Riu Caribe Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Riu Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Barcelo Costa Cancun

4.4 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Caribbean Princess Cancun

4.2 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2007

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun

3.8 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 3, 2012

Be Live Grand Cancun

3.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 4, 2011

Great Parnassus Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Riu Caribe  

Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"It was ok"
Posted by: Michelle  on Aug 18, 2010
see all reviews

Riu Caribe Reviews
Riu Caribe Pictures and Information
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico

#1
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.4

Based on 22 reviews

Riu Caribe Information


The warm and charming Riu Caribe offers a relaxed ambiance along with its All Inclusive features and an exceptional level of service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Caribe Reviews

Riu Caribe Review: 4.4 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (21)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 22

"Cancun is a fabulous place, but I highly recommend you stay somewhere else!"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ginger  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Group
78 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Riu Caribe several times when it was still the Gran Caribe Real. We liked it so much, we decided to take 40 of our friends and get married there. Unfortunately since the new management has taken over, things have changed dramatically.

We came to Cancun and made all the arrangements 9 months before the wedding was to take place. Additionally we had a wedding coordinator in Cancun who met with management on a weekly basis. I found out the day before we left that my wedding and reception site had been given to someone else. I got the reception dinner menu less than a week before we left. It took months and help of several others just to get the spa services list. For those who may be planning events, I would be wary. I found the management staff to be antagonistic and downright rude. They never apologized for the problems I had. They even refused to meet with me upon arrival to find an alternate wedding site.

Lots of changes have been made to save money and it is extremely apparent. They no longer change your sheets, the fancy restaurant menu has been reduced to a few dishes, they don't restock your refrigerator, even the bottles of shampoo are gone! Other problems included all of the room keys being deactivated, no one receiving towel cards, no water except a drizzle most days and when it was more than a drizzle, it never got warm. Additionally several of my guests' room reservations were lost, many became very ill, and the maid cleaned my room while I was still in bed! The general chaos caused what should have been a wonderful trip to be disastrous. These were not isolated incidences, these things happened to all of our guests. It is no longer the Gran Caribe we knew and loved. Cancun is a fabulous place, but I highly recommend you stay somewhere else!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Advertised as a 4 1/2 star hotel but a 4 star would be a little bit of a stretch."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy_Canada  on Nov 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
311 people found this review helpful

The resort that we stayed at on our recent trip to Cancun, Mexico was the Riu Caribe. Our party was 3 adults (Aged 28 - 38) and a 6 month old baby and we travelled the week of October 26th, 2008.

We flew in from Toronto which was painless as usual even with a 6 month old baby. The main focus of my review is the actual hotel as I feel that there is plenty to share. This may be advertised as a 4 1/2 star hotel but a 4 star would be a little bit of a stretch. We have travelled to Mexico many times over the last 8 years and this was by far the worst hotel we had stayed at.

Location:
This hotel is located at the end of the strip and therefore you have to take a taxi any where you want to go. Be prepared to spend $12 - $14 U.S. each way to go to La Isla Shopping Centre. If you are going to Cancun to party at the bars and clubs every night you may want to stay much closer in town as you will spend a small fortune on taxi fares.

Rooms:
Basic but perfectly fine as all you are going to do is sleep there. Every room has an ocean view which was fantastic! However, my husband did tell me after we got home that he killed a number of cockroaches in the bathroom area before I set my eyes on them as we would have been switching hotels if I had seen them.
Note: This hotel is old and could use a renovation so don't expect trendy new interiors.

Restaurants:
The buffet had the best food to offer however it was only open for breakfast and dinner and you were forced to eat at the pool side restaurant for lunch. This restaurant served the same food every day for the entire week. The steakhouse restaurant was not worth the four attempts to book as there is no such thing as a la carte at this hotel. They may call them a la carte restaurants but everything was served buffet style. The food was average which is unusual for a Riu Hotel.

Bars:
Swim Up (Maybe 4 stools) and a Lounge Bar. Wherever your room is in the hotel, you can hear the lounge bar entertainment in your room easily until about midnight.

Beach/Pools:
Beach is excellent at this resort. Pool is a great size for the grounds that they have. Much better than most Riu Hotel pools. As for the lounge chairs and umbrellas for those of you with children, my husband had to put towels out to reserve loungers as early as 7 a.m. to secure a spot.

Activities and Entertainment:
I have to give them an A+ for entertainment during the day and in the evening. The only thing lacking is something to do after about 9:45 other than lounge music.

Departure and Check Out:
The hotel was basically empty all week (hence the really great deal we got when booking) so we asked to extend our check out until 5 p.m. as we were not scheduled for pick up until 6 p.m. We politely asked for this from the manager because we have a baby and were more than willing to pay for the time and were advised by the hotel manager that he was expecting "alot" of arrivals that day and would not have any rooms. When we asked him if he was sure that there were no rooms available he said that he was not sure how many people were arriving off of the flights coming in. How do you not know how many rooms you have booked for arrival. Needless to say we were not impressed.

Conclusion:
Over all the hotel did not live up to the Riu name, not even close. However if you are looking for a the basics at a reasonable price this is what you will get with this hotel. We will not be staying there again and will not be recommending this hotel to any one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A girls getaway weekend"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda_Houston  on Apr 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
82 people found this review helpful

A friend and I took off to Gran Caribe Real in Cancun, Mexico for a girls getaway weekend. Here is a rundown of the good and bad and what has changed from my first visit last year. We purchased a Funjet Package from Houston and got a really incredible deal on it. We had been to this same hotel last year in July and enjoyed it so much we decided to return again this year. Once we got through customs at the airport, we boarded a large bus to take us to the resort. There were lots of other people staying at the same resort. This was the first time that I have ever been transported to the resort in a bus-usually it is a smaller van. It took about 30-45 minutes to get everyone loaded into the bus. Then the driver took us on a VERY long scenic route of Cancun while his partner told everyone about tours they were selling. Then, we had to stop at another hotel to let some people out and let others take bathroom breaks. In any event, it took over an hour to get to the resort and we were a little aggravated that they did not just take us straight to the resort as were other people on the bus. I am not sure if this is a new way Funjet does their transfers but next time I think I will just take a cab-to me it would have been worth the extra $15.

Upon arrival at Gran Caribe Real, we were told they were at 100% occupancy. We got a first level room with a terrible view of some A/C unit or something-This is very weird since practically all of the rooms are ocean view. We were not pleased and were told we could move to a new room in the morning. Also, they were out of locks for the safe deposit boxes for the night. We decided to take off and have some food before we encountered any more problems. We went to the outdoor café dining area (Gaviotas) and had shrimp pasta. This café is open all throughout the day but does close on some days at certain times. It is always open for lunch. The food is pretty decent there-mostly burgers, pasta, sandwiches, etc. and some seafood as well as desserts. Each night the resort does a different bar trip--$25 for transportation, admission and all you can drink. The night we arrived they were going to Senor Frogs on this big open air Frog bus thing. We decided to go and had a really good time-people of all ages came along. One warning--the margaritas there were really strong so watch out. I can handle my liquor very well but after 3 or 4 of these, I was a bit tipsy. We went on one other of these trips while we were there to a rock and roll place called Bulldog which was also a fun place.

All Inclusive:
As an all inclusive guest at the hotel, you can order room service once a day and also may use club all inclusive (24 hours). We usually ate dinner late and would order the room service around 4 or 5 for some flautas, nachos or sandwiches. Club All inclusive has video games, pool tables, TVs, a bar with various liquors (make your own drinks) and self serve coolers with food to microwave-burgers, onion rings, sandwiches, etc. That changed a little from last year because there used to be buffet food in Club all inclusive. We only used it after going out in the evenings so it really did not matter.

The next morning we went to the front desk and they moved us to an oceanview room on the 3rd floor-much nicer with a great balcony right above the main pool and beach area. We also got a key to the safe so we were all set. The majority of the front desk workers were very nice, but you have to follow up with them. They are on Mexican time and sometimes forget certain guest requests. The remainder of the vacation was spent lounging by the pool and beach. As the resort was really crowded, almost all of the loungers were full. We found a spot on the beach and then eventually moved to the pool area. People reserved chairs really early in the morning which I really hate but we always seemed to be able to find a couple of stray chairs to get some sun.

Food:
Breakfast at the resort is served buffet style in Albatross Restaurant. They have very good omelettes made to order and various fresh juices. They are also open for lunch and dinner but I am not a big buffet person so we did not eat there except for breakfast and one evening meal. There is also an outdoor pizza hut-they have great personal pizzas and I would say this is some of the best food at the resort. The fancy restaurant is called Maria Margaritas. You can make reservations each morning between 7-11 for dinner that evening. Get there early or you will be eating after 9pm. The dinner there is served a la carte with a soup, salad and cheese buffet. The food there is the best at the resort; however, the menu changes daily. The night we went (Friday), there was not a great selection. I found the food definitely to be better the first time I visited.

Lobby and Pool Areas:
The lobby at the resort is very beautiful and lush with open windows everywhere. There are tables and couches for relaxing, TV and some games. There is also a large bar in this area that is used a lot in the evening. There are shows-usually music and karaoke. Lots of people participate and just sit down in the lobby area and enjoy beverages. Right outside the lobby there is a shaded area with large wooden Adirondack chairs for just relaxing and watching the ocean.

The pool area is definitely the hub of the resort. There is music playing all day and activities galore. The main pool is huge with walkways over it in certain spots and there is also a kids pool. Lots of families visit this resort; however, there are also lots of younger couples and singles as well. The entertainment coordinators are great. They try to get everyone involved and really seem to enjoy their jobs. Most of them were the same ones that we met on our first trip. Also, in the evenings there is an outdoor theatre where the entertainment coordinators put on shows. The one on Saturday night is the best one. Most of them are singing and dancing, costumes and tricks, etc.

Finally:
All in all, we had a great time. The only downsides were that the resort was less crowded during our first visit, the food was a little better and we did not have a problem with our room last time. Things that were better were more nightly activities, met really fun people staying at the resort and liked the places we went bar hopping better than the last time. I would definitely consider staying at this resort again; however, I will probably want to try something different next time I go to Cancun because I like to explore different places. My next trip to Mexico will probably be to Playa del Carmen since I want to do a little more relaxing and less partying :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Riu Caribe has some work to do."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bruce&Margaret  on Feb 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
71 people found this review helpful

The S.O. & I have just returned from an eight day stay at the Riu Caribe via Air Canada Vacations, 02/08/04 – 02/16/04, and I would have to say we’re somewhat disappointed considering this is now a Riu chain hotel. It is not up to the standards of the other Riu properties we have stayed at. (Riu Jallisco, Riu Palace in Mexico and the Riu Bachata in the Dominican) Here are some of the reasons.

Check-in:
Check in is supposed to be at 3:00pm. We arrived at the hotel right at 2:45 and there was already quite a crowd at front desk. When my turn finally came, I was told that the room would not be available till 4:00 pm or later, but they took our information and issued us the all-inclusive wristbands and pointed us in the direction of the lobby bar. The staff seemed overworked and unable to cope with the sudden influx of guests. At all the other Riu hotels, most of the check in procedure were done on the bus to the resort, so all that was left was picking up the room & safe keys. At 4:00 I went back to check again, and was told there would be a further delay. After some conversation and a $20 gratuity, a room suddenly became available, eight floor and ocean view, no less. Exactly as I had requested, and was promised, in the email I sent to the hotel several weeks earlier.

Rooms:
I have never slept (or tried to sleep) on a harder bed in my life. Previous reviews are quite correct in this respect. The bed was as hard as the marble floor. Pillows were as flat as pancakes and offered no support to your head and neck. The bathroom featured a sunken tub, but the water pressure and temperature was so low at certain times of the day (5-7pm was the worst) that taking a bath or shower was quite an adventure. The soaps were more like soap chips and the shampoo packets barely held enough shampoo to wash your hair twice. On a positive note the air conditioning was extremely efficient, almost too much so, as it dropped the temperature of the room so quickly that it never really de-humidified the room, so it was cold and damp, instead of cool and dry. It was more like refrigeration than air conditioning. The S.O complained the first night we could have hung meat in the room.

Food:
The restaurants were really hit & miss here, both the buffet and the one ala carte (there are usually two ala cartes) but one was closed for renovations. I had some reservations about the food on the buffet as hot food is supposed to be hot and cold food cold, so I tried to confine my choices to food I saw being brought out fresh from the kitchen, or eating from one of the food preparation stations. The ala carte’s food was suspiciously like the buffet food by times, but the service in the restaurant was fine and the presentation of the plates excellent.

Drinks:
I found that the mixed drinks were prepared much stronger in the lobby bar than around the pool. I think the reason is that management wants you pace yourself somewhat, not pass out, or puke in the pool. Works for me. Those who want to get drunk can chase each mixed drink or beer with a tequila shot to achieve the desired effect (much to my chagrin and headache the morning after the night before!!) Also, there are bar staff taking drink orders around the pool and beach area, a service not in effect at the other Riu’s.

Entertainment:
Was better than any other Riu I have stayed at. Very professional shows. Not Vegas, but what is?

Pool area and Beach:
I found the pool and ocean temperature a bit chilly for the time of year, I expected much warmer. The pool has a swim-up bar, but it’s in the shade, and a little cool to sit at for long. The pool also has a ledge which extends out about 6 feet all around it, with a water depth of about 1.5 feet, and then it abruptly drops off to 5 feet. There are steps on one side, but no hand rail to hang onto as you’re walking in.

There are the usual early-bird lounger hogs here, who must run down at 5:00am to reserve their all-important seats right next to the bar with their towels, a practice I find pathetic. The other Riu resorts I have stayed at do not tolerate this, and signs are prominently displayed to that effect, and it always seems everybody gets a seat and a fair shot at whatever chair they want once the towel hut opens. The beach is very nice, although the first day we got there, there was a lot of seaweed washed up, I think, due to some bad weather at sea that had the ocean all stirred up. Not the resort’s fault, and they worked endlessly to clean up the seaweed.

I must, at this point in the review, make special mention of one of the front desk staff. Lizbeth. What a sweetheart!! When she found out that it was the S.O.’s birthday, she recommended Lorenzillos’s, which is the most terrific seafood restaurant in Cancun. Beautiful place, excellent food & service, we ate right out on a dock on the water. She made the reservations for me, and made sure that the restaurant knew it was for a special occasion. She also waited till we were out for the day, and had a beautiful birthday cake sent up to our room, along with plates, cutlery, napkins and flowers. Next morning she gave us a big hug, asked us how we enjoyed ourselves, and I practically had to force a tip on her in appreciation of her efforts. Riu management – pay attention!!! This girl is a keeper and a shining example of terrific customer service.

Outside restaurants:
As above, Lorenzillo’s was terrific, Tony Roma’s was just ok, and Carlos & Charlie’s was poor.

Shopping:
As this was our “lazy” vacation(unlike last fall’s Las Vegas excursion), we didn’t do much in the way of day trips, so we confined ourselves to shopping at the various markets, and yes, even the Wal-Mart got a visit. We rode the bus, one of the truly great bargains in Cancun. Easy to use, cheap, and a great way to sightsee up and down the strip. Mercado 28 was lots of fun, but watch out for the Coral Negro market. The vendors are so aggressive there that two of them had me by both arms, screaming at each other in broken Spanish that “I saw him first” to get me into their shops. Not really pleasant, and probably a little scary for a first time visitor to Mexico. I haggled the vendors down to what I thought was some great bargains on silver and turquoise jewelry, leather sandals, and of course, tee-shirts. Probably still paid too much, but had fun.

Nightclubs:
We went to Fat Tuesday’s and Senor Frog’s. I can’t see quite what all the fuss is about, but of course, I’m not 20 anymore, and their aimed at the younger crowd. Actually, both were a bit dumpy, but I guess that once tequila is applied they look better and are lots of fun.

Topless women:
Got your attention? Well, the only topless women I saw was the S.O. Resort was way too family oriented for that, and the guest of European heritage seemed to be the minority there, mostly prudish Canadian and American guests.

All too soon, our vacation came to an end. We had beautiful weather 6 out of the 8 days, and ok weather for the other 2. Would we go back to the Riu Caribe? No….not until I hear some changes have been made, or until Riu fully takes over the hotel. Would I go back to Cancun? Maybe….it’s a little pricey for what you get. Would I go back to Mexico? That was our third visit, so I think it’s time to go somewhere else, but overall, I have enjoyed it every time, and my Spanish is getting better bit by bit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We are big fans of Riu Resorts."

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather_Ontario  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
283 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov. 13-25, 2009

We are big fans of Riu Resorts. Have not stayed at a bad one yet.

Rooms:
Adequate. A tad dated but no problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. Food plentiful and terrific as usual. Lunch at pool/beach bar restaurant noisy and crowded. Staff always working hard. Lobby bar busy and be noisy and hot in evenings.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This resort is alone along the "strip." Vacant lots on both sides so no beach walking. The seaweed washes up daily and the poor guy down there on most days is alone and never stops. He cannot keep up. They need a tractor. We gave him a tip at end of week. Lots of chairs, some need replacing. Never used the pool as too busy and noisy for us. More for families and the partiers who enjoy the games. We did notice it was kept very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to Coco Bongos and loved it. We are 52 years old and were very entertained. Went Monday with the Riu group. Worth the $50.00. Got home at 2:30 am feeling very satisfied. A real show place. Be prepared to stand though. Did not participate in anything else, just some of the entertainment in the lobby bar are a few nights.

Other Comments:
Liked the Riu Cancun beach and location better. Great staff at all Riu's and Riu Caribe did not disappoint. Lili in the lobby bar is sweet as is Gabriella and bartenders Maya and Gerrardo. Bar super Migel was very accomodating ensuring all is well. Matrd. Gonzalo in main dining room a gret guy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our honeymoon"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristina  on Dec 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
301 people found this review helpful

We arrived to Riu Caribe on December 1st, 2007. It was our honeymoon. We are 23 and 25.

We booked this vacation through vacationstogo.com Great experience with them! Would use them again.

When we arrived at the hotel and got our room there were two full beds, not what we had requested. We called down, and they said we would have to sleep there tonight, but we could get a king tomorrow. We were ok with that. The very next day they hooked us up with what we had wanted. Fantastic view!

the pool was nice, very big. However, if you were wanting servers to walk around the pool, you wont get that here. A bit of a downfall. They had an entertainment staff every day who had games such as volleyball, water polo and other such things. We enjoyed them very much, kept us from getting to bored.

The food was your average buffet food. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the fact that I was expecting a sit down dinner where people served you at the restaurants. That wasn't they case, even these were buffet styled.

The hotel is toward the end of the hotel strip, so if you want to shop or do anything you have to take a taxi or go by the bus. The bus is very safe and cheap. There are plenty of bus stops for you to get off at too. We just told the driver we would want off at the next stop and he would let us. Much, Much cheaper than a taxi.

Overall the trip was a good one. I think next time we will stay in another part of Mexico, just to get the different experiences. I would give the hotel 4 stars

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was ok"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Aug 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
322 people found this review helpful

The Riu Caribe was definitely not the most luxurious but it was nice.

Arrival:
Arrival to Cancun was long and muggy. ***Tip*** Be sure you have a black or blue pen on you to fill out the forms you're given on the plane and as you're getting off the plane. Arrival at the hotel was smooth and easy. We got our room key, towel card, lock for the safe, a hotel map, and instructions for the different restaurants etc...

Rooms:
Typical rooms. Nothing fancy. Toilet plugged up twice while we were there but a quick call to the front desk and it was looked after right away. The cleaning ladies do an excellent job of cleaning. One day I walked in and she had the bed pulled right out from the wall and was cleaning under it. Our fridge was restocked every day with booze, pop, and water. A/C worked like a charm and was good to dry out the room a bit when it got too humid. It did get very cold though and there didn't seem to be a happy medium with it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was nothing to write home about, but wasn't horrible either. The Steakhouse which is the poolside restaurant, had horrible steak but the setting is very nice with the water crashing. The 24hr Sports Bar claims to have snacks 24hrs, but I only saw snacks in the fridge on two separate occasions and never after midnight. Those snacks were pre-cooked hamburgers and hot dogs that needed to be microwaved. They did have taco chips but the cheese was ALWAYS cold. The pizza shack was ok, but you had to ask for your pizza WELL DONE or it was still doughy when it came out of the oven.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ok, this hotel had THE NICEST beach by far. We did visit the Riu Cancun and some other hotels along the strip and the beaches there were half the size. When it storms over night, it does bring a lot of seaweed in, but the workers are out there with their shovels and wheel barrels cleaning it up at the crack of dawn. We went down to the beach at various times and never once had a problem finding a chair. The main pool was a different story though. You had to be there before 9 am to get a chair close to the bar and bathrooms. There were people reserving their chairs the night before.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
At the resort, the entertainment staff did a wonderful job. They were entertaining all day at the main pool and then did the evening shows at the theatre as well. Off the resort, we did the Corona Rally which is put on by the Salvatica Tour Company. I HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone. It was a series of 12 zip lines, then a half hour drive through trails in a dune buggy, then a swim in a beautiful, clean cenote, and finally a great mexican fajita lunch. The guys that did the tour were the best guides I've ever experienced. They were fun, got to know you by name and made the whole experience that much better. It was only $119 per person and they pick you up from your hotel and drop you off at your hotel. You are gone for a good 6 hours. We also did the wave runners which were ok, but the snorkeling you do once you're out there is very nice. We did the Captain Hook Pirate Cruise which was a complete blast! The crew is GREAT! Make sure you have extra money for tips and to buy pictures and other things while on board. I should note that this is very much a party cruise and I would not recommend it for young children or people that aren't big on drinking and partying.

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this hotel for people travelling with children. (There is a good hotel for children called Crown Paradise in Cancun) It's a party hotel for sure. The staff were a hit and miss, but all in all, for what you pay to stay here, it's really not too bad. I would go back when we're looking at a cheap, quick week away. Oh, the drinks are VERY VERY watered down. We would drink all the bottled beer out of our fridge to get a bit of a buzz before heading out!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful pause in Upstate New York winter"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie&Warren  on Mar 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
73 people found this review helpful

This stunning, service oriented hotel is located directly on the beach on the North section of the "7" in Cancun, Mexico. This is our 7th trip to the Caribbean and to date this resort gave us the Best Service, Best Food, and Best Accommodations yet. Check-in was smooth and professional. The bell boys were exceptional. Restaurants were interesting and up to par. There were few vendors on the beach. Most silver, etc., was sold in the lobby of the Hotel during the afternoon and evenings. Every room actually does face the Caribbean! Downtown Cancun was a bit disappointing for the repetitive number of shops that contained the same merchandise. This trip was a wonderful pause in Upstate New York winter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I stayed at the Grand Caribe Real resort in February of 2003 and it was well worth it"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Erin_Riverview  on Dec 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
75 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Grand Caribe Real resort in February of 2003 and it was well worth it. I was on the 5th floor and the view of the pool area and the ocean was fantastic. The bar fridge was kept stocked with bottled water, pop and beer. We had to remind them to restock the bar fridge though. All of the employees were very friendly although I found it a bit difficult to understand them. Their english is not so good, and neither is my Spanish.

When we arrived at our room, they were fixing the air conditioner, but they had it repaired and reinstalled within 15 minutes. The hotel has an open concept, no windows in the lobby or in the hallways, but we didn't find any creepy critters in our room (insects, salamanders), which we have experienced at other resorts.

They have a very large swimming pool with a shaded swim up bar. The whole pool has a ledge going around it that is about 3-4ft. wide and 1ft. deep so that you can sit in the pool and read or drink or you can put your lounge chair in. There is a kiosk by the pool for Aquaworld so that you can purchase outings such as parasailing, jungle tour, scuba diving tours

I went on 3 outings, parasailing, which left from the Grand Caribe Real beach, The Jungle Tour. Although we purchased this tour at our resort, we had to take a city bus to Aquaworlrd to get there. and the Isla Majore Island tour, which left from a small marina by Aquamarina resort.(also required travel on a city bus)

The beach is incredible with soft white sand and clear blue water. Waitresses walk the beach and take drink orders, but it is much faster to get it yourself. I found that the vendors were no trouble at all, they are only permitted to walk down along the waters edge so that you pretty much have to go to them if you are interested in purchasing items. There is a manmade reef made out of sandbags at the edge of the resort which attracts alot of very colorful fish if you want to do a bit of snorkeling at the resort. You can rent kayaks and snorkel gear on the beach.

We used the city buses quite often which were cheap and they run 24 hours a day. Beware of drivers in Cancun! It seems pedestrians don't have the right of way, so if you need to cross the road, run, run run! They drive very fast! and don't stop for anything.

I loved this resort and hope to return there again. I am trying to convince my parents to go. They have been going to Dominican Republic for years, but after they get a taste of this, they won't go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would say that this resort was close to a five star"

Riu Caribe
User Rating:  Riu Caribe Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jim&Ann  on Feb 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
72 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Riu Caribe on the first week of Feb. We have travelled quite a bit in the last few years and always try to stay at a four or five star resort. I would say that this resort was close to a five star.

We found that the hotel was well run and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We arrived late Saturday night and when we got to our room we decided to see if we could change rooms. It was done as soon as a room was available in the area that we wanted to change to ( 6th floor right in middle of the hotel overlooking the pool.). The beach was fantastic and the pool was even better. The food was great and while we were there they had closed the pool restaurant for some kitchen upgrades. While this was taking place there service at their buffet and al a carte really picked up.

We found no problems with water temperature or water pressure in our room. The mini bar was over filled every day and our maid when she saw us always asked if we needed anything.

There was always something going on down at the pool during the day, whether it was a Fashion show or tequila volleyball or aerobics. If all you wanted to do was laze around, you were left alone with no pushing to get up to do something. Every night they had an lounge act happening in the lobby bar and also there was the entertainment at the outdoor theater.

Overall this was a great hotel and staff and we would stay here again with no second thoughts. Infact we are already preparing to return next year at this time again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube