Valentin Imperial Maya Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Valentin Imperial Maya reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Valentin Imperial Maya  

Carretera Federal 307 | Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Great place"
Posted by: Andy  on Feb 3, 2013
see all reviews

Valentin Imperial Maya Reviews
Valentin Imperial Maya Pictures and Information
Valentin Imperial Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#4
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.2

Based on 16 reviews

Valentin Imperial Maya Information


Valentin Imperial Maya is an adults only all inclusive resort, with more than half a mile white sand beach, located in Playa del Secreto (The Secret Beach) in the Riviera Maya.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Valentin Imperial Maya Reviews

Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 3.2 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  4
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 16

"Great place"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andy  on Feb 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
110 people found this review helpful

Great place...clean.....good food.....sometimes you have to wait a bit between the courses but what the heck... You are on holidays Beach is great Staff are friendly Close to playa so 25 minutes away Resort is a 5 star. Will go back for sure

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
Jan 26 to feb 2

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian was great Restaurants were great. Buffets were good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great beach. Nice pools

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did Mayan ruins and trip to snorkelling

Other Comments:
Great place. Staff great. Clean place. Aand no young screaming kids......sorry parents lol

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Amazing 4th visit to the VIM"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Dec 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
119 people found this review helpful

I really cant believe the negative reviews on this site. We visited the Vim Dec 2008, 09. 11 and 2012 . We have just returned from another amnazing trip.

Beach is fantastic long white sandy beach.. good swimming area But of course Mother Nature decides on waave action.
Immaculately clean every where.

We asked for our room to be cleaned between 10 and on and it was cleaned every day in that time frame.

Things we noticed that have imporoved since last year- new pool loungers and new floaties.. New themed lunch Buffets as well as the grill stations.. The Roast Suckling Pig at the Mexican buffet was awesome

Yes they have dress codes and they are clearly stated on their web site and also in the hotel manuals in your room. No one can honestly say they didnt know you can't go into the French restaurant in a tee shirt and shorts !

We stayed in Emerald 14206. it offered an ocrean view but it was not unobstructed But we loved the location and went to bed every night listening to the ocean.

Everyone from check in, concierge, restaurants, pool attendents, gardeners have a smilk and say hola


Room Number:
14206

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
Nov 19-30

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Almost as good as it gets"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sue & marv  on Oct 20, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
147 people found this review helpful

As an owner-manager of two travel agencies, I just had the great pleasure of staying at the all-inclusive, adults-only Valentin Imperial Maya. My purpose for this visit was to see how the resort was maturing since my first time there shortly after it opened five years ago. I loved this place when it was new and, because recent online reviews have run hot and cold, I wanted to see for myself what if it was still worthwhile or going downhill. It’s still a great place – top shelf !

The resort is 25-30 minutes from the Cancun International Airport (CUN) or to Cancun and just a half-day trip to Mayan cultural and archaeological sites such as Tulúm and Chichen Itza. t is a great place for relaxation and the service staff is uniformly excellent.

The public areas are immaculate and there is an abundance of well-manicured gardens and beautiful pools and water fountains. The dining venues and public facilities are quite spread out but are accessible for the physically challenged. A golf cart shuttle service is available from the bellman but your patience may be required. Time share vendors lurk discretely in the background as you walk through the resort, especially in the enormous, high-ceiling lobby and reception areas.

DINING and DRINKING
Valentin’s main buffet-style restaurant has an al fresco area as well as an air-conditioned section. There are seven a la carte specialty restaurants for dinner. No reservations are required except for the Teppanyaki tables at Ginger.

One memorable meal was served to me by Manuel at L’Alsace, the French restaurant. He was delightfully efficient and attentive. Although the meal itself was just OK, Manuel made the evening great.

There are 11 bars including: two swim-up bars at the main pool, a lobby bar, hall bar, sports bar, disco bar, theater bar, a cigar and all of them serve blended drinks and premium brand spirits. Unlimited bottled water is available throughout the resort.

ACTIVITIES
Valentin offers a wide spectrum of wellness programs and a number of water sports and other activities both on and off-site. The hotel features six swimming pools including: a free-form swim-up pool with three integrated private pools, main pool, activity pool and an oversized climate-controlled Jacuzzi.

The somewhat steep beach is gorgeous but had a healthy undertow during my stay. A roped-off area for swimming is off to the side but, because of the coral pieces, rocks and undergrowth, most of the beach area is not swimmable. There are plenty of palapas and lounge chairs at the beach and pool.

ALMOST AS GOOD AS IT GETS
Because of ever-increasing competition, the “Vacancy” sign may be lit up for a while and the accommodations may be priced very reasonably. I will be recommending it to clients of my travel agencies who are looking for a great value in an upscale all-inclusive resort.

Room Number:
101

Room Block:
5

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stressful Stay at the Valentin"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Apr 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
199 people found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I travel with 3 other girls for a yearly trip to Mexico/Caribbean. We all read the reviews for the Valentin; I guess that is why we were so disappointed with our stay. We had reserved 2 Golden Jr. Suite rooms, but when we arrived at the hotel, the rude manager informed us that we did not reserve these rooms. For 3 hours we were on the phone with GOGO's and our travel agent to get the matter resolved. The manager at the front desk downgraded our rooms even though we could prove that we did indeed purchase the Golden suites. The following day, Valentin finally admitted to their mistake, but we were never placed in our reserved rooms. Throughout our whole stay we needed to be by my cell phone because our end was trying to rectify the problem. While we were at the pool, we found 2 other parties that this had happened to. Disturbing to say the least. How could all of the reviews posted be so good, yet we and 2 other parties that we know of, have such a horrible experience. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is nice, the other service people are nice, the beach is nice, and the pool is nice. But when you encounter a front desk staff that was rude, non-accommodating, and wrong, it is not worth any amount of money. We have been travelling since 1999 on these trips, and we have never encountered a problem such as this. Normally, if the hotel makes a mistake, they upgrade you...not the Valentin. At first, they would not admit that they were wrong. And once they did admit that they were wrong, we never received an apology or our confirmed rooms. In fact, it is 1 week after the vacation, and we are still in contact with our travel agent and GOGO's. I don't know if this will get posted because it is a negative comment, but please be aware, this hotel does not live up to all of the comments that you read. At first I thought that we were just having a bad experience, but when we found out that we were not alone in how rudely the front desk treated us and did not accommodate our reservation, we knew it was a problem bigger than just our reservations for 2 Golden Jr. Suites. I urge you not to stay at this establishment. You might get lucky and encounter no problems, but then again, you could be like us and others that were vacationing there and have problems. Problems in itself are not bad, but when the hotel does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to rectify the problem, well then, that is a whole different problem. Whenever you are spending the type of money that you are...you deserve the reassurance that the staff at the hotel will do anything that they can to make your stay a pleasant experience. This hotel will not do that. Please look elsewhere. You deserve to be treated wonderfully and you can experience that at other hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean. Two places I can recommend in Mexico: Iberostar Maya and Adventura. As far as the Caribbean: hands down Marriott in Aruba. Enjoy

Room Number:
3112,3125

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous Experience"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alicia  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
213 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful experience at the Valentin Imperial. We booked the Emerald Junior Suite. Our room was clean, spacious and great location. The service was exceptional. The wait staff at the restaurants worked hard to provide superior service. Everyone was friendly and wanted to learn your name. Our final lunch, Jorge and Armando made our experience memorable. We hated to leave. We will be back again and will recommend to all our friends. As a side note, my husband left his IPhone in the room. They located it and are Fed-exing to us.

Room Number:
110102

Arrival:
Immediate access to check in and tour of the property. Loved the Champagne upon arriving with chilled towels.

Rooms:
Clean, comfortable, excellent shower and spa tub. Fully stocked refrigerator. Wine, champagne and chocolates:)

Restaurants and Bars:
Many favorites -- French, Indo, Lobster Pot, Japanese...

Lunch near the beach each day.

Gilberto makes a great French 75!

Cigar Bar -- Lourdes makes great martinis.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was clean, great beverage service on the beach!!

Other Comments:
Will go back again!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would definitely go back!"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  michelle  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
225 people found this review helpful

I had read many great reviews about this resort, then one week before departure happened upon this website. I was slightly worried after seeing all the bad reviews here.
NO NEED TO WORRY!!!!!!!!!!
It was a beautiful resort with great food and if you didn't enjoy your meal, you could always order something else or go to another restaurant. Our room was exactly as advertised, the beach was white and sandy (we spent everyday there)and there was was a good choice of food and beverages. I would definitely return and I have traveled extensively. The French, Italian, Mexican and Indonesian restaurants are a "must try". (One should try to remember when eating YOU ARE IN ANOTHER COUNTRY, so of course food will be different.)
I found the service good-sure on occasions it could have been faster, but it's a big resort, although it never felt crowded.

Room Block:
building 3

Arrival:
January 3 to January 8, 2012.
They can provide you with a shuttle service and it was worth the money.

Rooms:
Just what we needed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 Stars at Best"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Oct 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

Do not believe the reviews on BookIt for this resort. At the best this is 3 star resort. THIS IS NOT A COUPLES resort – SECRETS resort - or DREAMS resort it’s a nightmare resort. We looked forward to this vacation and found a resort that had beautiful grounds and gardens, but a staff that did nothing unless it was absolutely necessary. The property obviously has not been maintained and the staff has not been properly trained.

Room Number:
2104

Arrival:
Check In: Hassle free very little information about the resort. No orientation! Told latter bike tour was orientation ( we had an 85 and 87 year olds with us bike tour was not an option), resort is very large and very easy to get lost. No explanation of services meal times except for the daily newsletter with the spa specials and with restaurants are open or closed. Note that they will enforce the dress code for some guest at the restaurants some men in sandals were turn away and others were not.

Rooms:
Room: Very pretty. AC worked most of the time. Bugs Bugs and more Bugs I was bitten by something in the room that made my finger swell to double it size.Room has a small flat screen 27” TV hard to see from bed. Rooms leak beware of puddles from above we were on the first floor of a three story building and had water coming in from the light fixtures. 4 days we had 2 rooms we had water leaking puddles on floor no one offered to move to a dry room. Walking down the hallways and seeing all the towels on the floor against the doors to hold the water out there may have not been any rooms not were not leaking. No hot water for 1st 2 days talked to general manager he could care less.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants:
Il Olivo (Italian)
Very good 1st visit and 2nd visit was a disaster- no menu limited choices for dinner took 2 hours for dinner with choice of 4 entrees. 20 minutes to get a cocktail Food overcooked wrong 1st course delivered.

Tamansari (Indonesian)
Noveau Indonesian very sweet lacking any Indonesian influence

Mar (Lobster)
Excellent food (see resort credit below) The waiter was serving the bread and butter drop the butter pad on the table picked it up and put it on my bread plate.

L’alace (French)
A lot of pomp food ok not really worth getting dressed up for

Tierra (Steak)
Over processed tenderized unrecognizable cuts of meats. Not an Outback or Longhorn not even Golden Corral quality.

Le Marche’ (Breakfast/ Lunch Buffet)
Good food beef /chicken/fish cooked to order lunch. Good breakfast if you are there early by 10:15 they run out of stuff like bacon –sausage, replace with lunch items. This restaurant should be open for dinner but is not. The restaurant is better then all the la carte restaurants above.

Room Service
Very good. The last night we had room service instead of taking a chance of another dinning disaster.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOL AREA: Pool tiles falling off. The staff was scrubbing the algae while people are swimming in the pool, adding chemicals from 5 gallon containers (very smelly) while we were swimming around 10am. The pool is shared by the ants as you sit in the shaded areas by the pool the ants fall on you crawl of you and taste you.
There was virtually not waiter service around the pool there was 1 waitress that had to serve everyone she was overworked but she did her best.

Other Comments:
Resort credit is a joke. It should be advertised as resort discount coupons. At every other resort the resorts credits were 100.00 to 200.00 off any service NOT a discount on services where you still have to pay a portion of the bill. Even the lobster cost $10.00 per person after the 2 $20.00 coupons for each two people.
We saw other guests checking out who were angry that the coupons did not cover the of the romantic dinner $200.00 the coupon only took $60.00 off. READ YOUR COUPONS if you do not want an unpleasant surprise at checkout.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Go somewhere else"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah  on Aug 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
236 people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to this hotel on our honeymoon a few days ago. I've stayed at all-inclusive places before, he hasn't--we did our homework and this place seemed like the nicest for the money. It wasn't. We got in around 7pm on a weekday, and waited while the bag guys drug us around with little purpose for about 40 minutes. Then we were finally allowed to check in. We had booked a Golden Suite with a king bed, and figured it should be an easy check-in (vacation purchased in full in advance, plus hotel was only at about 30% capacity), but we were very wrong. They put us into a room with two twin beds, the shower didn't work, and the outlets were hanging out of the walls. To just name a few. We promptly went BACK to the front desk (by then it had been 1.5 hours) and requested the room we paid for. Needless to say, we didn't get it. We talked to Luis (rude) and his supervisor Janet (ruder) and both suggested we either stay in the room we were already in or agree to downgrade to a lesser suite without getting our money back. When we were finally put in the room we were supposed to be in THE NEXT DAY, they acted like they were doing us a huge favor and then lost our bags in the process. Not a great way to start the honeymoon. We tipped everyone and received pretty poor service. Food was mediocre at best, the best being the dinner restaurant Ginger. We did meet some nice people, but they all had worse stories than us about the resort. Stay somewhere else. Please.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awful service"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lilia  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
269 people found this review helpful

We went to this hotel with my husband. A beautiful place, excellent hotel, but service is awful. For 7 days we paid for the room 5 thousand dollars (diamond suit). They forgot to warn that almost at all restaurants they have a dress code (casual elegance), thus that they have not the slightest idea about style. We were turn out one of the restaurants when we already began to eat the first dish and drank wine because my husband has his one sleeve on the shirt shorter than another (this shirt of a non-standard cut of the known European fashion designer). Thus men in shorts sat nearby, his style was OK by the mind of the "local couturier".
We tried to talk to the manager of hotel, invited him next day to a reception, have waited for 20 minutes, it hasn't come.
Besides, they turn out everybody from the sea at 5.30 p.m. because of unknown reason.
Such a “wonderful”rest for 5.000 dollars.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware!!!"

Valentin Imperial Maya
User Rating:  Valentin Imperial Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Crystal  on Feb 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
283 people found this review helpful

First let me say that my stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya was in July 2009. I have been trying to rectify some of the wrong-doings ever since (I have given them a year and a half in hopes of repairing my opinion of them) and I have finally reached the point where I am now setting out to warn people about my experience with this resort. So many things when wrong. First, my family and I wrote several emails to book the wedding, getting absolutely no reply. Finally, my uncle translated one of the emails to Spanish and then we got a reply in English. When we got to the hotel, they messed up our reservation. Rather than getting the nice King-sized bed that we reserved for our honeymoon, they gave boyfriend/fiancée of 9 years and I a room with two small beds. They did end up moving us to an new room but it was a pain and they moved us to a high traffic area. The resort is supposed to be 18+ but we saw little kids on the grounds.

The food in the specialty restaurants was good but the buffet breakfast was scary. The eggs were slimy and the bacon was so overcooked that it crumbled.

Finally, the wedding day came and the flowers that we ordered did not arrive. The Valentin's wedding planner frantically picked flowers from around the resort (which was sweet) but they were all brown and shriveled. The wedding (at sunrise) went well except the cake icing was also screwed up (though without the flowers that it was supposed to coordinate with it didn't really matter). Things were soured even more when the photographer ( Cancun Wedding Photography, Michael Maurus) that the Valentin recommended didn't give us half of the photo package that we paid for!!! I tried to have the hotel persuade the photographer to complete the transaction and also wanted to warn them to not recommend him any longer. I have emailed the photographer so many times I have lost count. I am still being ignored.

I will forever warn people against going to this resort and especially about getting married there.

Rooms:
Clean, pretty, mini bar was well stocked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Most of the beach is rocky and that made for some beautiful tidal pools. It also seems to be popular with the turtles.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube