Grand Riviera Maya Princess Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Grand Riviera Maya Princess reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

Gran Porto Real Resort

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 16, 2014

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2013

Grand Riviera Maya Princess  

Punta Bete, Km. 296 carretera Chetumal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"interesting all inclusive stay/ bed bugs included"
Posted by: rudi on Mar 16, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Reviews
Grand Riviera Maya Princess Pictures and Information
Grand Riviera Maya Princess Mayan Riviera Mexico

#5
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.7

Based on 15 reviews

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Information


Soaking up the sun on the beach or by the pools at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is one of the best activities it offers.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Reviews

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 3.7 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  2
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 15

"interesting all inclusive stay/ bed bugs included"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  rudi  on Mar 16, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
43 people found this review helpful

We visited the Princess properties February 22, 2014 for a 7 day stay,we stayed at the Grand Yucatan all adults section. The grounds and cleanliness was impressive. The service was generally pretty good. The food at the buffett was alright but not impressive, however the Ala-cart was impressive. The nightly entertainment was impressive also.
We did however after we arrived found that we were to have a king size bed and ended up with two double beds, the rooms however appeared clean and comfortable. The first night we stayed i awoke to a few bug bites on my ankle and figured that during one of our excursions i got bitten and applied after bite. After the second night i awoke with a few more bites on my lower back and again that day we went on a quad tour and figured i just got bitten up. I awoke on the third morning and found approximately 75 bites on my lower left leg. After investigation online the bites appearance and orientation indicated it was bed bugs. We approached the concierge about the bed bugs in our room and he indicated that we must realize that the resort was located in the jungle and insects are common in Mexico, he also suggested i should use bug spray prior to going to bed. After some more conversation he indicated that they would fumigate the room and to inform him when we will be out off the room for about 3 hours. At this point i needed to walk away and went back to the room to inspect the beds. After some more thought i went back to the concierge and requested we change rooms immediately and he indicated that there is many more serious issues than this that require for people to change rooms and this might not be possible. The concierge for the Grand Yucatan is located in the bar and we were sitting there waiting , people were coming in and out booking excursions or what ever and it was until they seen my legs and my ankle swollen to approximately twice its size and me telling everyone about the bed bugs that he all off a sudden had another room available. I spent 3 out of my 7 day stay without being able to walk comfortable. After i arrived back in Canada i am still experiencing issues due to the toxicity of the bed bug bites and am still experiencing medical issues.
The property has approximately 1500 rooms and the odds of getting a room with bed bugs to this magnitude is perhaps a stroke of bad luck. the disturbing part was the attitude that was exibited in regards to the consequences of bed bugs and the resistance to accomodate.

Room Number:
31259

Room Block:
adult only

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome place"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Dec 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
264 people found this review helpful

Arrived Oct 22nd for a wedding that week. This place is breath taking. All the staff are so helpful, friendly and polite. Food was great. I recommend this to everyone. Can wait to go back.

Room Number:
1151

Arrival:
Oct 22 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to stay"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  chelsea  on Oct 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

Great resort. would recommend to anyone.

Room Number:
1277

Arrival:
Once we arrived we were warmly greeted with drinks. We had a group of 6 so there was 3 rooms. They made sure one of the rooms were avaible right away so we had somewhere to put our luggage while waiting for the other rooms to be ready.

Rooms:
We got a room with 2 double beds even though we requested a king size bed, we were able to push the two beds together without trouble. the rooms were great, we were able to smoke in them and there was a nice seating area outside on the balcony. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks, a seprate room for the shower and toilet.Not much time was spent in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
resturants and bars were great. the bartenders were not cheap with alchoal which lead us into not making it to dinner some nights. very friendly bartenders, although some a little too friendly to ladies. Food was great. something different every night at the buffet and the grill was excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the walk to the beach was far but well worth the walk, the grounds were kept in top condition and people were working everyday on the grounds. the party pool was the pool to be at if you were looking to meet new people. and the other pools were quiet if thats what you like more. the beach was breath taking. there were people on the beach with animals to take pictures with and the entertainers were great on getting people up for activities.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on the catamaran for an hour which was a lot of fun and free. the people in charge of the water activities on the beach weren't too nice. we went every day to take one out and they kept telling us that we werent able to because of the wind. when it was finally nice enough they had told us we needed to book it amd the second last day of our trip was the day we actually could take it out.
We also went to Xel-ha off the resort, it was all inclusive as well. the food wasn't that great but we were able to go zip lining and snorkling for free as well as other things. they also had swimming with dolphins and other things which cost money and was not cheap.

Other Comments:
deffiently would recommend this resort. had a great time and met great people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not a 5 star hotel"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Philip  on Nov 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
423 people found this review helpful

The resort is beautiful. The administration and management staff are out of touch with what is happening in the resort. The sofa in our room was filthy, we complained for 3 days finally on Wednesday they shampooed the sofa and put a blanket over it - could not be used for the entire trip. The security and night manager were overbearing and threatening.

The food in restaurants was good. The buffets quickly became very repetitive. They did not seem to get it right, when there was salsa there were no chips etc. the specialty resataurants were good especially the Argentine grill but a real pain standing in line to get reservations.

Arrival:
Good - met with a nice drink, doormen and front desk staff very efficient and helpful.

Rooms:
Repackaging of bathroom amenities such as sewing kits very poor for a "5 star hotel"
Sofa was filthy, could not plug in coffee maker account recepticle was behind heavy furniture.

Bathroom sink fixtures were broken and needed replacement.
Shower leaked out into room. Seal under door was broken.

Restaurants and Bars:
Poorly coordinated,
Sports Bar was filthy,
All facilities were understaffed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fabulous
Pools were so cold you could not swim in them.
Grounds were beautiful, the walk ways were so slippery when wet you had to shuffle around - saw numerous people fall - very dangerous - the resort had "slipeery when wet" signs out all the time so they had very little effect.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nothing for older teens to do.
Theater was well done - very similar to other resorts but fun
Scuba team was very very good. This was a group sanctioned by the resort but not part of the resort staff.

Other Comments:
The management was overbearing, and threatening to guests. They had no empathy to guest's concerns and communication to guests differed from employee to employee.

In our children's room, there was a kingsize bed and they offered a cot if we desired one. They could not get our rooms together, nor could they provide two queen size beds as requested and which we have received at other resorts. A lot of money for a cot!

During the intitial stage following the explosion, staff seemed very good and put on a strong and courageous "front" when dealing with guests. Although there was confusion and shock the staff kept everything in control during the intial phases of the emergency.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would NEVER recommend getting married at the GPR resort!"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jaime  on Nov 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
406 people found this review helpful

My review is too long to fit in here..so I will split it up into the different categories.

We wanted to make everyone aware of the poor customer service and wedding exhibited at the Grand Riviera Princessresort during our destination wedding (July 6, 2010) that resulted in 52 guests choosing to vacation at this hotel.
From the outset, there was a complete lack of information provided. Numerous emails were sent months in advance as we attempted to plan this extremely important event. We were seeking detailed information as to pricing and ‘the process’ by which weddings occur. At best, what we received in explanation was always minimal and never detailed enough to answer all of our questions. Ours was not the first wedding held at the resort and as a result, we believe that a complete package of information outlining the options and specific details should be readily available to all prospective bridal couples including the revised venue for inclement weather conditions. We continually felt that we had to pester and plead for every piece of information while giving ample opportunity for the wedding planners to communicate with us by providing phone numbers and other contact information in all our correspondence.
We were not told when our appointment with the wedding planner was and in fact had to seek out the wedding department as we had heard nothing a few days before our actual wedding. By us seeking out the information we were told we had a meeting with Sandra on Friday at 10:00 a.m. This was news to us as we had not been contacted previously. When we arrived for the 10:00 a.m. meeting, an office move was in progress and we were asked to come back the following day at 10:00 a.m. A note under our door in the absence of a proper inter-room telephone communication system would have been the polite way to handle this situation. Instead, we had to use our limited vacation time to arrange the details of our wedding that we had been trying to arrange for over 5 months rather than enjoying the amenities of the resort

Arrival:
The one piece of information that we were aware of was the start time of the wedding at 4:00 p.m. At our first meeting with Sandra at the resort, we were informed that the bride walked down the aisle at 4:00 pm. Given the lack of inter-resort communication, this important detail had already been communicated to all guests in the form of a written itinerary. No aid was offered by the wedding coordinator to ensure that all 52 guests were contacted and advised of the time change. Guests were not called to let them know of the changes of the wedding ceremony and reception locations due to the tropical rainstorm that occurred on the day of our wedding. We did that ourselves and at a time when we had other things to attend to. It was assumed that guests would call the concierge however when approached and asked for details, they had no knowledge of the location of the wedding or correct time.

Also during our first meeting with Sandra we had discovered that the Platinum suite we were staying in had strict guidelines to the guests allowed in the building. If you weren't Platinum, you weren't allowed in. We understood the reasoning, but no where was this information given until you arrived at the resort. This would have been nice to know as we would have stayed elsewhere in the resort. We discussed with Sandra that our room being so close to the original ceremony site we had planned for all preparation for myself and bridesmaids to take place in our room (5219) along with our photographer and hair stylist (all who were non Platinum guests). We were told that this would not be a problem and Sandra would take care of this detail and they would make an exception as it was for our wedding. This information was never relayed to anyone working in the Platinum lounge. And when the group of bridesmaids, hair stylist and photographer made their way to our room they were rudely stopped in their tracks and told that security would be called to have them removed.

Rooms:
Flowers form an integral part of any wedding ceremony including photos with various family members prior to the ceremony. In our case, we had our 2 grandmothers (aged 89 and 82 yrs) in attendance and would have appreciated the traditional picture of the pinning of their corsages. However, this was not feasible as the flowers arrived at the bride’s room late and 10 minutes before the bridal party was to leave on the golf cart (3:40 as opposed to 3:00 as it stated on the itinerary presented to us by Sandra). In addition, the flowers were of inferior quality, were falling apart and drooping. We questioned Sandra about the flowers and she immediately passed the blame to the bell boy or whoever delivered them. How they managed to appear in this condition is of
no consequence to us. They were ordered and paid for and should have been beautiful and available to us in a timely manner. Thankfully, a friend from Cozumel saved the day and showed up with the most magnificent bouquets and boutonnieres! I would highly recommend not using the resort flowers! They were awful and so ugly! The lack of communication we had experienced leading up to the wedding was continued throughout and was extremely frustrating.

We were always the ones calling and even those calls the afternoon of the wedding day when the alternate site plans were not clear were ignored by Sandra. Simple things went awry – the groom had to re-start the music with the correct song, the cue to start the processional was aborted causing a bridesmaid to stand by herself waiting anxiously for the rest of the wedding party and eventually returning herself to ‘do it again’ and the aisle was not wide enough for 2 when in fact there were 3 trying to navigate the space. Many of the issues could have been avoided had there been upfront and unhurried communication. After all, we paid thousands of dollars to have a spectacular Mexican wedding.

Restaurants and Bars:
With the advent of foul weather, we understood that we would be unable to have our wedding ceremony and reception on the beach. We had discussed the “Plan B” option with Sandra and that the substitute ceremony location would be a closed off area of the main lobby bar on the Riviera side. The area looked perfect based on the pictures shown to us. We agreed based upon those pictures and our assumption/understanding that the designated area would be private as this was the only option given to us. However when our photographer and assistant made their way to the ceremony area at 3:15 p.m., 30 minutes early to set up some lights, the area was full of a large group playing bingo. When the concierge was questioned as to where the wedding was happening, he pointed towards the bingo group and said the ceremony would happen at 5:00 pm where they're playing bingo. As previously stated, we had been told the bride was to be walking down the aisle at 4 and the groomsmen were supposed to be standing there waiting at 3:30. Our photographer had to convince the concierge that the bingo playing people had to be moved. When we questioned Sandra about the ceremony site, she simply stated that “You wouldn’t be here if you had your perfect day on the beach, we can’t control the weather”. We had long accepted the weather as an uncontrollable issue. However, we do blame the resort for making this unforeseen situation even more difficult by their lack of caring and again extremely poor customer service. It is clear to us that they are not set up to handle a ‘perfect wedding’ if the weather is bad.

We were not asked where we wanted to get married under the Plan B option. Instead we were blamed for having such a big group. Surely a resort of their size would have more suitable premises (Platinum Lounge, Piano Bar, a Hallway even!) for such an important and solemn event. Instead, the processional was along the lobby bar with patrons turned on their barstools watching me and my parents. There are very few photographs that show a beautiful Mexican backdrop for the ceremony. Most show vacationers sitting in the lobby bar and gawking at us - total strangers – and worse yet, taking our photos and videos.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had planned to have our ceremony completed by 4:30 p.m. allowing for 1.5 hours of photographs prior to the start of the banquet. As a result of the delays described above, we had 45

minutes to take these once in a life time photos. Regrettably, we

failed to get all the shots we had wanted (including the signature bride and groom portrait) as there was simply not enough time. This was through no fault of our own. We paid $3000 US to bring an amazing photographer to the resort and failed to utilize him to his full potential (he was a photographer not a wedding organizer). There was NO element of privacy and in fact we felt completely on display to all of these people we did not know. The post ceremony photographs were also compromised as the bar patrons were in the way and did not voluntarily move. It was very uncomfortable and definitely not what we had imagined our wedding would be like. Even on the beach, we would have had random people in the photos however they would at least have been distanced from us and not in our faces!

My mother also determined that we had been given the wrong name for the banquet hall (Hivaljo) and was finally given the correct information at 5:45 pm when the reception was to start at 6:00 pm. Despite all the hard work that the reception staff went through to make up for the disappointing ceremony the issues did not seem to stop. The reception halls were amazing with large vaulted ceilings and chandeliers. Unfortunately, adjacent to the chandeliers there were two dangling projectors 15 ft from the ceiling that made the room and all of our photographs appear tacky. A person’s eye is automatically drawn to the un-retracted projectors making the photos of this amazing banquet room unusable. The head table was about 6 ft too short for the 10 people in the wedding party (a detail that was made known ahead of time to the wedding planners.) We were shoulder to shoulder with barely enough room to eat. As well, the back drop was that of a fire extinguisher and exit signs – again not a fitting scene for our Mexican wedding! The buffet set up had a better back drop than the head table. The reception staff was very attentive to our needs however at times they were too attentive. The groom, when questioned how everything was going, simply stated “dinner was amazing however the ceremony was quite rocky.” The staff then proceeded to question the groom for details at a time when the groom’s only concern was to have fun and attempt to enjoy the rest of the evening. The DJ appeared to be slightly aggravated from the outset. He was standoffish when approached by the best man about a microphone for speeches and overall was not easily approachable. It seemed whenever someone asked him to play a song off of our playlist he didn’t seem very happy about it, it was like we were inconveniencing him. There were some major sound quality issues, severe enough to the point where people could not understand due to the halls acoustics.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In summary, we brought revenue of approximately $35,000 US (excluding airfare) to the resort and surrounding area, we paid $6,300 US for a beach wedding for which there was no acceptable Plan B alternative for inclement weather and we suffered much unnecessary tension and stress due to the resort’s lack of professionalism and all this on what should have been a relaxing start to our lifelong marriage.

All in all, we tried to give the resort and wedding planners a proper amount of time to apologize. We sent in all the information as they had asked for our comments and after many many emails from August until now, November 1st, 2010 - it was apparent that this resort does not care about their customers and all they see are dollar signs when people choose their resort for a wedding. They completely take advantage of tourists and charge you for every little detail for your wedding - and their product and service are not at all the quality you would expect with the expensive price you pay. All we wanted was an apology and all we received was empty promises of compensation and that they were "working on it." We finally heard from West Jet Vacations that the resort was not planning on doing anything for us.

West Jet is a wonderful company who actually care about their customers and felt horrible about our experience. They gave us a generous credit towards future travel and apologized countless times, even though it was not at all their fault! Thank you West Jet!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place was AMAZING"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie Veenbaas  on Jul 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
407 people found this review helpful

I again do not see why people need to cut this resort down. It was truly amazing, more than we expected!! we thought the food was awesome. and the service here is excellent.. remember people you ARE in mexico.. we had a beautiful room and we felt totally safe here. the beach was sooooo nice.. just loved the whole experience . have not been to cancun before but would go back anytime. actually looking at booking this winter again.
Its all in how you look at things.. we did not expect too much and had an amazing time..

Arrival:
excellent

Rooms:
wow most beautiful room we ever stayed in!!

Restaurants and Bars:
alot of choice but did not in at the a la carte ones..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEAUTIFUL!! clean, tropical

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not do any

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a wonderful time.... 2 aprils in a row..."

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  J  on Jul 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
383 people found this review helpful

Gee, lots of iffy reveiews but my family and I had a great time! The staff are great, Alvaro at the front desk was exceedingly helpful... I tipped everyone single greenbacks and everyone was delightful. no trouble. never robbed. My kids loved the self-serve soft ice cream at the pool bar and the restaurants were very good. Breakfast and lunch buffets were great too; plenty of fresh fruit to balance off all the ribs, chicken wings and fresh baguette. the "butter" is that whipped margarine mexican jazz but shut up and have another mimosa! April is end of the dry season and so it's not so freakin sticky hot, less bugs too... but yeah, the DDT cart goes by every evening...

Your Arrival:
ocean breeze made the lobby... the place is big enough to have that nice anonymity, but human enough to make check-in great... leave the bags and stroll to your room, no worries...

Rooms:
well, like any other it's a freakin hotel room... the filtered water is restocked every day... but, leave the litre bottles behind every morning, they are cleaned, refilled and resealed in you room.... beds are alright, real nice bathroom too... nobody anywhere seems to know how to work a tube of freakin silicone.. so don't worry about it...

Restaurants and Bars:
damn nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
damn nice... the gardeners never stop maintaining an almost other-worldy display of beautiful garden...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Playa del Carmen is the usual walkers' mall trap, but when in Rome....

Other Comments:
if you're a resort rookie... here's whatchado... every morning you get up early and hit the right-hand side pool bar for cappucino then get to the beach, claim a chair with your towel and a couple a rocks so it don't blow away... do whatever, but always get to the buffets early... get a freshly made egg breaky and linger, drinking by the pool begins at ten. Have the lovely Jacqueline fill up your overly large thermal mug with beer and get two tropical coconut and two mojitos, to start... maybe ask yer wife what she wants too! after that who cares... when you done hanging at the pool, head down to the ocean... actually, don't sweat it... you'll be fine... don't get married there though, that's cheezy...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most amazing place ever"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya  on Jul 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
360 people found this review helpful

Don't listen to any of the bad reviews people write. They have nothing better to do then complain about everything.

Honestly, this hotel resort, was the most amazing place to stay at. It is always super super clean, the staff work very hard all day keeping the place as clean as possible.

The rooms are beautiful. my room was always cleaned to perfection, i left money lying around, it was NEVER stolen and my safe in the hotel was never missing anything and no one ever came during my sleep to steal stuff so please don't believe anything this couple is saying about the hotel because these people that work here are the most amazing people you'll ever met in your life.

the staff is always smiling and greeting you everywhere you go, always willing to help and serve you. They have the biggest hearts i've ever seen in my life and they arre very hard working people. I recommened Gerando at the buffet. he was such a nice guy and served us with the best service you can get.

The food wasn't amazing, but it was good.

breakfest in the morning is very very goood!!!
never really ate lunch there, but im sure its good
and supper depends what you get, but i grantuee you its eatable not like in cuba!!!!

resturants.. miso is a waste of time, very satly
the best ones are grill and fondue!, very very good!!!!

im telling you youll fall in love with the staff and hotel and never wanna leave.

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and will be coming back for sure!!

Your Arrival:
VERY GOOD !
STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL , SMILED ALWAYS

Rooms:
VERY VERY CLEAN!!!
BEAUTIFUL ROOOMS, BEAUTIFUL VIEWS

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GROUNDS, YOU CAN LICK FOOD OFF THE GROUND FOR HOW CLEAN THEY ARE
BEACH, DIDNT REALLY STAY THERE, WAS MORE AT THE POOLS AND I LOVED IT
SUPER CLEAN AREA! FUN PLACE TO BE! ALL THE ACTION IS AROUND THE POOLS

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
AMAZING!!!!!
LOVED THE ACTIVITIES,
VERY FUNNY STUFF
KEEP YOU BUSY AND ENTERAINED
I REALLY ENJOYED IT

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it!"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on May 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

Read the reviews here..had to leave my own. Stayed in mid November 2009 and had a great time.

Your Arrival:
Arrived around 1:30, room was to be ready by 3. Not a problem, went to the bar had a drink and then went for lunch. Went back at 3, received 2 key cards and check in information. Luggage arrived shortly after we arrived at room.

Rooms:
Room was nice, king size bed. We were on bottom floor, used the balcony every day after beach/pool to have a drink and watch the sun set. Very private. Beautiful bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good. Loved the nachos and homemade salsa. The Grill ala carte was awful but the Italian was wonderful. Never had a problem getting coffee at the buffet. Staff was super friendly. Felt bad in the morning because I always forgot to bring cash, but on the last day there, tipped the girls who served us every morning.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were beautiful, clean, well kept. Had a few bug bites but nothing to complain about. Never had a problem finding a place to lie around the pool(s).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never left the resort, been to Mexico a few times before and was just happy to stay at the resort.

Other Comments:
Would go back but would love to have one of the swim out rooms on the Princess side as that is where the sun is all day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay here and you'll need a vacation from this vacation"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  natalia  on May 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
371 people found this review helpful

Gorgeous resort....definately not 5 star service! WE HAD $200 STOLEN FROM OUR SAFE. OUR FRIENDS, ANOTHER COUPLE HAD $400 STOLEN FROM THEIR SAFE. KEEP YOUR MONEY ON YOU, DO NOT LEAVE IT IN THE SAFE. YOU RUN MORE OF A RISK OF BEING ROBBED AT THIS HOTEL, THAN BEING ROBBED DOWNTOWN. There was a mature couple staying a few doors down from us, after returning from the front desk to complain about the money stolen from our safe, my fiance and his bestfriend over heard this couple screaming, livid because THEY WERE ROBBED IN THEIR SLEEP! You don't get much service unless you're a big tipper.....EVERYONE AND THEIR MOTHER EXPECT A TIP. While I'm not against it....I unfortunately cannot afford to tip every single person who attends to me.....just those who have gone over and beyond their job requirements to make me comfortable. When you spend $1300 on a trip you would think tips would be included LOL! THE PHONE SERVICE IS A RIP OFF, DO NOT EVER DIAL A NUMBER, EVEN LOCALLY, FROM YOUR ROOM. My fiance tried calling a local number. He called it 5 times in a row. It rang with no message. The only reason we found out that the number was disconected, was when my fiance decided to call the operator of the hotel who informed him it was disconnected. THESE CALLS COSTED AN OUTRAGEOUS $140 US!!!!!! In Canda when you call a disconnected number, whether it is from a hotel or any other land line, it only rings once and tells you right away that its disconnected and to hang up. The Sunset Princess hotel allows the phone to keep ringing......and it costs to let it ring. After arguing with them for more than an hour and being threatened to have the cops called, they finally agreed to dial the number. The lovely gentleman at the front said there was a message.....the message said (and I quote), " Oh, the message said that the phone was just turned off". LMAO we're not even that advanced in Canada to have a message tell us that a phone was just turned off. You have to be very weary of who is coming into your room. There were a few instances when people knock at your door to "clean" but don"t show up with cleaning supplies.

There were some good times, the vacation wasn't all that bad. IF WE EVER GO BACK TO PLAYA, WE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT ANY ALL INCLUSIVE RESORTS. Its more worth your while to stay at a beautiful beachfront condo, where you're at the center of restaurants, shopping and nightlife. The price ends up being the same, if not cheaper, and people treat you better.

Your Arrival:
They attended us well while checking in.......not the case during the rest of the stay.

Rooms:
Very nice, DO NOT GET THE VILLAS. Because they have lagoons behind them, it attracts bugs. My friends were eaten alive! This is no joke. It was very painful, they were bitten so bad our friends ended up down grading. I stayed in a room with a double bed, it was gorgeous and clean, maybe 2 random spiders, tiny ones, no biggie.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate the buffet for breakfast and lunch. THE A LA CARTE RESTARAUNTS WERE VERY DISAPPOINTING. Miso was the only one we tried....out of a table of 6 only 2 found the meal satisfactory. IF YOU LOVE SALT, EAT HERE. Not to mention these A LA CARTE RESTAURANTS HAVE A RATHER INCONVENIENT DRESSCODE. My fiance was turned down from the a la carte restaraunt the first night for wearing shorts. Not jean shorts or board shorts, gorgeous, long, dressy designer shorts, with a nice short sleeve, button down dress shirt and dress shoes!!!!!! Staying at a 5 star resort we thought it would be ok wear shorts, dress shorts....especially considering its about 34 degrees at night!!! Under no circumstances are you allowed shorts, no matter how dressy, long or expensive......but they did let many gentlemen in, wearing faded, old jeans, with dirty sneakers and holes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube