Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Reviews

Home page > Panama > Panama Hotel Index > Royal Decameron Costa Blanca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Panama Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Playa Blanca

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2012

Contadora Resort

2.5 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2004

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca  

Avenida Principal, Playa Blanca, Panama

"Definitely not a 4 star."
Posted by: Darlene on Apr 4, 2012
see all reviews

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Reviews
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Pictures and Information
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Panama Panama

#1
of 9 Hotels in Panama

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Information


Royal Decameron Golf Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers a traditional All Inclusive experience and more.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Reviews

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  22
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Solo
With friend
31 - 37 of 37

"Our first trip to Panama and no regrets."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff from Ottawa  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
183 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 9 - March 16
Arrived at Panama City airport around midday and entrance to country was fast and smooth. Tour company representatives made transition of luggage easy and bus was waiting. The 2 hour bus ride was very interesting as a tour of the country side with the only downside being the guide only spoke French as we took the trip out of Montreal. This was a very minor inconvenience. Arrival at the hotel was very smooth also.

Rooms
Rooms are medium sized and very clean. We booked an Ocean view room and it was well worth the extra $40 per person. Rooms have safe ($2/day) for key and we rented a mini fridge for $3/day which was a great convenience as it gave us the means for cold drinking water at any time.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet restaurants were okay with different themes at each Buffet every night. They included wine or beer with each meal and servers were very nice. We booked a few nights at a la carte restaurants and they were good too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is very clean and had lots of lounge chairs. There are many pools with most of them next to a bar or restaurant. Everyone working in the bars, restaurants and pool areas were extremely friendly and though most did not speak a lot of English they all made an extreme effort to communicate. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular and well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went on the tour to El Valle Anton which is a city built in the crater of an inactive volcano. It was a good trip and the trip to the Panama Canal and Panama City was worth the effort. Tours were a bit expensive but were well done. We found the nightly shows at the amphitheatre a bit loud but there was a small band playing Spanish music at one of the beach bars each night and that was more to our liking.

Other Comments
This was our first trip to Panama and we had no regrets about going. Everything at the Royal Decameron was first class and we never felt any threat or danger on the entire trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, an amazing trip."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie from Toronto  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
181 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 13 - 20
Arrival was eventful, due to delay at the airport. Otherwise, be prepared for the 2 hour bus ride, but very informative and a quick stop for washroom break & drinks. Check in was quick. Bring a change of clothes as the luggage arrives at least an hour after you do!

Rooms
Clean and spacious. Definitely recommend a beachfront hotel room - less stairs to walk multiple times throughout the day.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffets are okay, sometimes good sometimes not the best. A la Cartes - El Cayuco - recommend the Beef Steak. Italian & Thai are both really good. Heard that El Canal (seafood) is also very good. Bars were good - variety of drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pools and grounds are amazing. Very clean and well kept. Have to get there early to get a covered table by the pool. But plenty of palapas and covered areas on the beach. Careful....the sand is very very hot!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Renting seadoos is a must - lots of fun! Went on the Ecocanal tour and absolutely enjoyed it. If you love nature, definitely recommend it. Friends did Panama Canal & City tour and said it was well worth it. If you are into birdwatching, that tour is beautiful as you go up a mountain and it is breathtaking.

Other Comments
Overall, an amazing trip. Do recommend protecting in the sun. Even if its cloudy or in the shade, you will still tan or burn!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you are looking for Paradise, this is it."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Betty from Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
184 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 23 to Mar 9
it was a long drive from the airport but the busses were waiting for us when we arrived and were comfortable and in good condition. We were given a choice of a soft drink or a beer as we boarded the bus.

Rooms
the rooms were nothing fancy but spotlessly clean.

Restaurants and Bars
the buffets left a little to be desired, there was not a great selection, but what there was was very good. We went to 5 of the specialty restaurants and the only one we didn't go to twice was the cayuco. The Kontiki was our favourite but the steaks were good in most of them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the beach was good, with lots of shade and we never had a problem finding a cabana or a thatched roof to sit under. The grounds are absolutely beautifull, and very well kept. All the pools are great we liked the one at the sushi bar best because it never got too busy.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
no the only place we went was to a shopping town about 1/2 hou on the local bus. there is as much or as little as you want to do. I really enjoyed the casino, am going to have to go back to visit the money I left there.

Other Comments
If you are looking for Paradise, this is it. I read a lot of reviews before I went and can't understand the people who gave this resort a bad one. We were there for the second time and met people who were there for the 6th time so that has to tell you something about the resort. bettyboop3913@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic resort but needs improvements."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Karen from Oshawa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
190 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 19 - 26
bus ride long but enjoyable.

Rooms:
Not what we expected for the money we paid. Not overly clean. Showers had no pressure. No face cloths, no tissues, ran out of toilet paper, only 1 drinking glass.

Restaurants and Bars:
bars need more bartenders who spoke English and also should have been more friendly. Would like to have had more seafood and beef in rests. Lacked variety of food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were beautiful, pools exquisite, beach great. Adult only pool stil had young children using it. Should have horse manure cleaned often instead of being buried in the sand by handlers. Vendors on beach should use "inside voices"

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took other tours not from resort due to high prices.

Other Comments:
Found many people very pushy, shovey, and rude at bars, restaurants, and shows. Must have gone at bad travel time. Need more English at shows so we could understand theme nights. Resort should be more accessible for those with disabilities. Need more computers for internet users. Fantastic resort but needs improvements. Panama is a beautiful country and I will return but at a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An excellent place to spend a couple of weeks."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doug and Pauline  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
171 people found this review helpful

Date of visit: Dec 1-15/08

We had read many of the reviews prior to departing for the resort, and thank the authors very much for their contributions. Despite the, by definition, subjective views of each of the reviews, it is FAR better to go prepared, than to run across something that someone else had found long ago, but which was not reported. And better to hear that the food is bad, from a few, and to find out it met our palette very nicely, than the reverse ...
With that in mind, then we offer our own personal comments about the Royal Decameron, and the support services offered through our local booking agent, Nolitours, and Ait Transat. Briefly, to deal with all of those before commenting on the resort itself:

* our local booking agent was in fact an online travel service, and I think we got the best rate possible. It was less than Nolitours itself offered, and what I got by calling was better than what they offered on their website … so, don't always believe anything that folks say – it does not hurt to check a 1-800 number if they have it

*Nolitours: “ trying to book with them in advance, by internet, and then by phone, was exactly what they said on the website – might have done with them had we not first checked out the other one noted above (but heck, the price difference was only $30 per person, so no great shakes either way.) At the resort, we found that the Nolitours folks were always available – they could not make miracles happen, but it was apparent that they were there to help when required and feasible (eg., a French-speaking person needed help at the medical centre with the doctors who could not speak French). (One additional note that does not quite fit here, but we found out too late: it appears that if you want to do the two-hotel split [more details later], it needs to be done in advance, and I believe only possible through Nolitours directly – we tried to do this while there, and there was no possibility.)

* Air Transat: A good-enough airline, full plane, normal airline service (ie., these days, ie., nothing special, nothing tragic) – staff were friendly enough, check-in was painless enough. Only anomaly of note was that the check-in to return found our bags to be in total 3 kilos over the limit (and which would have been an additional $30) – we found this odd, due to the fact that such was not the case on departing, and our “leaving behind” weight was almost equivalent to our “going home weight” [suitcases, I mean – body weight was somewhat different]. So, we quickly removed a couple of items from the suitcases, and they got down to proper weight .. but that would have been an unplanned expense – making the few souvenirs very expensive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An excellent place to spend a couple of weeks."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doug and Pauline  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
171 people found this review helpful

Date of visit: Dec 1-15/08

We had read many of the reviews prior to departing for the resort, and thank the authors very much for their contributions. Despite the, by definition, subjective views of each of the reviews, it is FAR better to go prepared, than to run across something that someone else had found long ago, but which was not reported. And better to hear that the food is bad, from a few, and to find out it met our palette very nicely, than the reverse ...
With that in mind, then we offer our own personal comments about the Royal Decameron, and the support services offered through our local booking agent, Nolitours, and Ait Transat. Briefly, to deal with all of those before commenting on the resort itself:

* our local booking agent was in fact an online travel service, and I think we got the best rate possible. It was less than Nolitours itself offered, and what I got by calling was better than what they offered on their website … so, don't always believe anything that folks say – it does not hurt to check a 1-800 number if they have it

*Nolitours: “ trying to book with them in advance, by internet, and then by phone, was exactly what they said on the website – might have done with them had we not first checked out the other one noted above (but heck, the price difference was only $30 per person, so no great shakes either way.) At the resort, we found that the Nolitours folks were always available – they could not make miracles happen, but it was apparent that they were there to help when required and feasible (eg., a French-speaking person needed help at the medical centre with the doctors who could not speak French). (One additional note that does not quite fit here, but we found out too late: it appears that if you want to do the two-hotel split [more details later], it needs to be done in advance, and I believe only possible through Nolitours directly – we tried to do this while there, and there was no possibility.)

* Air Transat: A good-enough airline, full plane, normal airline service (ie., these days, ie., nothing special, nothing tragic) – staff were friendly enough, check-in was painless enough. Only anomaly of note was that the check-in to return found our bags to be in total 3 kilos over the limit (and which would have been an additional $30) – we found this odd, due to the fact that such was not the case on departing, and our “leaving behind” weight was almost equivalent to our “going home weight” [suitcases, I mean – body weight was somewhat different]. So, we quickly removed a couple of items from the suitcases, and they got down to proper weight .. but that would have been an unplanned expense – making the few souvenirs very expensive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An excellent place to spend a couple of weeks."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doug and Pauline  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
171 people found this review helpful

Date of visit: Dec 1-15/08

We had read many of the reviews prior to departing for the resort, and thank the authors very much for their contributions. Despite the, by definition, subjective views of each of the reviews, it is FAR better to go prepared, than to run across something that someone else had found long ago, but which was not reported. And better to hear that the food is bad, from a few, and to find out it met our palette very nicely, than the reverse ...
With that in mind, then we offer our own personal comments about the Royal Decameron, and the support services offered through our local booking agent, Nolitours, and Ait Transat. Briefly, to deal with all of those before commenting on the resort itself:

* our local booking agent was in fact an online travel service, and I think we got the best rate possible. It was less than Nolitours itself offered, and what I got by calling was better than what they offered on their website … so, don't always believe anything that folks say – it does not hurt to check a 1-800 number if they have it

*Nolitours: “ trying to book with them in advance, by internet, and then by phone, was exactly what they said on the website – might have done with them had we not first checked out the other one noted above (but heck, the price difference was only $30 per person, so no great shakes either way.) At the resort, we found that the Nolitours folks were always available – they could not make miracles happen, but it was apparent that they were there to help when required and feasible (eg., a French-speaking person needed help at the medical centre with the doctors who could not speak French). (One additional note that does not quite fit here, but we found out too late: it appears that if you want to do the two-hotel split [more details later], it needs to be done in advance, and I believe only possible through Nolitours directly – we tried to do this while there, and there was no possibility.)

* Air Transat: A good-enough airline, full plane, normal airline service (ie., these days, ie., nothing special, nothing tragic) – staff were friendly enough, check-in was painless enough. Only anomaly of note was that the check-in to return found our bags to be in total 3 kilos over the limit (and which would have been an additional $30) – we found this odd, due to the fact that such was not the case on departing, and our “leaving behind” weight was almost equivalent to our “going home weight” [suitcases, I mean – body weight was somewhat different]. So, we quickly removed a couple of items from the suitcases, and they got down to proper weight .. but that would have been an unplanned expense – making the few souvenirs very expensive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Not recommended for people with restricted mobility”"

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra & Byerbill from Brighton  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
211 people found this review helpful

Our Arrival:
This was the first trip that my wife and I (mid 60’s) had taken to Panama. We were pleasantly surprised at the spacious seats on our Air Transat Airbus 300 for the 5 hour flight from Toronto.

Panama airport clearance was fast and efficient. Nolitours had several reps to meet our plane at the airport. The hotel had its own table next to the baggage carousel. Here they handed you a brown envelope with resort info and tie-on baggage tags (with your room number), a resort map, and other information. After tying these tags to your own bags you move them to a nearby coral at the far side of the room where they are loaded on a truck for the resort. Next time you saw our bags they are at our room.

A couple of hundred feet further there is a bus awaiting with a refreshing complimentary ice cold can of water, beer or pop. The first hour of our bus trip a guide gave us an informative narration of what we were seeing as we drove along. After a short washroom break the second hour on our bus trip we saw a narrated video of our resort and tours that we could book at the hotel. Each Monday about 1,000 new guests arrive at the Decameron from Canada alone and since most arrive late afternoon the resort pre-books specialty a-la-carte restaurants for the first night’s dinner. Each bus from the airport is booked to a different restaurant.

Upon arrival at the resort there were tables outside the lobby (about 10) numbered like your coded brown envelope where you got your room keys, beach towel cards, and wrist bands. If you want a room safe key/lock go to the table at left end inside the lobby. ($2 US/Day). I prefer a second room key and this were immediately available at the main desk for a returnable $15 US deposit. The process is efficient and well organized. An informative orientation was held the next morning at the convention centre which was well presented by 8 or 9 speakers.

Rooms:
This is a very large resort with different room locations. We requested a 2nd floor beachfront room and got what we ordered. Many of the other rooms are on top of a hill which is 65 steps above the beach which seems further each time the thermometer rises. Our room (#1120) was basic but quite acceptable and near most facilities such as bars, restaurants, stage and ocean. Central air conditioning worked well. Room came with TV (limited English channels), bottled water, hair dryer, telephone, shower and room safe as well as a balcony. Our room was made up at 4:30 pm the first full day so we requested that it be made up by noon in the future. (assuring uninterrupted afternoon siesta). This was done as requested on all future days.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Atlantis and Pacifiko theme buffet restaurants are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pannamai is open as a buffet for breakfast and lunch. (becomes Italian a-la-carte at dinner). Each night the two buffet restaurants rotated menus so you could choose your favourite. (e.g.: Spanish, Caribbean)

There are several restaurants which serve as snack bars in the afternoon 12:00-4:30pm

There are eight a-la-carte restaurants each requiring advanced reservations for your choice of three evening sittings. I have photographs of these menus and have posted them about half way through my resort pictures at http://www.worldisround.com/articles/351157/index.html

Reservations can be made at any of the three lobbies or over your room phone.

1) You will be booked automatically to one a-la-carte for the night you arrive.
2) On Tuesday of your first week and on Sunday of yours second week (for 2 week stays) you may book any 3 a-la-carte restaurants in advance for each week.
3) On any day that you do not have a previous a-la-carte reservation you may book for that night only. Usually this is best done before 9am. Yes this is correct…you can eat at an a-la-carte every night of your stay. You can also book any a-la-carte restaurant more than once.

We feel that the a-la-carte food is better than the relatively limited selection at the two evening buffets. The most popular appears to be the Panammai (Italian) which fortunately is the largest.

The local beer (Balboa) is on tap at all bars and restaurants. All drinks are served in light plastic disposable cups except at restaurants and lobby bars where glass is used. This resort would be a good place to bring your own insulated mug due to high average temperatures. The Argentinean house wines served with meals were at best acceptable with the red the best in my opinion. A number of people preferred to buy their own wine locally and bought it to dinner.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
January is the dry season in Panama but there were exceptionally heavy rains in early December this year which might help explain why everything was such a magnificent green with many bushes in full floral bloom. For those of you who check Panama weather on the internet before you go don’t worry if it says rain. The resort is positioned in an area where there is seldom any rain. We saw about 45 minutes of misty rain the 2 weeks we were there. The resort is like one gigantic botanical garden with many of the trees carrying identification labels. Gardeners were everywhere as were garden watering hoses which ran 24 hours a day. Peacocks roamed free on the upper level. Birds were everywhere both on land and over the Ocean.

The resort is very large and in built in two levels on the top and bottom of a steep hill. These levels are joined by 3 roads and two sets of stairs. There are numerous pools and many of these were on the length of the beach just in from the Ocean.

The beach is among the widest that I have seen with soft light coloured sand. 20 foot tides come and go twice each day. Lifeguards man the beach and it is interesting that, likely due to the tides, the beach flags were always orange with no green ever visible. The ocean was exceptionally calm at all times due to winds blowing offshore all the time we were there.

Activities:
As well as the usual nightly shows, poolside games, golf, disco, casino, and other activities, the resort had lots for you to do. Each Monday and Wednesday night local crafters display their wares in the resort next to the Atlantis restaurant. The Decameron Explorer had tour desks in each of the three lobbies where almost 20 tours were available. Many are all-day tours as there is a two hour bus trip each way to Panama. We chose the Panama Canal Partial Transit which gave us a 4 hour trip through two sets of locks in a 300 capacity boat combined with a lunch on board. At $110 each it might have seemed expensive until you hear what it costs to take a boat through the Canal. This trip runs Friday and Saturday with alternative days going north or south. The excursion was great but I wished that we had locked with one of the larger ocean vessels instead of the smaller yacht that joined us. Such is luck of the draw. I have posted a few pictures here: http://www.worldisround.com/articles/351162/index.html After the trip we went to a duty free shop and although the prices seemed good they were actually much higher than we found at the airport later on.

Other Comments:
By traveling on a Monday instead of the weekend the airport was much less crowded. The dominant language heard among guests at this resort was French. (Montreal) with Spanish (Columbia) and English (Canada, USA) a distant third. It is truly an international resort. As Nolitours brochure clearly states “This resort is not recommended for people with restricted mobility” as the necessity of traveling between the two levels. Food was great. (especially the a-la-carts) although we found the buffet’s assortments were small for a resort of this size. This is a giant resort with a large number of guests but staff is well trained to handle large numbers of people so at no time did we fell crowded and line-ups were few and far between. You can see this from our pictures. There is a rumour that a second international airport might be built in the future nearer the resort. This would help. For those of you who smoke there is a law in Panama that limits smoking in certain areas. The resort allows smoking in two locations only: 1) On your room Balcony and 2) on the beach. ( Marlboros $19US/carton at airport duty-free) We had a great trip, met many new friends and certainly would consider returning and many people who we spoke with have already done so.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Always a smile."

Royal Decameron Costa Blanca
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Walter Blady  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
175 people found this review helpful

This year was our second winter getaway to the Royal Decameron in Panama. We did notice some changes from the previous year that degraded our experience a bit.

There were too many small trucks and vans on the path ways. Far far more than last year. The vehicle traffic was extremely heavy, and there was a constant smell of diesel fumes in the air. Quite unpleasant out of character with the beautiful and lush surroundings.

We were continually jumping out of the way of trucks. Most of these vehicles had only the driver and no load. Seemed to us that the staff were using them for personal conveyance and not for business. Bicycles make more sense. Would certainly save wear and tear on the concrete pathways.

The restaurants are now booking three seatings per night instead of two, making dining a rushed affair. We barely had time to finish our meal when we were asked to leave the table for the next seating. I understand they're trying to accommodate more people but the experience was unpleasant.

One last comment. I realize that any business should always look for revenue making opportunities. However we found it hard to understand the WiFi fee of $15 for 24 contiguous hours. I don't know anyone who would spend 24 vacation hours tied to a laptop. Twenty four any-time hours sounds more reasonable.

WiFi is pretty much offered as a free attraction by many places these days, including Woody's Beach Bar and Grill just down the beach from the Decameron. Let's face it, the cost of a wireless router is insignificant, and offering complimentary WiFi to customers would be more in keeping with the times.

Other than that, the Royal Decameron is still a beautiful and lush resort with a very friendly and thoughtful staff. Always a smile.
These folks work very hard behind the scenes to make your stay a comfortable experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube