Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Reviews

Home page > Panama > Panama Hotel Index > Royal Decameron Costa Blanca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Panama Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Playa Blanca

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2012

Contadora Resort

2.5 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2004

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca  

Avenida Principal, Playa Blanca, Panama

"Definitely not a 4 star."
Posted by: Darlene on Apr 4, 2012
see all reviews

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Reviews
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Pictures and Information
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Panama Panama

#1
of 9 Hotels in Panama

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Information


Royal Decameron Golf Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers a traditional All Inclusive experience and more.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Reviews

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  22
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 37

"Definitely not a 4 star."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Apr 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

My spouse and I made our trip to Panama 27 Feb-5 Mar 2012. We enjoyed Panama very much. The weather was awesome, about 30-32 celius and sunny every day we were there. Can't say the same about the resort or with the Nolitour organization of our trip. The bus ride to the resort was 2 1/2 hours, which I really wouldn't have minded except there was no toilet on the bus and they had nothing on board to drink. Usually, especially with such a long bus ride and after a 5 1/2 hour plane ride, they would have complimentary juice, water, pop or beer. Nope not this trip. The bus ride back to the airport was even worse as we had to change the bus we first got on because the luggage wasn't on it. Then instead of moving the luggage to our bus they had all the passengers move onto the bus the luggage was on. Not very customer friendly. Then the bus broke down a half hour out and we had to wait for another bus, then move the luggage and pax on that the new (very old) bus. Keeping in mind no water,juice, or toilet on the highway in 30 degree temps. The Nolitour rep was no help and had no organization skills. He never once let the pax know what was happening.
Our room was quite worn and could have used a little updating. We were in a room with two double beds that sagged in the middle and were very uncomfortable. The air conditioner wasn't working correctly and sounded like a train going through the room. Bathroom and shower were updated and very nice and big. We immediately went to the lobby and requested a new room but they stated they could do nothing that night but come back tomorrow. To make a long story short, we ended up going back and forth to the lobby for three days before they finally moved us to a room with a king bed and a quiet air conditioner. The new room was nice but we had young adults in the room next door and believe me we heard every word and action, if you know what I mean. We brought ear plugs with us and put those in when we were sleeping.
The beach area was awesome!!!! The beach was big, clean and the water was beautiful. The beach area was the best part of the whole resort. The resort lay out was nice, but none of the lobby bars were open during the day, only the pool bars were. The pools did not open up until 10:00am and closed at 5:00pm! Food was okay, even the a la cartes were nothing special. We have travelled all over the world, staying in accomodations rating from 2-5 star and this resort may be a 3. Not up to the Decameron standard. Will return to Panama some day but never to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Resort, could be anywhere"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Valleyguy  on Apr 1, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
209 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful week at the Royal Decameron. The resort is very visually appealing, and although quite long and large (820 rooms), it was well laid out and fairly easy to get around (if you do not have any mobility issues). First I should declare my bias, the only other southern destination my wife and I have been to Cuba. We have been there 12 times to 9 different resorts, so obviously we love Cuba and making any comparisons will be unavoidable. However, as we were visiting Toronto we chose a destination we can’t get to from Halifax.

We chose the Royal Decameron based on its reviews and price, and most of the reviews are reasonable accurate. The initial bus ride to the resort is fairly long ~ 2 hours (we had to contend with late rush hour in Panama), I think that had I not been forewarned about the long ride, bladder issues might have been a concern, as there was no stop or offer of a stop enroute. However, I am certain that if someone asked they would have stopped.

Room Number:
4414

Room Block:
44

Arrival:
The organization of the Air Transat/Decameron staff cannot be faulted. From the time you leave the airport the buses are on a load and go basis, the check in was quick and easy (of course, putting that first drink in your hand helps!!). Once you get your bags to the bus, they are delivered to your room either while you have a late dinner or once you have arrived at your room. We arrived in time to have a quick bite and could have still seen most of the evening show, but chose to explore a little first.

Rooms:
We were given Room 4414, which for us was a great location (although that can be a very subjective think based on mobility and individual priorities. It was a ground floor room (we usually prefer an upper story room) which was the first building next to Lobby # 3. We had a short walk, down the steep hill to the Pacifiko buffet; a view of the ocean (due to being higher up on the resort); and an added bonus was that the Lobby 3 bar was just a few steps from our patio (although it was quiet and private).
The room itself was large enough for us with 2 double beds, table and 2 chairs, a daybed, desk and stool, and TV. The bathroom had a large tile shower and was very clean and no water issues other than a slight variation in water temperatures at peak times.

Restaurants and Bars:
There is no shortage of bars or restaurants on this resort. There are 3 buffets and 7 ala cartes, we chose the Thai, Japanese and Mediterranean. The food at the ala cartes was good but not what we had expected from an ala carte experience. Our previous experience has been that the ala carte is treated more like a table d’hôte/prix fixe, where you chose all your courses from the menu and they are served to you. At the Decameron, only the main course is served and the rest is buffet style. In addition, there was no (or very little) attempt to create any atmosphere for the theme, i.e. staff dress, decoration, music, etc. (the one exception was actually in the buffet, when the staff wore black cowboy hats for 70’s night!). Therefore, while the food was good and different from the main buffets, there was little effort in making the experience “special”, and could otherwise have been a night at the buffet. Of the 3 buffets, we only had 2 quick breakfasts at the Panamai because it was farthest away from our room and it was open earlier on the 2 days we had excursions. We had dinner at either the Alantis or Pacifiko based on the theme for the buffet on the night (the information was posted in the 3 lobbies); our only mistake was choosing the 70’s night at the Pacifiko. We varied where we had lunch as there did not seem to be much difference, only there was more choice at the buffets. The food was good, variety was reasonable, basic buffet fare. The one real disappointment (and this again is subjective and my resort treat) was the quality and style of pizza offered. The concern for cleanliness and hygiene was obvious due to all female staff wearing hairnets (both kitchen and dining room staff), there were fewer opportunities for guests to service themselves, i.e. ice cream was served to you, and there was always someone sweeping the floors in the guest areas. There were some interesting fruits and juices we had not seen before but otherwise most of the food was normal buffet style, i.e. last night’s roast pig was today’s ham salad, etc. One of the main differences we noticed from Cuba, we feel, is based on Decameron being a Colombian company and most of the Cuban resorts are managed by Spanish or Italian companies.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One of our favourite features of this resort is the layout of the beach with the pools spreading parallel to the beach. You are able to sit either at the pool or on the beach and still use either without relocating. In addition, the number of bars along the beach/pool area is great. You are never far from a bar or toilet, so juice, beer and rum are easily available. Unfortunately, there is only one swim-up bar and it is not a true swim-up as there are no stools, it is really just a bar placed next to a pool. It was located at the adult pool, which was farther from the beach, it was difficult to get a seat and quite loud. Fortunately, we were always able to find shade both at the pool and on the beach, it may not have been exactly where we would have liked but shade was available. Even when all the palapas were taken there were the tent-like shelters, which provided shade but could be hotter due to lack of breeze. We avoided playing the “towel game” the first few mornings but found to get a decent spot you had to reserve the lounger; there are signs saying that items will be removed from loungers after 90 minutes, but I can’t imagine who keeps track. For me, one big plus was the availability of chairs on the beach and at the pools as an alternative to the loungers.

The beach itself is very long and wide, however, it is a mixture of white and black sand and the surf can be very strong. We did not attempt to swim or venture too far into the surf due to concern for an undertow and the occasional jellyfish. Again in fairness, I am not a real beach person and therefore my opinion should be taken with a pinch of sand! You are able to walk the beach west past the village and some beach houses and I was told by one fellow that he turned back after 1 ½ hours. There are a few condos very close to the resort on the beach.

The pools were clean and inviting with a number of shallow areas for lying in a lounger in the water, however, none of the pools we were in were very deep. On more than one occasion, I heard a lifeguard stopping an adult from carrying a drink in the pool. Speaking of lifeguards, it seemed there was one at every pool and several along the beach, making it very child friendly (maybe drunk friendly too!).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are many excursions offered by their own Tour company, “Decameron Explorer”. We enjoyed the Partial Canal Transit, which after the 2 hour drive to Panama City (and a 06:00 start), involved an ~ 5 boat ride through 2 sets of locks to the Gamboa Rainforest area. They provide a light breakfast and lunch on the boat. It was very interesting and informative, and despite rumours, you don’t have to get a tattoo for transiting the canal (that’s for crossing the Equator).

The other excursion we took was the ½ day tour of Anton Valley. It is a ¾ hour drive into a 30 million year old volcanic crater. You visit a zoo for rescued animals, have a short walk through the rainforest, and have time in the only town in the world within a crater to look in the craft market. We went on Sunday when the local market is on as well. We felt both excursions were worth the price and it got you out to see some of the country.
For activities on the resort, my wife enjoyed a few of the dance lessons, and felt they had been the best of any resort we have been to. The beach volleyball looked to be popular but otherwise we did not participate in any of the poolside activities. However, the activities were a lot quieter than any Cuban resort. The multiple pools made a big difference for that sort of thing.

We went to the night show every night. They start a bit later at 21:45 but those that used professional Panamanian talent were excellent. My wife claimed that the dancers were as good as or better than ones we have seen in Cuba (although I missed sizzle). The audience participation shows, i.e. Best Couple, Miss Decameron, where actually tastefully done and you didn’t feel embarrassed for the participants. However, with the exception of an Ecuadorian flute player (and you can see them in any city of the world) and a guitar player playing classic rock, there was no live music anywhere on the resort.

Other Comments:
Overall this is a great resort, it is well laid out with great views. It was clean and efficient and the staff is professional and competent. We never felt compelled to tip staff and the service was good whether you tipped or not. I generally only tipped when I had received excellent service (in comparison to similar occasions on the resort) or on my 3rd visit to the same bartender.

If you want a wonderful resort for a wonderful resort’s sake, then you can’t do much better than the Royal Decameron. However, my major complaint is that this resort could have been anywhere the sun shines. With the odd exception, unless you left the resort you would not even know you were in Panama. There was no soul to the resort, which can be attributed to all or most resort locations, but for all the complaints and criticisms of Cuban resorts, at least they make sure you know you are in Cuba, with music and general atmosphere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Girls trip a Success"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chelsea  on Mar 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Party | With Group
255 people found this review helpful

This Resort was a blast. There were certainly some cons, however in all my travel I have yet to get to resort that there is not something you can find wrong with it. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. The drinks were plentiful and kept coming. My girlfriends and I were making up drinks that were not on the menu and the bar tenders were always fun and patient with us, and joked with us. The fact that the currency is american generally made it very easy. Our room was always clean, the staff in the rooms worked around all of our stuff strewn around the room very well. We all went for a spa treatment and the spa staff is some of the most well trained I've come across in carribean countries. The buffet food sucked but there was without a doubt stuff you could fill up on and all of the resaurants were easy to book into and very good! Except for the steak house, but I come from Alberta, hard to beat. And if you are sick of the food head on down to Woodys beach bar! Just down the beach. Great canadian food and beer! And amazing staff. We spent lots of time there and loved every minute. The only other thing I did not like is the actual loaction of the resort, it was very far away from the city or various excursions, but that was fine, we just stayed drinking and tanning instead! And lastly, yes there was alot of locals kicking around the resort, but I dont see how when you visit another counrty, anyone would be upset about meeting local people. All in all it was great, we had a blast, and it was cheap! Have fun!

Arrival:
Drinks upon arrival! Good staff

Rooms:
Clean and kept.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of them, all pretty good! GO TO WOODYS BEACH BAR!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lots of pools, AMAZING Trees on grounds!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Place is great! Just can't believe the bad reviews"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barry  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from 11 days at the RoyalDeCameron-Feb 22-Mar 4/2012. It really was great. Nice beach, 6-8 super pools,2 beautiful buffets with huge quantities of very good, but not great food, so much wonderful fresh local fruit, all the liquor in fresh tropical juice mix, and free passable wine(as much as wanted) at dinner. Weather was never less than hot and sunny. Most of the complaints are just plain stupid. 68 stairs to the ocean-waa waa Too hot in your room, turn off the a.c. Drinks watered down-our coco-loco's had 3-4 oz of rum in them, 2-3 oz mix. Cripes, just how strong do you mix your drinks at home? We always ordered an extra virgin coco loco to dilute our drinks to a human level. Perhaps that is what an occasional $1.00 tip will do! Not all was perfect. This is the tropics-beef is at best passable-enjoy the local fare. Pork & fish always super, pallea good, chicken usually in a tomato sauce-iffy if u no like that, tons of extras-pastas,sausages, hamburgers for lunch, (breakfasts too good too much to be true) etc. Yes the cheese and cold cut appetizers were at best okay, pasta okay too, but the Civechi(marinated seafood) super. Pizza does need improving. Other dining rooms were okay but not super except for Mogo Mogo, Panami and the Barbaque place we thought good. People, learn to tip for that EXTRA service. A couple of bucks got the 2 of us 5 towels plus 2 beach towels. Yes certain guests get up at 630 AM and claim umbrella spots-same everywhere. Franco-Canadians were a bonus, not an USA, it is the tropics-different specialities. Tours from here were a reasonable price given the long bus rides. Check out independent prices from Panama-same or higher. We did El Valle on our own-cost us more but we did get one extra hike. Very reasonable price BUT NOT SANDALS resort. We will return! Staff always friendly
Barry & Marlene-Winnipeg

Room Number:
1920

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
2012-02-22, 9:30 pm

Rooms:
2 double beds

Restaurants and Bars:
our fave-Mogo Mogo then Panami(itaian place)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
none better

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
drinking,eating and tanning

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Panama Experience (seasoned travellers"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  greg  on Feb 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
287 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying boo hoo to the people that only got towels and no face towels. Wow, that is what u base your whole experience on? You should be ashamed of yourselves, are you teenagers? We got out and saw the country and used the hotel as a base to sleep, beach, eat and generally relax. GREAT PLACE! Nice beach , clean and the water was gorgeous. The hotel was very clean in all aspects. Food was generous( do not forget you did not pay 2000$ each to stay here. We booked w/ Tripcentral and paid 1800.00 for a couple. I will say that the staff went out of their way to help even though I speak a little spanish , they were always polite. Our room was cleaned on schedule and we slept well on the comfortable king bed. Entertainment was okay! but the disco was great. Good music and a happy place to be. Swimming pools were spotless and rather warm to lay in. Security was like i have never seen. Quiet at night and safe. I urge you to rent a car and venture out. We put on approx. 600 km's and NEVER felt at RISK. I am cautious, dont get me wrong, WE WILL RETURN some day and hopefully spend our retirement years there.

Room Number:
3307

Arrival:
Good , except we arrived at night. VERY organized in receiving us.

Rooms:
Clean and comfortable cool to sleep. Flat screen TV, english channels

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of food, YOU will not go hungry, you will always have variety unless you are a little princess. LOL

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Said it before 9/10

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Travelled to Porto Bello and Panama City and El Valle. Gorgeous mountain town that El Valle. Panome. Get out and just be polite with people. That is my motto. Be kind to others, YOU ARE IN THEIR COUNTRY NOW.

Other Comments:
Been to Mexico, Jamaica, Punta Cana, Puerto Plata, Cuba,and Argentina

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Royal Decameron Resort, Panama"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Dec 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
269 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just spent a week at the Royal Decameron. We thought it was one of the nicest resorts we have been too. It is spread out over a long beach. The pools and the connecting canals were beautiful. It is very lush and green with lots of flowers and trees with bananas & cocunuts. There were plenty of lounge chairs pool side and some in the shallow water of the canals. Great on hot weather days or if you have small children where you can lounge in the water as they play near by. You never had to save a chair which we hate at resorts as there were plenty, Similarly at the beach and lots of canopies. The beach was very long. We like to take long walks but never did reach the end. The rooms were average so don't expect great luxury there but they were clean and our king bed room was spacious. Oh yes, and freah bottled water every day without asking. That was just a nice added touch as in Mexico and Cuba you had to buy it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Loved the layout of the restaurants and the quality of the food especially seafood was very good. So many choices we never got to enjoy all of them. In the evening there was a trio (singer, guitarist, bongos) at the Mediterranean cafe. We enjoyed our evenings with a drink and listening to lovely music before bed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Panama Canal, really a must if you are going to Panama. We did a split with 5 days at the resort and last 2 nights in Panama City. You can do the Canal tour and they arrange for drop of to the Radisson Decropolis so it was a really great way to maximize travel time. Radisson was a very nice hotel too, rooms there were a little more upscale then the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unfriendly, uncomfortable and highly over-rated"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robin  on Dec 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
256 people found this review helpful

In all my travels, which are extensive, I have never felt so uncomfortable in a resort (Nov 2011). The only redeeming qualities of this establishment were the beach, ocean and well-kept grounds (albeit they strictly enforced their “stay off the lawn” policy). We upgraded to an oceanfront room. I had three warm showers in 11 days; never had a full complement of towels; I watched the black mould grow in my shower, had a twin bed that was like sleeping on plywood (my husband's bed was broken); the air conditioner had one temperature - frigid; and, daily, the staff rifled through our belongings. We were kept up by rancorous shouting, partying and yelling throughout the night including the security staff and other employees.
The resort sells day passes to the locals, and particularly on the weekends was overwrought with ill-mannered, rude children and adolescents; and condescending Spanish-speaking people. Most staff members were not much better (three exceptions in 11 days). I quit handing out tips as the staff would grab the money and not even smile (let alone say thank you). One can forgive a lot if you see the staff putting in extra effort. This was not the case. Do not expect good customer service or warm hospitality from this Royal Decameron.
The food was sub-standard; the presentation was poor; the most appealing food was the watermelon, poached eggs and rice pudding. Many Spanish-speaking patrons had no respect for line-ups of any sort, and often cut in front with no regard to those in line. At my final meal there was a 2 year old running around only in his diaper, yelling at the top of his lungs; and a dozen other youngsters literally jostling me as I dined.
I would never return, and strongly suggest you consider another resort, if not another country, for your vacation. And yes, November is still rainy season, in spite of what your travel agent may say.

Room Block:
31

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
All off site activities hours away and expensive for what you got. Recommend renting a car from National Car Rental near lobby 1.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Caos no hotel decameron royal do panama"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  joao  on Oct 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
244 people found this review helpful

Estive hospedado no hotel em setembro, os aptos são em pequenos blocos e foi-me imposto um no terceiro piso (haja escada). No interior do mesmo não havia frigobar, não havia controle para regulagem do ar condicionado (fixo em 26 graus, tornando-o uma sauna). Cobraram-me uma taxa, sem prévio aviso, de US$21,00 pelo uso do cofre. Quando das chuvas tínhamos que ir sob água até o restaurante, onde chegávamos encharcados. Uma praia sem nada de especial. Apesar de proibido o uso do tabaco nas dependências dos bares (placas escassas e mal situadas), havia fumante vontade contando com a complacência dos funcionários ( simpáticos por sinal). Na saída tive que esperar mais de quarenta minutos para que alguém pegasse minha bagagem, já estava alojado acerca de quatrocentos metros do lobby. Os restaurantes, tumultuadíssimos, serviam não mais que cinco tipo de alimentos excetuando as saladas, sobremesa precária...enfim, um caos.

Room Number:
01

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
27/09/2011

Restaurants and Bars:
enlameados com as chuvas

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
algumas piscinas interditadas após a chuva

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will definitely NOT go back"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on Jun 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
344 people found this review helpful

Previous Travels: Belgium, France, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Italy, Austria, Spain, Thailand, Cambodia, Maldives, Greece, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Cuba, Jamaica, Aruba, St. Martins and Grenada.

Ages in our party: 44,33,19,19

You have a 2 hour transfer from the airport. This is well organized as is the arrival at the hotel. Our luggage was delivered to our room without any complications.

Rooms:
Simple.
We were only given 3 regular size towels each day - no facecloths, no hand towels, no bathmat.
Very unclean - sinks were never cleaned. Showers were ok. Toilets were very dirty and hardwater stained to a dark gray.

Airconditioner was on the noise level of a lawnmower. The rooms really echoed and had no sound barriers so you constantly heard the people above and beside your room.

We had an ocean front and our boys had ocean view rooms. I would not recommend paying extra for an ocean front. It is not really on the ocean front and the view from the ocean view rooms was as good if not better!
We did not find the food appetizing, even the A La Carte restaurants were tasteless. Of course, it is not uncommon that resort food is bland to unappetizing.

The evening shows were in Spanish only. We speak spanish, so this was not a problem for us, but we felt it was thoughtless.
Majority of staff speak spanish only, but there are a few peppered throughout who speak english as well to help the english only tourists (when they have time). There were a few really good staff, but the majority were EXTREMELY unfriendly and not courteous.

Be very careful and make sure you take US dollars with you. Do not assume you can change money.
Their exchange rate was US$ 0.65 cents for one Canadian dollar. (the bank exchange at home was US$ 0.98 cents for one Canadian dollar.)
Credit card advance costs 10% hotel service fee.
The bank machines were always empty (probably they were just for show).
Several times the front desk had no money neither.
Loose your all inclusive band, it costs US$15.00
Loose your safe key it costs US$80.00
Loose your room key it costs US$35.00
A second key, you must leave a cash deposit of US$15.00
A safe key, you must leave a cash deposit of US$35.00
Loose your towel card - cost US$20.00
Internet US$15.00 for 24 hours (own computer - only one wi-fi device at a time)
and so on.....

The disco is really fabulous. Lots of people and energy. Weekends is a little too full and getting a drink at any point in time is a challenge. Generally he who screams the loudest wins.

Non-motorized watersports are included in your stay. Excursions are extra and expensive.
Security staff is everywhere

Room Number:
1231 & 1606

Room Block:
12 & 16

Arrival:
You have a 2 hour transfer from the airport. This is well organized as is the arrival at the hotel. Our luggage was delivered to our room without any complications.

Rooms:
Simple.
No irons
No kleenex
No conditioner
No cream
Soap is not refilled many days.
They seem to have a problem with towels - we were only given 3 regular size towels each day - no facecloths, no hand towels, no bathmat.
The rooms were very unclean - sinks were never cleaned. After 2 days we put a dab of mascara on the sink to see if it would be cleaned - it was still there on our 7th day! Showers were ok. Toilets were very dirty and hardwater stained to a dark gray.
Airconditioner was on the noise level of a lawnmower. Once you were used to it, it was ok. It helped drown out the loud noise level of neighboring rooms and outside. The rooms really echoed and had no sound barriers so you constantly heard the people above and beside your room.
We had an ocean front and our boys had ocean view rooms. I would not recommend paying extra for an ocean front. It is not really on the ocean front and the view from the ocean view rooms was as good if not better!

Restaurants and Bars:
This is an "All Inclusive" hotel boasting several restaurants and bars.
We did not find the food appetizing. There were 3 buffets and the food was the same everywhere. They supposedly had different themes in the different restauraunts, but that would be 3 disshes different (and terrible) to create the theme. Of course, it is not uncommon that resort food is bland to unappetizing. The drink service at the buffets was fast and courteous.

Even the A La Carte restaurants were tasteless. Service was poor, unfriendly and extremely slow.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had a lot of fun at the beach. The pools and grounds were beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good and Bad"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
380 people found this review helpful

First the good..beautiful hot weather, beach fantastic, all resturants were okay although the buffet's were somewhat the same food every day. Very polite and friendly staff in all respects. English is not spoken much. Entertainment (dancers) in evening at Lobby 1 we could not speak more highly of. So much enthusiasm. We were there for our 42 anniversary and had requested a king size bed (nothing more). They took us to three different rooms all with double beds, finally we accepted that was what we were going to get in the Villa's. Golf was a highlight and the Villa's were around the golf course. I am blond and my dear husband has little hair at all. One evening after spending a day in the fun and sun we came back to our villa to hop in the shower and there was a mound (yes a mound) of long black hair. We told the reception and the only other one who has access to the room is housekeeping so it appeared one of them had had a shower in our unit. Not happy at all! When they say 2 - 2 1/ 2 hour ride (actually closer to 3 hours) from the airport to the resort is very true. The hotel and villa's are old and quite small. There was mold on the bottom of our shower curtain which housekeeping did not try to remove. Lots and lots of pool's and resturants and bar's, all very acessable. From Vancouver it is a very, very long plane ride.

Room Number:
52-2

Arrival:
January 18 - 25, 2011

Rooms:
Old, moldy smell, small

Restaurants and Bars:
All great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excellent

Other Comments:
The shuttle service between the villa's and the lobby's and resturants was great and friendly

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube