Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Omni Cancún Hotel & Villas

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 17, 2014

Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 18, 2014

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

4.8 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Excellence Playa Mujeres

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Gran Caribe Real Resort and Spa

4.2 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Crown Paradise Club Cancun

3.9 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 22, 2014

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun  

Bahia de Petempich, Puerto Morelos, Benito Juarez , Quintana Roo

"OMG"
Posted by: Stephan on May 28, 2011
see all reviews

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Reviews
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Pictures and Information
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Cancun Mexico

#11
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.4

Based on 10 reviews

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Information


Secrets Silversands is situated on the Yucatan Peninsula, a mere 15 miles south of Cancun. A modern marvel in contemporary design, Secrets Silversands is nestled in lush tropical vegetation and surrounded by cool blue waters on the Riviera Cancun coast. Style meets luxury in paradise at Secrets Silversands.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Reviews

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 3.4 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (9)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 10

"OMG"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephan  on May 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

First let me say, I will never again stay in such a nice resort. We have been to many Caribbean areas before we stayed at Secrets.
This place is beautiful.
The food was amazing. I mean amazing.
Staff were great. Rooms are excellent.

Arrival:
Fast trip from Cancun.
Check in was fine.
The lobby is very pretty

Rooms:
Rooms are great.
Very nice bathroom with seperate shower, toilet, and a hot tub. Fantastic opening into bed area.
Bed was great, and the seating area and balcony were very spacious

Restaurants and Bars:
Don't get me started on the Restaurants.
Every restaurant was fantastic. The food was perfect. Perfect portions fantastic presentations. 5 Star restaurants in Toronto can't provide this kind of food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was the only bad point on this trip. I am a die hard beach bum. But this beach sucked. Even after I trecked out to snorkel a few times, I still have to say it sucked. On our last day, my wife wanted to snorkel from the beach, so we did. There are plenty of areas to see fish. Mostly on the South end of the beach. We actully say a huge, I mean Huge Stingray. I say it was about 4 or 5 feet across.

There is a better beach if you trek north about 10 minutes. It's just before the nude resort.
We spend a day at that beach and had complete privacy. It was a great day. One to remember.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did several trips from the resort. I suggest you go to check out a Cenote.
The Mayan ruins.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not bad but not great either"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Apr 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
303 people found this review helpful

The rooms were beautiful....if you paid the upgrade for the oceanview. Definitely worth it. The staff is wonderful, very nice and accommodating. The food is mediocre and the beach is rather pitiful. The main pool is good but the others are unheated and really cold!! Silly dress code at night - men can't wear sweaters w/o collared shirts; during the day, I sat on soaked cushions from bathing suits at lunch and was treated to many exposed breasts. So, the dress code? Pretentious for the quality of the food and alcohol.

Beautiful for a wedding but don't expect much from the food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Secrets Silversands - Half resort got sick"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Feb 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

This resort is very different than any other all inclusive resort we have stayed at. It is very modern and in fact it doesn't even feel like you are in Mexico

The taste of the food was different at all the restaurants which was a pleasant change from out AI resorts we have stayed at. The presentation of the food was amazing I felt like I was dining at fine dining restaurants every night. What was very appealing is that when dining in the different restaurants each one had totally different decor. For example, the Japanese restaurant actually looked like that. Mexican restaurant had that type of decor and so on. . . However, in saying all the positives I do have one major negative about the food. Unfortunately, 3 out of 4 people in our party got food poisoning. In fact when we were on the shuttle on the way back home I did a small survey and 8 out of 10 people got sick, all the same symptoms, which were abdominal cramping, vomiting, diarrhea, chills and no appetite at all. Both my boyfriend and myself had it too. This is so unfortunate since the food was really good. For a 6 golden apple resort I was really disappointed, because for about 3 days I had no appetite at all. The doctor at the resort said he had never seen anything like it in all the years he had been practising. It was definitely an outbreak.

The rooms were the best we have stayed in. They were very clean, the beds were so comfortable and the King size bed was actually that and not two twins pushed together like other resorts we have stayed at. The shower was tiled beautifully and the Jacuzzi tub was also an added bonus. One thing that I really liked was how well the air conditioner worked. What I have encountered in other resorts is no matter how much the air conditioning is running, it still doesn't completely cool the room. The pictures on their web site are exactly what they look like.

The service was fabulous all around very friendly, but not over bearing. I totally loved the free room service. This was such a nice touch. From the service on the beach, to around the pool to all the restaurants, to the maid service - everything was top quality.

This resort was a lot smaller than almost all the resorts we have been to and at first I wasn't sure if I liked that or not. However, as the week went on we both found that we really enjoyed being a part of everything at all times. It was so convenient to not have to take a shuttle everywhere and it was great that we could continue to go to our room throughout the day and it wasn't a hike to get anywhere.

The beach wasn't the greatest which again makes me wonder how they can rate this resort (on apple vacations) the same as Secrets Maroma Beach and Secrets Capri.

Overall, this is a nice resort, but I wouldn't rate it in the same category as Secrets Maroma Beach or Secrets Capri.

Michelle O'Neil

Also, please check on www.tripadvisor.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Adequate Resort"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mary  on Jan 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4106

Arrival:
Easy arrival from airport. 15 minutes by bus. Greeted with glasses of champagne and quick escort to our room.

Rooms:
Rooms very contemporary. Very comfortable and spacious. Patio door did not lock, request to fix and it never happened. Loved the free room service. box located outside of room and delivery was quick and friendly, and 24 hours a day

Restaurants and Bars:
The breakfast buffet was not appealing. Scrambled eggs looked grey in colour. All fruit, at least the week we were there was not ripe, and tasted sour. Breakfast disappointing.

dinner restaurants and menus were excellent and service.

Lunch should be a buffet. Lunch by the pool rotated between two menus and alternated. Was very boring and much prefer most buffet all inclusive options.

Mexican restaurant was the best. Singers added to the ambience. very nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean. Loved that you didn't have to sign out beach towels. And you could have as many as you wanted and they were never out of stock.

don't go to resort if you are looking for a nice beach.

Beach not very wide or long. Lots of reef so very rocky to climb over to finally to get somewhere to swim. Can't really walk the beach very far. One side an abandonned home, and the other a vacant condo.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activity staff love to call out "sexy people", we need you. They are non-stop trying to get people to join events. we did and won alcohol and spa treaments.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just Ok!"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christy  on Jan 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
286 people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to Secret Silversands for 1 week. We were really excited as we do not travel very often. We got to the resort and it truelly is very beautiful. You are made to feel like gold your first day there. But we found that the food was fantastic, the day entertainment staff was what might make you want to come back and the bar staff are second to none. But every other service that was at this resort was terrible!
Our Sunwing rep from our carrier was a no show then 20 minutes late on our meet and greet. The concierge staff always looked to busy or not interested to help you. Our housekeeping staff was very persistant. They tried to clean you room as early as 8am. Come on we are on vacation. If you tried to get them to come back your room was not made up until after 5pm. Our room was constantly interrupted by cleaning staff, then a seperate person for the mini bar, then another person to stock the upgraded mini bar, then the people that bring you your new towels, face clothes, then we are interrupted by yet another person for your turn-down service. They make you feel guilty for wanting to take a nap on your vacation. Even if you put your do not disturb sign up, they still call you!!! The night entertainment was not very good and by that I mean terrible!!!! The last crap they pulled with the guests was the night before we left they have a convention of 80 Doctors from around the globe stay as over flow at the resort- No problem except that they were given 1st priority everywhere since the hotel wanted to make a good impression. So they were being greeted in our restaurants (3 of the 7 were closed that night allready)and put on the list ahead of all the guests who have been staying at the resort all week. We ended up having to wait 40 minutes (that was the smallest wait time in the whole restaurant) and the wait staff suggested to us that we should have come earlier for our meal so as to not disturb the new arrivals. Seriously!

Like I said, the day entertainment staff, bar tenders and the food are all that redeem this place! Really dissapointed!

Room Number:
3427

Room Block:
37

Arrival:
Jan 11, 2011 - Jan 18, 2011

Rooms:
Were very nice, we upgraded to a Full Oceanview room and it was sooooo worth the upgrade!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
The best food I have eaten yet!!! The bars and bar staff were fantastic!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were really nice but very cold. Wouldn't have been a problem except the weather was wet and cold too!

Beach was a big let down! Our travel book from Sunwing, Air Canada, etc. claim that the beach is a 5 and in fact it was a typo. It is meant to read a 2. (Big difference) It was covered in seaweed. They clear it off every morning but it is back around noon.

Grounds were very nice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The day entertainment staff were fantastic!!!! There is never a shortage of things to do and they make sure to make you feel very welcome!

We did not really do anything off the resort as our Sunwing rep was a no show for our first meeting then was 20 minutes late for our second meeting. His job was to introduce us to all that we are able to do outside of the resort as well as confirm our return flight! We were so rushed and his english was so bad that we hardly understood him! Not very impressed!

Other Comments:
Most of the staff (Bar and entertainment excluded) made you feel like once you paid the price to stay here that they really didn't have to do much more then that! I felt like I was intruding on their space! I don't mean to sound pompous but we paid really good money to be there and it really felt like that didn't matter to anyone there. They could have tried a heck of a lot more to go that extra mile and we were in the VIP section of the resort. I can only imagine the treatment that the people might have received that were not VIP's. (WE upgraded our room and that was what made us VIP's)
My husband and I travelled to Cuba last and that resort/staff made you feel like you were family, they went every extra step to make your stay a very pleasant one, and Secret Silversands made us feel the opposite... once you have paid for the trip there is no reason left to impress!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"80 dollars stolen from me during our "turndown" service!!"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ashley  on Nov 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
299 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this was the most amazing vacation of my life... until the morning i left mexico at 4 am and discovered in the airport that i was missing 80 dollars from my wallet! I can for sure say it was stolen for several reasons, one i had counted the night before we left right before going to dinner, we came back to the room around 12 (turndown is around 10:30) ours however that night was not done, which i thought was weird in the first place. Not thinking anything to extreme i went to bed. When i realized the money was missing i called the hotel immediately from the states and they said they would investigate to see who had entered my room based on the key fob to my room. Upon investigation they said the turndown maid had been in our room that night, and that they would now investigate her personal items (mind you by the time they tell me this it is 2 days later) They came to the conclusion that her items were searched and they cannot be responsible for anything that wasn't in the safety deposit box. WHICH I UNDERSTAND TO AN EXTENT. No my purse was not in the lock box... however... it was on the couch... closed... and the money was in my wallet tucked away, that being said what part of turning on a TV setting a brochure on the bed and dimming the romantic lights requires them to wonder over to my purse and SEARCH it??? BUT like i said before my turndown service was NOT done that night... so they tried to make it look like no one was even there. I really wish the hotel could have done more because it was great. But when your employee STEALS from a guest on vacation staying at YOUR resort and you do nothing about it because it wasn't in the lock box... your wrong. Other than the amazing time i had with my husband my entire experience was ruined by the unacceptable theft and violation of privacy that i endured.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great stay"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  rob  on Nov 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
326 people found this review helpful

excellent resort very friendly staff ,food was great,only complaint is that the pool water was cold like 70f and the rooms in building number six where we stayed was close to were the utility building was noisy and smell from the waste treatment plant was bad at times

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Relaxing Resort"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.L  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
333 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
No problems traveling from the airport to the resort. Just a quick 25 minutes or so. Check-in was easy however the staff gave little information on the resort, activities, who to call if assistance was needed, etc. Later, we found the front desk staff to be of limited help on several problems we experienced. They promised to help but didn't deliver. We had to get our Apple representative involved at one time.

Rooms:
Nice room with a pleasant ocean view. Space is a bit limited for storing and hanging clothing. Toilets get plugged very easily! We found this to be a common problem with other guests. Unlike the other resorts we have stayed at (over 10), there was no effort to make one's room a bit more pleasant, such as placing flowers. We even tipped! But, all in all, no real complaints.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent! The restaurants and staff were great. Reservations are not required and we never had a seating problem. If you go to the Mexican restaurant be prepared for noise. The group singing, although quite good, were so loud. We heard this as a common problem by others. Again, however, they restaurants and bars were excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We are beach folks. The beach is just ok. Someway rocky and hard on the feet. Very few people swam due to the rocks. If you want to get a beach chair make sure you researve one very early. Each day we noticed the number of people using the beach outnumbered available chairs. Quite a few people resorted to simply laying their towels on the sand. This is a problem that should not occur. If you enjoy topless, this is not the beach for you. There were very few topless. The few that were topless had to contend with people (men) enjoying the scenery. The resort calls itself an adult resort, but that only means it does not cater to children. The wait staff were great and came by often to see if drinks were needed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not attend many of the activities. The ones we did were good.

Other Comments:
Be prepared for noise during the 10 to 12 p.m. period. Several times bands played loudly during this period and could be heard thorughout the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Truly amazing resort......"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  lisa  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
334 people found this review helpful

What an amazing resort!!!!!!!!!!! Our room was beautifull, all the rooms are suites, and have everything you could ever need, they are hugely spacious, clean, and fantastically maintained...The resort staff are amongst the nicest we have come accross anywhere and couldnt do enough for you...The food and restaurants were second to none, and loved the fact that all the evening meals were al la carte, and easily classed as fine dining..The pools were spotlessly clean, and the waiting/drinks staff were constantly passing out cold water and getting you any drink you can imagine, we had a fantastic time

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"25 th Anniversary Ruined by Secrets Silversands Management team"

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
User Rating:  Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
324 people found this review helpful

They ruined our 25th by stealing my jacket within the first 2 hours of arrival. The front desk pit me in a room next to a generator that spewed deisel fumes in my room for three days till the wind direction changed. I inform the apple representative Ivan about the problem and he went to the front desk and came back un happy.He said the manager would switch us to a diff resort at our cost. We then asked Ivan about a excursion to playacar and he informed we had to pay in cash because we we trouble makers. Iwent back to the manage with my wife and asked him why he was doing this as she cried and he ignored us and walked away. We were blackballed from the staff and watched from security on the beach. I nformed them I had asthma and a life threatening blood disease and the ignore our anniversary by not mentioning us on the bullentin and no ribbons on door. Stay away from this resort which is located between a ruined down house and A empty resort 2 doors down.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube