The Royal Playa Del Carmen Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > The Royal Playa Del Carmen reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

The Royal Playa Del Carmen  

Constituyentes Avenue #2 | (formerly Royal Porto Real Resort), Playa del Carmen 77780, Mexico

"Fantastic/Unbeatable experience"
Posted by: Carolyn and Craig  on Jan 27, 2011
see all reviews

The Royal Playa Del Carmen Reviews
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Pictures and Information
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mayan Riviera Mexico

#35
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.7

Based on 3 reviews

The Royal Playa Del Carmen Information


New redesigned and redefined THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen has risen on the foundation of The Royal Porto Real, one of the most successful resorts on the Riviera Maya. Like its sister property

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

The Royal Playa Del Carmen Reviews

The Royal Playa Del Carmen Review: 4.7 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"Fantastic/Unbeatable experience"

The Royal Playa Del Carmen
User Rating:  The Royal Playa Del Carmen Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carolyn and Craig  on Jan 27, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
335 people found this review helpful

My wife and I are in our 50's and we travel extensively in the Caribbean, for comparison purposes we have travelled to Almond and Divi Barbados, Club St Lucia St Lucia, La Cabana Aruba, Breezes Curacao, Beaches Turks and Caicos and Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Royal Bahamian.
The overall experience at the Royal Playa Del Carmen was simply fantastic and unbeatable. This resort is better than Sandals. The grounds are well maintained,the pools are quite good and the beach is very nice, you can walk for miles to the left of the resort and to the right a 40 minute walk down the beach takes you to the ferry to Cozumel. A 5 minute walk out the front entrance takes you to the shopping/dining of 5 the avenue. The loaction of this resort is truly remarkable. A sister resort the Gran Porto is across the street and although not as spectacular as the Royal is nice and you can access all the facilities there. Most of the guests were from either Canada or the US. Many people questioned us about going to Mexico based on the recent
attacks and although a consideration if you behave normally we believe you are safe here as any major Canadian or US city. They have good security at all the entrances to the hotel and even walking down 5th Ave at night we felt safe.

Room Number:
348 ocean view

Arrival:
We arrived at the Cancun airport around 530 pm after a direct flight with Air Canada from Ottawa. Having a direct flight from Ottawa to anywhere is not a given and this was heaven. Mexican Customs and Immigration was efficient and we were through the lines in about 30 minutes. The Royal Playa Del Carmen is about an hour bus ride from Cancun and we were taken by Best Day. The van was clean and well maintained and the driver was professional. All excellent.
Check in at the hotel was efficient and well organized. The Royal has a "on line" check in service 48 hours before arrival so you can see the different rooms and get your room number before arriving.The on line service was not available 48 hours before so we just the resort with the 1 800 number and did our room selection over the phone. This was all done easily and handled very well. Check in was a breeze and they meet you with a friendly smile and welcome drink.

Rooms:
The rooms were quite simply the best we have ever stayed in, spectacular! Our room on the third floor was an ocean view overlooking the larger pool.The suites are entirely as advertised, nice furnishings, king size bed, in room jacuzzi, large bathroom, well stocked bar with snacks alcohol, beer,pop and water. The in room Bose system was great and you can sign out a loaded IPOD from the front desk. The balconies were larger in this section of the hotel and had a hammock as well. Originally we considered booking in the quiet section over by the El Mediterraneo Restaurant but now we have stayed there we are glad we didnt, although quieter it is a little bit out of the way and more importantly we didnt think the rooms were as nice and the pool was largely shaded. We might ask for a room on the north side next time as they get more sun later in the day. We would also consider an upgrade to an ocean front room as they were even more spectacular.

Restaurants and Bars:
There 7 a la carte restaurants and 5 bars plus the Royal coffee house. The sister resort across the street had an Italian and Mexican restaurant.The food and service were exceptional, dining is important to us and really the Royal exceeded our expectations. Our personal favourite was Maria Marie, the Mexican French fusion restaurant. Our server Mateo was outstanding. We also loved Pelicanos, Caribbean fusion and Tapas Pintxos Spanish tapas. We had exceptionanl service from Pancho at Pelicanos. We also preferred having breakfast at Pelicanos because the food was great, it was quieter and it was oustide with a good view of the beach. We had a nice dinner at the Mexican restaurant across the street at the Gran Porto. Domingo provided excellent service and if you like spanish/irish coffees ask him for a Mayan coffee.It tastes great and he puts on quite a show while preparing it tableside.
Our favourite bar was El Mediteraneo. We would go there in the late afternoon and my wife would have a coffee at the Royal coffee house and I would have a scotch or excellent martini depending on the time of day. Single malt scotch would have been a nice altenative to the blended scotch they had. Reyes who is there 6 days a week from 3 - 11 pm was the best bartender at the resort and he played wonderful music and you really need to ask for the " Reyes special drink" Its a wonderful shooter!
We thought the Chefs plate was overrated and although fine was not as good as some of the other restaurants we tried.
Jose managed the restaurants at Pelicanos and Maria Marie at different times and he was very attentive and professional.
The tradewinds beach and swim up bar was great and the drink service offered by the girls who provided drinks while sunning was exceptional, particularly Elizabeth who was very friendly, prompt and courteous.
As I mentioned before they served an excellent martini and also had Remy Martin and Courvosier. I tried a Mexican anis/honey liquer called Xtabentun that they heated and also was excellent.
Finally,the Tequileria and Cigar bar was quite nice in the evenings

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice in front of the resort and you could walk down the beach in either direction for quite a long way. We did not detect the sulphur smell mentioned by others.The pools were quite nice, there was a quiet pool that was mostly shaded, a large activities pool and an Olympic size infiniti pool with 50 meter lap lane
The grounds were well maintained and very pretty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Guest services and the tour desk offered many different tours and excursions.
We did the full day Chichen Itza tour offered by Best Day for $99. This trip although long is spectacular and our tout guide Migule Canto was amazing! I actually thought he was a history professor! During this tour you get to swim in a cenote, an underground river which is quite the experience, have a tradtional Mexican lunch with entertainment, stop at a Mayan handicraft store which offers spectacular jewellery and silver workmanship at unbeatable prices, visit a colonial Mayan town called Valladolid and of course the highlight of the day the Mayan city of Chichen Itza. Really a day not to be missed!
The resort is a short 5 minute walk from 5the Avenue and the sights and shopping along this street is nnot to be missed and because of the laoction you can go back more than once.

Other Comments:
Didier one of the front desk staff was extemely helpful, patient and professional and if you need anything, anything at all ask for him.
This resort is amazing and we would highly recommned it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous hotel, but be careful!"

The Royal Playa Del Carmen
User Rating:  The Royal Playa Del Carmen Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  john  on Apr 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
340 people found this review helpful

Truly one of the most beautiful hotels staffed by the best employees I have ever encountered. the only complaint is we get roped into a timeshare presentation under slightly false assumptions. The salesmen are extremely aggressive and I actually signed up for what I thought was a good deal. when I got home, I researched "Club Real Timeshares" and started to read the horror stories. I immediately sent in a cancellation notice. the contract indicates you have 5 days for a full refund. I am not getting any response from them at this point.

Enjoy the hotel, but DO NOT ATTEND THE TIMESHARE MEETING!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A top notch all inclusive that shouldn't be missed"

The Royal Playa Del Carmen
User Rating:  The Royal Playa Del Carmen Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  crumpdeb  on Apr 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
343 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We flew from Hamilton on Westjet. It was a great flight and the airport was really busy since it was March break. It was so much better than we remembered. A new terminal in Cancun and very organized and modern. It took a while but we were expertly delivered to our hotel by Best Day. Since we booked our hotel on our own we arranged private transportation. This group is the way to go. They have people everywhere and they are very helpful. It was a great ride and quick. The hotel can arrange this for you.

Rooms:
The room was spectacular. Flat screen tv, BOSE speakers, Ipod doc, everything they advertise. The oceanview was lovely and we were right about the pool. We took advantage of the online check-in system and chose our suite in advance. We got the room we requested and an anniversary cake and champagne as well. A very nice touch. The bell boys are very helpful and we were able to check-in with the concierge. It was quick and very easy.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were so impressed by the system of not needing reservations for the A La Carte restaurants. It made it so much more convenient. No waiting in line on you first day to book your restaurants. You could pick them as you wanted and if they were busy you sat at the bar and they came and got you when your table was ready. We hardly waited anywhere at all. We went to the Chef's Plate which was the only place you needed to reserve. Your concierge can do that for you. They have a set menu on certain nights and you get to pick the night you prefer. What a special experience. A six course mean served expertly. Outstanding.
The El Mediterraneo in the new section is a nice change for breakfast. It's quieter than the main buffet (Spice does have delicious food too) and you get more attentive service because it is smaller. It's great for dinner too. Pelicanos for breakfast provides that outdoor feeling. It's awesome. They will make whatever you like. Pelicanos for dinner is great too. You get to eat outdoors under the stars. Such a nice change from our Canadian cold. The Tapas restaurant for lunch was my favourite and can that bartender ever make a dandy cosmo. Very addictive! Look up Matthias in the lobby bar and ask for a Chocolatini, it's a work of art.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is so soft and white. You can walk all the way to the ferry dock one way and then go the other direction and keep going and going.......wow. so fabulous. My favourite thing to do.
There are seadoos available to rent and that was a blast. We were able to get a great perspective on our location. There are kayaks available too.
The beach butler Alexis has a cart with novels, magazines and suntan lotion that you can use. He also makes sure that everybody has their desired location. The beach waitresses and very efficient and quick. They work so hard on those hot days. Sure appreciated it.
There was always something going on in the pool area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Being right in Playa Del Carmen was really nice. We could walk out the front door, go one block and be in the thick of it. It's absolutely gorgeous at night and very safe. You can walk forever. Lots of stores and restaurants and small hotels. Quite an experience. Make sure you try the Mayan Hot Chocolate at Ah Cacao. To die for. Loved it! Take the time to explore and you won't be sorry. You meet the most wonderful people there.

Other Comments:
I had the best vacation I have had in a very long time. We were pampered and truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was absolutley top notch. They bent over backwards to make sure that you had a good vacation. Highly recommend this place. It is a gem!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube