logo Old Reviews - Excellence Riviera Cancun
  Excellence Riviera Cancun   Andrew ~ England

August 22 2009

Arrival 2nd of August 2009:
Arrived at the resort at about 7pm  after a 25 minute transfer from the airport, we were given a glass of champagne and a hot towel to freshen up whilst we checked in.

Rooms:
We were given a room on the 3rd floor of spa 3 and when we got there we both had smiles on our faces, now i have stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout the caribean and i can honestly say this standard room was stunning. A whirlpool bath and a wet room with his and her wash basins, complimentary toiletries that would of put  many hotels to shame, A huge 4 poster bed and satellite tv and a seating area leading onto a large balcony overlooking the lazy river and spa complex. The room was spotless and the bed linnen looked new, towels were plentiful and the free safe and well stocked mini bar made for a very good start to the holiday.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were no reservation s for any of the restaurants at this resort and apart from the buffet breakfast at the mediterrano restaurant all meals are served by friendly waiters who cater for your every need and want, seriously though if you are fussy and want something cooked specifically then they will do it, the food however was fantastic, it was fresh, tasty, well presented and plentiful, if that was not enough then you could always have a midnight snack by ordering room service which was free anyway.
The bars were practically every 20 yards, you nver had to wait long, maybe 1 or 2 minutes to be served and everything in the drinks line was availible from tequila to beer from cocktails to coffee and not to mention any cocktail you could think off, even champagne was availible at no extra cost. If you felt lazy and could not be bothered to get up of your sunbed then you would probably have to wait for between 15 to 25 minutes for a waiter to come and get you a drink so it just depends how thirsty you really are. 

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were huge and the lazy river great just for relaxing and letting the heat of the day pass you by, never cold but sometimes too warm, i have had colder baths.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This is an adults only resort and activities were mainly football on the beach, water polo for 30 mins at dinnertime and poker, there was yoga and pilates in the morning but to be honest if you are looking for a hotel with lots to do at apart from swim drink and eat then maybe this hotel is not for you, we did go on a few excursions to soo the mayan pyramids and also went to a n eco water park pronounced She Ha, went to Cancun 3 times and payed 35 dollars each way for the 25 minute taxi ride, there are no buses that come near the hotel so taxis are your only option.

Other Comments:
This is truly a 5 star hotel and was voted the best all inclusive in the caribean by Trip Advisor, the rooms are gorgeous, the hotel and grounds are impressive and immaculate, service is 1st class, so after this review you must be thinking its perfect, well it is and it is not, if you are on your honeymoon or want a very romantic place to stay then come and you will be very happy, if you are just coming for a holiday then the romance side can be a little nauseating to say the least, when i stopped there after 2 weeks of seeing all these couples holding hands and having to listen to the theme music to ghost for the 100th time whilst eating my breakfast i was ready to leave, this hotel is for new couples and not for old ones lol. I will be returning to Mexico next year but not to this hotel and i know however much money i spend on another hotel it will not reach the standards set by this stunning hotel in the mayan riviera

Top of Page

  Excellence Riviera Cancun   Vindra ~ Toronto, Canada

January 2009

Arrival: Jan 13 - 20th
We got there around noon and we had a hot towel & champagne toast check in. Our check in time was at 3:00pm. We did not get to our rooms until 3:45 as there was a 45 min delay. I was getting a bit annoyed as the service was outstanding the minute we got off the bus. I must say it was worth the wait it was absolutely spectacular.

Rooms:
I emailed ahead of time to let them know we we celebrating our anniversary. They told us to walk with a copy of our marriage certificate for verification. Which they did not ask us for. There was an Anniversary banner that greeted us as the door. We we got to the room we were blown away. We had a bottle of Champagne and a fresh fruit basket waiting for us. The bed was decorated with heart shaped sculpted towels and adorned with fresh rose petals and a single rose bud. The room was definitely not a standard hotel room it was more like a suite with a whirlpool tub right next to the bed. The best part of it all it did not cost us any extras. The view from our balcony faced the spa and this was absolutely spectacular. You truly get want they advertised plus more.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was spectacular we got to tour the kitchens and meet their head chef. They do search for the finest quality products to serve their guest. They catered for vegans and the healthy minded folks as well. We had fine dining every night until we gave up in the end! It exactly what they say no reservation required just walk in. Lots of bars all over the place too much for us to handle. There was a coconut bar on the beach every day which was a surprise. There service was absolutely outstanding and friendly staffs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The weather was not very good as it was overcast and cool for most of the days we were there so we did not get to enjoy the pools or the beach. From what little we did it was good! They were apparently going through a cold front. We did not complained because coming from -30 degrees(C)this was great. The hotel added more indoor activities to keep us occupied. The resort more that made up for the lousy weather they were having.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
As mentioned before extra indoor activities were added during the day due to the lousy weather. It's definitely not a party place like the resort we stayed at in Cuba. The nightly activities ended around 10:00 pm every night. There was a small club where some of the younger folks hung out. This was definitely not to our liking. The nightly shows were great just to short. We walk for about 30 mins on the beach to a small town and took the local buses to Cancun and Player del Carmen. I recommend taking the bus as very cheap and quite efficient compared to taxis. The locals and tourist will help and guide you!

Other Comments:
Overall our stay was spectacular and memorable. The Resort lived our to our every expectation. The only one thing would be to improve their nightly activities/shows. It was truly romantic! In the next 4 years my husband and I are planning on renewing our vows for our 25th anniversary there.


Top of Page

 

  Excellence Riviera Cancun   Brett and Dorothy ~ New York

May 2008

My husband and I just returned from The Excellence Riviera Cancun Resort in the Mayan Riviera, Mexico. This is our 6th year traveling to resorts in the Caribbean but our first year in Mexico. This resort is truly a 5 star resort with “Excellence” as their motto for everything from cleanliness, service, and food to ambiance and activities. You could not ask for better service from their staff. The staff on all levels obviously takes pride in the work they do and the people they work for. We felt like King and Queen for the entire week. One of the most convenient things is that we did not have to make reservations at any of their 8 restaurants. Our time was our own. Also room service was included (no hidden costs). They delivered to your room with fast friendly service within 30 minutes of your call, (Coffee in 10 minutes). The rooms were large with king size bed, sitting area, large walk in spa shower, double sink vanity and Jacuzzi tub. The closets were large, a fully stocked mini bar and digital safe. The entire resort was immaculate. The beach was clean with soft white sand. The ocean was fair, seaweed and cloudy but this is typical for different areas of the Caribbean Sea. They had pools everywhere so you could sit poolside anywhere or just hop up off the beach and a pool was close by and convenient to cool off in. Entertainment was good for a variety of tastes. They offered different theme nights as well: Caribbean buffet on the beach, followed by a fire show. A Mexican Fiesta complete with a mariachi band. Magic shows and the list goes on. I can not say enough about this resort and the wonderful staff that work there. This resort will be a hard one to top.


Top of Page

 

  Excellence Riviera Cancun   R & M ~ Southern Ontario

March 2008

Arrival - Feb 2008 - Air Canada --- Booo on you ! We went out of our way too book first class seats for a Valentines treat. We pre-arranged our seats and when we checked in they had us in separate seats?!?!? What a stressful way to start our vacation.
On a better note .. The arrival at the resort was perfecto ! Glass of champagne, quick check in .. it was all we expected and more...

Rooms - Again ... Perfection, clean, roomy, warm, inviting. Large hot tub in the room. Huge , and I mean huge granite shower.. nice ! The type of room you dream of for a perfect vacation.

Restaurants - The trend continues ... Perfect. Great variety, 8 a la cartes for dinner and 2 buffets (or a la carte) to choose from for breakfast and lunch ... or 24 hour room service with a large menu ... and very prompt , less than 30 min and the meals were at the door .. awesome ! No complaints...

Bars - What can I say ... nothing short of perfection again. Fast service, they know all the drinks, even though we mostly drank wine and beer. Whether you tip or not the service is the same, and I like that. Some (actually most) resorts treat the tippers better and serve them first.

Beach and Pools - The Pools were very nice, there is a large lazy river type pool and 3 other pools. The main one has a pool bar. The water was nice and warm too, some resorts I found had chilly pools. Beach... amazing nice white soft sand, they only thing if you go in the ocean it's a little rocky, so bring some of those water shoes, the ocean is like soup.

Now.. my "only" complaint ... if you want a lounger by the beach or poolside(especially) you need to get up at about 6:30am and get your towel down, or you'll have nowhere to sit all day... It's my only complaint, but it is major. They should take a lesson from the Sandals resorts and have extra loungers to bring out when they are needed.

Grounds - What can I say... perfect ... clean lushous ... Like walking through a professional garden. You could almost eat off the ground at this place, that's how clean it is.

Activities - Lots and Lots and Lots ... if that's what your into. There something going on all day. We are more the relaxing type and did not partake in too much.
The best was the band by the beach bar every day at about 3:30pm. You can't beat a live band right by the pool and beach ...

Tours - We did not bother with any of these ... This resort is too nice to waste a day and leave. But there are lots to choose from should you desire...

Conclusion - Overall -- Perfect. I give it a 4.8 star rating. The only reason I keep it just under 5 is the lack of loungers for the pool and beach.


Top of Page

 

  Excellence Riviera Cancun   Alex and Heather

February 2008

We stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun from February 16-23, 2008. We are both in our 30’s and we travelled with my Aunt and Uncle who are in their 50’s. All of us have travelled many times staying at 5 star resorts in Mexico, Cuba and Dominican Republic. We stayed at the Excellence in Punta Cana in 2006 and had such a great experience that we had to try the Excellence in the Mayan.

There is not one bad thing we could find about this resort. The food, service and accommodations were all 5 star. This is a very quiet resort, so if you are looking for an activity oriented or party resort this would not be for you. Not to say there aren’t any activities, there are many but they are not pushed on you, nor are you solicited to participate. This resort really is oriented to couples or for people looking just to relax in peace and quite. One of the things we were most impressed about was that even though the resort was almost full, we always wondered where everyone was, it was not crowed at all. It probably has a lot to do with the layout of the resort and the many pools. My Aunt and Uncle’s TV was not working upon arrive but with a visit to the front desk it was fixed within a matter of hours. We requested extra pillows and had them by the time we went to bed that night. We had emailed the resort ahead of time with several requests and all of them were met upon arrival.

This truly was Excellence all the way around! This will be a hard resort to top!


Top of Page

 

Excellence Riviera Cancun Marcus

March 2007

Imagine a place where you every whim is taken care of the first time you mention it. Imagine a place where you ask “Is it possible to……etc” and the reply is “Senor, this is Excellence Riviera ….. Everything is possible” and they mean it! Imagine a place where they bend over backwards to make your stay and pleasurable as possible, drinks are actually great tasting and not watered down or too strong. No need to imagine …….. Excellence Riviera Cancun…. Is the real deal!

How anyone can complain about this place is beyond me.

Me and my dear wife having been traveling to 4.5 and 5 star resorts all over the Caribbean for the last 8 years. We have seen the good, the bad and the ugly and this place is the best we have experienced IMO. We were there for 8 days for our 10th anniversary March 17th to 25th. WE ARE going back next year…. For 2 weeks. This is a given.

I’ll give you a quick break down of the various topics:

Rooms:
We stayed in room 6314 ocean view. The rooms were beautiful. Very clean, no issues with bugs, not one bed bug to be found and we searched for them thoroughly. Lots of towels, rooms cleaned on time (you call concierge when you get there with the time you want your room cleaned) there was a white card place by the phone with instructions, showers were huge (turn water on half force and temp doesn’t fluctuate) with a place to sit. My wife didn’t care for the vanity setup, it was too high for her and the make up mirror was too high for her as well, she is only 5’ 2”. It would be great if the mirror could move up and down, the lighting over the vanity was not the best according to DW as well. But this is being pretty picky. Over all outstanding!

Grounds:
The grounds were amazing. There was always some one going around cleaning and doing finishing touches. One morning there were workers dusting and wiping down the leaves in the fountain area outside the Barcelona Restaurant. They we constantly trimming dead leaves from plants and picking the gardens spotless of bits of leaves. We looked hard and could not find a flaw. One word …… “Beautiful!!!” The photos that are posted on this website tell the whole story. They aren’t staged, the photos of the bad things have not been left out……there are none.

Restaurants:
The Restaurants were very good overall. Some were better than others but that is expected. You wouldn’t expect the food and service to be a good in the casual restaurants as it would be in the fancy ones. Our highlight restaurants were Spice and Chez Isabelle. The Oregano (pizza) and Grill were nice. I liked the Lobster one a lot. The buffet breakfast at Barcelona, Tuscana, Oregano, all connected, was really nice. The Agave (Mexican) was very good with the Mariachi band. And be sure you try the Mayan coffee. Bring your video camera. We didn’t get to Tuscan and Barcelona for dinner.

SPA:
I didn’t get to the spa but my wife did and she absolutely loved it. It was and incredible experience. A little Expensive but, according to my wife, worth every penny! She did the “80 min Excellence massage” and with any spa treatment you get the Marine wellness hydrotherapy circuit which takes another 50 mins. The Marine wellness is optional.

Bars:
The bars were all very good. We did tip for good service which was almost always but it didn’t not seem to affect the level of service if you didn’t tip. Service was with a smile is their motto. We did not frequent the beach and pool bars that much during the day. Salvador took extremely good care of us at the pool by building 6. This area is not near the bars but Salvador made it feel as though we were on bars stools instead of pool side lawn chairs. My wife’s favorite was the martinis in the Martini bar. A big selection and as strong or as poquito as you want, ask and you shall receive. They have entertainment in the Martini bar at night. The secret jewel for the morning was the smoothy bar “Revive” over next to the Spa. Karina made the best smoothies.

Tours:
A friend and I went deep sea fishing on the day our wives went to the spa.
We went to Cancun on another day for the ladies to go shopping. 25 USD each way…… same rate to go to Playa Del Carmen. The resort has a free bus to Cancun every Wednesday and Sunday at 4pm and returning at 11pm. No free shopping tours to Playa. La Isla mall is huge. The Kukulcan mall has the Designer stores in it. It’s one block from La Isla. Coming from ERC you get to Kukulcan Mall first.

The Truest indication of whether a resort was as good as you say in a review is found in one question. Would you go back? Well….. not only will we go back…. We are already planning to go back next year. For two weeks…. One week here is just not enough! As I stated earlier this resort is the best we have ever experienced.

Hope this helps make some of you feel better about their choice.
Seriously….. don’t worry …. This resort is awesome.

Excellence is Amazing!!!!


Top of Page

 

Excellence Riviera Cancun Pierre ~ Canada

January 2007

Resort Photos
We just came back from a fantastic stay at Excellence Riviera Cancun. We are a couple in our late 40’s and our previous trips have been at Secrets Capri and Royal Playa Del Carmen in Mexico as well as Melia Cayo Guillermo in Cuba. When we booked back in late-June we were hoping for the same kind of service and great food we had experienced at Secrets Capri last year and we were also hoping the change in management wouldn’t have an impact on that. It didn’t! In fact we agreed that Excellence Riviera Cancun is overall a much better resort than Secrets Capri.

Check In: Happy welcoming faces, a cold towel, and a glass of champagne. The bellman brought us to the Excellence Club lounge for check-in which took only a couple of minutes and we were in our room in no time. We enjoyed the fact that the resort is only about 15-20 minutes from the airport and thus no other resort pit stops to get there.

Grounds: Very beautiful, very well maintained, great variety of vegetation and pools everywhere.

Room: We were in room 8353, third floor in building #8 in the Excellence Club, facing the ocean. We couldn’t have had a nicer location. Nice bathroom with a huge shower (very roomy even with two persons in it). The water temperature in the shower tends to change from cold to hot to cold quite often however. The room had a nice area to relax or have a meal. There are Jacuzzi baths inside and outside on the balcony. They had a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket waiting for us. There was also a secret box for room service but we never used it. The mini-bar was refilled each day and it contained various soft drinks, beer, Gatorade, Red Bull, OJ, V8, etc. There was also four full bottles of booze (vodka, rum, rye and of course tequila). The room was cleaned each morning by 11 o’clock and there was a turndown service at around 6:00 PM. The room was always very well cleaned. We had brought a scented candle in case the room had a musty smell but it wasn’t necessary.

Food/Restaurants: Only one word to describe the food and the service: excellent!!! Note that they don’t take reservations, and it’s works out great. If they can’t give you a table right away they’ll give you a beeper. We had to wait a few times but never for a long time. They really enforce the dress code at all restaurants. For breakfasts and lunches women must cover their bathing suits and have footwear, men can go in Bermudas/shorts with shirt/t-shirt and footwear. For dinner men must wear long pants, collared shirt and proper footwear at all restaurants except the outdoor ones.

“The Grill”: we went there for lunch a few times (limited menu) and for supper our last night. It was always good.

“The Lobster House”: went there for lunch and for supper once. At lunch time it’s pretty much the same menu as at “The Grill” and at night time they offer an all-lobster menu (very limited as far as choices)

“Oregano”: Mostly a fast pizza and pasta restaurant. Had lunch there a few times and supper once. We ordered pizza each time and it was very good. Nice selection of pizza.

“Agave”: We had dinner twice at this Mexican restaurant and it was very good. The ambiance was a lot of fun there. They put on a great show when they prepare a Mayan Coffee! This restaurant as well as the previous three are outdoor restaurants.

“Isabelle”: This is the French restaurant and it was our second favorite one (after Agave). We had dinner there twice and it was very great.

“Barcelona” and “Tuscany”: We went there for breakfast only. They had a nice buffet selection.

“Martini Bar”: Fun place to meet before dinner. Thanks to Santos for those great martinis!

Note: There is also a 24-hour room service but we didn’t try it.

Beach: The beach is quite wide and there are plenty of chairs and there were also many available at all times. As reported by previous guests there was a lot of seaweed every day but they clean it all day long. There is a section of the beach reserved for Excellence Club guests. The swimming area was OK, not too many rocks but some seaweed.

Pools: Very impressive. There are a few pools that go around and through the resort. There are tons of chairs all over the resort. They go out every morning and put a rolled up towel on each chair at 7:00AM each day. There is also a pool reserved for the Excellence Club guests. We had great service at the beach and at this pool.

Spa: Wow! What a great spa. We each had a 50-minutes massage and this entitled us to try the Hydrotherapy circuit before. What a great experience, it was a lot of fun!

Activities/entertainment: We didn’t try or attend any of them so we can’t really comment on them.

Overall appreciation: What a great resort! We knew it would be a nice one but we never expected it to be so fantastic. We will definitely recommend it to anyone and we would return in a heartbeat. We have read reviews regarding the Excellence Club upgrade and whether or not it was worth the extra cost. We feel that it’s not necessary to enjoy your stay but if you can afford it go for it, you’ll appreciate it. If you have any question do not hesitate to contact us at prrollt@hotmail.com.


Top of Page

 

Excellence Riviera Cancun John & Laura

December 2006

My husband and I have traveled quite a bit but most recently to the Excellence Riviera in Mexico. This was our 4th trip to Mexico and we have found the best yet. We normally don't revisit the same place but stayed in the Excellence in Punta Cana, DR which was wonderful. We wanted to see if the sister resort in Mexico was measurable. IT WAS! Every thing we consumed was top of the line from room, room service, bar service, drinks and activities. We will return to this resort and would like to visit the new resort under construction in Jamaica.

The resort is elegant and attention is paid to every detail. You can do as much or as little as you wish. The staff was extremely accommodating. We like to snorkel and as with other resorts it is normally included. Aqua World is located on the property and did not want us to use the equipment unless we paid to scuba dive (which we don't). Only after speaking with the front desk at the resort the gentleman accompanied me to the Aqua World booth and convinced them to loan us the equipment. Hope they will get rid of Aqua World....but once again the resort employees were most accommodating. Special thanks to Rachael for her pool side service, Misael (Barcelonia), Santos, (Martini), Joel and Ruben for the goodbye specialty (Martini Bar).

Also a hello to our new friends Dolly, Gary, Chris and Nancy!

If you can't be happy here....you can't be happy anywhere!

Thank you Excellence Resort for making our vacation EXCELLENTA!
You may email us if we can answer any questions. ljwinfield@sc.rr.com


Top of Page

 

Excellence Riviera Cancun Linda & Pierre ~ Canada

December 2006

My husband and I travel about three times a year. We have been to Cuba, D.R., Jamaica, Barbados, Pto. Vallarta, Cancun etc. I have stayed at the Moon Palace. The Excellence is by far the most exceptional.
We flew with Skyservice on Dec. 2, to Cancun. Flight uneventful, the seats are very cramped. The service was okay. Choose a different air carrier if you can, since these chartered flights fly at the most ungodly times…and very pack.

Airport/Customs in Cancun: The line-up is very long, but moves pretty fast. Once you get your luggage exit out and look for tour operator, they will guide you to your bus that will take you to your resort. It’s a half hour ride to the Mayan Riviera.

Resort: Gated with security. Impressive décor, stained glass ceiling and elegant staircases…beautiful windows and chandeliers. Check in was fast and then to our room. We had a Suite. The suite had a four post king bed, Jacuzzi, living room with balcony, mini bar with pop, beer and water. There is a coffee maker. Toilet is separate. There is a walk in shower area, vanity with two sinks. Blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. Robes and slippers were also provided. Bed was turned down every night. Room service twenty hours.

Restaurants: There are eight restaurants:
Barcelona (Mediterranean)
Toscana (Italian)
Spice (Asian)
Agave (Mexican)
Chez Isabelle (French)
The Grill (Steak /Lobster)
Oregano (Trattoria)

We really enjoyed Spice. The food and service was excellent. Our server was Alonzo. We actually asked for him, because of his professionalism and friendliness. We let him choose our meal the three times were there…impeccable choice. The steak was perfect. Actually all the meals were just perfect. The red and white wine is Santa Carolina, which was pretty good. However…we did not like the service at Chez Isabelle. The waiter needs an attitude adjustment. Other than that everything was just wonderful.

Bars: Total of nine. All the bars were excellent. Our favorite was Martini’s. We also enjoyed the disco Alegria. There is a Cigar Bar open from 3:00-11:00pm.

Staff/Activities: They were very courteous and helpful. The service was excellent… by far the best we have encountered. The activities staff was always around catering to your needs. Isaac and Christian were fabulous.

Spa: One of the best. The Marine Wellness Circuit Pool, it is a must. I had the Mayan Awakening (mud wrap followed by a massage) and the Mineral Balneotherapy. The Spa is a bit expensive…but worth it.

Pool/Beach: The pool is gorgeous…you float your way around…lots of chairs and towels. The quieter side of the pool is by the spa. There is a hot tub by the spa area. There was seaweed in the water and on the beach closer to water edge. It was constantly being clean…but closer to the property where the palapas and lounges was beautiful white sand…and your drinks were brought to you. How perfect!!!

Negative: My 100ml of Euphoria Perfume was stolen.

Overall: The property was incredibly gorgeous. We would highly recommend the resort, remember pack your beautiful clothes. It’s like being in a palace!!! Enjoy.

I can be reached at: linda.nadeau@bbdo.ca.


Top of Page

 

Excellence Riviera Cancun Phil

September 2006

My wife and I went to Secrets for a much needed vacation the last week of Aug 06. A little background we are 35 and 36 yrs old, married 2 years, enjoy nightlife but also quiet times, great food, sun and activities. The last 7 times in the area we stayed in 5 or 6 star hotels and this was the best. All we could say the whole trip was wow. From the staff to the beach everything was top notch. I will go through most of our opinions from the trip as seen from our eyes. We arrived on the 24th of Aug to great weather and a beautiful hotel. Check in was a breeze and after being to the Cancun area 8 times this was the fastest check in, as we did not have to wait till 5 or 6pm to get our room we were unpacked by 1pm.

ROOM: The room was great very large, clean with all the extras.

BEACH: The beach was white, soft and clean. One downfall was the seaweed but it didn’t stop us from swimming and enjoying all the chairs and area along with the beach grill for burgers and snacks.

ENTERTAINMENT: The shows at night were above average for the area but what made them better was the theater area were the shows were performed. They usually have a band in the afternoon near the beach bar and then near the theater during the early evening. The theater is very comfortable and spacious with a great bar and lot of waitresses.

RESTAURANTS: The restaurants were plentiful and there was rarely a wait for a table. The food was above average and the staff was incredibly nice. I have never been waited on had and foot like that anywhere in the world. There was lots of restaurant choices like Chinese, Japanese, Mexican, Italian, American, but make sure to pack nice clothes as most were very fancy and required pants, shoes and a collared shirt for men.

BARS: The bars were everywhere (9 total I think) and you were always a stones throw from one. Never a wait and the bar staff was always quick to serve you with a smile.

ACTIVITIES: The activities staff cant be mentioned enough. They were possibly the best part of the trip. Hard workers and so much fun to be around, always keeping people entertained and happy to do it. They were so busy making sure there was something for everyone and they work all day and night (14 hour days 6 days a week) and just seem to love their job. Jean Paul, Carlos, Oscar, Alfonso, Jean Miguel, and the others were great at their jobs and even better people. They really made our trip special and if you go make sure to get involved in the activities they are so much fun you will be sorry if you don’t.

POOL: The pool or should I say pools there are so many, were great. Never to crowded, as many chairs as you wanted and the great cabanas were also plentiful. The water was warm but crystal clear and very refreshing and clean. The pool bar was great also and never to crowded.

STAFF: The staff went out of their way always. Never met more accommodating, nice people in all my travels.

GUESTS: No children of course so that was not an issue. Mostly 30's crowd on average I would say. Nice mix of people from everywhere in the world. I would also say it was mostly couples and cant complain about any guests being out of control. We met lots of really nice interesting people.

OVERALL PROS: Cant go wrong with this resort. I must say my wife and I enjoy top end resorts and this was the best so far. Its a cant miss and we will be going back without question and I cant say that for sure about any other place we have been.

OVERALL CONS: We had $400 dollors stolen from our room so make sure you lock valuables in your safe, we didn’t and learned the hard way. They did seem concerned when we reported it. They did a report and said they investigated it but to no avail. Partially our fault for leaving it in my wife's purse while we were at the pool.

If you plan to go and have any questions you can email us at:

captonv1@yahoo.com

Have a great time we are sure you will !


Top of Page

 

Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun Karen

April 2006

We just returned from the Secrets Excellence spending a week there from April 6 - 13th. A little bit of Paradise indeed. This is our seventh visit to Cancun and/or the Riviera Maya. We've also been to Puerto Vallarta, Huatalco, Jamaica, and the north and east coasts of the Dominican Republic.

This was a 6 golden apple. Our trip there, through customs and onto transportation to the resort went like a breeze. Secrets is only about 20 minutes from the airport.

The place is gorgeous. The pools are everywhere. The suite was outstanding. The food was out of this world. Have never anywhere had such good food. And the service was topnotch.

There is no buffet dining in the evening. They have 7 restaurants, three of which you can wear shorts and the others are long pants, etc. We didn't get to all of them, but everywhere we ate was superb.

The beach was not the best we've been to. There are some rocks on the beach and seaweed in the water. Nevertheless, we were certainly able to go into the ocean and enjoy. On this vacation, we chose a poolside spot over by the spa and the lazy river where it was very quiet and the pool attendant waited on us non-stop.

The place is medium size I would say. Some walking, but not huge like other places. One thing I really liked was all the restaurants were near each other, so you never had to go here and there to find a place to eat. There are no reservations which is a plus and a minus. More so a plus I would say. One night we had to wait 30 minutes to get into the steak restaurant. No big deal we sat outside and had a drink and the time went quickly.

This is a heavenly place to go for those who want to relax, be pampered and are not into a heavy nightlife.


Top of Page