Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Royal Solaris Caribe

4.5 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)  

Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"had a great time!"
Posted by: dan  on Feb 28, 2011
see all reviews

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Reviews
Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Pictures and Information
Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Cancun Mexico

#17
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.5

Based on 5 reviews

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Information


Enter a magical resort like no other; sit beside the shimmering ocean while enjoying an All Inclusive Vacation unlike any other resort you've ever envisioned.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Reviews

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Review: 4.5 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  4
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"had a great time!"

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)
User Rating:  Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  dan  on Feb 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
293 people found this review helpful

staff was fantastic. especially jenna. what a gorgeous girl. I fell in love .

Room Number:
8207

Room Block:
2nd floor

Arrival:
had to wait an hour for our room!

Restaurants and Bars:
good food and fun

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice and clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A real review from real people- Michigan"

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)
User Rating:  Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill & Chris  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
311 people found this review helpful

Beach is completely in and excellent. As the reviews read, the serving staff is superb. We loved room service, meals anytime of the day or night. The pool entertainment was aimed at kids most of the time. Entertainment and leisure bar was so so, good drinks. We were able to get premium drinks when we asked 50% of the time. They seemed to always be out of Captain Morgan. Now, lets discuss our room-----Suppose to be garden view, which means we were overlooking a blacktop roof with no view at all. Now let's discuss front desk or management, these people will lie to you, tell you one thing while they tell the people next to you something different. You can upgrade if your willing to pay an extra $800.00. Example, a guest had a safe door missing, they asked to have their room changed with a safe, they were told they were full. I know for a fact 3 rooms next to us were empty 3 days in a row. The big buzz around the pool, front desk management should be fired. Coco Bongo's starts at $70.00 USD a person. We are planning another trip right away and looking at a different resort. Food was a 2. The food at the shows in the ballroom was ok. Mexican show was very good for a sit down dinner. Also, we found the bed very comfortable. Never did see a marina. Hold onto your a---- on the buses. Pay attention to your buses R-1 & R-2. R-1 is from your hotel to Flamingo area, then R-2 takes you all the way to Market 28(also R-15) go there only in the day time. Have fun!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you are looking for a relaxing and pampered vacation, then this is the place."

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)
User Rating:  Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Friederich_GranSolaris  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005 | Leisure | Solo
282 people found this review helpful

Just stayed one week (3-19-05 thru 03-26-05) at the newest of the Royal Solaris chain in Cancun, the Grand Royal Solaris. The hotel is in the southern part of Cancun (about 8 miles south of the rowdy, loud clubs and bars). This area of Cancun also has more surf than expected. The hotel opened in December of '04, so everything is brand new. Got a double room with a balcony facing the ocean on the 6th floor. The lagoon was visible from outside the room (opposite the ocean). All inclusive service was better than expected with 24 hr room service, in room servi bar stocked up daily, several good quality restaurants that included lobster and steak. The shows at night were NOT your typical waiter or pool entertainer trying to double up, but professional dancers and singers...much nicer than other all-inclusive's I have been to. Service in general was better than expected. Valet parking was always available and bar tenders and waiters were ready to help. Adding a small tip for the services provided meant that by the third day the staff new you and were eager to serve.

On the down side the rooms and bathrooms were a bit small when compared to others I have been to (only a shower and no tub was available in our room). Secondly, be prepared for the typical time-share speech...they can be pushy about signing you up, so be firm about it and they will let you be. Third, the pool area is built right on the beach, with concrete extending well into the beach area. This results in a very narrow beach area with no room for the typical thatched huts...so no shade when on the beach and no room for beach volley ball. Forth, pool side entertainment also felt short when compared to other Caribbean resorts I have been to, mainly for lack of enthusiastic personnel. So in conclusion, if you are looking for a wild party all day long, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a relaxing and pampered vacation and do not mind a 10 to 15 minute drive when you are ready to get wild, then this is the place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great time at this resort!"

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)
User Rating:  Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn_Canada  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

This premier all inclusive 5 star hotel and spa is brand new and has only been open 6-7 weeks and has some growing pains. My husband Rolf and I(Lynn) are Canadians and have been married 33 years. Although it was my second trip to Cancun, it was my husband first to Cancun. Cancun is a very busy place and never lacks for things to do.

Airport:
If possible avoid travel on the weekend to Cancun, on the Sat. we arrived Cancun airport processed 20,000 people threw their airport. Customs and Immigrations was a 1½ hour wait. Twelve planes arrived the same time and people were lined upstairs and all over downstairs to clear immigration. At one point that Sat. 20 planes arrived at the same time. I guess this is normal for Cancun airport. In 2005 they are building a new airport south of Tulum to fix this problem. Ignore all people in airport offering maps etc. as they are timeshare. Pick up shuttle taxi for $9 per person outside baggage door.

Check-in and Rooms:
Check in was simple but they take you into another room and ask you questions and avoid this for another day as they are actually timeshare. We did get two free tours which were excellent out of this. The hotel is L-shaped with the inside L facing the pool/ocean. The short outside L faces the lagoon and street which has buses running up and down 4 lane road there. The long side of the L faces another hotel so you are left looking at a solid wall for a view. Lots of people trying to change room to ocean view which they seem to want $30 a day as they considered this a up-graded room. We did have an ocean view room with no additional charge but it was an adjoining room 8434.

Hotel:
The hotel is very upscale in general was super and very grand with lots of marble and has only been open 6-7 weeks. Halls in hotel could be more impressive. Very well kept, clean but could be more organized. The staff was lacking in information but most spoke English very well. This is a small complex with lots of concrete and no shade or gardens. They were very few children at this resort. They have a free internet room with two computers next to the theater and beside the washroom near the front lobby.

Pools:
These were super. Very uniquely designed with a swim-up bar, chairs are at a shortage and not enough to go around and no shade. The entertainment staff did a good job of entertaining the guests throughout the day with a variety of activities. For those who wanted it quiet, there is a second pool area with Jacuzzi but no shade here . They have massages available for $35 a half hour.

Beach:
The beach was nice and clean but small/narrow only 40 ft in depth. The surf was rough red flags up all but one day while we were there due to the strong breezes throughout the day. People seem to swim with red flags up although the undertow is quite strong. They is shade down on the beach after 2pm in the afternoon. The sand was soft and hard to walk on. There was also a lack of lawn chairs on the beach. You can rent jet boats or go pay to go para sailing. Water sports was non existent as the ocean is too rough. You can go over to the lagoon and use kayaks, pedal boats there.

Weather:
The weather was great at this time of year. Highs in the mid 80's(25-30C) and lows in the high 50's in early morn or late evening so bring a sweater or jacket.

Food and drinks:
This is an all-inclusive resort and there was plenty of food and drink to be had. We enjoyed all the restaurants but Club Solaris buffet style was noisy. Marco Polo Restaurant was a menu choice and quieter. The other outdoor restaurant was often very windy. Food served included fresh cooked turkey, roast beef, pork, grouper, salmon & also they had a lobster Sat. They have a outdoor grill with pizza, burgers and hot dogs. A deli restaurant also made up sandwiches but couldn’t seem to determine when this was open as only open once in the whole week we were there. The hotel provides room service for any meal which was free and a nice added feature. Be sure to ask for a Rum Runner or Sex on the Beach both excellent drinks. You can also go to the Royal Solaris Cancun 5 minutes away and use their restaurants and facilities. We went to the Marco Polo Restaurant overlooking the ocean but crowded(15 min wait for lunch) and not much food selection.

Entertainment:
They hold buffet dinner/theater parties Monday, Wednesday and Friday in the theater near the elevators and store but not clearly marked. Monday was Mexican night with excellent food and dancers for entertainment. Wednesday was a Cirque d’le and Friday was a Tropical theme. They had huge rotating ice sculpture in the food. One night they had a surprise night but was audience participation and not that great. You could also go to Carlos and Charlie and dine on Thursdays but avoid if possible. They take you on a bus at 6:00pm and serve you a buffet dinner which isn’t very good and doesn’t include your drinks. They bring you back at 10:30 at night. Lots of complaining about this meal and of people took the local bus back themselves to the hotel. The hotel also have nightly entertainment two singers with music in the lobby bar which is very nice.

Tours:
The hotel provided two tours free. One was on the Sunday a tour of the lagoon in a large boat from 1pm to 3pm. One on Monday a tour down the coast to south of Tulum to a Mayan village, a tour of the jungle and free zip line rides and canoe rides. This tour also included a delicious lunch and time at resort on the Mexican Rivera. We left 7:30am and returned 5pm. I think these were put on by the timeshare people but was great .We took our own tour to Isla Mujeres. You can catch the bus in front of the hotel but make sure it says Puerto Juarez. They run every 15 minutes and usually have Isla Mujeres written across the top or side of bus in green. Take this bus for 10 minutes pass the bus depot downtown Cancun, do not get off at other locations to go to the island as they are double the price of Puerto Juarez. The ferry runs every 30 minutes on the hour and half hour and cost $7.00 return. On island you can rent a golf cart for $45 a day but be sure to take your driver’s license. Island is only 5 miles long and has some beautiful scenery and beaches. Lots of shopping stores where the ferry land and also a very scenic beach within walking distance.

Busses:
They run up and down the hotel strip every 2 or 3 minutes and only cost 6.5 peos or $1.00 U.S. One bus runs to Wal-Mart and is marked as such and you can also do Market 28(cheap flea market) the same time. If you forget anything the Wal-mart will have it and their liquor is cheaper than the duty free. A bottle of Kahlua was $8.88 at Walmart and duty free wanted $12 for same bottle. Another bus is marked Puerto Juarez and it will take you to the ferry to Isla Mujeres. There are no transfers available you have to pay again to get onto another bus. You can also go down the coast to Playa de Carmen that runs every 15 minutes from the main bus terminal downtown Cancun but be sure to take a first class bus. From Playa de Carmen you can get the ferry to Cozumel.

Summary:
We had a great time at this resort. It is close (10 minutes) from the airport and it exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk does need some expertise which will come after it has been opened longer.

Any questions please feel free to contact me at Lynn002@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was really, really good"

Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris)
User Rating:  Grand Royal Solaris (GRSolaris) Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wanda&Jim  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
294 people found this review helpful

Food:
My husband and I just returned to Toronto, Ontario area after a week’s vacation (March 3-10) at the new Grand Solaris Resort in Cancun. We were really impressed with the value of this resort. I will say that we’ve been to two other all-inclusive vacations (Beaches in Varadero, Cuba and Riu Bachata in the Dominican Republic) and this one was the best. It was the food that made this resort amazing. Even the coffee and the wine were good. I have never had a decent cup of coffee, while on vacation before. I think that most people would agree that the food at all inclusives is usually bland at best, you never really enjoy it, but at this place you will. We ate most our dinners at the Marco Polo Restaurant and they were really good (save room for dessert because they’re amazing). All the steak you eat at this resort will be some of the best steak you’ve ever had. If you’re a seafood lover, don’t miss the Seafood night in Café Solaris on Saturdays because it is too good to pass up. We had the surf & turf and is was so delicious. My husband isn’t even a fan of seafood but he raved about this meal the whole week.

5 stars:
This resort is still very new and I think you can get a pretty good deal on a week’s stay. I think because they’re still promoting it. Don’t miss out, because this place is truly a 5 star and if you can get a good deal – take it, I don’t think they’ll be offering deals for long.

Timeshare:
Many reviews warn you about the time share sales pitch at this and many other Cancun resorts. We had no problem. I was glad I was made aware of this issue and just said “no thank-you” every time somebody said the word “free” to us. It’s not only at the resorts, but in the malls and with any tours you book. Be aware as soon as someone offers your free money, tour packages or souvenirs that they will expect you to attend a 30-90 session. Don’t be fooled and if your not interested don’t offer any excuses (they have a sales pitch ready for any excuse) just says “not interested” and walk away. But it really wasn’t too bad. We avoided the timeshare people in our lobby and they left us a note about 4 days in asking us to come for our free souvenir – we did not show, we were not bothered any further.

Rooms:
We had a room (8317) facing the lagoon side, but did not complain. The room was so nice and clean, we could not care that it did not face the ocean. Our view was still nice and we are never in the room, accept to change or sleep. The only down fall to our room was the adjoining door to the next room. You could hear everything. I am a pretty sound sleeper, but my husband would be awakened every morning about 3:30 or 4:00 a.m. with a room full of drunken girls next door returning from the clubs. I will also say that we heard this same complaint time and time again from other guests. So if get a choice ask for a room without an adjoining door. Our maid had our room done early everyday and our mini bar restocked (3 bottles of water, 3 cans of pop [diet pepsi, pepsi and 7up] and 4 small bottles of Corona). We also had an iron and ironing board, coffee maker and blow dryer in the room. Along with the in room safe, which was the best safe we’ve ever had. No keys. Just punch in a code (you select) and the safe is set. All you have to do is put in this code to open & close your safe.

Pool:
The pool areas are very nice. There are 3 pools and all are heated and very clean. The first is the pool with the swim up bar, which attaches to the sports pool (for volleyball and basketball) and then on the other side of the outdoor restaurant is the quite pool with a hot tub near by. The only thing I would like to say about the swim –up bar pool is that their was always too many little kids in it. We don’t have a problem with children being in the pool. However, parent’s should really not allow their children to cannonball or splash into the pool right next to the bar. People don’t really appreciate pool water being splashed into their drinks.

I had read a review about this resort that said you have to reserve your poolside loungers by 6:00 a.m. if you want one around the big pool and they were not kidding. On our first morning I happened to wake up at 5:50 a.m. and decided to go down and reserve loungers. I was shocked to see that by 6:15 a.m. one third of the loungers were already reserved. If you don’t care about being by the big pool, than there were loungers available later in the mornings at the other pools.

Entertainment:
We also heard really good things about the shows at this resort. We only saw one, but it was very good. Kind of a Cirque de Soliel (spelling?) with a fire juggler and acrobats.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If you’ve interested in doing any tours while in Cancun, don’t miss Chichen Izta. Is was really worth the money and the Maya Culture is fascinating. We also did a snorkeling tour with a ride in an underwater submarine viewing boat with Aqua World tours. We felt this was a rip off at $50 U.S. the submarine tour was pretty cool (not worth $40 for a 20 minute tour) and the snorkeling was in a provincial park area. Therefore they brought you through a roped off area with a tour guide and their wasn’t much to see, in my opinion.

Conclusion:
Anyway, if your even thinking about this resort, you should go, it was really, really good……wanda & Jim.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube