Reef Playacar Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Reef Playacar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2013

Riu Playacar Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2011

Reef Playacar  

Av Xaman-Ha Retorno Sayil S/N | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"An important read"
Posted by: José on Jul 27, 2011
see all reviews

Reef Playacar Reviews
Reef Playacar Pictures and Information
Reef Playacar Mayan Riviera Mexico

#49
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 2.5

Based on 2 reviews

Reef Playacar Information


The Reef Playacar is a beautiful beach front All inclusive Resort located on the Yucatan Peninsula, just steps away from the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen in the heart of Riviera Maya and only 60 km (37 miles) from the Cancun Airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Reef Playacar Reviews

Reef Playacar Review: 2.5 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (3)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 4 of 2

"An important read"

Reef Playacar
User Rating:  Reef Playacar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  José  on Jul 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
211 people found this review helpful

Choose another hotel. This place is disgusting. The food is gross, the rooms are not clean at all. The pictures on their website are completely different from what you get. There´s NO security. The safe is NOT safe AT ALL. The doors can easily be opened by sliding the card along the frame, like in the movies. We met 2 couples that were robbed. One had things in their suitcases stolen and another had their things stolen on the beach. The restaurant food was bleh and the chairs were comfortable enough if you only stayed for 15 minutes. Any longer and your back would be sore. We wouldn´t come back even if we were paid.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved the Reef! (avoid Mayland Tours though)"

Reef Playacar
User Rating:  Reef Playacar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andy  on Jan 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
261 people found this review helpful

We went with few expectations, given that we had never been to an all inclusive before and some of the negative reviews. It's hard to believe that they even went to the same resort!

We loved the Reef! The atmosphere is quiet and private, the grounds are incredible, the view tremendous. Neighboring resorts are huge and noisy in comparison. We went with friends and they loved it as well. The Reef met our request for rooms near each other. The rooms were smallish but renovated so others might not be as nicely equipped. Food and drinks were very good, especially check out the chicken wings by the pool, the ice cream and tea time. Staff do make the time share pitch but you can tune that out. Playa del Carmen is a nice 15 minute walk on the beach or a quick bike ride; it was very touristy and we were happy to lounge about the resort.

Only one negative to report, and it is significant: Mayaland Tours/Grey Line, the tour office located on the property is to be avoided. We got a day trip for four (Tulum and Xel Ha) and it was a disaster. No one showed up to pick us up, after waiting an hour they got us a taxi but with unclear directions. It got complicated, but we wasted hours trying to undo their mess and they refused to compensate either the taxi driver or us. It was a classic case of passing the buck. It would have been funny if it hadn't been so contemptible. No reflection on the Reef except that Mayaland/Grey Line are located on the property. Find another vendor!

As for the Reef, we'd love to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"my 55th time in riviara maya and going back to the reef"

Reef Playacar
User Rating:  Reef Playacar Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sylvie  on Aug 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
273 people found this review helpful

i stayed at the reef may 17 to may 24th. this was my 55th time in riviera maya. been to top 5 stars and 3 stars. i put all valuables in the safe where they should be. nothing was taken from our room. this hotel is 4 star but the rooms need updating badly, our bathroom had leakage in the ceiling and a large blk spot was visible. appart from that it was ok.
when it comes to food, i laugh when I read reviews, food critic is soooo personnal. but honestly the buffet is small, but food is great, grilled fish, grilled veggies, rice, salads, pasta, meat, boiled or steam veggies. deserts, and the a la carte restos are really really good. meat is tender, pasta al dente, sauce is good, i even had the raw meat and was not sick at all.
i agree w people saying the bartenders are not the best and they mostly never smile. you feel as if you bother them. appart from that! great, going back in september for a week again....

Arrival:
great they changed my room to what i wanted

Rooms:
badly need update , really 1987 looking

Restaurants and Bars:
great great restos, need friendly bartenders and make sure you always have mint or ice at the bars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great, clean, not enough palapa

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great near playa , we walked everyday to go visit

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"THEFT THEFT THEFT"

Reef Playacar
User Rating:  Reef Playacar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liz  on Jul 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
288 people found this review helpful

Hotel and food was great. Employees and hotel NOT SAFE. We had 7 rooms total with our group We had thefts on more than one occasion in 3 out of the 7 rooms. Had to fight to make a report to front desk and manager refused to meet with us. Asked them to stop cleaning our room and to not allow ANY hotel employees in our room. They still came in every day. Hotel security guard was crooked. Tried to charge us 6 dollars per person to go on the beach at midnight. Said it was past curfew but would turn the other cheek for 6 dollars a person. Moral of the story. Hotel gorgeous but DO NOT STAY THERE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube