RIU Vallarta Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 18, 2010

Golden Crown Paradise Adults All Inclusive & SPA

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 14, 2014

RIU Vallarta  

Av de los Cocoteros s/n, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico

"very disappointed!!!"
Posted by: Helen  on Mar 16, 2012
see all reviews

RIU Vallarta Reviews
RIU Vallarta Pictures and Information
RIU Vallarta Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#6
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 4.7

Based on 3 reviews

RIU Vallarta Information


With a novel, modern interpretation of the RIU style, the Hotel Riu Vallarta offers a fresh, new contemporary art-deco style of architecture with avant-garde design, really distinguishing this exceptional resort, which will delight its guests with its legendary "All Inclusive" concept.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

RIU Vallarta Reviews

RIU Vallarta Review: 4.7 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 4 of 3

"very disappointed!!!"

RIU Vallarta
User Rating:  RIU Vallarta Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helen  on Mar 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
190 people found this review helpful

Me and 7 other of my friends went to Puerto Vallarta on Feb. 8th to the 15th, 2012 and were quite disappointed. Me and a friend were on the 8th floor and my other friends were on the 3rd floor, and for 2 nights straight, my friends on the 3rd floor were awakened at 3 am by extremely loud people, fighting, screaming and pounding on doors, vulgar language exchanged and therefore my friends were not able to sleep. Me and another friend were also awakened one night by a male knocking on our door at approx. 12:30 am yelling for the door to be opened, which turned to kicking the door and screaming and pounding, and the next thing we knew, housekeeping opened our door to let him in, this male was obviously drunk, but when he walked in he then knew he had the wrong room. It is very disturbing to think that housekeeping would let someone in a room without checking the front desk if that in fact was his room. He obviously left the room right away but my friend and I were quite frightened at this point. The doors can not be locked in a way where housekeeping couldn't come in at any time. We did receive a phone call from head of security appologizing but it still didn't comfort us. The next morning I went to the front desk and told them and they just said, yes we have it on record" and I asked them, housekeeping can let anyone in at any point without checking with the front desk first, and they just kinda blew me off. Not impressed at all!!!
Second, the bar just outside was closed all day until 6pm? What is that? I had also asked the bartender inside the lobby for 6 shooter drinks and he told me he couldn't make them because he was "busy". What the heck, this was supposed to be an all-inclusive establishment and he tells me he can't, whatever!!!
And thirdly, on the day that we were leaving, we had to get a taxi to take all 8 of us back to the airport along with all our luggage? Are you kidding me? We were supposed to have the bus that took us there in the first place, but a taxi? That is pathetic!! I've gone to a Riu before and absolutely loved it, but I definitely can't say that about this place. It was very dissapointing and will definitely not be returning here again and can't say that I would recommend this place. My friends all feel the same way!! We were all very disappointed, especially my one friend who had never been to a Riu before!!

Room Number:
8042

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great first trip to Mexico!"

RIU Vallarta
User Rating:  RIU Vallarta Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on Mar 17, 2011  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
308 people found this review helpful

This was the first trip for our group to the Riu Vallarta. We go to have fun and regardless of any little quirks we always do.

Flights
With the bankruptcy of Skyservice last year, Sunquest is using Thomas Cook Canada for its airline partner this year. Jazz airlines are operating the planes on behalf of Thomas Cook. I have to say that we had high hopes for the new airline and were nothing but disappointed by the service provided. No sense going into details as you don’t have a choice of what airline to use.

Room Number:
8009, 8010, 8011

Arrival:
After the 25 minute bus ride to the resort we arrived at the resort. We were given the registration forms on the bus and just had to hand them in to get our key upon arrival.
The keys to the safe are included with your package and were given out at the same time.

Rooms:
There were 2 double beds in our room and the others in the group had King size beds as they had requested. We had no problems with the water pressure or hot water supply.

Our housekeeping person was excellent. I had read about a lot of theft recently. We had absolutely no issue. I left tips on my pillow which they knew were for them. That said we didn’t leave electronics out – they were safely put away in the safe to be cautious.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
Delicious! I’m a fan of Mexican flavoured food to start with so I was in heaven. Fresh Salsa and Guacamole at every meal – awesome!

The biggest disappointment for me was the lunches only as the location of the lunch buffet is basically on the beach and the wind howls through there so your hot food tends to be cold by the time you get back to your seat. That is the only complaint I have about the food.

Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We managed to get reservations for the Steak House, Asian, and Fine Dining while we were there. To book the a-la cartes, you need to line up in the lobby between 8:00 and 10:00 either the day of or day prior to when you want to go. The Asian restaurant was the groups favourite of the three.

Snacks – There was never a time when we couldn’t find something to eat. Between the seemingly never ending buffets and the Sports Bar food was served 24 hours a day.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves to be admitted. We saw people turned away for having tank tops on. For the a-la cartes men must wear pants.

Bars
There are several bars to visit. There is the Pool bar, the Beach bar, Lobby Bar (at night), Theatre Bar, and the Swim Up bar. Each bar we went to made good drinks. By default they serve the cheap brands, but they have the name brands too – you just need to ask for it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was as clean as you can expect. You need to watch where you walk as smokers seemed to be just putting their butts out in the sand where ever they chose. Perhaps some ashtrays would help with this habit. We did see staff cleaning the beach at night though.

We spent only 1 day at the beach as the water was a bit rough and it wasn’t clear enough for any of us to comfortably go in to it.

Pools
We made use of the adult pool all but the 1 day. The pool is very large and as other reviews have mentioned, the towel game is in full force. One couple told us they came down at 3:30 in the morning to book the chairs. The hotel really needs to crack down on this aspect. If you don’t have your chair reserved by 7AM it’s almost impossible to do so at the Adult pool. There seemed to be open chairs at the family pool later in the morning.

The Adult pool also has the bar tenders coming around taking drink orders. Jesse was by far the most entertaining bar tender at the resort. He’s funny and would toss himself into the pool on occasion to make up for some gaff on his part. He sure made the pool entertaining as the real entertainment staff seemed to spend much of the day at the family pool.

The Family pool has waterslides for the kids and is basically the same layout as the adult pool but a bit smaller and doesn’t have the swim up bar.

We did see some kids in the Adult area with their parents who managed to stay under the radar of the Entertainment team. If the Entertainment guys see the kids, they ask them to head over to the family pool. Actually, the family pool tended to have loungers available even when the Adult pool was fully “booked”.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment
We made it to several shows. Having been to other Riu resorts they were about the same, if not exactly the same. Nothing too special, but it’s something to pass the time. They also had nightly live singers too. The first week they were up on top of the stage, and the second week they had them set up in the court yard and guests were inclined to dance.

Activities
The Animation team had activities going on throughout the day on the resort. I didn’t partake in any but I did see them hold water volleyball, aqua-fitness and water polo plus a few “Crazy Games” (i.e. Belly Flop contest) to name a few.

We taxied it into Puerto Vallarta twice and once to Bucerias. I enjoyed Puerto Vallarta more so as there was more to look around at and enjoy. Both are safe destinations for tourists. As we were a group that needed a larger vehicle to get there and back, it was $43 USD each way for Puerto Vallarta (a normal taxi was about $22 USD).

A few in the group did the whale watching trip, booked via Sunquest, and had a blast. Saw lots of whales and said the service was great while on the catamaran.

Other Comments:
We noticed an increased security presence after the first week. I think they were preparing for any spring breakers that may decide to be rowdy. Frankly I didn’t notice any influx of student age guests.

We did notice on weekend the hotel would sell rooms to the locals and unlike other reviewers I found them to be as polite and respectful as the rest of the guests.

Summary
Given the many negative reviews on some sites for this hotel recently I was a bit concerned but we encountered no problems that others apparently had. This was my first trip to a 5 star resort and while not a 5 star by North American standards, it’s pretty close. The service was great, the staff was friendly, and any problems we reported were addressed immediately. If it weren’t as expensive of a trip as it was, we’d happily return this resort next winter. If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at bryanjbrown@rogers.com.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous"

RIU Vallarta
User Rating:  RIU Vallarta Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  john  on Feb 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
294 people found this review helpful

Overall, one of the better hotels we have visited over the past 10 years. Riu can be relied upon to provide exceptional service.

Room Number:
8007

Arrival:
Everything was well organized. It took a short period of time to have our room ready upon our early arrival. We enjoyed a nice lunch over looking the beach and when we finished our room was available.

Rooms:
Yes, the beds are harder than perhaps what some people have at home; however, I felt it was still very comfortable and slept well. The mini bar was well stocked and replenished each day without asking. The room was very clean and and the hotel even called on our third day to ask if everything was as expected or if they could do anything to improve their service. Nice touch.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was fabulous (and I am a fussy eater - so I am told). On one evening they offered roast beef at the buffet that was as good as any prime rib ever purchased at home. The gourmet restaurant fills up early so book as soon as you can. Best meal ever had hands down. The bars were all well stocked. Only down side was no Coronna if that is your preference in beer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Fantastic beach for long walks. Afternoons are the easiest when the tide is out. Pools were nicely situated and always busy but plenty of chairs for everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment was typical and so/so; however, we went for the vacation and not the evening shows. If you want shows then go to Vegas or New York. You get what you pay for so I fail to understand why some people get caught up on entertainment. This area has plenty to offer.

Other Comments:
Flight home was delayed due to some lady getting on board drunk and when the plane was prepared to lift off she lost it. We had to taxi back for her to get medical attention and eventually removed to be taken to the hospital for alcohol poisoning. Then we had to wait while her luggage was removed and authorities filed appropriate reports. Unfortunately other passengers identified her as drunk prior to boarding and the airline failed to screen her.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"By far the best all inclusive hotel out of four stays in Mexico"

RIU Vallarta
User Rating:  RIU Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Douglas  on Jul 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
369 people found this review helpful

I arrived at this resort and found out my wallet had fallen out of my carry-on luggage on the aircraft. The desk manager Tony Braun was extremely helpful and spent a long time helping me locate it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and were cheerful and extremely hard working. The resort was spotless.

Your Arrival:
I checked in with no problem whatsoever, the majority of the clientèle of the resort were Mexican nationals, which is totally understandable at this time of the year. I was always treated with respect and courtesy, and made to feel welcome as a guest of the resort.

Rooms:
Someone made a comment about the beds being hard. Yes they are firm mattresses but reasonable to sleep on and not worn out like other resorts that I had stayed at. The room was fully stocked with a bar fridge with bottled water, beer and beverages as well as a liquor cabinet with dispensers for it. The cleaning staff were extremely hard working and never once overlooked anything in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants, were reasonable, the food was good, with a good selection of variety, although one may get tired of the sausages floating in grease, in general it was the best of the resorts I have stayed at. The specialty restaurants were from good to excellant, especially Sir Georges with really great food. The asian was westernized more than any oriental restaurant, but still featured good tasting food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were great, swim up bar was awesome thanks to Jesse, Tere (Happy Birthday) and of course Manual, the entertainer. The grounds around the resort and pool areas were kept pristine at all times, the only thing I noticed was one afternoon there was a huge mess on the beach, probably due to a lack of security guards ensuring people used the garbage containers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The catamarans, hobie cats were a great time to sail and if you used one it was a good workout with the wind and waves. I thoroughly enjoyed them thanks to Pancho's excellant service. It is too bad all were not servicable, as it would have been a lot more fun to have others to sail with.

Other Comments:
Out of all the resorts I have stayed at in Dominican & Mexico this one is the best one for the price charged and the service, food and general resort shape, activities and entertainment. I would definitely stay at this resort again, and would recommend it

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube