RIU Lupita Resort Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > RIU Lupita Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

Gran Porto Real Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2011

Catalonia Royal Tulum

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 10, 2010

RIU Lupita Resort  

Manzana 20, Lote Hotelero No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Another fun trip to the Riu Lupita"
Posted by: Bryan  on Mar 3, 2013
see all reviews

RIU Lupita Resort Reviews
RIU Lupita Resort Pictures and Information
RIU Lupita Resort Mayan Riviera Mexico

#30
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.0

Based on 4 reviews

RIU Lupita Resort Information


In the heart of the Mexican jungle lies the Mayan Riviera, with some of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

RIU Lupita Resort Reviews

RIU Lupita Resort Review: 4.0 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
1 - 4 of 4

"WOULD RETURN IN A MINUTE!!"

RIU Lupita Resort
User Rating:  RIU Lupita Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Feb 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
317 people found this review helpful

We went Feb 1 - Feb 8 2010 from London Ontario and enjoyed our week very much.

Your Arrival:
Flight was delayed so arrived at 1145pm. Front desk asked if we wanted to eat before check in as the Snack Bar was closing at Midnight. Left our luggage with them and went and ate. They helped with our bags and to find our room which was appreciated.

Rooms:
The rooms are in 1, 2 and 3 floor walkup buildings well laid out throughout the property - an older complex but very well maintained. The room was very clean and well equipped with the exception of a clock. Bring a little travel clock. It had a well stocked bar and mini fridge - firm king bed and a great balcony overlooking the tropical grounds.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant's food was great, lots of variety and well prepared and presented. Always many choices. We tried the a la carte restaurant one night and would have preferred the main buffet. Other than your room bar, just one bar. We are not drinkers but had juices, pepsis, and no alcolhol creations. There was an ample supply of wine mealtimes as you wish.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is about 10-15 minutes away by shuttle which you can set your watch by. Shuttle will drop you off at the town, and Rius Yucatan, Tequila, and Playacar which you have full use of. The Lupita has 2 main pools, our room backed on the smaller round pool which was quieter and more relaxing. There was music, and activities at the main pool which was near the bar

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There's a show most nights or a band. Shows included dancers, choreographers etc. Have seen better but for a small hotel 300 rooms - not bad. Shows run 930 to about 11 pm. There all all kinds of activities off the resort. We did Xcaret which was great. Sunquest has a rep Isabelle on prem to 11 am daily - she can recommend, book and isn't 'selling'.

Other Comments:
In short its a great spot, the shuttle to and from town, beach, other Rius is super. FOOD GREAT! Guests are a real mix, European, US, some Canadians, lots & lots of Spanish - ages too are a mix. If you are looking for a partying younger crowd the Lupita wouldn't be among your top picks. There were a few families with young children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would go back again."

RIU Lupita Resort
User Rating:  RIU Lupita Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Feb 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
273 people found this review helpful

Clean, friendly, helpful. Very few staff spoke good English but there was always someone around that did. Main pool area noisy with the entertainment they provided but the 2nd pool further away was quiet. Bus running every half hour to take us to the beach and shopping area.

Mini bar in bedroom only stocked beer and soft drinks but anything more was available at the main bar. No coffee maker in room which would have been nice but not essential.

Our first trip to Mexico so don't have any other resorts to compare it to but would definitely recommend.

Arrival:
We had to wait for our room but were made aware ahead of time that that may happen so had brought shorts and bathing suit along.

Rooms:
Meticulously clean and spacious.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only one a-la-carte with Mexican food so we did not try it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean, clean,clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
golfing, para-sailing, tours, tennis, disco, volleyball, ping pong, snorkeling

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Yet another great visit to a Riu!"

RIU Lupita Resort
User Rating:  RIU Lupita Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on May 4, 2012  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
155 people found this review helpful

This trip was our first to the Mayan area of Mexico. We were able to book a 9 day package about 4 weeks before departure for a good price (and got the last seats available for the 9 day option). The Riu Lupita is off the beach but does offer a shuttle service that stops near 5th Ave to drop off people and then continues to the Lupitaís beach club (in all itís less than 15 mintues).

Flights
The flights are the only downside of the entire trip. Signature Vacations uses Sunwing Airlines and I have to say I wasnít impressed with the service. I wonít go into details as this is something that we canít pick and choose. They got us there and back safely and thatís what matters. Oh, and the Elite Premium package Ė well worth the cost!

Room Number:
1812

Room Block:
18

Arrival:
After the 50 minute bus ride we arrived at the resort. As there were only 5 of us on the bus checking in, it went really fast. We filled out a registration form, and were given our room key, safe key and towel cards. As we arrived close to 11PM the buffet was closed but the snack bar was open.

Rooms:
I had emailed ahead and asked for ground floor in building 18 or 19. We got rooms 1811 and 1812. Both were the same set-up, double beds, dresser, TV, safe, etc. The rooms were clean and ready to go. In addition to the Air Conditioner (which works well), the rooms also have a ceiling fan. Our fan had 2 settings, on or off.

Our housekeeping person was good. The room was clean every day and thatís what matters the most. The only thing was they would turn the AC off everyday so weíd have to turn it back on, but it didnít take long to cool things off again.

Our rooms had a patio that looked back towards the golf course. Very quiet and provided an excellent place to watch wildlife thatíd roam around out there.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
As with last years trip to Puerto Vallarta, the food here was delicious! The buffet is a bit smaller than some other Riuís but there never was an issue finding something good to eat. The staff were constantly refilling dishes at the buffet. A couple times we had to wait a minute for something but they were on top of things for sure.

Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We got reservations for the Mexican restaurant once (we could have booked again but were too lazy). You need to book it the day you want it. There were 2 seatings, 7PM and 9PM. The food at both the buffet and Mexican restaurant was delicious.

Snacks Ė The snack bar is open and stocked between meals and after supper till midnight. We had a few things from the snack bar and never had any issues.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves but we did see some men in tank tops. For the a-la cartes men are to wear pants.

Bars
There is one main bar and the Disco (at night) plus a mini version at the beach grill. By default they serve the cheap brands, just ask for Bacardi if you want the good rum. The beach grill offers wine, beer, pop, and the frozen drink mix Ė all of it self-serve. If you want liquor for the beach youíll have to fill a small water bottle or walk down to one of the other Riuís for it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach
We didnít spend much time on the beach. I went down for an afternoon and thought that it was great. It was the white sand, the water was clear and the breeze was refreshing. Loads of loungers around to make use of.

Pools
We made use of the main pool each day of our stay. The pool is a good size and while the towel game is in use, we normally never had an issue getting chairs at around 9AM so we didnít worry.

The resort also has an Adults-only pool next to the in front of the Disco plus a kids only pool in the Kids Club area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort offered live singers each night between supper and the evening show, they did a great job. We did see many of the shows and they were good. The Comedy show put on by the Entertainment crew was funny. We missed a few of the big shows as they werenít on the schedule for our visit.

Activities
The Animation team posted a schedule of activities going on throughout the day at the buffet. Between the 3 of us we took part in the water aerobics, dart tournaments, horse-shoes, bingo, bracelet making, ďCrazy GamesĒ and the Spanish lesson.

Trips
The resort has the shuttle that will drop you off near 5th Avenue, but we opted to taxi it ($7 USD each way). We spent one afternoon on 5th Ave doing some shopping and visiting one of the bars for a drink.

Other Comments:
General
Signature Vacations advertises this resort as a 4 Star resort. Iíd say itís about a 3.5 Star.

The gym is located down next to the Riu Yucatan so you either have a 30 minute walk to get there or have to take the shuttle and walk a bit from the drop off point.

Summary
We had a great time and would seriously consider going back if the price stays reasonable (which is really the only reason we havenít been to this part of Mexico before).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another fun trip to the Riu Lupita"

RIU Lupita Resort
User Rating:  RIU Lupita Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on Mar 3, 2013  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
107 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Riu Lupita from February 7 - 21, 2013. This trip was our second to the Riu Lupita. The Riu Lupita is off the beach but does offer a free shuttle service that stops near 5th Ave to drop off people and then continues to the Lupitaís beach club (in all itís less than 15 minutes). Since our last visit in April 2012 they have added a small pool down at the Beach Club as well as full bar service there. In exchange for these new services, access to the other Riu properties has been removed.

Flights
After a less than impressive trip with Sunwing last April I have to say that I was quite pleased with them this year. The crews on both flights were very friendly which is a change for charter airlines. Oh, and the Elite Premium package Ė well worth the cost!

Room Number:
1614

Room Block:
16

Arrival:
After the 50 minute shuttle ride, which was just our group, we arrived at the resort. As there were 8 of us checking in, it went really fast. We filled out a registration form, and were given our room key, safe key and towel cards.

Rooms:
I had emailed ahead and asked for ground floor in building 18. We were not able to get rooms in building 18, or even in the same building. Those of us staying for 2 weeks were in buildings 16 and 17. The rest were in 12 and 21. The rooms have the typical set-up, double beds, dresser, TV, safe, etc. The rooms were clean and ready to go. In addition to the Air Conditioner (which works well), the rooms also have a ceiling fan. Our fan had 2 settings, on or off.

Our housekeeping person was good. The room was clean every day and thatís what matters the most. For some reason they flipped the main power switch each day after cleaning, but luckily the AC wasnít tied to it so the room stayed cool.

Our rooms had a patio that looked back towards the golf course. Very quiet and provided an excellent place to watch wildlife thatíd roam around out there.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
As with last years trip, the food was delicious! The buffet is a bit smaller than some other Riuís but there never was an issue finding something good to eat. The staff were constantly refilling dishes at the buffet. A couple times we had to wait a minute for something but they were on top of things for sure.

Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We got reservations for the Mexican restaurant once (we could have booked again but were too lazy). You need to book it the day you want it. There were 2 seatings, 7PM and 9PM. The food at both the buffet and Mexican restaurant was delicious.

Snacks Ė The snack bar is open and stocked between meals and after supper till midnight. We had a few things from the snack bar and never had any issues.

Beach Club Ė We ate lunch a few days at the beach club. Not a big selection but good enough. The one thing that is a negative is that I found the food didnít stay hot, but I suspect itís due to the winds on the beach.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves but we did see some men in tank tops Ė for some reason no one was turning them away. For the a-la cartes men are to wear pants.

Bars
There is one main bar and the Disco (at night) plus one at the beach club. By default they serve the cheap brands, just ask for Bacardi if you want the good rum. The beach club has been expanded to include full bar service now.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach
We spent 4 days at the beach Ė it would have been more but day trips and self-inflicted injuries prevented us from doing so. It was the white sand, the water was clear and the breeze was refreshing. Loads of loungers around to make use of, though towards the end of the trip they were getting fuller.

Pools
We made use of the main pool each day of our stay. The pool is a good size and while the towel game is in use, we normally never had an issue getting chairs at around 9AM so we didnít worry.

The resort also has an Adults-only pool next to the in front of the Disco plus a kids only pool in the Kids Club area.

They have also added a pool on the beach for Lupita guests to use. Itís not big but it allows you to use both the beach and a pool at the same time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment
The resort offered live singers each night between supper and the evening show, they did a great job. We did see many of the shows and they were good. The Mayan show was the best by far Ė it started off slow but then it got quite interesting.

Activities
The Animation team posted a schedule of activities going on throughout the day outside of their control booth. Between us we took part in the dart tournaments, horse-shoes, bingo, bracelet making, and ďCrazy GamesĒ.

Trips
The resort has the shuttle that will drop you off near 5th Avenue Ė itís about a 5 minute walk from the drop off. If youíd rather taxi it, itís $7 USD each way. We spent a couple afternoons on 5th Ave doing some shopping and visiting one of the bars for a drink.

We also did a trip to Cozumel for an afternoon. The ferry was $13USD each way per person.

Other Comments:
General
Signature Vacations advertises this resort as a 4 Star resort. Iíd say itís about a 3.5 Star.

Summary
We had another great time. All the staff were friendly and those who spoke English would often stop and chat with us. As mentioned above, the Lupita guests no longer have exchange privileges with the other Riuís and in fact are not even able to walk through their properties Ė which is wierd.

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at bryanjbrown@rogers.com.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube