RIU Jalisco Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 8, 2010

Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 16, 2012

Villa Varadero

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 6, 2013

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 21, 2010

Decameron Los Cocos

4.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 3, 2011

Hacienda de Mita Condos

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 16, 2012

RIU Jalisco  

Avenida de los Cocoteros s/n | Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico

"Not a 5 star!"
Posted by: sherri  on Apr 16, 2012
see all reviews

RIU Jalisco Reviews
RIU Jalisco Pictures and Information
RIU Jalisco Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#2
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 2.4

Based on 10 reviews

RIU Jalisco Information


As the centerpiece along an extraordinary stretch of golden sand beach in with crystalline waters, the Hotel Riu Jalisco (All inclusive 24 hours) in Puerto Vallarta is a Mexican paradise.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

RIU Jalisco Reviews

RIU Jalisco Review: 2.4 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (8)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 10

"Not a 5 star!"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  sherri  on Apr 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
156 people found this review helpful

RIU jalisco, puerta vallarta. we went april 8. bartender put some drug in our drinks. we blacked out for couple hours. positive it was bartender. not sure if the plan was to rob us or what but we will never go back. also, the eating areas were always full. most times no where to sit. a 3 star i was at a few years ago was much better. would have expected an iron in a 5 star and a coffee machine

Room Number:
3209

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not be going back..."

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jess  on Dec 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
173 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have been to several all-inclusive resorts in Mexico over the past few years (we are both 30). We usually like to stay at 5 star resorts but had no choice on this trip since it was for a family wedding. Having said that, we went in with lower expectation than normal knowing this was not a 5 star. We will not be going back to this resort, but that is not to say that someone else would not enjoy it. It is just not our style and we would rather pay more and get more.

Staff: We did not have much interastion with staff over the course of the week which is quite the opposite of a 5 star resort where the service is always exceptional.

Restaurants: The buffets were lacking with the exception of breakfast which was great with lots of selection every day. We got bored of eating the same food and ended up eating salad or fries for most meals. Some days they would fry up shrimp and veggies out on the beach and we always enjoyed that. The a la cartes were terrible. Only one open per day and with a hotel this size, it made it impossible to get in. Not that they were worth it anyway. The only one worth going to would be the all you can eat sushi one and can you really call a buffet restaurant an a la carte anyways?!

Bars: The bars were fine. Didn't have to wait long for a drink which was good. But the "24 hour snack bar" was a complete joke! It was a sports type bar with a fridge full of hot dogs, some fruit, and cold,stale nachos and cheese. You would have to be very desperate to eat that food!

Pools: They were incredibly busy. Not enough pool and deck space for the amount of people the hotel can hold. I think most resorts have that problem.

Activities: What activities? Other than drinking there is not much to do at this resort.

Rooms: The rooms actually not too bad. Nothing fancy, but you can't expect that at a 3 star. They were clean and had ample space.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrendous experience"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jody  on Oct 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
240 people found this review helpful

My daughter returned today from Puerto Vallarta. Last night her and her boyfriend went to the hotel to meet up with some friends that had just arrived from Canada. After visiting for an hour or two in their friend's room, their friend accompanied them down to the lobby to get a taxi.

It was at this point that one of the desk clerks informed them that they had to pay for using the hotel to visit their friends. Naturally they objected. The clerk freaked out and said he was going to call the police and have them arrested for not paying. He went after my daughter's boyfriend and threatened to take him outside and beat him up if they didn't come up with the cash. Security just stood by and watched refusing to become involved.

I feel very sorry for my daughter's friends as that was their first few hours at the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Wonderful"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  fred  on Aug 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
231 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
2177

Arrival:
Quick and easy

Rooms:
adequate with attractive colonial decor

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and staff were great! Both the Brazilian and Asian restaurants were good but the main buffet was good enough on its own.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Didn't use the pools but the beach was great. The grounds were beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
tend to go off on our own.

Other Comments:
very nice holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disapointed, not a couples relaxation trip"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shelly  on Jul 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
262 people found this review helpful

This resort was great for families with kids. There were a lot of locals at the bars, and pool bar, which kept the tourist away from the swim up bar. This resort was the only Riu on the block which allowed other Riu property guests to visit and use all the Jalisco's facilities. Breakfast was a nightmare because of this. The resort was very noisy, with lots of party animals yelling in the halls, and keeping us up until 4-5am in the morning. If one was a party person who just wanted to get away for drinks and partying, this resort is for you. If you are looking for a resort to get away, and relax, please re-consider. The staff were nice, and professional. One more thing, some of the rooms have great water pressure, and some have no water pressure. If you are in the beach restaurant or any restaurant, beware of birds flying in and eating off the buffet.

Room Number:
5137

Arrival:
July 1, 2011

Restaurants and Bars:
Same food everyday. Birds eating off buffet's

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool, very cloudy water, kids hanging out in the adult pool, pouring drinks in the pool, as the adults to. Locals overtaking the pool bar, and it was very loud, with loud music, and locals partying in the pool. Beach, was hit and miss. Sometimes clean, sometimes not. Advice, wear swim shoes, as there are insects that will bite your feet, ouch!! Some of the chairs are broken, and staff are not always ontop of cleaning up the glasses, or cups, or plates or what not left on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Defiantly leave the resort for fun activities whenever possible. The canopy trip is amazing, as the swimming with the dolphins, and the Rhythm of the night, is a must!!! People outside the resort are very friendly, and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never going back!"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Apr 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

Resort was nice. We found it very clean. Service was good. However. The food was HORRIBLE!!! We got sick our second day there and were sick the rest of the week. And I mean SICK!!! So were alot of other people that we talked to at the resort. The food all tasted the same from the grease/butter used to cook it. With the exception of the french fries, which were okay. We lived on bread and crackers. The best food we had on this trip was McDonalds in PV!!! Pretty sad!

Room Number:
6135

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We'll be back"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Jan 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
327 people found this review helpful

This was the forth RIU we've been to. This is the first one we are going back to. Excellent staff, good food , no lines anywhere, friendly locals on the weekend, typical RIU bed(hard.

Room Number:
4148

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Travelers Beware"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gina  on May 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
346 people found this review helpful

The hotel itself was decent enough, the customer service/management staff leaves alot to be desired......don't expect to be protected as a guest. I would strongly discourage staying at this hotel.

We had an incident in the hotel lobby when getting off the elevator one night and turning around a corner to have a large ceramic vase fall on one person in our group. While one member of our party reported the incident (and injury) to the closest front desk representative, the rest of our group went to the room. The hotel representative never checked on the injured person, nor came to the room to ask us what happened. Two days later the hotel customer service called us to say we now owed them $1,200 (american money) for the damage. This was not our fault, the vase was deteriorated (old and decayed - we have the pictures to prove it) and in a very inappropriate location. The vase fell on the person in our group with the slightest brush of her arm as she turned the corner. After the hotel agreeing (with several conversations with customer service) that this was 'accidental' and not the hotels fault and not our fault, they would do us a favor and reduce the charge to $500 (american money). Twice we asked to speak directly to the hotel management (administration), were told they would speak to us and then they didn't show at the appointment we made. We were told by customer service that the management 'was too busy with bigger and more important issues at the hotel' to talk with us. Upon check-out we were told that if we did not pay the charge, security would be called. Therefore, we ended up paying the charge under duress as we wanted to leave the country. The incident, and the response of the hotel customer service/management completely ruined our vacation. Beware travelers, this hotel will not protect the guest, and in fact blame you for their poor maintenance conditions!!!!!! Apparently it is hotel practice to add charges to your room and then threaten 'security' when you don't agree with them - as a guest in a foreign country, you have NO recourse!

Your Arrival:
This was our first time at an all-inclusive. We were only given a list of resturants upon check-in (which didn't indicate which were open or closed) and left to 'figure things out' for ourselves. It would have been nice to have a little more direction upon arrival.

Rooms:
When opening the door to our room, the mustly smell was overwhelming. Everything has a musty smell, right down to the towels. The mattresses have a plastic covering on them and are very hard.

Restaurants and Bars:
While the hotel promises five resturants, not all of them are open as listed on the hotel website (we wish we had been told this ahead of time, or at least upon arrival). The food was decent, but it was disappointing to not have the variety we expected. All but one resturant was buffet, and there is not enough variety to hold your interest for seven days.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel grounds are beautiful and the landscaping is well maintained. The hotel itself was clean and there was constant cleaning of the lobby/grounds.

Pools - The first two days the pools were clear/clean, and after that it went downhill!! By the day we left, the pool was so murky you couldn't see the bottom. The water smelled and it was disgusting!!! DISGUSTING!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Spa - One day we made appointments to have massages at the spa. The front desk seemed very disorganized. When we went in for the massages, again disorganizaion. We weren't really told where to go and what to do - we were finally left standing in the bathroom/locker room for about 7 minutes waiting for someone to get us. The massage itself was wonderful, the spa could use some organization. Not exactly the 'spa' experience you are hoping for - and the prices were not as reasonable as we anticipated.

Entertainment - Decent during the day (although they cater to the locals more than the tourists). The staff tried to get people involved in activities. The 'shows' at night were more like a high school lipsynced production than any kind of professional show. We tried to watch one and left shortly after it began. The audience interaction part of the show was ok, but every night was the same.

Other Comments:
The hotel offers discounts to locals, especially during the slow season and weekends. Several days during our stay this was very apparent. Be prepared for noisy children running in the hallways at all hours of the night. The hotel staff defintly caters to the locals more than the tourists. While it is understandable that the hotel would offer discounts to locals, they should treat ALL guests equally.

Staff:
The maids were good, although we had to ask several times for towels/washclothes as some days we didn't have the appropriate amts. The servers were both good and bad. Some were excellent and very attentive (especially the bartenders), and some were very slow. For example, the first two days we were there, we were served poolside by a waiter, the rest of the trip we never saw any waiters at the pool. At the buffet resturants, sometimes a server would bring you beverages, sometimes you had to get your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  lever  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
362 people found this review helpful

Arrival went very well with our Sunquest tour operator. Had our rooms ready as well as the special request.

Rooms:
Room very nice. WEalls looked moldy but upon closer inspection it was dust from the fan. Walls could have used a cleaning. Bed firm but comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
POOR: we choose this resort because of the 4 a la cartes. They only had 1 open per day and you had to line up at 8 in the morning to get a table reserved. The locals however managed to get reservations without lining up.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was gorgeous pool area was filthy. They never cleaned the pool or deck around the pool once the whole week we were there. The adult pool was a joke as the hotel allowed the locals and other guests to bring their kids in.

Other Comments:
Because the hotel was not busy they had made a promotion for locals to stay. Which would have been fine if they did not cater to them exclusively and ignore the other guests.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort offered weekend specials to locals"

RIU Jalisco
User Rating:  RIU Jalisco Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  XX from Toronto  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
373 people found this review helpful

This hotel is definately not a 5 star as the tour operator claimed.

Rooms:
Rooms were very nice. However there was dust on the walls from the fan which could be mistaken for mold

Restaurants and Bars:
Our biggest complaint was we choose this resort because they claim to have 4 a la carte restaurants. They resort only had one per day open and you had to line up before 8 AM in order to get a spot.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was gorgeous. Pool was durty. The deck surrounding the pools was not cleaned once during the whole week or the pool it's self. Bottom was dirty with glasses in the pool and all sorts of things.

Other Comments:
The resort offered weekend specials to locals on the weekends which is fine however the nornmal resort "rules" regarding dress code, children in the adult pool and general rudeness of the locals barging ahead in line at the buffet was very frustrating and left the weekly paying guests very upset. The hotel management never even tried to keep the locals in line. We heard from guests from other resorts in the area and they had similar complaints. I would advise anyone to avoid this area of Mexico.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube