Grand Riviera Maya Princess Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Grand Riviera Maya Princess reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

Gran Porto Real Resort

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 16, 2014

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Grand Riviera Maya Princess  

Punta Bete, Km. 296 carretera Chetumal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"interesting all inclusive stay/ bed bugs included"
Posted by: rudi on Mar 16, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Reviews
Grand Riviera Maya Princess Pictures and Information
Grand Riviera Maya Princess Mayan Riviera Mexico

#5
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.7

Based on 15 reviews

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Information


Soaking up the sun on the beach or by the pools at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is one of the best activities it offers.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Reviews

Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 3.7 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  2
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 15

"Loved it!"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on May 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
351 people found this review helpful

Read the reviews here..had to leave my own. Stayed in mid November 2009 and had a great time.

Your Arrival:
Arrived around 1:30, room was to be ready by 3. Not a problem, went to the bar had a drink and then went for lunch. Went back at 3, received 2 key cards and check in information. Luggage arrived shortly after we arrived at room.

Rooms:
Room was nice, king size bed. We were on bottom floor, used the balcony every day after beach/pool to have a drink and watch the sun set. Very private. Beautiful bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good. Loved the nachos and homemade salsa. The Grill ala carte was awful but the Italian was wonderful. Never had a problem getting coffee at the buffet. Staff was super friendly. Felt bad in the morning because I always forgot to bring cash, but on the last day there, tipped the girls who served us every morning.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were beautiful, clean, well kept. Had a few bug bites but nothing to complain about. Never had a problem finding a place to lie around the pool(s).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never left the resort, been to Mexico a few times before and was just happy to stay at the resort.

Other Comments:
Would go back but would love to have one of the swim out rooms on the Princess side as that is where the sun is all day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rooms very clean shower good nice balcony"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty Anne from Wasaga Beach Ontario  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

Just got back from the princess and loved it

Rooms:
Rooms very clean shower good nice balcony that face a garden view but just steps to a quiet pool that we used all the time. Mini bar well stocked every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets very good lots of selection did the Mexican and Italian both were very good also if you could'nt find anything to eat then you would be very fussy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Small beach but was good, pools were very clean we spent most of the time at the quiet pool outside our room. The grounds are immaculate very well maintained. lots of walking but a good thing after a big meal as you eat more there than you would at home

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to playa del carmen of course did 5th ave it was good for gifts and bars we took in all the nightly entertainment and it was pretty good

Other Comments:
All the negative comments on reviews did not cause us to have a horrible time as we had a great time and would go back yes the resort is big and there is a lot of walking but that is good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a good place to visit unless you are in good shape"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Beverly from Calgary  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With friend
190 people found this review helpful

Arrival was OK except for the fact that the two of us, only casual friends travelling together, were only given 1 room key when we asked for two. The check in staff flatly refused, said impossible. We did get a secound the next day after insisting.

Rooms::
Beautiful, could use a soap dish at the sink though. Our TV never worked, We called and called, they came and came, finally replaced the TV but then the remote didn't work, We gave up!

Restaurants and Bars::
Not enough seating in the bars, Had to stand around a lot. Staff in the buffet were OK if they noticed you at all. Just try to get coffee at any meal but breakfast!!!Bring it in from the outdoor caraff and it gets taken away!!! Not one of the many restaurants offered coffee after breakfast, too stupid for words! It was a major chore to make reservations in the A la Carte places and to tell the truth not worth the effort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach not groomed, rocky dips dangerous on the bottom of the feet, beach was small and crouded. Unless you like non stop noise stay away from the party pool. Lots of children this trip spalashing in the others. No easy access to pools, not great for the weak or elderly. Grounds were lovely and well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
The only activities were geared to the younger set, and there were lots of them. All drinking way too much and making fools of them selves. It was hard to find times and places of thing like archery etc, very ridged times, not user friendly at all. Went to XelHa, Tulum, Xcaret, Cozumel. The food at XelHa was the best for the entire two weeks. We had a guide at Tulum who was very good, Xcaret the show was amasing but the grounds very confusing, kept getting lost and nosh one was at all helpful. Trips were worth the charges, amasing places. Shopping was not good anywhere.

Other Comments::
Not a good place to visit unless you are in good shape. Long walk to beach, and over that smelly swamp. Take water shoes if you want to go in the ocean, Your own travel mug if you need to smuggle coffee into the buffet. Gratuties are included but if you want any service at all be prepared to tip often, and bring lots of small bills because it is impossible to get change.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OMG This Place Is Amazing"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Jan 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
217 people found this review helpful

.

Your Arrival:
Upon our arrival we were greeted with champane and it was so easy to get checked in. The staff were amazing. We didn't have to worry about our bags the bell boys brought them to us within minutes of arriving in our room.

Rooms:
Our room was absolutely amazing. We were on the top floor (room 5211) overlooking the ocean. Our room was huge, with two jacuzzi tubs in it. One was on our balcony which was so much fun sitting in first thing in the morning watching the sun rise.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were good. As like in any all inclusive the food gets a bit boring on the 7th day, but the ala cart restaurants were really great. Try the seafood one, the fondue one and the mexican one. They were my favorites.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools and grounds were absolutes outstanding. OMG they are beautiful. The beach was great, but did have some rocks on the bottom, but nothing really bad. I am totally not a water person and even I was in ocean bobbing around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always lots to do if you wanted to do stuff. My husband and I really didn't do much of the activities except he played water polo one afternoon. We mostly sat at the beach. The activity people are really friendly and are great.

Other Comments:
I would totally recommend this resort. It is absolutely a 5+ star resort. We enjoyed it so much that we are going back next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is fantastic, the food, and service are five star "

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paulettechristopher  on Jan 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
189 people found this review helpful

The arrival to the resort was stunning, massive, clean and just beautiful. The gardens, pools, numerous resturants, shops, and the well maintained gardens. This resort is 5 star, for service, food, and apperance. The only downfall was the beach, it had a lot of stones as you walked in. But if that is the only issue, everything else overlook.

Your Arrival:
The arrival was with Skyquest service, the tranfers, flights, and welcoming went very smooth.

Rooms:
The room was huge, it had a king size bed, jaccuzi, balcony with swim up pool just off of our steps. It was clean everyday, and bar frig filled.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were many resturant open at all times. I am not a person who eats buffets. There buffets had so much to choose, and the taste of food was great. On the other hand the la Carte were 5 to 6 stars. We made reservations the day before, we had 6 differn la carte dinner on a 7 day vacation. The service was fantastic, and the food was top notch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools and grounds were clean and beautiful. The beach had small rocks as you entered, and had lots of sand in the water by the shore. Other than that, it was blue water, white sand.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this resort. We had a great christmas vacation, and it was worth every penny. We will go back again and recommen it to others.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"nice hotel over rated"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Apr 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
342 people found this review helpful

back 4 days and still iching from fly bites over a 100 of them they were by the door of our room by the hundreds and when the door was open they came in. we flew with sunquest and canjet or can'tjet as I call it because they are never ontime. we had a 2hr delay departing because the plane hadn't arrived do to mechanical problems and 6-1/2hr on departure for the same reason I wouldn't mind but our flight was to leave at 9am and instead of keeping us at the resort for the delay the had us stay at the airport for the extra 6-1/2 hrs knowing that a plane had to come from Canada.they gave us a $15.00 slip that only could be used to buy chips and pop.

Your Arrival:
the arrival was good no problem the staff speak good english and are very helpfull

Rooms:
rooms were very nice and clean we had a swim up room close to the beach but a long way from the lobby 3/4 of a mile after 6pm thats where you had to go to get a drinks or food they had shuttles but always full and they stopped running a 11pm

Restaurants and Bars:
food was ok but no better than any other place I have been not a five star
they had a 24hr bar and food place but could only get ham and cheese after 11pm

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was very nice white sand you could walk for miles lots of huts and lawn chairs but no arm chairs anywhere not even by the pools you could get drinks there but had to go up by the pool to use the bathroom or get something to eat the pools and grounds were sery nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
same as any other resort

Other Comments:
poor layout
(1) needs arm chairs
(2) needs availibilty to get food and drinks closer to the rooms after 6pm
(3) needs washrooms on the beach
(4) needs more shuttles for transportation to and from the lobby

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a wonderful time.... 2 aprils in a row..."

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  J  on Jul 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
388 people found this review helpful

Gee, lots of iffy reveiews but my family and I had a great time! The staff are great, Alvaro at the front desk was exceedingly helpful... I tipped everyone single greenbacks and everyone was delightful. no trouble. never robbed. My kids loved the self-serve soft ice cream at the pool bar and the restaurants were very good. Breakfast and lunch buffets were great too; plenty of fresh fruit to balance off all the ribs, chicken wings and fresh baguette. the "butter" is that whipped margarine mexican jazz but shut up and have another mimosa! April is end of the dry season and so it's not so freakin sticky hot, less bugs too... but yeah, the DDT cart goes by every evening...

Your Arrival:
ocean breeze made the lobby... the place is big enough to have that nice anonymity, but human enough to make check-in great... leave the bags and stroll to your room, no worries...

Rooms:
well, like any other it's a freakin hotel room... the filtered water is restocked every day... but, leave the litre bottles behind every morning, they are cleaned, refilled and resealed in you room.... beds are alright, real nice bathroom too... nobody anywhere seems to know how to work a tube of freakin silicone.. so don't worry about it...

Restaurants and Bars:
damn nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
damn nice... the gardeners never stop maintaining an almost other-worldy display of beautiful garden...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Playa del Carmen is the usual walkers' mall trap, but when in Rome....

Other Comments:
if you're a resort rookie... here's whatchado... every morning you get up early and hit the right-hand side pool bar for cappucino then get to the beach, claim a chair with your towel and a couple a rocks so it don't blow away... do whatever, but always get to the buffets early... get a freshly made egg breaky and linger, drinking by the pool begins at ten. Have the lovely Jacqueline fill up your overly large thermal mug with beer and get two tropical coconut and two mojitos, to start... maybe ask yer wife what she wants too! after that who cares... when you done hanging at the pool, head down to the ocean... actually, don't sweat it... you'll be fine... don't get married there though, that's cheezy...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay here and you'll need a vacation from this vacation"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  natalia  on May 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
375 people found this review helpful

Gorgeous resort....definately not 5 star service! WE HAD $200 STOLEN FROM OUR SAFE. OUR FRIENDS, ANOTHER COUPLE HAD $400 STOLEN FROM THEIR SAFE. KEEP YOUR MONEY ON YOU, DO NOT LEAVE IT IN THE SAFE. YOU RUN MORE OF A RISK OF BEING ROBBED AT THIS HOTEL, THAN BEING ROBBED DOWNTOWN. There was a mature couple staying a few doors down from us, after returning from the front desk to complain about the money stolen from our safe, my fiance and his bestfriend over heard this couple screaming, livid because THEY WERE ROBBED IN THEIR SLEEP! You don't get much service unless you're a big tipper.....EVERYONE AND THEIR MOTHER EXPECT A TIP. While I'm not against it....I unfortunately cannot afford to tip every single person who attends to me.....just those who have gone over and beyond their job requirements to make me comfortable. When you spend $1300 on a trip you would think tips would be included LOL! THE PHONE SERVICE IS A RIP OFF, DO NOT EVER DIAL A NUMBER, EVEN LOCALLY, FROM YOUR ROOM. My fiance tried calling a local number. He called it 5 times in a row. It rang with no message. The only reason we found out that the number was disconected, was when my fiance decided to call the operator of the hotel who informed him it was disconnected. THESE CALLS COSTED AN OUTRAGEOUS $140 US!!!!!! In Canda when you call a disconnected number, whether it is from a hotel or any other land line, it only rings once and tells you right away that its disconnected and to hang up. The Sunset Princess hotel allows the phone to keep ringing......and it costs to let it ring. After arguing with them for more than an hour and being threatened to have the cops called, they finally agreed to dial the number. The lovely gentleman at the front said there was a message.....the message said (and I quote), " Oh, the message said that the phone was just turned off". LMAO we're not even that advanced in Canada to have a message tell us that a phone was just turned off. You have to be very weary of who is coming into your room. There were a few instances when people knock at your door to "clean" but don"t show up with cleaning supplies.

There were some good times, the vacation wasn't all that bad. IF WE EVER GO BACK TO PLAYA, WE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT ANY ALL INCLUSIVE RESORTS. Its more worth your while to stay at a beautiful beachfront condo, where you're at the center of restaurants, shopping and nightlife. The price ends up being the same, if not cheaper, and people treat you better.

Your Arrival:
They attended us well while checking in.......not the case during the rest of the stay.

Rooms:
Very nice, DO NOT GET THE VILLAS. Because they have lagoons behind them, it attracts bugs. My friends were eaten alive! This is no joke. It was very painful, they were bitten so bad our friends ended up down grading. I stayed in a room with a double bed, it was gorgeous and clean, maybe 2 random spiders, tiny ones, no biggie.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate the buffet for breakfast and lunch. THE A LA CARTE RESTARAUNTS WERE VERY DISAPPOINTING. Miso was the only one we tried....out of a table of 6 only 2 found the meal satisfactory. IF YOU LOVE SALT, EAT HERE. Not to mention these A LA CARTE RESTAURANTS HAVE A RATHER INCONVENIENT DRESSCODE. My fiance was turned down from the a la carte restaraunt the first night for wearing shorts. Not jean shorts or board shorts, gorgeous, long, dressy designer shorts, with a nice short sleeve, button down dress shirt and dress shoes!!!!!! Staying at a 5 star resort we thought it would be ok wear shorts, dress shorts....especially considering its about 34 degrees at night!!! Under no circumstances are you allowed shorts, no matter how dressy, long or expensive......but they did let many gentlemen in, wearing faded, old jeans, with dirty sneakers and holes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would NEVER recommend getting married at the GPR resort!"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jaime  on Nov 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
412 people found this review helpful

My review is too long to fit in here..so I will split it up into the different categories.

We wanted to make everyone aware of the poor customer service and wedding exhibited at the Grand Riviera Princessresort during our destination wedding (July 6, 2010) that resulted in 52 guests choosing to vacation at this hotel.
From the outset, there was a complete lack of information provided. Numerous emails were sent months in advance as we attempted to plan this extremely important event. We were seeking detailed information as to pricing and ‘the process’ by which weddings occur. At best, what we received in explanation was always minimal and never detailed enough to answer all of our questions. Ours was not the first wedding held at the resort and as a result, we believe that a complete package of information outlining the options and specific details should be readily available to all prospective bridal couples including the revised venue for inclement weather conditions. We continually felt that we had to pester and plead for every piece of information while giving ample opportunity for the wedding planners to communicate with us by providing phone numbers and other contact information in all our correspondence.
We were not told when our appointment with the wedding planner was and in fact had to seek out the wedding department as we had heard nothing a few days before our actual wedding. By us seeking out the information we were told we had a meeting with Sandra on Friday at 10:00 a.m. This was news to us as we had not been contacted previously. When we arrived for the 10:00 a.m. meeting, an office move was in progress and we were asked to come back the following day at 10:00 a.m. A note under our door in the absence of a proper inter-room telephone communication system would have been the polite way to handle this situation. Instead, we had to use our limited vacation time to arrange the details of our wedding that we had been trying to arrange for over 5 months rather than enjoying the amenities of the resort

Arrival:
The one piece of information that we were aware of was the start time of the wedding at 4:00 p.m. At our first meeting with Sandra at the resort, we were informed that the bride walked down the aisle at 4:00 pm. Given the lack of inter-resort communication, this important detail had already been communicated to all guests in the form of a written itinerary. No aid was offered by the wedding coordinator to ensure that all 52 guests were contacted and advised of the time change. Guests were not called to let them know of the changes of the wedding ceremony and reception locations due to the tropical rainstorm that occurred on the day of our wedding. We did that ourselves and at a time when we had other things to attend to. It was assumed that guests would call the concierge however when approached and asked for details, they had no knowledge of the location of the wedding or correct time.

Also during our first meeting with Sandra we had discovered that the Platinum suite we were staying in had strict guidelines to the guests allowed in the building. If you weren't Platinum, you weren't allowed in. We understood the reasoning, but no where was this information given until you arrived at the resort. This would have been nice to know as we would have stayed elsewhere in the resort. We discussed with Sandra that our room being so close to the original ceremony site we had planned for all preparation for myself and bridesmaids to take place in our room (5219) along with our photographer and hair stylist (all who were non Platinum guests). We were told that this would not be a problem and Sandra would take care of this detail and they would make an exception as it was for our wedding. This information was never relayed to anyone working in the Platinum lounge. And when the group of bridesmaids, hair stylist and photographer made their way to our room they were rudely stopped in their tracks and told that security would be called to have them removed.

Rooms:
Flowers form an integral part of any wedding ceremony including photos with various family members prior to the ceremony. In our case, we had our 2 grandmothers (aged 89 and 82 yrs) in attendance and would have appreciated the traditional picture of the pinning of their corsages. However, this was not feasible as the flowers arrived at the bride’s room late and 10 minutes before the bridal party was to leave on the golf cart (3:40 as opposed to 3:00 as it stated on the itinerary presented to us by Sandra). In addition, the flowers were of inferior quality, were falling apart and drooping. We questioned Sandra about the flowers and she immediately passed the blame to the bell boy or whoever delivered them. How they managed to appear in this condition is of
no consequence to us. They were ordered and paid for and should have been beautiful and available to us in a timely manner. Thankfully, a friend from Cozumel saved the day and showed up with the most magnificent bouquets and boutonnieres! I would highly recommend not using the resort flowers! They were awful and so ugly! The lack of communication we had experienced leading up to the wedding was continued throughout and was extremely frustrating.

We were always the ones calling and even those calls the afternoon of the wedding day when the alternate site plans were not clear were ignored by Sandra. Simple things went awry – the groom had to re-start the music with the correct song, the cue to start the processional was aborted causing a bridesmaid to stand by herself waiting anxiously for the rest of the wedding party and eventually returning herself to ‘do it again’ and the aisle was not wide enough for 2 when in fact there were 3 trying to navigate the space. Many of the issues could have been avoided had there been upfront and unhurried communication. After all, we paid thousands of dollars to have a spectacular Mexican wedding.

Restaurants and Bars:
With the advent of foul weather, we understood that we would be unable to have our wedding ceremony and reception on the beach. We had discussed the “Plan B” option with Sandra and that the substitute ceremony location would be a closed off area of the main lobby bar on the Riviera side. The area looked perfect based on the pictures shown to us. We agreed based upon those pictures and our assumption/understanding that the designated area would be private as this was the only option given to us. However when our photographer and assistant made their way to the ceremony area at 3:15 p.m., 30 minutes early to set up some lights, the area was full of a large group playing bingo. When the concierge was questioned as to where the wedding was happening, he pointed towards the bingo group and said the ceremony would happen at 5:00 pm where they're playing bingo. As previously stated, we had been told the bride was to be walking down the aisle at 4 and the groomsmen were supposed to be standing there waiting at 3:30. Our photographer had to convince the concierge that the bingo playing people had to be moved. When we questioned Sandra about the ceremony site, she simply stated that “You wouldn’t be here if you had your perfect day on the beach, we can’t control the weather”. We had long accepted the weather as an uncontrollable issue. However, we do blame the resort for making this unforeseen situation even more difficult by their lack of caring and again extremely poor customer service. It is clear to us that they are not set up to handle a ‘perfect wedding’ if the weather is bad.

We were not asked where we wanted to get married under the Plan B option. Instead we were blamed for having such a big group. Surely a resort of their size would have more suitable premises (Platinum Lounge, Piano Bar, a Hallway even!) for such an important and solemn event. Instead, the processional was along the lobby bar with patrons turned on their barstools watching me and my parents. There are very few photographs that show a beautiful Mexican backdrop for the ceremony. Most show vacationers sitting in the lobby bar and gawking at us - total strangers – and worse yet, taking our photos and videos.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had planned to have our ceremony completed by 4:30 p.m. allowing for 1.5 hours of photographs prior to the start of the banquet. As a result of the delays described above, we had 45

minutes to take these once in a life time photos. Regrettably, we

failed to get all the shots we had wanted (including the signature bride and groom portrait) as there was simply not enough time. This was through no fault of our own. We paid $3000 US to bring an amazing photographer to the resort and failed to utilize him to his full potential (he was a photographer not a wedding organizer). There was NO element of privacy and in fact we felt completely on display to all of these people we did not know. The post ceremony photographs were also compromised as the bar patrons were in the way and did not voluntarily move. It was very uncomfortable and definitely not what we had imagined our wedding would be like. Even on the beach, we would have had random people in the photos however they would at least have been distanced from us and not in our faces!

My mother also determined that we had been given the wrong name for the banquet hall (Hivaljo) and was finally given the correct information at 5:45 pm when the reception was to start at 6:00 pm. Despite all the hard work that the reception staff went through to make up for the disappointing ceremony the issues did not seem to stop. The reception halls were amazing with large vaulted ceilings and chandeliers. Unfortunately, adjacent to the chandeliers there were two dangling projectors 15 ft from the ceiling that made the room and all of our photographs appear tacky. A person’s eye is automatically drawn to the un-retracted projectors making the photos of this amazing banquet room unusable. The head table was about 6 ft too short for the 10 people in the wedding party (a detail that was made known ahead of time to the wedding planners.) We were shoulder to shoulder with barely enough room to eat. As well, the back drop was that of a fire extinguisher and exit signs – again not a fitting scene for our Mexican wedding! The buffet set up had a better back drop than the head table. The reception staff was very attentive to our needs however at times they were too attentive. The groom, when questioned how everything was going, simply stated “dinner was amazing however the ceremony was quite rocky.” The staff then proceeded to question the groom for details at a time when the groom’s only concern was to have fun and attempt to enjoy the rest of the evening. The DJ appeared to be slightly aggravated from the outset. He was standoffish when approached by the best man about a microphone for speeches and overall was not easily approachable. It seemed whenever someone asked him to play a song off of our playlist he didn’t seem very happy about it, it was like we were inconveniencing him. There were some major sound quality issues, severe enough to the point where people could not understand due to the halls acoustics.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In summary, we brought revenue of approximately $35,000 US (excluding airfare) to the resort and surrounding area, we paid $6,300 US for a beach wedding for which there was no acceptable Plan B alternative for inclement weather and we suffered much unnecessary tension and stress due to the resort’s lack of professionalism and all this on what should have been a relaxing start to our lifelong marriage.

All in all, we tried to give the resort and wedding planners a proper amount of time to apologize. We sent in all the information as they had asked for our comments and after many many emails from August until now, November 1st, 2010 - it was apparent that this resort does not care about their customers and all they see are dollar signs when people choose their resort for a wedding. They completely take advantage of tourists and charge you for every little detail for your wedding - and their product and service are not at all the quality you would expect with the expensive price you pay. All we wanted was an apology and all we received was empty promises of compensation and that they were "working on it." We finally heard from West Jet Vacations that the resort was not planning on doing anything for us.

West Jet is a wonderful company who actually care about their customers and felt horrible about our experience. They gave us a generous credit towards future travel and apologized countless times, even though it was not at all their fault! Thank you West Jet!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most amazing place ever"

Grand Riviera Maya Princess
User Rating:  Grand Riviera Maya Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya  on Jul 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
364 people found this review helpful

Don't listen to any of the bad reviews people write. They have nothing better to do then complain about everything.

Honestly, this hotel resort, was the most amazing place to stay at. It is always super super clean, the staff work very hard all day keeping the place as clean as possible.

The rooms are beautiful. my room was always cleaned to perfection, i left money lying around, it was NEVER stolen and my safe in the hotel was never missing anything and no one ever came during my sleep to steal stuff so please don't believe anything this couple is saying about the hotel because these people that work here are the most amazing people you'll ever met in your life.

the staff is always smiling and greeting you everywhere you go, always willing to help and serve you. They have the biggest hearts i've ever seen in my life and they arre very hard working people. I recommened Gerando at the buffet. he was such a nice guy and served us with the best service you can get.

The food wasn't amazing, but it was good.

breakfest in the morning is very very goood!!!
never really ate lunch there, but im sure its good
and supper depends what you get, but i grantuee you its eatable not like in cuba!!!!

resturants.. miso is a waste of time, very satly
the best ones are grill and fondue!, very very good!!!!

im telling you youll fall in love with the staff and hotel and never wanna leave.

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and will be coming back for sure!!

Your Arrival:
VERY GOOD !
STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL , SMILED ALWAYS

Rooms:
VERY VERY CLEAN!!!
BEAUTIFUL ROOOMS, BEAUTIFUL VIEWS

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GROUNDS, YOU CAN LICK FOOD OFF THE GROUND FOR HOW CLEAN THEY ARE
BEACH, DIDNT REALLY STAY THERE, WAS MORE AT THE POOLS AND I LOVED IT
SUPER CLEAN AREA! FUN PLACE TO BE! ALL THE ACTION IS AROUND THE POOLS

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
AMAZING!!!!!
LOVED THE ACTIVITIES,
VERY FUNNY STUFF
KEEP YOU BUSY AND ENTERAINED
I REALLY ENJOYED IT

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube