InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Reviews

Home page > Panama > Panama Hotel Index > InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Panama Hotels with Similar Ranking

Radisson Decapolis

3.8 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2008

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

3.5 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 11, 2010

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama

3.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 20, 2011

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort  

Carretera Veracruz Km.7 Distrito De Arraijan,, Panama City, Panama

"I will definitely visit this resort again and I will take a case of BUG SPRAY!!"
Posted by: Diana on Feb 1, 2007
see all reviews

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Reviews
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Pictures and Information
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Panama Panama

#4
of 9 Hotels in Panama

User rating 3.9

Based on 4 reviews

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Information


InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort & Spa offers tropical resort seclusion just minutes from Panama City and the wonders of the Panama Canal, where the Miraflores Visitors Center is a must

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Reviews

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business
Leisure
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 4 of 4

"I will definitely visit this resort again and I will take a case of BUG SPRAY!!"

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort
User Rating:  InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Feb 1, 2007  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2007
272 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Intercontinental Playa Bonita Resort from February 3rd through the 9th.

I read many reviews before my trip stating that there was a problem with bugs, and many people had returned home with bug bites. I stayed at this resort regardless of the reviews, and this is what I found.....

This hotel and resort is without a doubt the best one I've ever stayed in. The view is unbelievably beautiful, the rooms are incredible, and the service is better than anywhere I've ever stayed in the states. It was worth every penny.

And...... I finally got the real scoop on the bugs.

I did come home with about 100 bug bites all over my body. The strange thing is, I do not remember seeing any mosquitoes or many bugs. Then, I overheard someone call these bugs "no-see-ums". I had never heard of a no-see-um, but when I returned home to Atlanta, my husband told me that in the South, no-see-ums are called CHIGGERS. They are tiny bugs, they cannot be seen by the human eye, and they attack with a vengeance.

I will definitely visit this resort again. I was so sad to leave. I even considered moving to Panama; HOWEVER.... next time I go, I will take a case of BUG SPRAY!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An excellent resort for the type of traveller who is looking for peace and quiet."

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort
User Rating:  InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ann & Denis from Ottawa, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
290 people found this review helpful

My wife and just returned from this new resort from 16Th of January to 23rd. The resort is located about 45 minutes from the airport in Panama city. I would like to recommend this resort however it is still under construction, the advertisement from Nolitours ( Canada) indicates that the spa, gym and several stores will be completed in February 2006. What they omitted to mention is the fact that out of 300 rooms there is are 150 still under construction. During our stay we were able to hear the construction and view them pouring one of the swimming pools. I have no doubt that once the construction is completed this will be an excellent resort for the type of traveller who is looking for peace and quiet. There are no shows or entertainment in the evening as they have in Cuba or the Dominican Republic, but really do you need to be entertained, after all once dinner was completed at 10:00pm you can go a ! cocktail either a the bar by the pool or in the lobby.

The rooms are large and very comfortable, all rooms come with a small fridge and beautiful four poster bed and large washroom. All rooms face the ocean so there is worry about the view.

At the present time there are two restaurants open, a third will be open within the next few weeks. We found the food excellent, breakfasts were served buffet style and if you like fresh fruit this is the place to be, as well as the usual eggs, french toast and bacon. Lunch was served by the pool, once again buffet style, with a choice of sea food, steak and a variety of salads. At dinner time you are provided with three tickets for the a la carte restaurant. During our stay the choice remained the same, sea bass, steak, and some pasta dishes, and pizza, or you could go to the buffet restaurant which changed daily, Mexican, oriental, international..

Overall we enjoyed our stay, if you are looking for rest and relaxation, and a guaranteed weather of 32 degree Celsius. We had the opportunity to attend three tours, panama city tour, jungle boat tour, and the native (Embera) tour, we found these to be excellent and informative. The staff at the resort and making efforts towards speaking English and were very friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would go back there if we knew the bug problem had been resolved."

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort
User Rating:  InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Suzette  on Feb 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
301 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
The room was very large, decorated with taste and very clean. A long corridor brings you to your first floor rooms, your door facing the jungle, you can ear animal noises.

Restaurants:
we started off with two restaurants but in the last week they opened the third one: The lighhouse. The buffets are thematic most of the time and the food although of limited variety is very well prepared. This place has great chefs and balanced meals : we could have beef, chicken, sea food, fish and a wide variety of vegetables, fantastic soups all the time. The la carte menu at the Plantation Restaurant is different from the one at the Pelican Grill down near the pools. But it is just as good. At the Pelican Grill, they have pizza and grilled cheese la carte. The service isn't very good : waiters are slow or don't understand English so we got a Spanish Dictionary. The lighthouse meal was surely the best we have ever had in all all inclusives experiences: we just sat and they brought us fantastic food including fish, smoked salmon, etc for dessert... divine creme brule.

Beach:
if you intend to have an ashtonishing beach, don't go there. The Pacific is a wild sea although there are no waves in front of the resort, the water is rather grey and you can't see your hands once they are in the water. On the first week we had normal tides, but on the second week, we woke up one morning to an amazing natural phenomenon the beach had disappeared to make place to a moonlike vision full of rocks. This low tide lasted 6 hours and a half for a whole week. So at one point we could only swim around 4:30 in the afternoon. Panameans come at low tide to pick up oysters which they sell. The beach is 2 kilometers wide so a good place to jog. There is nothing else than the resort on this beach. On your left side, you can walk and climb to have a better view of the sea and pelicans. The resort provides solo and duo kayaks for free. Overall sea swimming is disappointing, plus you have to watch out for sting rays. Bring your sea shoes.

On the second week, a BIG PROBLEM came up for most of the people that had been there for the 2 weeks: insects. Insects in our beds. We met at least 20 people that were badly bitten at night by insects, maybe bed fleas, maybe sea fleas,,, whatever, nobody seemed to know what they were. We had trouble sleeping because we were constantly bitten by these invisible bugs during the night. We complained to the hotel once, twice,three times, 4 times , five times and finally they came around 10 o'clock one night to change everything in our bedroom. My companion was so bitten on his legs that body people were pointing at him on the beach. The linen change did nothing much for our case. We used Deep Wood Off, calamine, alcohol, nothing stopped the itch. Two weeks after my return I still have traces of bug bites on my arms and legs.

During our stay. 190 guests were invited by CBS television to watch the Super Bowl. The atmosphere changed from a quiet placeto a lively place. During all our stay a number of conventions came through. I am not sure if this resort is really intended for vacationers or conventioners cause there are wonderful convention rooms in the resort, but with the kind of beach offered, the swimming pools.

Tours and Visits:
Nolitour offers tours but you might as well shop for better prices at the Gamboa Tours located in the hotel. You can get some of the same tours for half the price. A geat thing to do in Panama is shop. We took the local bus 3 times just outside the resort gates. You have to signal the bus to stop, jump in and it brings to the Albrook Shoping Center directly since it is located next to the bus terminal. You just give 30cents to the driver when you get off. Coming back find the bus going to Vera Cruz and get off at the hotel about 5 minutes befire Vera Cruz which is said to be a dangereous city... so don't miss your stop.

Shopping: you'll go crazy for cheap shows, clothes and just anything.

We would go back there if we knew the bug problem had been resolved. But this hotel will probably cater to very rich people in the future.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Resort from Hell!!"

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort
User Rating:  InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jess  on Jan 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2006
296 people found this review helpful

Resort from Hell!! I stayed at the Playa Bonita three weeks ago, and it was hell.

Rooms:
The only plus side to the entire hotel. The rooms are nice. The beds are new new, so it feels liek you are sleeping on air. The showers, are all marble, and have strong water pressure. They also have alot of shapmoo and other fun thinks in the room. There is a minibar, but you have to pay for it, and the prices are way to high for a hotel in Panama. ($4 us for a small jar of penuts)

Beach:
huge tide so there is no swimming. There is big fish and lots of bugs. I came home with over 50 bites on my legs. There is also big fish in the water that bite, and someone the week after I was there had to spend 2 days in the hospital for a sting ray that came really close to shore. Waych out for glass on the beach as well as shapr shells. If you are going shell hunting, watchout for the moving ones, there are hurmet crabs everywhere.

Bar:
Ok there is no bar. No noght life. No music at the lobby bar, and they close it when they feel they don't want to work anymore. Again more added costs for any North Anerican liquer. Unlike anyother ALL INCLUSIVE hotels, the bottomless glass of wine does not exist. You get one SMALL gulp and then have to go get another one your self, or they just take your glass and run away. The staff does not know how to make any drinks and don't speak english. No fun tropical drinks liek other hotles.

Food:
The food was good. The lunch buffett was the weakest, and being a picky eater I ate light alot. The do have GREAT a la cart lunch menu, but again a pay extra, Pizza ia around $10 us. If you go into the city, a paizza ia $3 us. The staff is slow, and ordering a la cart is just painful It took us 2 hours to get a stake one night. There were three of us, we sent back out meals 6 times, and the table beside us, sent back there meals 9 times for 4 f them. If you liek stake, which i do, order your stake cooked more then you would. I ordered well and my stake was still moooooing at me. Threre is no snaks, so bring your own.

Staff:
Again they speak no english and are not experienced at all. If this was a hotel in North America i would have had the fired. I watched three of then joak aorund at the bar one night for 2 hours while no tables were cleaned and we had cold food. Way to do a good job.

Entertainement:
There is none. Trips to the city are about $15 one way. Do not take the hotel tours, they are a rip. rent a cab for the day and you'll see much more and spend less.

Please if you have any questions contact me jessi_orlowski@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube