logo Old Reviews - Club Amigo Mayanabo
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Lynny 

November 2008
Our 18th trip to Cuba, first time without my husband, we went with 11 crazy women, we had a great time, this has been my 4th time at this resort, and I have to admit, one of my favorites resorts in Cuba!!

So it was nice to introduce my family and friends to my Cuban family, and that is exactly how they make you feel in Mayanabo, we couldn't have more smiles and hola's anywhere else in the whole world, after being through Hurricane Ike and leaving their families with no roofs on their own homes, they were there working on each and every hotel, getting them up and running so we can take a much needed vacation...and they do not complain!

It is unimaginable that some of the tourists were there, complaining about everything!! They should be ashamed of themselves, we have so much to be thankful for and you watch as they complain about everything they could think of, and the Cuban employees were fantastic at handling their complaint after complaint, I work in customer service and I am afraid I would have been fired after being spoken too the way they were spoken to, over and over and over again...Kudos' to all of you at Mayanabo you are the best kept secret in the world!!

Things have been hit by the hurricane, yes, but it is an eye opener about how lucky we are, after loosing almost everything, the Cuban people bounce back once again, and I am so proud to have met each and everyone of them. So if you want a wonderful carefree holiday, with allot of smiles to share, I suggest you book Mayanabo, the food and everything else is made with tender love and care, it might not be a 5 star in the tourist industry's eyes, but it is in my eyes!!

Please go, and if you do have a problem, remember they are doing their very best, and will fix it for you as soon as possible, please treat one another with respect, and what goes around comes around, there is no need to be rude!!
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Teri 

April 2008
Our first trip to Cuba was on a last minute whim with 3 friends to Club Amigo Mayanabo in Santa Lucia. We flew into Camaguey and had a 90 min bus ride. Our resort was simple as advertised (3 star) but we had a huge clean pool and good entertainment. The community was small and we enjoyed a great lobster dinner 30 minutes away at a wonderful beach side restaurant as well as a mini train tour of the community into the school and throughout the town. The rooms were simple but clean, the ocean had seaweed but we saw live starfish off shore and could snorkel out front. Our meals were limited with selection but we managed a week. I would not want to stay for two as it became repetitive. We had a cappecino cafe and snack bar daily with home made pizza and fries (deep fried hotdogs too) and the liquor and beer were good. Mixed drinks were from powdered fruit juices so they were in poor taste, powdered pineapple juice? Didn't make a good pina colada.

We could eat and drink at the hotel next door Caracol and walk down the beach in front of the four hotels in the area safely with little trouble. A few peddlers but nothing like Dominican or Mexico. We went to a local disco twice and were swarmed by local cuban guys and girls, some of whom were prostitutes and giggolos..... I didn't realize this was so prevalent in Cuba.

Our hotel was solar heated as were some of the farm houses I noticed. Very clean and tidy country much more than Domincan Republic or Mexico or Jamaica in my opinion. Some shopping which I was surprised by and really cheap prices. All in our we expected little for what we paid ($576 all tax inc) from Apr 5 to 12th so we had a "blast"!!!!! I loved the Cuban music which we enjoyed almost everywhere we went.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Amanda & Chris 
Ontario, Canada
April 2008
We just got back from a week at Mayanabo Hotel in Santa Lucia Cuba. We arrived on April 3rd and left April 10th, 2008. We booked with selloffvacations.com and flew with CanJet. 90 mins bus ride from Camaguey Airport. Everything went smoothly.

Aside from perfect weather, the hotel and staff were amazing.

Rooms- Although ours was small, it was VERY clean and the bathroom was immaculate. Our cleaning lady did a wonderful job, and really appriciated the little things we left for her and her family.

Beach- Beautiful and warm! Although there is quit a bit of seaweed, they do clean it up daily. It didn't take away from us using the beach at all, or going our snorkling. You can safely snorkle out a large distance and see a few different fish, corals, conches, starfish, crabs... We went out for hours everyday.

Pool- Although we are beach people, we did notice as soon as we arrived that the pool was perfect. Osmany Marrero made sure everything was just right. Plenty of chairs for everyone, and everything was so clean. There is one guy that took care of all this from sun up to sun down and beyond. So when you are there, maybe go and shake this guys hand and give him a little something for doing what he does. Hes a guy in the background that I am sure doesn't get the recongnition that the rest of the staff get.

Food- We went with an open mind. We weren't expecting much, after all , we had heard about the food from places people have stayed at. We were rather surprised with it all. There was countless options at every meal. ( Meats, breads, veggies, desserts)Things DO taste different, however different is not bad. It was a nice change. Alot of food was new to us, but alot of it was stuff we eat on a normal basis, Just prepared slightly different. In our opinion, we would stick with the buffet, the a la carte was nothing compared to the buffet. We actully went to the buffet afterwards to eat.

Bar- There is 3 bars plus one in the restaurant. The main one near the entrance closes at 11pm while the snack bar one closes at 2 am. The 3rd one which is one the way to the beach closes at 6 or 7 pm. The service we received was amazing. The drinks were always good,and never watered down and always served with a smile! The bar staff really got the distance to make sure you feel like part of the family and enjoy your stay there. Jorge, Avilio, Rodulfo, and Santiago all did an amazing job!

Entertainment- There are dance lessons that are offered through out the day, and if you like dancing, then do try this out. Vergen tries so hard to get people involved and gets you to let loose and have some fun! Rolly, now heres a guy you can't say no too! When he wants you to get involved in something... he will make sure you do, and you have fun doing it! These 2 and the rest of their dance staff really do a good job at night with the entertainment. For a couple hours everynight, they put on a show of dancing and singing.

Excursions- We only did 2. We did the Catamaran out to Playa Bonita Beach. If you like snorkling.. this is something you have to do! It was breathtaking! The reef is so untouched.. its amazing. Lasts about 7 hours, with a lunch on the beach( 55 CUCS each). We also did the train ride through Santa Lucia. This was 5 CUCs each. This takes you to the local school, and then through the town. A very interesting and well spent 90 mins.

Overall, we couldn't have asked for more, or better. Everything was wonderful. We spoke to many people that have been back to the same hotel a few times, and now we know why. Its a place you are sad to leave, and can't wait to return. While leaving a peso is nice, keep in mind alot of them go without bare necessities. We did leave tips to everyone, but we also brought a few things for the kids at the school ( pens, pencils etc) razors, soap, clothes, shoes, makeup. Alot of these things are expensive there.

Although it didn't bother us any, there is a disco down the road that plays music until 4 am. You can go there and pay 5 CUCS (peso)and drink all you want. We went to bed early enough and just put the TV on a timer, and that helped drown out the music some.

This is a place you can go and relax. There was a good mix of ages there, and no trouble that we seen.
Can't wait to return!
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Trent 
Peterborough
February 2008
Arrival - The arrival was a little late but this was due to weather in Toronto. Everything at the hotel went fast and smoothly. They even kept the buffet open for us 2 hours past its closing time.

Rooms - Our room was old but no complaints. They are renovating the section (200) that we stayed in. We had no plans to spend much time in the room anyways so it suited us fine. Air conditioning worked so we were happy.

Restaurants - The buffet was okay. If you didn't like it you could always rely on Deisy at the pasta table. You can always sign up to eat at one of the other resorts also.

Bars - The bars were well stocked and drinks were never watered down. Very friendly and entertaining bartenders.

Beach and Pools - The beach was awesome and the pool was always perfectly clean. Watch out for the deck, its slippery when wet!

Grounds - Beautiful grounds. The workers are always cleaning and picking up.

Activities - This is not a resort you go to to be entertained. You go to relax. But there is always something to do if you are into that.

Tours - We did 3 excursions. They were all excellent. The Flamingo tour was great including the dolphins. Make sure Gianni (Tarzan) is your guide. He knows what he is doing. The last day in Camaguay was wonderful. Luis was a fantastic tour guide and we were able to see a lot of Cuban culture. It was excellent.

Conclusion - We loved our stay and can see why so many people go there repeatedly. It is not a 'party' resort but if you need that, there are discos and bars all within walking distance of the resort. We always felt safe leaving the grounds and exploring. We would definitely return.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Judi 

January 2008
Just returned from one week at club amigo mayanabo, santa lucia cuba

It was absolutely wonderful. The arrival was very quick, very organized we were brought to our room immediately. We arrived at 10:00 at night and the dinning room was closed but they invited us in to have something to eat.

The rooms are of the cleanest i have ever experienced. Every day your room is super cleaned and the beds are made, with the cleanest white sheets ever. The room is small but adequate, and the bathroom is equally as clean, with updated showers and toilets.

The food is good. Cuban fare, with alot of rice beans, mixed veg's, lots of salads, delicious breads, chicken always, fresh pasta bar always, something different on the grill every day lunch, and dinner, cooked to your liking. Breakfast has fresh eggs grilled as well as a good choice of pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, cereal all sorts of breads for toasting, great coffe, great juices, at least 5 kinds each day.Tons of salad and fruit, and deserts.

The beach is amazing, soft white sand as far as you can see, water very warm. Always paddle boats, and catamarans to take out. Great snorkling right at the beach. All kinds of excursions, if that is what you are looking for. Trip into Camaguey, snorkling trips, small train trips to the local village, a lobster dinner trip into coco beach, about 30 min away, this trip includes the bus to get there and back, a coconut filled with rum, another beautiful beach, a bonfire, dance lessons, and a lobster dinner, the largest lobster i have ever seen in my life, and delicious, and also wine with dinner. This is a cost of 25.00 per person. You leave your resort at 4:30 and are back at 8:30 in lots of time to still enjoy your night time show.

The night shows were all great. The house band Los Principenos, we fell in love with. They play at lunch and dinner around your table, and they also start the night show. Leo, Raul, July, and Horge, will entertain you with so much enthusiasm and smiles.

The pool is huge, and very refreshing, because it was about 85 degrees everyday we were there. I am a beach person myself, which was always quite relaxing because there was always a breeze. But the pool was hot hot hot, and of course all sorts of activities all day long, with music playing and you could join in any activity you wanted.

The bar grill, which had hamburgers, pizza, hot dogs, and french fries, ran from 10:00 until 5, so if you choose to eat that sort of thing it is available all day long.

I would recommend this resort, it is a very quaint, relaxing SUPER CLEAN, and hosts people of all ages. Completely safe, day and night.

I would clasify the MAYANABO as a hidden gem in santa lucia, and if you get the chance to go there , grab it.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Adraina 
Canada
December 2006
We just got back from Cuba. We stayed at the Club Amigo Mayanabo. We flew with Air Transat. Boy has it changed since the last time we flew with them. On the way to Cuba they basically threw us an egg and ham sandwich from a Major fast food restaurant that Air Transat is starting to use instead of their hot breakfast we were served in the past. The flight was good, landing was great. Got to Cuba past through security, ( A Beagle sniffing your luggage, and carry on’s) Just be careful you no longer can take cell phones, laptops, or any electronic devices. They will confiscate them. The one and a half hour drive to the hotel was very educational. We have been to Cuba several times and it has not changed one bit in 10 years. The local people are still as poor as ever, and live the best they can. Like other people have said they appreciate any used clothing, toothpaste, toothbrushes, medical supplies, women’s sanitary supplies, deorderant, hats and working gloves for the gardeners. Once at the hotel we were greeted by the animation team. Untalented overworked, educated young people that would be best put to work teaching or working other places that they are educated for. Mostly teachers, We were offered a watered down drink as we ck’d in. Ck in was very quick and they had a least 10 bellboys to serve us. (We noticed later the bellboys are also maintance, day cleaners, gardeners and some just walked around during the week, we weren’t sure what their title was. We were taken to our room where about 10 min later it started to rain and we had a roof leak and a flood in our room. After arguing with the front desk clerk they let us change rooms. The second room spelt musty and moldy, and was in real need of an upgrade. This hotel is definitely not a 3 star, at best 1 ½ star should describe it. It only has 1 restaurant and 1 snack bar, and the snack bar is turned into the al a carte at night. Food is typical Cuban food, and yes some meats you don’t know what it is or if in fact is meat. They do have a lot of pasta’s , ravioli, and another kind of pasta I wasn’t sure what it was. ( and I’m Italian) We had piglet, turkey, lamb, ox tail, chicken, chicken and more chicken. If you like rice you’ll love this buffet. The have all different kinds of rice. If you have plain rice one night they mix all the other food with the rice for the next night. They really do try to be inventive but just watch what you eat, if you don’t recognize it don’t eat it. The ice cream is really really good. The third night the people in the next room (honeymooners) decided to argue all night throwing furniture and screaming at each other. The next morning we changed rooms again. The good thing about this room was we had a king size bed, up to now we had two twins pushed together. The rooms were very clean and yes the sheets were thin like Kleenex. Big deal. The bar was fully stocked with not only domestic bottles but also premium bottles of liquor. Maybe we were lucky. The wine is only served at dinner if they don’t run out which they did twice while we were there. The bartender Emilio was very friendly and his wife Ann Maria is a maid. Very nice people. We also met Aris another maid, what a sweetheart. She was so nice and friendly. I have to say the staff there are very nice and friendly and do try to make you feel welcome there. They do their best. For the price we paid it was a trip worth the money, But remember you get what you pay for. Would we go back again to Club Amigo Mayanabo. No way!! Pay the extra and go to a 4 or 5 star. It makes a difference, and you won’t get bed bits like we did. You decide.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Mandy, Melissa, Betty & Jaymie 

February 2005
we flew by kelowna air ..flight was ok..hot meals served..nice for a change. flight was changed last minute..time and a extra stop in varadero..most people were not impressed

the hotel is very old and the rooms are in need of a major overhaul...we had mold in or room and my nieces referred to the bedding as kleenex for sheets and bedspread as a tarp...the entertain ment was the same every night. the beach was good with a pier that had hammocks on it..no food served there

kids club was not the greatest....it had one thing outside of the pingpong table which was a little tike play house and that was it. my daughter who was 6 1/2 was not impressed and needless to say never went back again

food: lots of mystery meat...no signs to tell what is was...hotel food seem to cater to italians and germans mostly.....

there are no scooters to rent at all...we rented a very small compact car which cost $140.00 can for 24 hours....really not worth it to be honest.

this resort is rated as a 3 star but i have been all over cuba to many 3 star resorts and this is not at all a 3 star i would give it 1 1/2.

they offer you another beach to go to 1 peso each way by a motorized train....it would take about 1/2 hour to get there on a dirt road with lots of pot holes.....it is not worth it....very dirty beach.

if it was not for the staff at the hotel mainly michael action...this holiday would of been the ultimate worst...also no disco at this resort and the bar closes at 11:00...so any young or old travellers who like to party and dance this is not the resort.

the brisas and the caracol are much better choices....
Club Amigo Mayanabo
The Adams Family 

January 2005
We arrived home after two wonderful relaxing weeks of fun and sun on Jan 15 2005. We had stayed at Club Santa Lucia in March 2004, and then we chose Club Amigo Mayanabo, for this trip, it was great also.

The staff were outstanding, they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, the rooms are smaller than Club Santa Lucia, however the atmosphere was what made our holiday complete.

The only problem I had were the tiles around the whole pool and hotel, when wet are very dangerous, please keep that in mind when walking any where when it has rained or water has accumulated on the tiles.

The pool was very well maintained by the best pool man in all of Cuba, Osbany, he was fantastic, he worked from 5 am until dark every day keeping everything neat and clean, and the water was salt free, and the pool has been redone in the last few years.

The food was excellent, we have been to Cuba 11 times now and it is getting better and better all the time, if you want good healthy food, there was an abundance of food in the restaurant buffet, the Ala Carte was very good, lots of food, and the chef and staff were superb, and there was also a buffet, hamburgs fries etc right beside the pool that was open all afternoon if you felt a hunger pain.

Everything was close to the pool, area, which is great, however they do need another bartender on at some peak times, people were getting a bit frustrated, at the usual, people butting in and getting served first, but that goes on everywhere.

The beach when we have been there, both times has been very very windy, so windy it was a bit frustrating and annoying to be sitting there sometimes, but it sure beat the snow storms here in Canada so we persevered, the beach bar, was never busy, likely due to the wind factor, but it is very beautiful, and Mario was a great bartender, ask for the Mario special!

We felt very much at home here, we will go back , there was something about this resort, that made you feel very welcome, we walked to Playa Santa Lucia a few times, approx 15 minute walk, and went to the school and met the principal and had a bit of a tour of the school, which was lovely and clean, we took a horse and buggy to Coco Beach, that was also worth the $6 each.

There is a piano bar that starts at 11pm, when that is finished everyone that was young in spirit and didn't care what the morning looked like, headed over to the disco, (approx a 5 minute walk, between the resorts), for $5 you can drink the rest of the night until morning, that was what we were told, because we are early risers, we never really experienced the late night life, but we seen a few hurting people that had.

In conclusion, if you want an inexpensive, clean, friendly, beautiful, wonderful, experience in Cuba try Club Amigo Mayanabo, it was well worth the price, it was small and intimate, and that is what we like in a resort, nothing fancy, but a very relaxing holiday.

Another great Holiday in Cuba!! Special thanks to Magaly, Annia, for making everything wonderful!
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Pauline 
Canada
April 2004
We just got back last night from a wonderful week of sun and beautiful white sandy beaches. We booked through Go Travel for $599 for a week of sun and fun and we got that and more. Prior to departure we read several of the hotel reviews and quite frankly we were afraid of condition of the hotel however upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. Definitely under rated by some of the guests who were looking for the Ritz. We arrived late at night and the hotel staff greeted us with welcome snack and drinks. The hotel itself is small and inviting. The pool is sparkling clean and the man who cares for it does so with pride and joy. The rooms are clean as a whistle. Not a bug to be seen and trust me we were on alert and well armed with cans of raid. The cleaning staff should be commended for doing such a great job.

A friend of ours stayed in one of the suites. It was huge well worth the extra $10 a night. The suite was a great location for our nightly cocktails parties. The food was fabulous. Plenty of choices with something for everyone and the ice cream is to die for. If you are on the south beach diet you won’t have a problem staying with it. In my opinion the drinks weren’t the best. I found them watered down and tasteless. The mix just isn’t good unless you have a slush machine. An investment in a good slush machine to make better drinks would be a welcome addition.

For $5 per person a horse and carriage ride around Santa Lucia is well worth it. Santa Lucia is like a small picturesque village. For $17 return you can go by carriage to Cocoa Beach and have a yummy lobster dinner at Orlando’s place. Cocoa beach is a hidden treasure. It is about a half hour away from Santa Lucia. Along the way you past the salt marsh and see flocks of flamingo’s what a sight to see. It was really nice to eat at one of the local’s homes. The meal was delicious and the house was spotless. They don’t have much but boy are they happy and proud of what they do have.

The only issue we had with the trip was the late departure from Halifax and the early departure from Cuba we felt we lost out a day. Our plane left Halifax after 6pm and we didn’t get to the hotel until after midnight. On our return we left at 7:45 in the morning and arrived home after 4pm. Most other carriers leave Halifax early in the morning so you arrive before lunch and you don’t leave to come home until late afternoon. A change in the flight time would be the only change we would want for this vacation to be more than perfect.

We would go back and plan to go back next year.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Paul Family 

April 2004
Photos

We traveled April 9th to April 17th from Ottawa with Go Travel Direct via Zoom Airlines and just dealing with these two companies made the vacation worthwhile. Lisa and Gareth were awesome and the airlines were very friendly, the plane was spacious and the food was great as well. We left Ottawa at 6am and we arrived 3.5 hours later (1/2 hour early) and going through customs was well going through customs (about 1 hour). Found our rep immediately and we were on our way to the bus. These was our (myself, my wife and daughter) first time anywhere in Cuba but have traveled to the DR a few times so we came with the proper mindset. The drive from the airport was about an hour 10 minutes and our rep Lisa gave a great Cuba intro while we were offered cold beer or water or Cola, which helped lessen the drive. Upon arrival to the resort check-in went very smoothly only took about 20 minutes and we were off to our room. We stayed in Building 1 and this was perfect, away from all the noise yet it seemed only a quick walk to the pool and beach. The room was basic but very functional nice size so the three of us never felt crowded. Being from Canada and traveling during the hockey playoffs it was nice to be able to catch a few games on the television. The remote control air conditioner was great and being on the first floor the patio was great to dry the "wet stuff", surprisingly the second floor rooms didn't have a balcony. The resort is laid our so you never felt crowded by people but the resort felt intimate because it was small only 225 rooms. The staff was great, our hats off to and not only including Arias (our chambermaid) who took the time out of her extremely busy and long day to teach my daughter the art of towel folding, Boris (mixes a mean Rum and Lemon) Miguel, Michael and Alex how were all very steady bartenders. The wait staff at the buffet was so attentive; Fidel and his wife were fantastic as well as Felix and Mavis. Our hats off the Santa who worked behind the grill all day. Daniel at the snack bar was the best after one day he always had "the usual" ready as soon as we made it to the grill. The beach was a little different being a coral beach like I have read in other reviews water shoes are a must. Please do not think the beach is terrible because even though it was a little rough on the feet the beach was beautiful. White sand usually gets very hot by midday but the sand stayed cool and there were places especially to the right where the sand had the constancy of talcum powder. There is a nice quaint bar out over the water (only one of the other hotels had this unique feature). One nice surprise was the lack of vendors on the beach, which was a very nice change to the commercialized beaches in the DR and pretty well everywhere else. The vendors setup shop with little tables and you had to approach them to see their wares. We visited all the other resorts and found they were all very nice. All had subtle differences Like Club Caracol seemed a little more modern but had a small pool, Brias was soooo crowded and Club Mayanabo had a large pool and the less crowded beach, so there was a trade off with comparing the resorts in the area (we never went to The Gran). The food was perfect while everything on the menu didn't suit everyone's taste there was always something to eat and leave full. The desert area was something homemade ice cream and pastries. My family thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in Playa Santa Lucia while we never made the "bar run" Rumba, Cultural Center and then La Junga (we did make it to Rumba). We did visit the salt factory and visit a day care and do a horseback tour of the area, our snorkeling excursion was cancelled due to high winds (the only day of wind) and the shopping was excellent. In closing for the price $732.00 each and the service from the hotel staff and the travel reps I will be coming back to this resort in a heart beat. Another reason would be just for the people, they may look poor but are so rich in life.

Note: Everyone said to wait unit we got back to the airport to purchase souvenirs but don't inflated price there especially on liquor and cigars, we found the prices anywhere between 25% to 75% higher then the local stores.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Karen 
Canada
April 2004
My husband and I returned from Club Amigo Mayanabo, Santa Lucia Beach near Camaguey last night April 22/04. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously and plan to return to this resort! One must travel to Cuba with an open mind. You can not be fussy. Things are different there, so don't expect it to be like home! I am sure we could have found things to complain about but why bother? I was not sure what to expect and was so pleasantly pleased with Club Amigo Mayanabo. It is a perfect 3 star resort! The grounds of the resort were lovely, surrounded by palm trees. The pool was gorgeous and there was a bar by the pool. Sometimes you needed to be patient with the service but you are vacation, chill out and relax. Don't let little things upset you. The beach was beautiful. A very basic beach bar but it was there! Water sandals are useful as it is a little rough right in front of the resort, however if you walked to the right on the beach the sand was quite smooth. The rooms were very simple, but very clean and lovely and bright. I would bring a pillow next time. We stayed in building 3 which I had heard was not as good as the other 2 buildings. Our room was just fine. Yes, not very sound proof. Bring some earplugs or we discovered just closing your bathroom door helps! The air conditioner will also drown out the sounds from the disco next door. The food was fine. We were always able to find something to eat. There is always rice, pasta, fish, bread and fruit. Loved the bananas! Didn't really care that I couldn’t have wine with lunch, I had it with dinner. I found the staff quite warm and friendly. Some were better than others but for the most part if you smiled at them or greeted them, they greeted you! It is not a huge party place. Santa Lucia Beach is not really near anything. You can walk to the other few resorts. This is a place for relaxation and rest. The winds were very high but we were told this was not a usual thing. However it would have been very hot without the wind! We had plenty of sunshine! I felt incredibly safe the whole time we were there. We took a horse and cart on a little tour of Santa Lucia and were able to visit a school which was most interesting. We did bring plenty of little gifts; candy, pens and paper for the kids and toiletry items for the adult staff. Even a small cash tip is very much appreciated. The best tip I read via the Internet was to bring an insulated mug. This was a great idea and a must! Loved my coffee on the beach in the morning and then it kept my drinks cold and because they were bigger than the little plastic cups I didn't have to go to the bar as often! This was my second visit to Cuba and I loved it again. It is a wonderful country!
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Sherry 
Canada
April 2004
Hi There,
We just returned home yesterday and while we had a wonderful time it wasn't due to the resort or the service! I'm confused as to who rated it a 3 to 3 1/2 , depending on where you look. It would rate a 2 in Canada and could be rented hourly.... ahhh...

Upon arrival we were taken to our room ( the first of three!!) and it was absolutely terrible.... the curtains were hanging off the wall, the bathroom was dingy and stained.. too much for me... so we requested a change. Room #2 was almost as bad. The soap had been used, the curtains were half up, half off and the toilet seat was stained and really gross. Room # 3 was better but still didn't deserve a 3 star rating...think parking garage....concrete pillars...dark.... and the toilet wouldn't flush... we had to fill it up from the tap.

The beach was okay..you do need beach shoes when the tide changes due to the coral reef....not as nice or as well kept as Veradaro...but they did have lawn chairs and Ricardo was wondeful to set them up and wipe them off.

The majority of the staff were not friendly or helpful....except of course the reception staff..they were great. Expect to serve yourself in the dining room...wait in line at the pool bar ( 1 or 2 bartenders on at a time ) and if you are remotely fussy about what you eat this may be a problem. The dining room recyles everything leftover . Hot dogs ( 2 types) for breakfast lunch and supper, potato chips, rice , beans, pizza and three other choices...usually a potato, peperoni , sliced ham etc. They do have a pasta bar and they make omlets and fried eggs in the morning.

The biggest difference from other resorts we have stayed at was probably the very noticeable presence of hookers..... no not lookers....HOOKERS...available for the guests ! And they were hired and squired about the resort. I found this a little tacky considering it was a family resort.

The biggest plus was of course the price...but I personally didn't think it worth even that and will not be returning to the area.
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Francine 
Canada
February 2004
My sister and I went to this all-iclusive in Santa Lucia, Cuba in February 2004. This is a budget hotel run by the Cubans and it shows... The rooms are very basic and they look like a run-down hunter's shack but after the initial shock when first showed your room, you sort of get used to it. Some people told us that buildings 1 and 2 had better rooms and that our building (# 3) was the ghetto!! The beach is small (although one of the largest of the 4 hotels in the area) but is very nice.You should bring water shoes as the shore is broken-down coral for at least a couple of yards and hurts the feet. It is very weedy also but it is easy to find big areas of weed-free and soft-sand bottom and the water is very warm. We enjoyed the ocean and swam for long hours every day as well as taking advantage of the free water sports (catamaran, sailboats, peddle-boat, etc...) We even saw an ultralight airplane owned by cuban pilots and they seemed to be offering rides to the tourists. There is now a beach bar which you can access by a long jetty and the bar man Miguel is very efficient and nice.

The food was decent with a good choice at almost every meal. The desserts are very good and the home-made ice cream is suberb! What I found most pleasant at this hotel was the possibility of taking long walks on the main road of Santa Lucia thus getting a glimpse of how the Cubans live. I do not think this is hotel for those who are looking for luxury but for those on abudget looking for sun, warmth and a good peaceful vacation this is a good choice as long as you're gettin a good deal! (this is at most a 2 1/2 *)