Riu Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Riu Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Royal Solaris Caribe

4.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2010

Riu Cancun  

Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5, Manzana 50, Lote 5 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Worst hotel in Mexico"
Posted by: frankie  on Jun 19, 2011
see all reviews

Riu Cancun Reviews
Riu Cancun Pictures and Information
Riu Cancun Cancun Mexico

#3
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.4

Based on 19 reviews

Riu Cancun Information


Welcome to the Cancun, Mexico Travel Guide and The Riu Cancun resort in Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy the surrounding areas of our beachfront resort located in the heart of Cancun’s exclusive hotel zone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Cancun Reviews

Riu Cancun Review: 4.4 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  11
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 19

"Worst hotel in Mexico"

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  frankie  on Jun 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
266 people found this review helpful

Family vacation, booked 2 rooms. 5 star Hotel should be 2 stars. A/C in both rooms was never cool. Restaurants on property were also hot, They left the doors open to the buffet all the time, morning, noon , and night...so you never ate in the cool. We could only book 1 night at one of the specialty restaurants..the japanese.......it was awful, worst sushi I ever had, was not the hibachi style where they fix the food in front of you and it was poor quality.. pool felt slimy and had mold. bed spread had 2 holes, we had a king room, which was two double beds pushed together. old style tube TV had bad picture. all room keys had the room number etched on them(dont loose the key or you loose your stuff). Bath tub was very narrow. Carlos at the front desk was rude. Have stayed at five other all inclusives in mexico so feel that this is a more than fair review. Customer service at Riu Cancun will not contact me back via email or otherwise.

* Stayed June 2011, traveled with family

Room Number:
1132

Arrival:
june 9, 2011

Rooms:
1132,1218

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tim  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
307 people found this review helpful

Just got back from a wonderful sun soaked week at this resort. Total relaxation with service that I have never experienced before, excellent!!

Flying from London , Ont direct to Cancun was great, hate Pearson!!

Your Arrival:
First trip to Mexico, a little laxed with our tour operator not in the terminal to guide us to the coach, finally after a few minute with a persitant time share agent , we were sent out to the awaiting coach. Arrived at night at the resort within 20 minutes. Walked into this fantastic foyer, met with a smile and drink. First impression after leaving snow was great.

Rooms:
Room was great once you cranked the AC. Fridge stocked with beer and pop only everyother day, we had it filled everyday with a fiver on the top of the fridge. Dispensing tree with Rye, Rum, Vodka and of course tequila in the room, quite handy. The room was made up every day, very pleasant cleaning staff, should be more fluente in english, so you could communicate better.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great, had everything you could imagine. We booked the resturants for their theme meals, but would of rather had the main buffet with more choice.
Waitress were great and always helpful. Bart tenders were always ready to make any drink you wanted, and always willing to surprise you if you did not know what you wanted. Great service whether you tipped or not.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were cleaned and always being maintained, cups were always being picked up by the bar staff at the outside areas, and they were always there to ask for your drink orders.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our Sunquest rep was at out resort every morning with information and activities that were available. We did 1 day trip with Cancun Sailing to the small island across the chanel (forgive if I get it wrong) Isle Mijers. Very good day trip, little snokling , little lunch and finally shopping in the village. Great sailing to and from the island and a great crew, it is amazing they can pout beer and tequila and not spill a drop, that's right John.

Other Comments:
All in all, my wife said we are going back next year and would recommend this resort to everybody that asks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I will be recommending it highly to clients of my travel agencies."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marv_Plymouth  on Feb 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2008 | Leisure | With Group
322 people found this review helpful

I am a travel agency owner/manager who just had the pleasure of escorting one of my large incentive groups for a long weekend at the all-inclusive RIU Cancun, a four-star resort with 569 spacious guest rooms, junior suites and suites. This “classic level” resort is adjacent to the RIU Palace Las Americas in the Hotel Zone, 12.5 miles from the Mexico’s Cancun International Airport.

There are three inter-connected art deco-style towers with the lobby/shopping/restaurants in the center just a few yards from the very narrow but clean, powder white sand beach. The lobby is imposing with a beautiful cathedral domed ceiling and immaculate polished marble floors. Accommodations are moderately priced for value-conscious families and couples - much less that the luxurious RIU Palace next door.

All rooms have balconies. I stayed in room # 003 on the first floor and enjoyed being out of the hall traffic and free from elevator usage. It was garden and pool view with easy walking access to all of the public facilities. There are lovely, well-manicured small gardens. The dining rooms, activity and pool accommodations are easily accessible for the physically challenged.

There are a limited number of categories and it’s the luck of the draw as to how close or far you are from the action in the lobby, the two main pools or the dining venues. All of the suites were booked throughout my four-night stay so I cannot comment on them. There are no room- or turn-down services in the RIU Club or Classic level resorts so, if this is what you expect, discuss a “RIU Palace” level resort with your travel agent. Seek out an agent who is a “RIU Partner Club” member and who has been to at least some of the RIUs in Mexico and the Caribbean.

This newer resort has more than enough lounge chairs at the two pools. Beach towels are tightly controlled with a card system and the towel hut is supervised by friendly staff. Lounges in the few prime sunny locations, especially on the beach, are often taken by guests just after breakfast so stake your claim early. There is gorgeous green/blue gentle surf but there are no snorkeling experiences from the beach. There are a few vendors on the beach but they are discreet and respectful.

Facilities:
There were very few organized children’s activities and no large scale supervised program or facility. The full-service Renova Spa has a small but fitness center, one Jacuzzi and a sauna. The theater has seats for almost everyone and offers nightly local entertainment with lots of involvement of the RIUs staff and guests. There is a sports bar with internet access for a very reasonable charge of $8/hour.

Food and drinks:
The quality and variety of the food and beverages are excellent. The elaborate, air-conditioned “Don Juan” is the main buffet with show cooking stations during all three meals. Most of the plentiful and delicious selections are prepared in front of you, not hidden in the kitchens. I enjoyed the very wide selection each meal and different themes each night but found the traffic pattern to be slightly chaotic.

Two specialty restaurants require reservations made before breakfast time each day for only that day and all have two seatings – 6:30 and 8:30p.m – a RIU policy that many guests do not favor. The Japanese themed “Kawachi” is ala carte for dinner. The Rodizio serves tasty fare in Brazilian style. La Mision is the alternative lunch and snack venue, and is converted to a “Grill Steakhouse” - buffet style dinner with open seating. A resort this size really needs at least one additional ala carte dinner venue.

There are bars everywhere, including “Wet ‘n Drinking” the swim-up bar in the main pool. All bars serve Corona beer, blended drinks and house brand spirits served by a friendly bar staff. Every room has a refrigerated minibar and a liquor dispenser. Cappuchino and espresso are available at every meal. NOTE: Get used to Sanka if you require decaffeinated coffee – they do not brew it.

Recommendations:
When you check-in, sign up for the free RIU Club card and get special discounts and offers. Tour and excursion operators have desks in the lobby (I particularly like the reps from Apple Vacations). They offer a variety of fun excursions and experiences at extra cost with many fishing, horseback riding, speedboat, cultural and parasailing day trips nearby. Great shopping is within walking distance.

Although I have reviewed many Caribbean resorts for this website, I usually do not comment on specific staff or the management. However I must mention the fantastic support I received from Victor Padilla, the general manager of RIU Cancun, his PR reps Rike and Katharina, Victor B at the front desk, and Julien, the F & B manager. I brought 170 guests to them for the weekend and their positive attiitude of “We will try to take care of whatever you need” was quite evident and very comforting.

This resort is part of the RIU family-owned and operated chain of 100+ hotels worldwide and every attempt is made to satisfy guests’ needs. I will be recommending it highly to clients of my travel agencies.

Marv Weber, owner/manager Marvelous Travel & Cruise Planners, an American Express agency Plymouth Meeting PA 19462

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was our first trip south and now I believe we may be spoiled."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Mark_Sharon  on May 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

We are a 40ish married couple and we enjoyed a fantastic week at the Riu Caribe in Cancun in early May 2007. This was our first trip south and now I believe we may be spoiled.

The first thing you notice when you enter is the beautiful high ceiling in the lobby, with plants hanging down from all the balconies inside...turtle pools in the floor and a wonderfully open feel.

Check in was quick and painless, and whenever we needed anything the desk staff were more than helpful... In fact, every staff member we encountered was polite, cheerful and eager to please.

The food in all the restaurants was very nice, with the "Steakhouse" a-la carte being the best experience...perfectly cooked steak with corn, spinach and potatoes, served on a spacious deck overlooking the beach.

We did have a lunch at a sister Riu hotel (The Riu Cancun) further along the Hotel Zone, but were not nearly as impressed with the quality of the buffet.

If you're thirsty you're never far from a bar, where they'll make you up whatever you want...and there are often waiters roaming the beach taking orders or just walking along with trays of drinks to hand out.

The pool is beautiful, and if you want to join in the games, there's always something going on in the section closest to the swim up bar.
Lots of music and exhortations of "energy, energy!"
There's a shallower kids section as well.

The beach is very nice and very safe, with lots of sand and the water was not too rough like many hotels further down the strip. ... and no matter how full the hotel seemed to be we never had a problem finding a lounger in the shade.
If you want a quiet area, the end by the outdoor massage area is very nice. It was also pleasant to stroll the beach in the evening, and there always seemed to be security personnel keeping an eye out, so it felt very safe.

More Things we liked:
Our favorite after supper spot was in the lobby bar where we were well looked after by Fernando and Juan. They like to keep a drink in front of you at all times, and Juan was especially having fun mixing up all kinds of shooters and just handing them out at random.

The nightly entertainment in the lobby bar was very nice as well, with the mariachi band being the best. Other nights there were different duos of keyboardist/singers of varying degrees of talent. The karaoke night was possibly the best/worst entertainment, but no matter how bad the singing it was still enjoyed by all.

The evening shows in the theatre were lots of fun...very colorful and lots of dancing and humour!

If you want to dance yourself, for extra $$ they take groups out to a different bar every night, with the promise that you are heading to "the best bar in Cancun!" (Be prepared for a late night...you don't head out til nearly 11pm)

A couple of things to note, where there is such a big, high ceiling in the lobby, the noise carries up to the rooms that are closest to the lobby opening. If you want quiet before midnight or 1am, you might want to try to get a room above the 4th floor and/or further down the halls away from the lobby.
Also, some of the ground floor rooms can only be accessed from outside, through a patio door... and while they are convenient and close to the pool and beach, if you were hoping to leave your door open to catch a breeze at night, you might want a higher floor.
We had one the first night and decided to move...no big problem, we just had to wait one more night until another room became open.

Something we've read about in reviews of Cancun resorts is the abundance of nuisance timehare hawkers. This is not something we encountered at the Riu Caribe.

All in all, we would highly recommend the Riu Caribe Cancun.

phots available at http://community.webshots.com/user/beachkrazymark

Photos: http://community.webshots.com/user/beachkrazymark

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My husband and I just loved it."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Benoit_Gatineau  on Apr 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
345 people found this review helpful

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Riu Cancun in Mexico. My husband and I just loved it. Staff was friendly, food was excellent, hotel was beautiful and well situated (close to shopping centre, flea market, bars). No time to get bored. I would definitely give it a 5 stars. I would go back anytime!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is top notch!!"

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Traveller_Canada  on Nov 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

I just got back from the RIU Cancun in Mexico on Oct 29, 2006, I must say this resort is top notch!! The food was excellent and so was the service. This resort is located in best part of Cancun, everything is walking distance from this resort ,shopping mall,flea markets and all nights clubs. My rooms had an amazing ocean view and a fully stocked mini bar, I found a great site listed on your agents area www.onlinetravelcentre.ca I used there site to book my trip, I found them to have the lowest price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Riu Cancun is highly recommended."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Irving&Rita  on May 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
351 people found this review helpful

My wife, 2 daughters and my mother-in-law stayed at the Riu Cancun for 9 nights from 4/12 to 4/21. We are repeat vacationers to the Caribbean and are seasoned travelers. Our impressions and comments:

Process from plane to hotel transport is a bit of running a gauntlet. A variety of officially dressed workers (government? private? unknown?) repeatedly canvassed us to follow them or to be escorted by them to another checkpoint. They very aggressively lunged to grab hold of our luggage. All such “services” of course are expected to culminate with a tip. Advice: ask for and go to your specific tour rep.

The food a the Riu Cancun was varied, fresh and plentiful for every meal and every day of our stay. The changing cuisines were delicious were and served elegantly. We enjoyed the variety and quality of the general dining room so much that we chose not to visit the “specialty” restaurants.
The waiters were courteous and professional and their service was excellent (we tipped to show our appreciation).

Front desk staff was exceptionally courteous and accommodating.

Rooms are nicely cleaned and refrigerators well stocked with beverages. Though we are not “drinkers”, we found various drinks to be quite delicious and well prepared.

Entertainment was varied and enjoyable.

Criticism: public bathrooms should be cleaned more often, elevators are too few for such a large tower, food preparers and counter staff should wear sanitary gloves, quality of regular coffee was rather poor (much better in DR and other Mexican areas), smoking is too unlimited and invades even the segregated “non-smoking” areas, beach front is public and is often visited by local population (so there is no automatic comfort in leaving chairs and belongings unattended, though hotel security patrols).

Riu Cancun is highly recommended and we would definitely return to this fine hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, I’d say that I was very satisfied with this trip."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cam_Yoni  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
340 people found this review helpful

Flight:
We booked with Sunquest and flew on SkyService. Was not impressed at all with SkyService, as we arrived 4 hours early at the airport to get the ‘unreservable’ exit row seats, only to be abruptly removed from the ones we wanted, and were given, and told they were reserved for a VP of the airline. Whatever. Flight was unremarkable, food was pretty bad, flight staff was great. All I can say about Sunquest and SkyService is book early, and take advantage of the free early-book upgrade package. You can avoid paying the $10 for seat pre-selection and you get a coupon for headphones. Another note with regards to SkyService; they feel that a 50 minute wait for your bags to arrive in Vancouver after you get off the flight is not unreasonable.

Arrival:
Landing in Cancun, we had to line up outside the airport for about 30 minutes before we were allowed into the immigration / customs hall. You have to fill out an immigration card before you can enter. Immigration was easy; they stamp your card in 2 places, your passport, tear the card in half, mumble something in Spanish at you and wave you on. Our bags were waiting for us in the customs hall, we avoided the baggage cart salesmen “It’s a long walk to the Sunquest bus” – It’s not. Maybe 200m. Customs was funny. Press a button, green light you go, red light you get searched.

Arriving at the bus area, we were able to find out which van we needed to get on easily, loaded our bags and found seats. Then we waited and waited and waited for the Sunquest rep to arrive. They never did, so our driver eventually left. The travel agent in Vancouver assured us our bags would be transferred to the hotel automatically, but this did not seem likely to happen.

Check-in:
We arrived later in the evening, around 7pm local time. Check in was quick and painless. A short form to fill in, then we were given our wrist bands, towel cards, room key, and safe key. We were unable to locate the Sunquest rep anywhere in the hotel. This was to be the case for most of our stay.

A note here. We had called the hotel directly a few days before we left to check that our room preference requests had been passed on from the travel agency – Flight Centre – and found that they had not. The hotel was great at that time about accommodating all our requests.

Room:
We got room 1417 on the east side, near the middle of the main building.

The room was small, but clean and comfortable. Almost all the rooms on this floor are adjoining, and the walls are not very soundproof. The small child next door was noisy in the morning, and the people above walked around on the tiled floor in hard shoes late at night. There’s a switch on the balcony door that turns off the air conditioner when you open the door. However, this is not hard to bypass if you know what you’re doing.

The bed was hard, but I like that. Extra blankets were in the closet. A door separated the bathroom, closet, minibar, and entry from the rest of the room. This door has a closer on it and is hard to wedge open. The cleaning staff wedged it for us with a matchbook on the 2nd day.

Hot water pressure and availability was often very poor. If you want to shower before dinner, don’t bother between 4-6 unless you like a cold shower. I do, but my partner doesn’t.

The view was fantastic, looking north and east. Rooms on the 13th floor have a concrete ledge, and I suspect that the downward view might not be as good.

http://img171.echo.cx/my.php?image=resizeof14545124pq.jpg

Facilities:
There were major problems with the elevators all week that we were there. They would not stop, get stuck, not move, etc. One in particular was very bad, and trapped people a couple of times.

The beach was great. It varied from rocky with lots of fish at one end, to sand, sand, and sand, at the other. You could pick where you wanted to be, how much surf you wanted, etc. Parts of the beach and pools get shaded in the afternoon, but you can just move to the solarium on the roof of the ‘short wing’ or to the west end of the beach for all the sun you want. Snorkels and masks were free for the asking from the hotel, SCUBA was free in the pool, and it was too windy for sailing the week we were there. Lots of fish by the slab reef, and people were finding shells all over.

People tended to reserve beach chairs with towels, but you can just remove them when you want to sit down, and put them back when you leave. There are signs everywhere asking people not to reserve the chairs so don't feel bad about this. There are also stacks of more chairs so you can grab some if they’re all full.

The pools were nice, clean, and cool. We stayed out of the “wet ‘n drinking”, or as we called it, the CessPool. It was obvious that people were just drinking and peeing in it. Also, the cigarette butts floating around were pretty ugly.

The quiet pool on the east side was by far the nicest. The hot tub was not hot at all. We couldn’t find the heat control. It would have been nice on some of the cooler days.

There were lots of organized activities if you’re into volleyball and pool games. The staff did a good job of keeping people entertained.

Food:
The food was not very good. I’d give it 3 out of 5 at best. Some items were great, but they tended to go very fast, with lines forming, and people hogging large portions. This happened with the prawns and the fresh calamari that I saw.

Quantity does not equal quality.

I was disappointed with the lack of fruit. Lots of melons, but no oranges, apples, grapes, or strawberries. You could not get fruit in your drinks, except bananas. I like drinks made with real fruit, not sugar syrups. At a 5-star, I expect a blender full of real fruit, served to me in a fresh coconut. However, I’ll make do with what’s available.

All the beef at the buffets was soaked in some kind of tenderizer that had unpleasant effects on my digestion. The oil in the deep fryer needed changing badly, and was too hot; many items were coming out scorched. There was a reasonable assortment of vegetables, all boiled or fried with a lot of oil. In general, I found the the food to be very oily.

You had to get up pretty early to make reservations at the Brazilian rodizo or the Japanese restaurants. The dress code was not enforced at either. The food in the rodizo was substantially similar to the main buffet. The food in the Japanese restaurant was better, but one thing I’ll say is that Mexican sushi is kind of funny. I think we’re spoiled here in Vancouver with so many great sushi places.

The wait staff and bar staff were fantastic. Always smiling, always friendly. Willing to teach you a few new words of Spanish if you asked.

At the bars you had to ask for the premium liquors, otherwise you’d get whatever was in the well. A tip with your first drink would ensure you continue to get the good stuff without asking again. I found the bar staff to be friendly and engaging. They also work very hard, and appreciate the tips.

Conclusion:
Overall, I’d say that I was very satisfied with this trip. The few inconveniences were far outweighed by the positive experiences. I don’t know that I’d stay at this hotel again, as I’m the kind of person that likes to try new things, and the food really turned me off. Playa Del Carmen and Cozumel were both highly recommended to me by other vacationers I met.

Cancun Tips:
I travel a lot for work, however this was my first trip to Cancun. Here are some things I feel may make your trip a little easier.

If you call your local bank, you can ask them to get some Mexican money in for you. Ask for small bills. 20s and 50s and 10 peso coins. We could only get coins from a money changer at the airport, but the small bills are handy. Change is not always available in Cancun, which I found odd, but that’s the way it is. You may find yourself getting a stack of ten 2 peso coins in a plastic roll rather than a 20 peso bill as change. Taking a big stack of US singles is good for tips as well. You can also get pesos directly out of bank machines in Cancun, using your Canadian bank card.

The local bus service is great. It runs 24H and the busses are minutes apart. 6.5 pesos for as far as you want to ride. The drivers are very aggressive, and will accelerate and stop rapidly. Sit down quickly and hang on. Don’t worry about having exact change. The drivers can make change. Don’t give them big bills though.

If you do take a taxi, ensure you agree on the price to the destination before you even get in. There are no meters in the taxis, and if you don’t have a clear agreement, you may get a nasty surprise at the end of your trip.

I found the markets to be quite tedious. The merchandise was the same from stall to stall and the vendors were very pushy. Some of them actually tried to take my arm, and to haul me into their stalls. I had to warn a few people not to touch me. The prices and merchandise in the mall across the street from the hotel were about the same as the market, and the vendors don’t harass you. The marketplace in Cancun proper was much nicer than the one in the hotel zone. For example, no one there offered me ‘blow’ or ‘x’. Don't be afraid to walk away from a stall. If you haggle well you can generally get the merchandise for about 30% of the initial price.

I found that an easy way to blow off the timeshare salespeople is to tell them that you're leaving later that day.

The day trips that can he had are fantastic. Our trip to Xel-ha and Tulum was absolutely incredible. You can save a lot of money by simply going across the street to the mall and booking your trip there. The Sunquest rep in the hotel, once I was able to catch her not chatting on the phone, wanted $107USD each for that trip. I got it in the mall at Maro Travel for $65. If you’re going to Xel-Ha, make sure you bring “biodegradable” sunscreen. I can’t recommend this park enough. It was fantastic. Tulum is very cool as well. Walking amongst the ruins of a city that’s thousands of years old is not something you get to do every day.

I wanted to go to Chichen Itza as well, but ran out of time.

We were advised against Xcaret. Apparently it’s more for kids, and has a more ‘Disney' feel to it. I don’t know.

Parc Nizuc was lame. The only reason we went was so my partner could do the dolphin experience. You can’t bring in food or water from outside, and they search your bag coming in. Once you’re inside, everything is very expensive. Not at all worth the $29 entry fee.

Definitely take a day and go to Isla Mujeres. I would avoid the package tours here. If you want to keep the cost down, you can take the city bus to the public ferry and pay $2.50 to cross. Rent a golf cart for $35-50 for the day and you’re set. There’s a lot to see and do there. The sea park, tortoise farm, a small Mayan ruin, and the downtown markets. Whatever you do, don’t miss “Playa Norte” This beach was incredible. Deep, soft sand and water the color of the sky and warm like a bath. I didn’t want to leave. The level of civil infrastructure on the island surprised me. I saw fibre optic splice containers and hybrid fibre/coax nodes on the poles. You can sip a corona and do email if you want.

Hope your trip is as pleasurable as ours was,

Photos: http://img171.echo.cx/my.php?image=resizeof14545124pq.jpg

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in all it was a nice place but not the atmosphere we are used to."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen_Canada  on Feb 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
295 people found this review helpful

Just returned from the Riu Cancun - Lovely Hotel but would never stay there again for a few reasons. Mainly the beach is not very wide and the sun goes behind the Hotel very early leaving the pool deck shaded and cold (2:30pm), therefore everyone must find the sun for a bit longer on the beach (until 4:30pm at best) and gets very crowded (bar service is sporadic on the beach) tipping doesn't seem to help anywhere on this resort. The pool is heated but you don't see too many people leaving for washroom breaks even though they are consuming a great deal of alcoholic beverages hmmm..... not very hygienic to say the least.

The rooms are nice and clean - nothing spectacular - bring your own hand soap, the bars are very tiny and the shampoo is in a little package no conditioner. They refill your fridge every other day but if need something they are replenished right away when you call. The staff are very friendly for the most part EXCEPT the bar staff who can be very grumpy and rude with the exception of Carlos who always remembered what you were drinking and refilled it before you even needed it - he received great tips from us. The other were plain rude and had the nerve to looked shocked when you stopped tipping them due to there conduct, you felt like you were putting them out.

Activities are minimal - more around children. Nothing exciting.

I would not recommend this resort if you like the sun, it was sooooo disappointing to be shaded in so early in the day. snorkelling was great, many fish, starfish, king crabs etc... even a scary barracuda.

If you go to Isla Majurees (spelling may be off) take you drivers licence to rent a golf cart, you can enjoy the Island much more.

Oh and if you like wine this is NOT the resort to go to - they only serve Mexican wine and it is sweet and horrible, if you want another type or want to see a wine list they are shocked and say you have to pay extra, that was fine with us - but they never ever brought us the list and would act like they forgot - very strange - we asked 5 or 6 times then gave up - not sure what the problem is around that.

All in all it was a nice place but not the atmosphere we are used to - you can hear sirens when you balcony door is open and they clean the beach with a motorized loud contraption early early in the morning - you can here it through the glass door. Oh and you can here your neighbour next door - loud and clear..........

We have stayed at many Sandals Resorts and last year we were at the Eldorado Royale in the Mayan Riviera - I would highly recommend that resort it is beautiful, clean, friendly and has a great wine list and the food was lovely - actual restaurants not buffet buffet buffet......

Read your reviews carefully - I wish I would have taken note of the sun down issue more closely, we would not have booked this resort at all - we go for fun and sun - not shade and cold.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not be returning."

Riu Cancun
User Rating:  Riu Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jamie_Mississauga  on Jan 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
310 people found this review helpful

Hotel was nice and clean in appearance. The first night I had a hamburger that was not cooked - red in the middle. The next day, I had a meatball also not cooked in the middle. The food in general was nothing exceptional. The specialty restaurants required reservations by 7am. We upgraded to a junior suite - which we very disappointed in - it was not much bigger than a standard room in North America. The room had a musty/smokey odour - there are no Non-smoking rooms. The bed was rock hard. The supplied bar soap was tiny. I found mold/mildew growing on the ceiling above the shower. There is no heat in the hotel - the week that we went was unseasonably cool and the room was very cold - had to use 4 blankets. Late checkout was denied due to "overbooking". We will definately not be returning. Date of stay: Jan. 14/05 to Jan. 15/05

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube