar, so it was nice to visit. The adult only pool which is located by the beach buffet resaurant, looked beautiful as it was right beside the ocean and the waves would come crashing up along the shore. Since we had the kids with us, we could not use the pool but we did explore the grounds surrounding the pool. Lots of hermit crabs to be found. The resort itself is very large, but once you know the layout, it isnt that hard to get around. The tram that goes by every 15 minutes is handy if you are tired or just want to go on a tour. The drivers keep you amused the entire ride. The children had a blast exploring the grounds. Everywhere we turned around there were lizzards of all sizes and colours. We took some bananas from the buffet and fed them throughout the day. They have flamingos and deer located near the "fun" pool, and also some monkeys. The fish that are found in the main lobby were fun to feed with the food that the resort supplied daily. Turtles were seen swimming with them and loved to be fed also. We had brought along a couple of flashlights with us and took the kids out exploring in the dark. It was amazing looking at the different bugs and night creatures that we dont have hear in Canada.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
As I mentioned before, it appeared as if the most activities took place at the "fun" pool. There was ping-pong, archery, pellet gun shooting, dancing, beach volleyball and many more. Lots of things offered if you want to take part or not is up to you. We did not feel pressured by any of the staff. One night we took a cab ride into Playa del Carmen. It was 100pesos or $10 each way. It was nice to see the beach and to take in the touristy areas. All the shops were the same but it is fun to do some bartering to buy your souveniers. We did take a tour on our 4th day there. We took a snorkelling/spinaker tour out of Maroma Paradise Marina. The price was right and it only took 6 hours from beginning to end. We got to snorkel twice and if we wanted to, the captain set up a huge kite behind the boat and you could sit in a swing and fly behind the boat and then jump into the ocean. On the tour, we saw lots of colourful fish,a starfish and couple of turtles. The kids loved it and so ! did we. We chose to go to the Xcaret park the last day that we were there. As recommended at the tour desk, we did the underground rivers first. It took about 45 minutes in total. When we got out of the river, there were showers and places to change. They ship your belongings in a bag and you pick them up when you are done the snorkelling of the river. From there we explored the entire park. So much to see. Turtles, mantaray, manaties, butterflies, dolphins, crocodiles, fish, shrimp, jaguars......so much more. This park was out of this world. There were no line ups anywhere, and you could take as much time as you wanted to and enjoy the scenery. The ruins were amazing and the children found it exciting to be able to climb them. The night show which is from 6-8pm was also amazing.

Other Comments::
Overall, great resort for families travelling with children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Seafood restaurant was outstanding"

Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert from New Yersey  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
118 people found this review helpful

Would recommend this hotel. Would definitely go back. very family friendly. personnel was very friendly, helpful and efficient. very laidback atmosphere.

Rooms::
we were in building 20. we are club members so the club signed us in at The First Club reception. there was a bar set up in our room. we were supplied with luxury bathrobs and slippers.

Restaurants and Bars::
food was very good. bars had premium liquor brands. seafood restaurant was outstanding. the fish was fresh, service was very good and the view was of the ocean and nightlights of Cozumel.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
the grounds were tropical (the hotel is right next to Xcaret which can be accessed by boat from the lobby of the hotel). there were many pools and always a chair. beach was very clean, clear and had many fish, gulls and pelicans --- very tropical (jurasic park feel) yet very clean. there were mayan ruins on the resort grounds. there was a trolly that came every 5 minutes --- no wait time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
no tours since we had already done Xcaret, etc. on prior trips. took a taxi for $10.00/US dollars into playa del carmen. public beach is beautiful. lots of places for teeshirts but a little shabby and people over-hawking their goods.

Other Comments::
used balam transportation (private car $80 each way for two people) between airport and resort. paid ahead of time. absolutely fantastic service with topnotch personnel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube