The Royal Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > The Royal Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 8, 2010

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2010

Sun Palace

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2011

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

The Royal Cancun  

Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Don't Listen To Anyone Else"
Posted by: jonathan on Jan 29, 2013
see all reviews

The Royal Cancun Reviews
The Royal Cancun Pictures and Information
The Royal Cancun Cancun Mexico

#10
of 53 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.3

Based on 10 reviews

The Royal Cancun Information


Real Resorts, with its rich legacy of personalized service and hospitality, proudly presents THE ROYAL in Cancun, the latest addition to its “Royal” brand of luxury resort hotels with the only ocean view spa in Cancun.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

The Royal Cancun Reviews

The Royal Cancun Review: 4.3 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 10

"Don't Listen To Anyone Else"

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jonathan  on Jan 29, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
89 people found this review helpful

So, let me list the many things wrong with this place and why I will never go back. I have been to Cancun 4 times and by far this is the worst resort I have been too. Wifi never worked, Maid service didn't come one day, Turn down service didn't show up, Coffee Maker didn't work, Steam Shower didn't work, Didn't have hot water in the shower, Ants all in the bedroom, Super glued water faucet, Pool tables are broken, Ping Pong table is broken, the walls in the room are super thin, not to mention the room was just gross and they tried to scam me into wasting almost two hours to listen to them try to sell me time shares. I complained for days and not ONE single attempt to make ammends. I complained to the head concierge (Carlos). He did nothing....I finally screamed at the hotel manager who on my last night offered me a different room which I didn't take. It was more of hassle to move at that point. NO service, no willingness to take care of the customer or try to make things better. The food was terrible, the entertainment is pathetic and the hotel is falling apart. I went to Secrets Maroma the year before. It was 100% better. Trust me don't go here.

Room Number:
117

Rooms:
Dirty with Ants

Restaurants and Bars:
Food terrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I have to say this part wasn't that bad

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If you like Bingo with only two people bored enough to do it then you will love this place

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"18-year-old loud, rude, obnoxious, college kids"

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Visitor_RoyalCancun  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
217 people found this review helpful

Do not be fooled by "adults only". 18-year-old loud, rude, obnoxious, college kids are considered "adults". We paid extra for a corner-suite, ($5,000 USD for 10 days. Yes 10. Not 4 or 7 like most guests) only to discover it was the room from hell. We had college kids above us and in the connecting room next to us who kept us up all night with their loud TV, shrieking, smoking, partying. We found broken glasses and cigarette butts on our balcony every morning. Also, the scrEEEching of the chairs being dragged over the tile floors at 3 am in the room above was the last straw. We were so sleep deprived, we both got seriously ill. Even so, the concierge refused to move us to a quieter room (the hotel was 70% full). This is inexcusable. Guests who pay $5,000 for an extended stay are treated like this? The hotel has so much going for it, the service, the restaurants, the spa. But when it is completely ruined by college kids, why bother? No excuse. Add that the beach is virtually washed away too. My advice, if you have to go to the Cancun area, stay at the Aventura Spa Palace, where it is quieter. There is no beach at all, but the food is better, the service is incredible, and Mature adults tend to stay there…as opposed to rude, loud,obnoxious college “adults”. Better yet,forget Mexico. We have been to the Dominican Republic 4 times. Loved it. Astounding beaches, great hotels, service, food…everything, and still undiscovered by the college crowd.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Abit pricey, but their rooms are definitely upscale."

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Dkurt_Versailles  on Sep 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2007 | Leisure | With Group
220 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from a vacation with friends to The Royal Cancun. We had read great reviews about this property and this was our first visit.

Check in was a bit disappointing, as they were overbooked. They put us in the presidential suite, located in their sister property, the Caribe Real next door. It was a very nice room.

Overall the property is just beautiful. Spotless and very well maintained, although it is new. The staff did a very nice job and were friendly and helpful. The pool was super, with lots of room and plenty to do...or not to do. The food was good. I found most of the beef selections to be very tender.

This is an all-adult property. Their are no children, but they do have restrictions against topless sunbathing. There was one or two ladies who did, but the management did not seem to mind.

We would recommend this property. It is a bit pricey, but their rooms are definitely upscale and it offers a bit more luxury.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great value."

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Michael_Fayetteville  on Feb 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
248 people found this review helpful

After twenty trips to Jamaica ( Negril – Super Clubs and Sandals), my wife and I decided to try Mexico. We were happily surprised by how much better both the destination (Cancun) and our hotel as compared with Jamaica. While Negril is getting old and tired and run down – while the prices continue to climb, Cancun offers new, luxurious adult only all inclusives at great prices – a great value (7 nights for a jr. suite, ocean front with Royal service < $4,000 including air and transfers.)

My wife and I stayed at The Royal in Cancun. Here are some details:

The Hotel Property:
The property was new and fabulous. The use of space, the décor was tasteful but fun and gorgeous. The approach to the hotel was short but the execution of the entrance was nice. The initial impression made by the registration lobby was luxurious – great marble, large fresh flower bouquets. The great room, bar were nicely integrated to the pool area which was accented by a very nice waterfall and metal statuary of mariachis

Check-in:
Online This was great. I got up at 5:00a.m. the day before leaving and was able to pick our room. I was able to get a top floor room in the center of the hotel – it was perfect. Upon arrival, all the paperwork was done and all we had to do was get our key from the top floor concierge.

Rooms:
Large and well laid out. The bed was great the shower was good but the water temp fluxuated. The TV and Bose music ( with i-pod was good) The in-room Jacuzzi was large and the jets were substantial.

The sliding windows were ceiling to floor which allowed great light and view. The balcony -- was large and from the top floor the view was great.

Staff:
Royal service which includes not only room 24hr room service – which included a much more extensive menu than most hotels let a lone all-inclusives also had a personal “assistant” who was helpful throughout the week for a variety of helpful services – phone calls getting info etc.

Food:
Unlike other all inclusives- The Royal had great food in all of its restaurants. For example, if you wanted to go off the included menu you could get a 3 lb lobster tail for only $25)

Pool:
The pool was really great. Instead of simply a big Olympic lap pool, the pool was a free form area that meandered the length of the hotel. What made it especially interesting is that it had different levels, nooks and crannies as well as jets placed all through out. This means that you can sit on the edge and dangle your feet in the water, recline in a chaise in the shallow water, lie in the shallow water, sit on ledge in the water or actual get in and be up to your next or swim. The warmer water Jacuzzi pools adjacent to the larger pool had good jets and were not too hot on sun burned skin.

Beach:
Not good. The beach was destroyed by hurricane Wilma. The sand that is there is industrial grade with a lot of broken shells –ouch! What can you do . It will come back and when it does the waves are great to play in.

Poolside Services:
Swim up bar, poolside waiters, plus a cart that goes by with cool towels, dry towels, sun block – excellent.

Cabanas are good to get out the sun without leaving the pool area but they require at least a corner suit category to get. I haven’t decided if the double lounge cushions and the cabana is worth the $2,200 upgrade costs.

The Gym:
4 up to date treadmills , 2 recumbent bikes, 5 elliptical and weight machines and free weights If you get there before 8:00 no waiting.

The Spa:
My wife liked the spa – I’m not a spa guy.

The Surroundings:
Located in Hotel zone The Royal is in the middle of the action. Its close to the airport as well as it is the Punta, a hot spot of the area.

I don’t know the rating of the hotel – from my experience I’ll bet AAA will give it 4 diamonds when it is rated.

I mean this as a compliment. I find 5 diamond ratings too shi shi and off putting. My favorite hotels are 4 diamonds!

Complaints:
Well – nothing’s perfect although this is close. The only real complaint I had ( aside from the beach) is not limited to The Royal or even Real properties but is found in all resort properties, namely the big push for time share plans. These efforts are way too aggressive and require stubborn almost incivility to avoid. We were warned in advance by folks we ate dinner with on our first night and didn’t go to the 4 hour presentation. As a result everyone one of the hotel staff I ran into the next day scolded us for not going to the “VIP” breakfast and pestered us to go the next day. I didn’t and at times had to be blunt ( don’t push your luck – please don’t spoil my positive impression of your hotel with your high pressure sales pitch ) Several staff wouldn’t let it go and said that if I didn’t go they could be fired. ( or perhaps one of their children would be killed.) I’ve taken this problem up with Go Go tours and plan to indicate my decision to declinie this “opportunity with my next booking.

I urge consumers who are not interested in the investment must be aggressive in opposing the promotional intrusion into their vacation. Other properties are much lest pushy. In May my wife and I agreed to Marriott pitch at the Champs Elysee in Paris. There promotion was direct and honest. They said it would last 60 – 90 minutes – it lasted about 80. We got Reward points and learned how the programs worked. In Cancun they promise it lasts only 90 min but folks have reported it last up to four hours.

Apart from trying to mix business with pleasure ( which I just don’t do) the experience was great.

Suggestions:
Ask for what you want. If you don’t like the bus tours – remember there are other options. It is very easy and relatively modestly priced to get a private driver/guide – we did this to Chichen Itza. Also renting a car is fun – we did it for three days and bopped around to see other hotels as well as to go down to Playa del Carmen.

Get a ride in the air and see the beauty of the Hotel Zone, it is breath taking. Helicopters are close by and easy to charter for great views and photo ops.

Conclusion:
Outstanding hotel and experience !!! We’ll be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My wife and I were very pleased with the property and staff."

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Stan_RoyalCancun  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

We have just returned two days ago after a week at the Royal. My wife and I were very pleased with the property and staff. The rooms are very nice. They have by far the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in! And the multi headed shower was just great as well. All rooms have an ocean view or are ocean front with balcony. The food is far better than most 4 star resorts, and the liquor selection is top notch. They have an excellent gym/workout facility, and a gorgeous spa. There are six specialty restaurants on premises, with only one buffet. If you are into seafood, you will be in heaven. Almost every restaurant had at least one seafood entrée. 24 hour room service is included.

There is a dress code for dinner for all of the restaurants except one. (Long pants, no sandals, and shirts with a collar.)

The only negative that I have found is the lack of sand on the beach. The last storm washed away most of it, but they are attempting to remedy that situation. All in all, a very clean, modern, up-scale, adult resort. I would definitely go back again. You will love the way they pamper you!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I actually feel I have been spoiled."

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda_RoyalCancun  on Feb 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
250 people found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 nights at The Royal Cancun. Before we left it was hard to find a lot of reviews for this hotel so I wanted to write one. Don’t hesitate to drop me a line if you have any questions: malibu_40@yahoo.com

I thought I would focus on 2 things. Really neat stuff I have never seen at any resort before this one. (and we have travelled quite a bit in the Carribean) and Other stuff of interest

Neat Stuff I have never seen before:
- Cabana beds, many of them around the pool and by the ocean. Get up early if you want to reserve a favorite bed
- Lounge chairs also available if you prefer those instead of cabana beds
- Loved the fact that towels were already on a lounge chair each morning…..no need to stand in line at a towel hut
- A la carte restaurants that you did not have to pre-book, go as many times as you want to whatever ones you want
- Beach and pool waiter/waitresses. Even if we were sitting down at the ocean we were waited on and quick service
- Great coffee bar. Regular coffees, Spanish coffees, etc. Espresso. And the best ice cream, chocolate fountain and desserts
- The spa. You don’t have to buy services from the spa to use parts of the spa. Go in, use the Jacuzzi’s, take a shower and use the whole facility.
- Especially if you have to be out of your room on the last day and have a late flight – great place to go and shower!! Really neat juice bar inside the spa too (healthy juices)
- Elegant rooms with in-room Jacuzzis, candles, double showers, flat screen TV. A room that I felt very comfortable in from the minute I walked in & felt very safe in as well
- A Mini bar with 4 bottles of liquor included
- A 24 hour snack bar lounge which included cold and hot food at any time of day/night. Also liquor, pop, bottled water etc. The lounge also had TV’s, ping pong and pool table
- A beachtler. A guy that pushes around a cart that included all types of sun tan lotion you can use. Cold (icy cold) hand towels to cool off. A spray bottle – he will spray you down with cold water. He walks around the pool area all day at your service

Other Things:
- We had the cheapest room level out of 7 different types and it was awesome
- The pool is split between left side being noisier with activities and the right side being on the quiet side
- By 3:00 pm the pool area is starting to shade if you want more sun, go outside the spa where there are 3 hot tubs (a cold, warm and hot tub) really neat
- We found that we could keep our balcony door open all the time – to hear the sound of the waves…even at night while sleeping
- Our room was so sound-proof; we heard no noises from other room
- The lobby bar had entertainment from 700pm-9:00pm each night. It stopped at 9:00 because then the “shows” started in the theatre
- We did not attend any theatre shows as we were too tired but heard they were great
- Wal-Mart. Yes we took the city bus to the Wal-Mart, about a 15-20 minute drive depending on traffic.
- No kids - all adult
- Internet room is on the 2nd floor. It’s cheap!!
- $1.00 for 10 minutes
- Halls, lobby, elevator, restaurants, everything is so clean

Conclusion:
Would I return? In a minute….I actually feel I have been spoiled now and it will be hard to travel to another 5 star that does not have these qualities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Truly a beautiful but if you are looking for a beach Cancun in general is not the place to go."

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy_TheRoyal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Royal for our second time March 08. We were there last year just as it had opened, It is truly a beautiful resort.

Check-in:We did the on-line check-in which was great. Just needed to pick up our keys when we arrived.

Rooms:Beautiful…..lots of space. Jacuzzi in the room. Many channels on the TV. Well stocked bar.

We had a fruit basket and bottle of wine upon arrival.

Pools:Large. Very Clean. Lots of chairs. Poolside service is exceptional……sunscreens, books, magazines, cool cloths.

Food:Very good. Maria Maria’s is our favorite. Ask for Martin……a great waiter and very entertaining. Disappointed in the Chef’s plate but I think it was just the choice of menu that particular night. The buffet is wonderful…….large shrimp , lobster one night on the buffet. Always very fresh and well maintained.

Bar:Great lobby bar. Live band each night. Good entertainment.

Beach:Unfortunately it is gone. Have traveled to Mexico for the past 8 years and have watched it disappear after the last hurricane. This will keep us from returning unless the government goes through with it’s plan to build a reef and restore the beach. You cannot even walk to the next resort. It actually was much less on our last day than it was on our first.

Staff:The staff cannot do enough for you. Geraldo (host at Spice) is one of the nicest guys you could ever meet. He was there last year as well and remembered us. Everyone in the service industry could certainly learn from him.

Overall:The resort is beautiful, well appointed, great food, staff and service. However if you are looking for a beach Cancun in general is not the place to go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great place just to get lots of R&R."

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shannon_Perth  on Feb 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
226 people found this review helpful

We returned from the Royal Cancun (Adults only) after a very enjoyable 7 days. We arranged out own flight and book hotel seperatly including transportation to and from airport. The transportation worked great in getting to and from the airport. Shortly after getting to our room our bell boy asked if we were interested in upgrading. We decided to check out the room and after talking to the manager he came back with a price of $100 per night (taxes in)for either the swim up pool or presidental suite (we had the ocean front suite). We decide to take the swim up suite... What a great deal. We loved the swim up pool and was well worth the little extra money. The private pool was for 8 room however they was almost never more that two people swimming in the pool. Some days you ahd more people sunning in the chairs that sat in the pool. Staff came to our pool to take our drink orders so you never had to leave the pool.. very nice. Room service was included and the food was very good. With the room came unlimited international phone calls and free internet. Made it great to call home to Canada. As well as top brand bottles of booze in our room. As stated in another review the beach is not great but they are working on it. Pool areas are very nice including staff that comes along with lotion, clean your glasses, wet clothes and water. Service and little extras make the stay very enjoyable._The buffet we would have liked to seen a better and more choice of food but it was good any ways. The restaurant out by the pool (supper) was very good. They served a great steak. Bar staff was very friendly. Have to say that this resort reminded us more of high end hotel rather than a busy resort. It was a great place just to sit back and get lots of R&R.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The place isn't cheap it's five star. That's what we wanted, paid for, and got!!"

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shaun_ Edmonton  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 2009
First Class

Rooms
First Class

Restaurants and Bars
The Best

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Awesome

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel Same as usual

Other Comments
The Royal Resort Cancun is the resort I will compare to every resort I go to for the rest of my life! The staff at this place is unreal. That's right from the front desk Manager Carlos on down. They are constantly asking if there is anything they can do to make your vacation better. The restaurants are unreal. Some of the best food I have had in my life. That's not just one but all of them and I was there for 14 days. No reservations at the restaurants was icing on the cake. The rooms and view were also beyond our expectations.

The place isn't cheap it's five star. That's what we wanted, paid for, and got!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best hotel in Cancun, right now!"

The Royal Cancun
User Rating:  The Royal Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sonia_New York  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
248 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 21- 26, 2009:
ADULTS ONLY! ALL inclusive! 5 Diamond Hospitality rating. The best hotel in Cancun, right now! See below for details.

Rooms:
The rooms were beautiful. All rooms are ocean front and have a jacuzzi. The rooms are kept immaculatly clean. Every amenity you can think of they have. Complaints: 1- the AC blows right in your face all night. 2- The beds are very soft so if your like my husband and I, and are used to a firm mattress these beds are not for you. 3- One of the nights we heard a lot of construction, water pouring grinding sounds in the ceiling. Possibly the jacuzzi upstairs? It was very loud and very annoying.

Restaurants and Bars: The food was EXCELLENT!! Totally gourmet! We were exceptionally pleased with all food and drinks. The house wine was excellent. The wait staff very attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds: The beach was great. Clean. Virtually seaweed free. Slight waves. Comfortable lounge chairs and beach beds (cabanas). The Pool was also very clean and pretty. Waterfalls, jacuzzi, bridges and different depths but no more than 3'. Beach and pool bar & cocktail waitress service.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly entertainment (geared to adults). La Isla Mall 10 min. walk away.- Premiere shops and gondola rides.

Other Comments:
I got married at the Royal and used Luz Maria Avilas for phtography. Great work! Fast, friendly, flexible and well priced. See website: http://luzmafoto.blogspot.com.
Patty Hernandez was the wedding coordinator and did her best to make my vision a reality.
The flowers were not very good but the decor was beautiful,the cocktail hour and dinner was amazing.
Sound system provided very good as well. Lots of personalized attention through out the event and stay.
The Salon was not the best. (they don't want to wash you hair they expect you to come with it wet and they just style it.)
I was the only one satisfied with my hair and make up thanks to Sergio.
My mother in law and 2 bridesmaids were unsatisfied.

Overall, I would definately get married in Cancun again. Destination weddings are the only way to go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.