Riu Caribe Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Riu Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Barcelo Costa Cancun

4.4 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Caribbean Princess Cancun

4.2 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2007

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun

3.8 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 3, 2012

Be Live Grand Cancun

3.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 4, 2011

Great Parnassus Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Riu Caribe  

Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"It was ok"
Posted by: Michelle  on Aug 18, 2010
see all reviews

Riu Caribe Reviews
Riu Caribe Pictures and Information
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico

#1
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.4

Based on 22 reviews

Riu Caribe Information


The warm and charming Riu Caribe offers a relaxed ambiance along with its All Inclusive features and an exceptional level of service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Caribe Reviews

Riu Caribe Review: 4.4 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (21)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 22

"It was ok"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Aug 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
335 people found this review helpful

The Riu Caribe was definitely not the most luxurious but it was nice.

Arrival:
Arrival to Cancun was long and muggy. ***Tip*** Be sure you have a black or blue pen on you to fill out the forms you're given on the plane and as you're getting off the plane. Arrival at the hotel was smooth and easy. We got our room key, towel card, lock for the safe, a hotel map, and instructions for the different restaurants etc...

Rooms:
Typical rooms. Nothing fancy. Toilet plugged up twice while we were there but a quick call to the front desk and it was looked after right away. The cleaning ladies do an excellent job of cleaning. One day I walked in and she had the bed pulled right out from the wall and was cleaning under it. Our fridge was restocked every day with booze, pop, and water. A/C worked like a charm and was good to dry out the room a bit when it got too humid. It did get very cold though and there didn't seem to be a happy medium with it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was nothing to write home about, but wasn't horrible either. The Steakhouse which is the poolside restaurant, had horrible steak but the setting is very nice with the water crashing. The 24hr Sports Bar claims to have snacks 24hrs, but I only saw snacks in the fridge on two separate occasions and never after midnight. Those snacks were pre-cooked hamburgers and hot dogs that needed to be microwaved. They did have taco chips but the cheese was ALWAYS cold. The pizza shack was ok, but you had to ask for your pizza WELL DONE or it was still doughy when it came out of the oven.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ok, this hotel had THE NICEST beach by far. We did visit the Riu Cancun and some other hotels along the strip and the beaches there were half the size. When it storms over night, it does bring a lot of seaweed in, but the workers are out there with their shovels and wheel barrels cleaning it up at the crack of dawn. We went down to the beach at various times and never once had a problem finding a chair. The main pool was a different story though. You had to be there before 9 am to get a chair close to the bar and bathrooms. There were people reserving their chairs the night before.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
At the resort, the entertainment staff did a wonderful job. They were entertaining all day at the main pool and then did the evening shows at the theatre as well. Off the resort, we did the Corona Rally which is put on by the Salvatica Tour Company. I HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone. It was a series of 12 zip lines, then a half hour drive through trails in a dune buggy, then a swim in a beautiful, clean cenote, and finally a great mexican fajita lunch. The guys that did the tour were the best guides I've ever experienced. They were fun, got to know you by name and made the whole experience that much better. It was only $119 per person and they pick you up from your hotel and drop you off at your hotel. You are gone for a good 6 hours. We also did the wave runners which were ok, but the snorkeling you do once you're out there is very nice. We did the Captain Hook Pirate Cruise which was a complete blast! The crew is GREAT! Make sure you have extra money for tips and to buy pictures and other things while on board. I should note that this is very much a party cruise and I would not recommend it for young children or people that aren't big on drinking and partying.

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this hotel for people travelling with children. (There is a good hotel for children called Crown Paradise in Cancun) It's a party hotel for sure. The staff were a hit and miss, but all in all, for what you pay to stay here, it's really not too bad. I would go back when we're looking at a cheap, quick week away. Oh, the drinks are VERY VERY watered down. We would drink all the bottled beer out of our fridge to get a bit of a buzz before heading out!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We are big fans of Riu Resorts."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather_Ontario  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
295 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov. 13-25, 2009

We are big fans of Riu Resorts. Have not stayed at a bad one yet.

Rooms:
Adequate. A tad dated but no problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. Food plentiful and terrific as usual. Lunch at pool/beach bar restaurant noisy and crowded. Staff always working hard. Lobby bar busy and be noisy and hot in evenings.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This resort is alone along the "strip." Vacant lots on both sides so no beach walking. The seaweed washes up daily and the poor guy down there on most days is alone and never stops. He cannot keep up. They need a tractor. We gave him a tip at end of week. Lots of chairs, some need replacing. Never used the pool as too busy and noisy for us. More for families and the partiers who enjoy the games. We did notice it was kept very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to Coco Bongos and loved it. We are 52 years old and were very entertained. Went Monday with the Riu group. Worth the $50.00. Got home at 2:30 am feeling very satisfied. A real show place. Be prepared to stand though. Did not participate in anything else, just some of the entertainment in the lobby bar are a few nights.

Other Comments:
Liked the Riu Cancun beach and location better. Great staff at all Riu's and Riu Caribe did not disappoint. Lili in the lobby bar is sweet as is Gabriella and bartenders Maya and Gerrardo. Bar super Migel was very accomodating ensuring all is well. Matrd. Gonzalo in main dining room a gret guy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"On a scale of 1-10 I'd give this a 10+."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Visitor_RuiCaribe  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
276 people found this review helpful

- We stayed at the RIU Caribe in Cancun for the X-mas week of 08. This is our 10th time or so at an all-inclusive in the caribbean.

- We booked out trip thru Red Tag Vacations with Air Canada. This was the second time we used Red Tag. I am not a fan of Air Canada simply because of the service. A bunch of crusty old biddies who know they can't get fired no matter how bad a service they provide. On the upside, their planes are definitely roomier than Sky Service or Air Transat. We flew from Halifax to Cancun via Montreal. Flight down was great. Ride to the hotel was fine. And check-in went quite smoothly. The flight back was delayed and we missed out late night connector in Montreal. Initially the A/C rep was not going to give us a room. She told us we had to sleep in the airport for the night. After some discussion, with the manager, we got a room for the night. Unfortunately, this is the type of service that makes me despise this company so.

- Our room had a view of the ocean as well as the lagoon…..very nice. The room was spacious, quite nice and very clean. Bar fridge was stocked and there was a liquor cabinet with forties in it, much too my surprise!!!

- The beach was very nice. There were plenty of chairs, although you did have to get there early to get a good one. The volleyball net/court was perfect There was an area for soccer on the beach also. The water was nice. Most people think of great snorkelling in Cancun, but not this place. Like I said the water was nice though.

- The pool area is huge. Plenty of chairs. Swim up bar. Activities all day long. There are plenty of quiet areas away from the activities, but still poolside.

- The food was amazing. There were 3 restaurants. We ate at 2 of them…..awesome. The buffet was the best buffet I've eaten at anywhere down south. I really enjoyed the pizza bar at lunch.

- The service(maids, entertainment staff, bar staff, etc….) was unbelievable. They worked really hard. Although they never expected tips, we had to tip them.

- There are many outside activities available. If you are into excursions, this is the spot…..any and all types are available.

- The resort was at about 90-95 % capacity. It was a mix of Canadians(50%), Americans(20%), UK(15%) and others(15%)……rough guess.

- This was rated as a 4.5 star when we booked. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give this a 10+ ……hands down. We will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Advertised as a 4 1/2 star hotel but a 4 star would be a little bit of a stretch."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy_Canada  on Nov 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
325 people found this review helpful

The resort that we stayed at on our recent trip to Cancun, Mexico was the Riu Caribe. Our party was 3 adults (Aged 28 - 38) and a 6 month old baby and we travelled the week of October 26th, 2008.

We flew in from Toronto which was painless as usual even with a 6 month old baby. The main focus of my review is the actual hotel as I feel that there is plenty to share. This may be advertised as a 4 1/2 star hotel but a 4 star would be a little bit of a stretch. We have travelled to Mexico many times over the last 8 years and this was by far the worst hotel we had stayed at.

Location:
This hotel is located at the end of the strip and therefore you have to take a taxi any where you want to go. Be prepared to spend $12 - $14 U.S. each way to go to La Isla Shopping Centre. If you are going to Cancun to party at the bars and clubs every night you may want to stay much closer in town as you will spend a small fortune on taxi fares.

Rooms:
Basic but perfectly fine as all you are going to do is sleep there. Every room has an ocean view which was fantastic! However, my husband did tell me after we got home that he killed a number of cockroaches in the bathroom area before I set my eyes on them as we would have been switching hotels if I had seen them.
Note: This hotel is old and could use a renovation so don't expect trendy new interiors.

Restaurants:
The buffet had the best food to offer however it was only open for breakfast and dinner and you were forced to eat at the pool side restaurant for lunch. This restaurant served the same food every day for the entire week. The steakhouse restaurant was not worth the four attempts to book as there is no such thing as a la carte at this hotel. They may call them a la carte restaurants but everything was served buffet style. The food was average which is unusual for a Riu Hotel.

Bars:
Swim Up (Maybe 4 stools) and a Lounge Bar. Wherever your room is in the hotel, you can hear the lounge bar entertainment in your room easily until about midnight.

Beach/Pools:
Beach is excellent at this resort. Pool is a great size for the grounds that they have. Much better than most Riu Hotel pools. As for the lounge chairs and umbrellas for those of you with children, my husband had to put towels out to reserve loungers as early as 7 a.m. to secure a spot.

Activities and Entertainment:
I have to give them an A+ for entertainment during the day and in the evening. The only thing lacking is something to do after about 9:45 other than lounge music.

Departure and Check Out:
The hotel was basically empty all week (hence the really great deal we got when booking) so we asked to extend our check out until 5 p.m. as we were not scheduled for pick up until 6 p.m. We politely asked for this from the manager because we have a baby and were more than willing to pay for the time and were advised by the hotel manager that he was expecting "alot" of arrivals that day and would not have any rooms. When we asked him if he was sure that there were no rooms available he said that he was not sure how many people were arriving off of the flights coming in. How do you not know how many rooms you have booked for arrival. Needless to say we were not impressed.

Conclusion:
Over all the hotel did not live up to the Riu name, not even close. However if you are looking for a the basics at a reasonable price this is what you will get with this hotel. We will not be staying there again and will not be recommending this hotel to any one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our honeymoon"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristina  on Dec 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

We arrived to Riu Caribe on December 1st, 2007. It was our honeymoon. We are 23 and 25.

We booked this vacation through vacationstogo.com Great experience with them! Would use them again.

When we arrived at the hotel and got our room there were two full beds, not what we had requested. We called down, and they said we would have to sleep there tonight, but we could get a king tomorrow. We were ok with that. The very next day they hooked us up with what we had wanted. Fantastic view!

the pool was nice, very big. However, if you were wanting servers to walk around the pool, you wont get that here. A bit of a downfall. They had an entertainment staff every day who had games such as volleyball, water polo and other such things. We enjoyed them very much, kept us from getting to bored.

The food was your average buffet food. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the fact that I was expecting a sit down dinner where people served you at the restaurants. That wasn't they case, even these were buffet styled.

The hotel is toward the end of the hotel strip, so if you want to shop or do anything you have to take a taxi or go by the bus. The bus is very safe and cheap. There are plenty of bus stops for you to get off at too. We just told the driver we would want off at the next stop and he would let us. Much, Much cheaper than a taxi.

Overall the trip was a good one. I think next time we will stay in another part of Mexico, just to get the different experiences. I would give the hotel 4 stars

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The most wonderful time"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Janet_NY  on Jun 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
303 people found this review helpful

We just came back from Riu Caribe in Cancun and had the most wonderful time. I am 52 years old and I went with my husband, my son who is 26, his girlfriend and my 18 year old daughter. We all had a blast. The weather was perfect, high 80's and not a drop of rain. Everyone at the hotel was great, very friendly, and would answer any question that you had. The wait staff in the buffet restaurant were amazing. They never left a dirty dish in front of you. We especially loved Rodolfo, but they were all wonderful. The hotel was very nice. The pool was amazing, especially with the bar. The beach was great! We had so much fun just splashing around on the boogie boards. I only wish I had the nerve to jet ski. Next time I go back, I think I'll try it. We did a horseback ride excursion and rode ATV's. What fun! We also went to Isle de Mujeres and Xcaret. How beautiful they both were. On Isle of Mujeres we rented a golf cart to take us all around the island. You could also rent scooters. My only suggestion regarding the excursions is to shop around. You can get a really good deal at Walmart. It's just a 10-15 minute bus ride from the hotel. Their tours are about $25 cheaper than the hotel tours. My only regret was having to leave. Can't wait to go back again next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel if not 5-star was a generous 4-star."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Gary_Canada  on Dec 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
325 people found this review helpful

I travelled to Riu Caribe November 13-20 with my lady. We are in the 50's-60's age range and found this trip as a last minute sale for about $850 each, including all taxes.

The hotel if not 5-star was a generous 4-star. People and service unbeatable. The food at the buffet was wonderful and we had no difficulty with the variety offered to enjoy it fully for the entire week. The Mexican specialty restaurant that we made a reservation one morning at 730 am for, was a big disappointment. The service, ambience and food rather than exceeding that of the buffet fell short on all accounts....and we wished we hadn't gone there at all.

The pool area and immediate beach area was the hub of activity all day and was noisier than we preferred so we spent our beach time down at the other end of the beach in front of the pizza place.....lunched on great pizza and enjoyed watching the resident pelicans diving for meals. We had massages at the spa...very good massages but very pricey. We discovered the hot tub outside the spa and one nite tried it out....but it was warm only and not really a 'hot tub'.

We took trips to Xcaret Park....wonderful, stay for the evening Mayan celebration and have the meal as you watch the festivities. Also went to Chichen Itza.......fabulous, BUT much too much time on bus getting there and back and if we knew that would have probably passed on it. My recall is leaving early am , about 8 am, and having 3 h maximum at the ruins and not getting back until about 8 or 9 in the evening. So other than a stop for a dip in an underground sink hole followed by lunch the rest of the time was on the bus.

We did jump a bus one day in front of the hotel and go into the town of Cancun to shop and pick around and we enjoyed that very much, including getting lost badly when it came time to find a bus stop to get us back to Caribe. Felt totally safe, and we went to many parts of the town 'getting lost', and also enjoyed shopping and bargaining for little gifts for home people.

One of the most enjoyable staff we met was Vincente at the reception bar......we got into a routine of spending a half hour at the bar at noon to get a drink and perhaps one to go to the beach with us.....he loves mixing drinks and explaining about them and also suggesting ones to try....he was employee of the month for August for the worldwide Riu chain and it is obvious why he was.

We flew home after a week with few regrets and wonderful memories. We would return willingly, but too many places to see too little time to repeat at one place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This 5 star hotel gives you a 10 star service."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Abdulla&Shanaz  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
266 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Riu Caribe, Cancun after celebrating our 25th weddding anniversary. I can't help posting this review in appreciation of Riu Caribe.

This 5 star hotel gives you a 10 star service. The staff were extremely courteous and pleasing. They became close friends during our 5 days' stay- still recall their names - Penelope, Josue, Luis, Jose, Karina, Gabriella, Rene, etc. Those kids make every effort to care and please the customers. They are not tip oriented at all. We have never experienced this much of sincere service anywhere else.

The hotel is strategically located. Very clean, with a beautiful ocean view from every room. They have entertainment activities every night that suit all ages. The variety of food and the number of restaurants serving food and beverages is amazing. RIU CARIBE is a place to see, a place worth more than the money you spend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would give RIU Caribe a 4-star + rating"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sam_Toronto  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
297 people found this review helpful

I travelled to the RIU Caribe Sept. 30-Oct. 7/2006 with my family (4 adults - two of us in our 20's & 2 in their 50's). We were very happy with the hotel, the reasonable price we paid & the excellent service received from the hotel staff. We are frequent travellers, who have stayed a wide variety of hotels over the years from 2 stars up to 5 stars + . At the end of the day your vacation is what you make of it & there are some really picky, critical people who post negative reviews here - if you want the Ritz Carlton, please just stay there (I believe in Cancun it's about $599 USD per night + tax, no food/drinks included). We paid about the same for a week all inclusive at the Caribe and it was great - I would give it a 4-star + rating.

Rooms:
Our room was an oceanview deluxe (#435), very close to elevators & high enough up to have a great view of the pool areas & the ocean. It had 2 double beds - yes they are hard as mentioned in past reviews - I took the comforter off of my bed , folded it into 4, & laid it under my bottom sheet - problem solved! Our maid continued to make up my bed this way each day, which was nice. The A/C was cold, we also had a fan, telephone, cable tv, hot and cold shower and tub, mini refrigerator with coronas, pop & water (ask for Diet pop if you want it, they will provide it), liqour dispenser cabinet w/ vodka, rum, whiskey & tequila, safe , a balcony & marbled floor. The rooms was great although we did find the magnetic door keys were problematic at times - we had them re-programmed at least twice during our stay. Also our maid was very nice and did a great job cleaning. Tips are a good idea, they really appreciate it.

Beach:
The beach was fabulous outside of this hotel, much nicer than the beaches in front of some of the other hotels we walked to. You can usually get a palapa (sun umbrella) if you are out there by 11am. This time of year there is some rain but when it hits it usually doesn't last more than 30 mins, so go grab a drink at the beach bar & wait it out - you'll be back in the pool or ocean soon. One point, the waves can be great at this beach location especially later in the afternoon so if you want to bring a blow-up innertube or raft I'd highly recommend it. You can buy them at the mini-mart adjacent to the hotel but they are expensive ($25 approx). We used the free snorkelling equipment as well as the sea kayaks during our stay - lots of fun!

Food and drinks:
We ate at all 3 a la carte restaurants during our stay, Japanese, Mexican & the Steakhouse (which is the beachside buffet during the daytime hrs). They were all good and worth trying. There is also a pizzeria at the bar near the amphitheatre - pretty tasty for lunch! Overall we enjoyed the main buffet, Albatross the most. The buffet is extensive at all meals - I like the breakfast spread the most: smoothies/fresh juice bar, omlettes, fruit, nachos, waffles, french toast, bacon, sausage etc. There are self serve juice, pop, Corona & water dispensers as well as cappuccino/espresso machines - LOVED THAT - we like our coffees so we usually aimed to get a table near the expresso machines. The main courses at lunch & dinner always included a variety of options, fish, chicken, beef, local specialties etc. The desserts were good, & they have a good variety of ice creams.

The bar we frequented the most was the beach/pool bar. They make pretty much anything you want but there are no cocktail menus so you have to know what to order on your own. We drank a lot of Miami Vices (strawberry daquri/pina colada mixed - but asked them to add the coconut rum or it will be virgin. Also good were the mudslides, mai tais, margaritas, riu caribe, banana daquiris etc..... Tips are appreciated. Also if you want extra booze in your drink ask for it, they do not mind.

Sports:
The gym/spa area opens up early in the morning. There are eliptical trainers, treadmills, stairmaster, bikes, which are all new-ish and in good condition. The weight machines are older & they are those combo machines - not very clear on the directions to adjust the equipment to do different excercises but we made do. They also had a good variety of free weights & benches. There is one mat for stretching or abs - you're better off asking for a towel & using that instead. All in all it's a pretty good hotel gym and yes there is A/C in there. Others in my party bought tennis balls at Walmart and played a few games during our stay - they said the courts were good.

Internet Access:
Internet access is available in the Sports Bar. It's pretty smoky in there at night so be forewarned if that bothers you. It cost $3 USD for 15 minutes - if you sign up for a RIU class card (a points card) at the front desk you will get double the time on your internet time purchase. You also have the option to just pay $8 for one hr, with this purchase you get a timecode & can use your time over the week instead of all at once if you go the $3 route. The guy there at night is nice enough, pretty happy go lucky - he plays video games all night long & gets paid for it, I guess I'd be happy too :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The nightly shows were enjoyed by everyone we spoke to although we skipped out on them all week as we were more interested in relaxing on this trip. We did head to the nearby Isla Mujeres which was a great day trip. The cheapest way to go (& so easy) is to take the bus from out front of the hotel to Puerto Juarez (the oldest port in Cancun). The bus is labelled clearly in the front window to where it goes & it costs only 65 pesos (65 cents approx). From there they have high speed ferries that only cost about $7 round-trip (it is $15 rt from other more touristy areas & the ferries are run-down - stick with Puerto Juarez ). On the island you can rent a golf cart for the day for about $40 and ride around the island stopping where you please to swim, shop & site see. Near a small ruin/carribean village site there is a walking tour you can take down near the water for about $3 pp - it is so worth it - spectatcular views of the ocean & the waves breaking against the rocks - make a point of doing this.

Busses:
Buses are only 65 pesos pretty much anywhere you want to go & they run 24/7. This is the best way to go anywhere. We visited Market 28 (downtown flea market shopping), the club zone (Coco Bongo, Big Daddy O, Senoir Frogs), La Isla Shopping Mall (higher end mall, stores like Zara, Lacoste etc.) all by taking the buses that come right outside of the hotel.

Finally:
f you forgot to pack anything, i.e. toiletries, sunscreen, over the counter drugs or such, take the bus that says "Walmart" on the window, downtown and it will drop you right there - at least the prices are reasonable (unlike the hotel store) and it's only a 10 min ride. This is also a good place to buy liquor to take home if you want to.

Our tour company reps from Signature Vacations were friendly & helpful - they are the guys in the lobby wearing the hot pink t-shirts :) LOL If you miss you "welcome meeting" - we did - it is not hard to find them to ask questions. We did not book any excursions however you can arrange those through them - the club hopping tour & Chichen Itza seemed to be popular ones.

One final tip, don't wear your watch when paddling a raft in the ocean....I lost mine :(

Feel free to email any questions to: curlgirl77@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great deal."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie-France _Miramichi  on Mar 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

My niece and I decided to go on vacation this year and a great deal popped up for the Riu Caribe in Cancun, Mexico. We had not done any research about Mexico as we didn’t think it would fit in our budget but we ended up receiving a better deal for this 5 Star Hotel than we would have in our previous chosen vacation in the Dominican Republic. We might also mention that we had an excellent travel agent; Melanie; from Sell Off Vacations in Moncton, N.B. What a deal she found us with Air Canada Vacations. Our flights were all on time and uneventful. We met up with some great people from Moncton, Rogersville and Fredericton. We even met up with Nancy and Danny and exchanged photos over the weekend. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the gang at a later date.

Resort:
This was my first time staying at a 5-star; I had visited the Dominican Republic before but not in a 5 star and my niece’s first time South ever so you can just imagine how excited we were when we arrived at our resort. You can definitely see the difference. The lobby is gorgeous. The marble flooring is amazing and décor is fabulous. We were checked in early and had a beautiful Junior Suite with an ocean view on the 9th floor. Spectacular view. My favorite pictures were taken from our balcony. Our room was always very clean and tidy. Never had problems with water pressure even being on the 9th floor. Never ran out of hot water. The lobby also has a turtle pond.

Beach:
The beach was beautiful. The sand is unique in that it doesn’t heat up and is white and powdery. Hard to get off of you once it is on. Once we visited other resorts, we realized we had a beautiful beach compared to some of the more fancy resorts. This was due to the hurricane of last Fall. Took a lot of pictures.

Pool:
We spent most of our time pool side as the entertainment staff was always so good and we didn’t want to miss anything. We only discovered the ocean on what was our last full day of vacation. We took the boogy boards out and had a ball. The water is very salty. The pool is just gorgeous. Upon visiting other resorts, we came to the conclusion that the Riu Caribe was the best for us. Our pool was the biggest by far and our beach was much nicer. We participated in the water aerobics mostly every day as well as some of the games.

Food:
The food was very good. The buffet was always plentiful and had a wide variety at all times. We especially enjoyed the A la Carte Restaurants. We ate at the Mediterranean one twice. Our best meal was at the Restaurant near the Pool (I can’t remember the name) but the atmosphere was not as nice as in the other restaurants as it served as a buffet during the day and had a bar, etc. I ate the best Filet Mignon with shrimps there. We also ate at the Oriental one but preferred the Mediterranean one. We also tried the beach pizza place one day for lunch and it was fabulous. All in all, no complaints whatsoever about the food.

Entertainment:
The animation team was awesome. We truly enjoyed them during the day and during their evening shows. I even participated in one of the evening shows. Outside entertainment was brought in on a few nights but I almost preferred our own entertainment team as we got to know them as the week wore on and realized how hard they all worked. I just wish I had half of their energy. These people work all day and into the night to keep the guests entertained. I hope nobody takes them for granted. They are relentless and always have a smile on for you.

Tours:
My niece’s lifelong dream was to swim with the Dolphins and that’s exactly what we did. We booked through Carlos at our Hotel and she enjoyed a Royal Swim and I had a Dolpin encounter which was amazing. These animals are incredible. Of course, we purchased pictures and she got this awesome DVD of her swim. According to us, it was worth every penny. It was all inclusive. We walked down to take the ferry which took us across to the Island and our meal and our drinks were all included along with transportation back by 4 p.m. What a wonderful day.

Finally:
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. The staff was friendly at all times and answered any questions we had. Our only problem was with the phone cards and we ended up getting refunded so in actuality, it was no longer a problem. We found a better way to communicate with our family back home. We used the internet in the Sport’s bar. I think it cost $3.00 for 15 minutes and let everyone know we were fine. After all, we went on vacation to get away from it all didn’t we? All in all, it was my BEST VACATION EVER.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube