RIU Yucatan Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > RIU Yucatan reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Palladium Royal Suites Yucatan

5.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2011

Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 25, 2011

Azul Sensatori

4.9 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

4.5 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

RIU Yucatan  

Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 3, Lote 1, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"avoid if you value your health"
Posted by: neil on Sep 20, 2010
see all reviews

RIU Yucatan Reviews
RIU Yucatan Pictures and Information
RIU Yucatan Mayan Riviera Mexico

#64
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 1.0

Based on 1 reviews

RIU Yucatan Information


Enjoy a great vacation at the Hotel Riu Yucatan, a beachfront all inclusive Playa del Carmen resort, where personalized service is the norm.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

RIU Yucatan Reviews

RIU Yucatan Review: 1.0 of 5 1 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 1 of 1

"avoid if you value your health"

RIU Yucatan
User Rating:  RIU Yucatan Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  neil  on Sep 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
294 people found this review helpful

i travelled with my wife and 8 year old daughter to the riu yucatan, playacar last august having read many favourable reviews. unfortunately, these proved to be highly inaccurate. true, the beach side location is lovely, the gardens lush and full of interesting wild life and the entertainment 2nd to none, but within 3 days we were all seriously ill with stomach problems and ear & eye infections from the pools. i ended up in hospital and lost 1 stone in 5 days. many other guests were also falling ill. both the hotel management and our reps couldn't care less and refused to acknowledge the obvious problem with this hotel - which is the sewage seeping up between the margherita bar and the pools. the food is awful & the restaurants filthy. basically, this was the worsed holiday of our lives.

Arrival:
23rd august 2010

Rooms:
stayed in block 4 where most of the illnesses were occuring - room 4019. small, smelly, dark and depressing. too near the bars so sleeping for my 8 year old was difficult due to the noise being made on a night by the yobs

Restaurants and Bars:
dirty and infested with insects. food was terrible and plates and cups were unclean. we tried the food at the riu tequila one night and it was very nice, though exactly the same choice as the yucatan. bars were dirty and too busy and we were served a cocktail with two blended wasps in it

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach georgeous. grounds pleasant apart from the areas that smelled of sewage. pools disgusting

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
kids activities were great and evening entertainment fantastic. it was the only saving grace

Other Comments:
stay well clear of this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube