Occidental Allegro Playacar Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Occidental Allegro Playacar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

Gran Porto Real Resort

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 16, 2014

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2013

Occidental Allegro Playacar  

Lote Hotelero No 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Great location, Good vlaue"
Posted by: John  on Oct 25, 2011
see all reviews

Occidental Allegro Playacar Reviews
Occidental Allegro Playacar Pictures and Information
Occidental Allegro Playacar Mayan Riviera Mexico

#51
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 2.5

Based on 2 reviews

Occidental Allegro Playacar Information


The rooms at the Allegro Playacar also feature walk-in closet space, and a hip bathroom complete with modern basin sinks.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Allegro Playacar Reviews

Occidental Allegro Playacar Review: 2.5 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (1)
Solo
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 2 of 2

"Great location, Good vlaue"

Occidental Allegro Playacar
User Rating:  Occidental Allegro Playacar Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Oct 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
198 people found this review helpful

I have paid much more for less than this resort offers. The staff were great (especially Johann at the front desk).
The location is fantastic as you can walk along the beach into town in about 20 minutes. The reconstructed beach was gorgeous, plenty of beach loungers, and bar service right down to the water's edge. The grounds are well kept and beautiful.
Activities staff were very good. The buffet was only average, but the restaurants were quite good. Not much night life on site, but a 5 minute taxi ride takes you to Playa del Carmen which has a good selection of bars. We liked the FAH bar on 5th Avenue.
On the down side, there were quite a few speedo-clad Eastern Europeans who can be a little rude and don't know the concept of a line up.
For the price, this resort is a a great place to spend a holiday. If you are looking for an upscale five star you would pay double without getting much more for your money.

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
quick processing, friendly

Rooms:
very basic, but certainly adequate.

Restaurants and Bars:
The lounge was quite pleasant.
Buffet only average, but great staff.
The restaurants were quite good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool needed some tile repairs, but it was right on the beach!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities staff were great. A short taxi ride into town. The close end of 5th Avenue is all tacky tourist fare, but venture farther along past the dip in the road and there are a lot of great bars, restaurants, and shops.

Other Comments:
I have stayed in quite a few area resorts. Some have nicer rooms, newer and better facilities, but the price and location have brought me back twice to the Allegro.
We don't spend much time in our room, so the close proximity to PDC is huge bonus.
I will be booking another trip to the Allegro for the Christmas Holidays.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overbooking 55-100 people per day!!!!!!!!!!"

Occidental Allegro Playacar
User Rating:  Occidental Allegro Playacar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  marjorie  on Dec 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
269 people found this review helpful

Arrived at Allegro Playacar we were told they had overbooked and our reservation would be honored at Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcarey.Itold them we came for the beach and shopping in the area and that would not do. I had the flu and was still coughing and to recover at the beach and visit friend in Playacar. Natalye, the manager assured me that the beach was beautiful in Xcaret and if we were not happy we could check into the Allegro the following day.mgr. said beach was nicer there so we went. BIG MISTAKE. There is NO BEACH, just rocks and small man made "lagoon" that is filled with water from the underground river, ice cold!! It's in the jungle! water so cold people from Canada could not go in. We were not happy being lied to about the situation and irate when we couldn't get into the Allegro. It was a total waste of a week, we go for the therapeutic effects of the salt water.

Don't think this is an isolated incident, folks. They overbooked the Allegro by 50 to 100 rooms per night the entire week we were there, December 1-8, 2010. I think they did it to fill up the Grand Flamenco. In the event this happens to you, we talked to people who got tickets to thepark, day passes to the Allegro, cab fare, etc. So, demand lots of perks. I was told that they were even putting people up at Viva Wyndham Maya in Playacar. They would do nothing for us and we are currently pursuing it through our travel agent.

Now, the Grand Flamenco Xcaret is three times the size of the Allegro, so you have to take trams everywhere on the property. The televisions in the rooms are very small and the sound was horrible. They sprayed for bugs daily which made us sick. Kids everywhere screaming, no lounge chairs available at the man made beach. Service in the restaurants was horrible, we couldn't even get water or tea. They have no fresh juices, all made with sugar. Food was so-so, not as good as other all-inclusives. There was the smell of sewage everywhere, even in our bathroom and outside the restaurants. The soap container in our shower was broken and we reported it on arrival. It was never fixed it in the eight days we were there.

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, $12 taxi to Playacar, additional $20 to the airport. When we went to the lobby to get in a cab to Playacar, this timeshare guy blocked our way and tried to prevent us from leaving! Very obnoxious. We spent $24 per trip and lots of wasted time going back and forth, just to hear they have no room for us!!! And that, the mgr. was not there We came back feeling sicker than when we arrived due to the bug spray.

Room Number:
12113

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube