logo Old Reviews - Pueblo Caribe
Pueblo Caribe
Sandra & David 
Ontario , Canada
March 2006
Hello ..Sandra and I just came back from Pueblo Caribe and had a great time.
The food was great you have two places to chose from.
The coffee is on at about 4:30 or 5:00 AM although it says 6:00 AM...The Old side smells a bit musty but you can change to the new side for no extra charge ...A/c is remote in the new side and works great.
There's a nice little rest about a five minute walk down the beach ..to the left that has great lobster 80,000 a Kilo..comes with all the trimming including a bottle of wine. He speaks English too.
There's a small fishing village down a bit further that is quite nice as well.
The hats etc you can buy cheaper at the flea market in town. it is covered but closes at 5:00 PM..Take a taxi they're very cheap. The pools are great I think that there are about 5 of them. bar at every pool so that is no problem . Seems to shortage of lounge chairs but there is usually enuf to go around.
TV is ok only about two maybe three with English . Take a small DVD player and some movies for the kids.
Kids have separate play area set up every day and cleaned.
Girls at front desk are nice but could speak more English.
You can bargain quite a bit there and they're very nice about it all.
about 45 minutes on the bus from the airport but nice drive.
Massages are great and very inexpensive as compared to here and they are on the premises so no probs.
All in all was a great vacation. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
The rooms were all great ..No bugs although I did see one Cricket but was gone by the time Sandra was there.
Maids were great made towels into different shapes every day.
Oh yes wear sandals all the time. Rocks around the pool get very hot and you have to remember how to play hop scotch then.
Pueblo Caribe
Thomas 
Canada
March 2006
Hi Debbie,

We visited Margarita Island from 13-20 March 2006 and stayed at the Pueblo Caribe. The Pueblo Caribe is actually located across the road from the beach in a small town about 20 minutes from the Porlamar Airport. This is unlike our experience in the Dominican Republic and Cuba where the resorts are located away from the local houses.

The Pueblo Caribe is the only resort on the Playa El Tirano so has a completely different atmosphere than the Playa El Agua with its many resorts.

The flight down was via Air Transat and our section of the plane had no sound signal for the movies and no reading lights. This made us wonder about the maintenance on the parts of the plane that we didn’t see. The cabin crew on the flight down was poor but good on the flight back.

There are three sections of rooms: the main hotel building (oldest); the La Casada section; and a group of four new buildings (2 completed and 2 being finished). These latter rooms are probably the most preferred ones. All sections share the same dining facilities for breakfast and supper.

Our room was changed to the La Casada section of the resort after the air conditioning in our room in the main hotel building needed repair. The room itself was big and it was fine. The La Casada section has its own pool, bar and grill.

The food was fine but a bit repetitious. The spaghetti restaurant serves very good spaghetti. The a la carte restaurant, El Ancla, is located on the beach and serves a good supper (one free supper per person).

The beach known as Playa El Tirano, is a very narrow brown sand beach. It has constant surf which may intimidate a few but provides for a fun experience including body surfing. There is a group of six outside dogs that live on this beach, but once you get use to their presence, they are no bother. The hotel provides beach loungers and cabanas which makes for an enjoyable day at the beach.

The entertainment at night is uneven ranging from a very good African-Caribbean show to one that defied understanding and lacked appeal.

The hotel staff is good and the waiters are efficient. The bar service was good although the selection of drinks was perhaps not as great as in the DR.

We took a day long jeep safari arranged through Marcos Tours (web site: margaritaisland.com.ve) via e-mail before our departure for $45 US/pp. This took us around a large part of Margarita Island and was very enjoyable. It’s highly recommended.

We also took an overnight trip to the Orinoco Delta and Canaima (Angel Falls) arranged through a tour representative named Abel who served Swedish tourists at the Pueblo Caribe. This trip was actually with Línea Turística Aereotuy (LTA) and it was the highlight of our trip. Seeing the Warao Indians in the Orinoco Delta and Angel Falls was very interesting.

We brought anti-malaria pills with us for the trip to the Orinoco Delta and Canaima. You ought to consult your doctor if you plan to take this trip. There were few mosquitoes except in our jungle walk then their were very present.

Currently there is a 115,000 Bolivar departure tax per person ($54 US) that must be paid at the airport. They state that it must be paid in Bolivars, but we paid in both Bolivars and US funds.

Currency can be converted at the hotel reception. You should bring US dollars as there is a heavy discount on Canadian dollars.

In conclusion, we got a very good price on this trip and would stay again at the Pueblo Caribe if a similar price was available. This is a 3-star hotel and must be judged as such. If you have questions you can reach me at t_letter at hotmail.
Pueblo Caribe
Emalee-Godfrey 
Ontario, Canada
March 2006
My family and I vacationed at the Pueblo Caribe Hotel and Beach Resort from December 28th 2005 to January 4th 2006. It was very beautiful-aside from the construction that was going on-they added 4 new buildings. We were fortunate to be able to deal with an AMAZING tour coordinator- Jhon Jhon. He organized and booked all of our day trips around the island. He was one of the best parts of our whole trip! He was extremely knowledgable about soooo many things-he knew all the history of the island and everything that you would ever want or need to know! We went on the Angels Falls/Canaima Park trip, the Jeep tour and the Cabatucan Horseback riding adventure. Our favourite was the horseback riding...which Jhon Jhon highly recommended. It was absolutely beautiful! We rode the horses for 2 hours- through the mountains, desert and on the beach. The stronger riders galloped up and down the beach. We would definelty recommend this to anyone who is going to Margarita Island. I would also recommend dealing with Jhon Jhon to book any trips! He is now working out of the Dunes Hotel on the Island, but he can book trips for anyone(from any hotel) He speaks english, french, portugese, italian and of course spanish. You can contact him by his cell phone 0416 326 9778 . If you want to book an excursion then Jhon Jhon is the guy to call...and Margarita Island is the place to go- I can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!
Pueblo Caribe
 

April 2005
We have just returned from staying at the Pueblo Caribe and had a fantastic time. Our party consisted of 2 adults, 3 children aged 15,10 and 3. I was a bit apprehensive before travelling as I had read several reviews which weren't very positive but tried to adopt the frame of mind that as long as we had somewhere to sleep we could eat out if necessary.

Rooms
We had two ajoining rooms poolside rooms both with 2 double beds. The rooms were quite spacious with plenty of storage. The shower room was spacious although the shower was a bit difficult to adjust. The rooms were spotless. The maid cleaned every day as were the towels and changed the beds every other day. She made swans out of the towels and turned down our beds.

Food
Amazingly this was very good. For breakfast there was omelettes (cooked for you whilst you wait), a selection of venezualan dishes plus continental cheese and ham. Lunch saw a wide range of dishes and there was always the pasta bar if you didnb't fancy any of the main meals. At night the meals varied tremendously, we loved the mexican night (though it wasn't very spicy) and the barbeques best. No one in my party was ill.

Drink
We drank very much in moderation although alcohol was available all day. All bars and resturants had iced purified water which you could fill up the jugs from your room or your own bottles as often as you wished. There was also fruit juice available. This was fantastic although you were never sure what it was going to be as they made it with whatever fruit they had surplus. Polar beer light was our prefered drink although the cocktails were pretty super too. If you have children the bar staff will make a coconut drink with no alcohol for you (as adults we had this several times and it was very good). I am not sure how you write it but it sounds like Kocarla.

Pools
There were 2 of these. We stayed by the smaller one as our rooms opened out onto this poolside. The other pool was frequently mainly by the German tourists. The pools and the whole resort was spotless.

Beach
A narrow area of sand but perfectly okay for sunbathing. The sea was quite rough and only suitable for strong swimmers and even then I would suggest just playing at waist height.

People
The staff at the hotel and other Margaritains we met out side the hotel were so lovely and friendly. We spoke very little spanish but with sign language and a phrase book we got by.

Tours
We booked the Sights of Margarita tour via a local tour company. We received service exclusively for our family (which was perfect as we had a 3 year old in our party). The tour was tailored to our needs with lots of local info. It included a boat trip at La Restinga where we saw red star fish and sea horses as well as 4 different types of mangrove. The $35 pp included lunch and the boat trip (we weren't charged for our 3 y/o).

Very little entertainment at this hotel which for us was part of the appeal. We had a very chilled relaxing time. This hotel won't be a 2.5 star for much longer. I am glad we got in whilst the prices are reasonable.
Pueblo Caribe
Michel & Johanne 
Canada
March 2005
Hi Debbie,

We are just back from a 2 week stay at the Pueblo Caribe. From Feb. 17th to March 3rd, 2005

First of all, the person that sent the first review, was a little bit shy, I guess to sign his or her name.

The review posted by Jessica, is closer to reality with the exception, it is now better as I heard with the 3 Venezuelian owners.

We have been on Margarita Island 4 times for vacations and I should say, the Pueblo Caribe is about the best place we have been so far on Margarita.

My wife and I, took our 3 daily meals at the resort, and we didn't even had the feeling of a bad stomach once.

As for the cockroaches, we didn't see any, except few crickets (2) in 2 weeks.

The rooms were clean and the room maids, even put bouquets of flowers in our room 3 times. (surely not because of the tips lol. 2000 bolivars every 2 days ($1.25 Can)

We should not forget that this Resort is a 3 stars hotel, not the Hilton and when you spend your vacations with this in mind, for the price we paid, the surprises were really pleasant, and the staff at the beach, the restaurants, the bars, the desk were real friendly and as our way to test those who smile at you for the tips from those who do smile because they are gentle, we always give a good tip, the last day of our stays, as we did this year, so we know when we say the staff is real gentle and friendly. We even came back with some (regalos) gifts from some staff members, a thing i never seen before in our approx. 15 vacations in the south.

They started to build a 4 stars hotel section that will be available December 2005.

We recommend the Pueblo Caribe anytime and we will be spending a month there next year.

Thanks Debbie.
Pueblo Caribe
 

February 2005
Horrible, just horrible. The facilities are unkempt, the food is so disgusting. I am not just talking about adjusting to a Caribbean lifestyle. They repeat meals from the day before, yep using the meals from the day before. We got sick for four days. Once we felt better, tried the food again, we got sick again. That was enough we spent the rest of our time eating out. The smell is horrible. The staff at the front desk is not customer service oriented. I went to complain about the horrible facilities and was told "this is not Aruba" by one of the staff members.

Please, we just got back. We spent most of our time outside of the resort to eat and drink. Margarita Island is cheap enough for you to buy your own alcohol and food.

This is definitely NOT the place stay even for the poorest individual on the planet.
Pueblo Caribe
Collen 
Canada
February 2004
My husband and I had a great holiday at the Pueblo Caribe resort in Margarita between January 26 and February 8, 2004. We were frozen Canadians looking for nice beaches, a little adventure and some great pictures. We're 34 and 52, both advanced amateur photographers who've done some professional work. The photographic opportunities didn't disappoint and we shot 30 rolls of film.

Pueblo Caribe is a 2 and a half star resort. We picked that one because the price was the same as just one week in 4 or 5 star resorts in Mexico or Cuba. So we weren't expecting the same kind of luxury, and used the savings to pay for all the side trips. The Canadian flights bring you to the resort in the middle of the night, so our first impression wasn't the best. If you arrive in the daytime, you get an upbeat little welcoming dance with peppy music by the Animacion staff. In the sunlight, our impressions improved vastly. Pueblo Caribe has two buildings, an older five story building, and a new two storey building that was still partly under construction when we were there.

The grounds around the new part are especially nice. It has a small pool and the "quiet" bar with friendly bar tenders who made mile- high Pena Coladas and even brought them out to me in the pool. The pool is very warm and the rooms there are basic, with two beds and brand new air conditioning that works well. The other building has some basic rooms with a fridge and cook top and air conditioning that doesn't work the best. We had the maintenance staff up twice to fix ours. The same building also has large rooms that include a separate living room, and the ones on the end of each floor have a huge patio with a hot tub and a bar. We couldn't figure out how you get those rooms, or if it's just the luck of the draw. All rooms have a large shower enclosure, but no bathtubs. There's no hand towels, face cloths, or freebie shampoo bottles, and the water pressure and temperature varies throughout the day. The old building needs repairs to the clay tile roof in several places. The people in the room next to us had a leak. The resort moved them to another room on the new side, which they were quite pleased with. We also had small ants in our room, which wasn't a big concern to us. The 5-story building has a larger pool that is also warm. Both pools have large shallow areas suitable for small children. They're also not too deep so they stay pleasantly warm, unlike the large pools at nicer resorts we've been to, which are too cold to swim in for my comfort. If you're not happy with something in your room, staff at the reception desk does what they can to make you happy in a timely manner.

Pueblo Caribe is on on El Tirano Beach, a relatively small one. The water is warm, the waves fierce and the undertow powerful. It would not be suitable at all for small children or older people. We enjoyed the rough water, though, becuase it was great fun for bodysurfing. The resort also has ocean kayaks which were lots of fun to take out in the wild waves. (We are experienced canoeists.) The staff at the beach bar were friendly, the beach vendors not too pushy. I wanted to take the little brown dog who lives on beach home to Canada. The beach is very pretty with a fishing village to one end, and more interesting buildings up the other side. Lots of photo opportunities. Playa Caribe is the nicest beach we went to. It's large, not too busy and you can find a quiet spot with no one else. Playe El Agua is a nice beach too, but a little sea weedy. The roadway along it is lined with lots of nifty shops and restaurants.

The nightly entertainment wasn't big budget or top notch, but entertaining, fun and uplifting. Some of the staff are very talented dancers indeed. There's one buffet restaurant, and one of the bars offers Italian food. There's also a sandwich bar at the small pool, and burgers at the beach bar. The food was okay with limited variety. Some items were quite tasty. The staff are friendly and attentive.

It seems that when the hotel increased its capacity with the new building, the capacity wasn't increased accordingly with other facilities. At the peak of meal times, there's not quite enough seats for everyone at the buffet restaurant, and there's not quite enough lounge chairs at the big pool, and not quite enough sun shades and loungers on the beach. Most people would get up early and claim a lounger at the pool or beach by putting their towel and hat on it. If you sleep in, you're out of luck.

Our World of Vacations Tour rep Smyrna was delightful: smiling, cheerful, upbeat, full of useful information, and accessible, since she came every day at 11. Overall, the Venezuelans we met were friendly and helpful.

Health and Safety
Unlike many resorts which are far removed from the locals, this hotel is located right next to where the local fishermen live. I consider this a plus, because it's a cultural experience you might not get otherwise. We were advised not to leave the resort at night unless you're in a taxi. We walked back from Playa El Agua one night, and ended up in the local neighbourhood in the dark, and lived to tell about it. The gate to the beach is also locked at night, as the beach is considered unsafe in the dark. For about $2.50 U.S. a day, we rented the room safe to keep our money and valuables. Everywhere we went, we ran into tourists who reported at least some degree of diarhea. Even people staying at 4 and 5 star resorts. It seems to be a problem all over Margarita. Before we left, we took a vaccine called Dukkoral available at travel health clinics at your local Health Department for $80. (company plans cover it) Dukkoral protects you from 90 percent of the bacteria that cause travellers' diarhea. I only had a little bit of intestinal upset, while my husband had more upset. It wasn't debilitating or bad enough to prevent us from going anywhere. We heard of people at other resorts who were very sick and only able to nibble on a bit of dry bread.

If you want a pleasant, economical resort with friendly staff and nice pool areas, I recommend Pueblo Caribe. If you want a beach vacation where you never leave the resort, there's probably not enough to do or enough luxury to satisfy that kind of preference.

I consider Margarita a great value for money destination. A taxi driver gave us 2800 Bolivars for one U.S. dollar. The official rate at the bank was 1600 Bolivars at the time, but businesses are eager for American currency, and the parallel market is always higher. A taxi costs 10,000 Bolivars an hour, or less than 4 dollars. We travelled all over the island by taxi, and even though few drivers speak much English, between hand gestures, drawings, and our very limited Spanish, we were able to go where we wanted. Several drivers were very helpful and got out to take pictures of us, and waited for us at several places, then took us somewhere else. Or they dropped us off and showed up at the appointed time several hours later to pick us up. They didn't ask for payment until the end of the day. Pueblo Caribe has several taxi drivers stationed right there. Ask for Poncho. He has a very clean, comfortable Buick and is the only person on the island who doesn't drive like a maniac. Everything is cheap is Margarita, and the shopping is great. Porlamar has everything you'd want and we picked up 18 carat gold rings for under $100 U.S., from a reputable-looking storefront operation, not a street vendor. The cities of Asuncion and Pampatar are much prettier than Porlamar, and they have 500 year old Spanish forts. If you leave the resort, always take a little pack of tissue. There's rarely every any toilet paper in public washrooms.

Tours:
The jeep tour was fun and good way to see the whole island. We covered 250 kilometres. Our jeep was pretty ramshackle, but that wasn't the case for all of them. The driver was experienced, and maybe not the most personable of them all, but my impressions of him improved when we stopped for lunch at Punta Arenas on the desert side of the island. That's when your driver becomes your waiter, and he tended to us nicely. The beach was fabulous with just the right amount of gentle waves for everyone.

The horseback riding was top notch all the way. We were picked up in a brand new clean vehicle with air conditioning. The guide was very personable and spoke some English. The ranch is an absolutely beautiful setting, nicely maintained with the cleanest washroom in Venezuela. I wanted to move there! Friendly guides feed you pop and make sure you get a horse and trail suitable for your riding experience. The horses were well trained, which is pretty important considering much of the 12 kilometre trail is through cactus forest, or along ridges with sharp drop offs, and along mountain peaks. I thought we could be in trouble when three ferociously barking stray dogs surrounded us, but the horses totally ignored them. The stables are clean and the horses appear to be in good health, though some of them did have small areas where the saddle had rubbed off their hair in spots the size of quarters. I don't know if this is normal for riding animals.

The overnight trip to the Orinoco Delta and Canaima National Park on the mainland is not to be missed. You sleep in the jungle in rustic thatched roof huts built on stilts on the swampy shores of the Orinoco River. It's the last place in the world you'd expect running water, but the rooms have a flush toilet and cold water taps. The jungle camp is the most exciting and novel place I've ever stayed. We were surrounded by parrots, tucans and other birds I can't identify, monkeys, a friendly capybara (a large aquatic rodent with a dog-like disposition) and the camp's three tail-wagging dogs, who slept in front of our hut for some reason. They woke us up three times in the night barking at crocodiles swimming by in the river. Meeting the Warao Indians was a life changing experience. There's just too much to say about this trip in one review. My only criticism is that we couldn't stay another day at the camp, just hanging out. The trip can be tiring because we were constantly shuffled in and out of boats and planes over the two days, including a pretty flight over Angel Falls.

The sailing trip to Los Frailes Islands (on a 43 foot boat) for snorkelling was a little harrowing for those proned to seasickness. The ocean swells were over eight feet, and ten of fourteen passengers on board were pretty green by the time we got there. We had fun, but after snorkelling and diving in Cozumel, the snorkelling at Los Frailes doesn't compare. There was lots of larger pretty fish once I was well enough to appreciate them. The boat staff was friendly and made a delicious lunch for us. The ride back was calmer. Definitely bring your Gravol on this one. After taking five of them, I felt like I had been shot with a tranquillizer dart, and was pleasantly sedated by the continous rocking of the boat the whole way back.

The "Temaya" Catamarin trip to Coche Island was great fun with excellent staff who prepared a very tasty lunch. The double hulled catamarin is much more stable than a sail boat. No one was sick. Just lots of laughs and a beautiful view everywhere. We enjoyed watching the parasailing and windsurfers on Coche Island, and the tour of an abandoned salt works. This is the hottest place I've ever been, and when I was standing still, I felt like I was baking on a cookie sheet. The water here is very calm, with a constant wind that ripples the surface of the almost smooth water.

Overall, Margarita (and the mainland) gave us the adventure, fun and great pictures we'd hoped for. The island has beautiful scenery, though garbage is strewn about, and the apparant lack of any garbage collection service mars it in neighbourhood areas. I wouldn't recommend Margarita for people who want a holiday in a foreign country to be just like home, only with better scenery. But there's lots to do and you'll have fun almost everywhere if you're willing to forgo some of the comforts of home.