Smugglers Cove Reviews

Home page > Saint Lucia > Saint Lucia Hotel Index > Smugglers Cove reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Castries Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2010

Rendezvous Resort

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 3, 2014

Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort & Spa

3.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 22, 2011

Rex Papillon

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 15, 2010

Rex St. Lucian Resort

1.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 18, 2011

Smugglers Cove  

Cap Estates, Castries, St. Lucia

"Overall a great trip except for..."
Posted by: Christina on Mar 14, 2013
see all reviews

Smugglers Cove Reviews
Smugglers Cove Pictures and Information
Smugglers Cove Castries Saint Lucia

#3
of 10 Hotels in Castries

User rating 3.3

Based on 4 reviews

Smugglers Cove Information


Discover Smugglers Cove, a spacious, village-style resort located on 60 acres of lush tropical gardens.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Smugglers Cove Reviews

Smugglers Cove Review: 3.3 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  1
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (2)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 4

"Overall a great trip except for..."

Smugglers Cove
User Rating:  Smugglers Cove Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christina  on Mar 14, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Business | Family and Kids
92 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We flew out of Toronto on Air Transat. Our flight was uneventful considering we were traveling with two kids under 4. Air Transat had seats assigned for me and my infant son as they have designated seats with two oxygen masks for infants. HOWEVER, my husband was in a single seat and my 4-year old daughter in another single seat with two strangers. Air Transat did NOTHING to change this seating arrangement!!!

Going through the airport in St. Lucia was quick and efficient. We were guided to our minivan for the 2.5 hour drive to the resort. The scenery was breathtaking and the whole island is beautiful. Check-in was quick which was nice after the long trek to get there.

Rooms:
THIS WAS A DISASTER…The room was tiny and filthy. There was a brown ring of grime in the bathtub and the vanity had spots of black mold on it. The sliding door to the tiny patio did not lock. We called about the door and someone came to fix it. Fixing it meant banging it with a hammer until it locked. At this point, enough was enough. The room we were given was not the room we booked, regardless of this NO ONE should be subjected to staying in a room that needs serious cleaning and repairs. I went to the front desk and complained about the condition of the room and asked that we be given another CLEAN room. The front desk manager told me that all the standard rooms pretty much are small and in need of repair. She gave me the option of upgrading to a suite which we did. The suite was beautiful and very clean! It was located on a hill which provided a beautiful view of the resort and beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
We mostly ate at the main buffet, The Cove. It was convenient, quick and provided a separate kids buffet which our daughter loved! We also ate at La Trattoria and that was also good.

Clubs/Bars: There were entertaining shows and music every night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: The beach and the ocean were nice, however, the ocean floor was very rocky. Bring water socks!

Pools: There were a few pools and all of them were nice. The kid pool with the slide was a lot of fun for the kids.

Grounds: The grounds were immaculate, luscious greens everywhere. It was beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities: There were planned activities throughout the day at the beach and the pool.

Shopping: We shopped at the resort and the airport for souvenirs. There was a strip mall near the hotel (about a 15 minute car ride) but we didn’t find anything to buy.

Other Comments:
Staff and Service: Everyone we spoke with was really helpful and friendly.

Going Home: We took the 2.5 hour drive back to the airport. We had a late flight out of St. Lucia and landed in Toronto close to midnight.

Summary: Overall it was a nice vacation but we probably will not go back to St. Lucia…too many other places to see!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was Ok"

Smugglers Cove
User Rating:  Smugglers Cove Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Aug 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
196 people found this review helpful

Please Not that Smugglers Cove is no longer associated with the Almond Group

We had a chance to return to Almond Morgan Bay but decided to try their other resort but upon arrival discovered quickly that it had been sold to another
resort group . Sooo some of the things that we were expecting did not happen.

To be perfectly fair it is an absolutly beautiful resort but is in a state fo
decline. You could tell it was really nice when it was first built but years
have taken their toll on the resort.

As a contractor it would take a lot of work to bring this once beautiful resort up to a 4-5 star rating. Three is the best I could give it.
Thr grounds buildings, pools recreational facilities all need work.
Iwill not go into the technical details here.

The food was good at all the restaurants and the servery staff were great.
There are 4 main restaurants all good but the Italian was best.

The entertainment was adequate but the stage needed repairs.

Watersports were a bust. It was a rough weather week so we were unable to
enjoy any of these activities. They really ought to lighten up on some of there restrctions. Some of the days were not that bad.

Room was servicable but there was a ant problem.

WATCH YOUR VALUABLES. WE have travellled all over the Caribbean without any
incident. However I guess t was our time as the housekeeping person even tough we tipped her stole from us. She stole an electric toothbrush and hat.
No big deal but we did feel betrayed. It was reported but I did not press the issue.

I will not return but if you want a reasonablly priced vacation, good food
and a pleasant surrounding it is OK. But wqatch your stuff!

And note Smugglers is no longer with the Almond Group!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful"

Smugglers Cove
User Rating:  Smugglers Cove Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jason  on Apr 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
265 people found this review helpful

Both the hotel and island are absolutely beautiful... The grounds are very well kept and it brings the island living concept to life. Hummingbirds fluttering Lots of picturesque gardens perfect for long walks.

Room Number:
352

Arrival:
We were greeted with smiles and fresh fruit and then given a brief tour of the grounds.

Rooms:
The room was spacious and comfortable though the bathroom could have done with a wall plug or 2.

Restaurants and Bars:
The 4 restaurants were great for variety from seafood to asian. And the bar staff know how to get you where you want to be. Just tell them how drunk you want to get and leave it on autopilot.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was volcanic sand so not as fun to walk in the water but snorkeling was great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did plenty of watersports though i highly recommend taking a boat ride with captain Edmund or going for one of the many island tours. After all we did not come here to see the hotel.

Other Comments:
My wife and 4 year old son loved every minute of it and the ladies in the kids club were fantastic.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasantly Surprised!"

Smugglers Cove
User Rating:  Smugglers Cove Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marina  on Jan 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
279 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Smugglers Cove (it changed hands and name in Dec.2010) for one week Jan.9th-16th, had a wonderful time. Although we are beach people and usually enjoy walking for miles along the beach, we still did a fair amount of walking off the resort.
We had a gardenview room, clean,updated, with flatscreen tv, king bed, double sinks, sitting suite, and porch with table and chairs.
Also included in room were,safe(no extra charge) mini fridge, coffee maker & hairblower. We also had plugs for shaver, and battery recharging.
The beach was small crescent shaped, with dark sand and the ocean floor was quite rocky once you got in further. This of course made it great for snockeling right off the beach, nice coral and lots of different fish to see.
No shortage of beach loungers no towel reserving needed here. Pools were right behind the beach and were saltwater. This made it easy if you wanted to sit on the beach yet swim in the pool.
Food was good, buffet always lots of variety, theme nights, Mexican, Indian..also three ala carte restaurants, fish, italian and asian, all very good.
Some days there was a shortage of beach towels and you were asked to keep yours one more day, not a big deal, since you could just hang them up in your room to dry if they were wet, usually they dont get dirty!
Good variety of drinks available from both bars,scotch available but only one variety, husband said it was not too bad, can't comment I don't drink the stuff.
St. Lucia is a beautiful, lush mountainous island, we hired a taxi and toured the whole island for a day, just beautiful.
On the whole we had a great week, hot weather lots of sunshine, we met some wonderful people that made our weeks stay even better, things might not all be the same as at home, but just chill out you are on vacation just relax and enjoy!

Room Number:
178

Arrival:
January 9th 2011
We were the only plane in airport, therefore no problems getting through customs, luggage there shortly, boarded buses, with in 30 min. we were on our way. The l 1/2 hr. bus ride was very scenic and uneventful.

Rooms:
We had just a basic gardenview room, very clean and spacious, with king bed,flatscreen tv mini fridge, room safe,coffee maker,and hairblower all in good condition. Lots of hot water every day, airconditioners worked fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurant for breakfast,lunch and dinner. Also at lunch time they had a bbque. going with chicken, ribs, burgers and hotdogs. Lots of fresh fruit both at breakfast and lunch, different desserts everyday.
All three specialty restauranst were very good, you could go to each one several times, if you did not want to eat at the buffet. All restaurants are open air, except the Asian on which was indoors.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was relatively small, with dark sand (gets really hot during the day) first ten feet was sandy going in the water then quite rocky,
Pools were warm salt water, they seemed to have some issues with getting them sparkling clean, but I think they are working on this, since the hotel changed hands in December 2010

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities going on, we do not participate, so cant really comment on this.

Other Comments:
On the whole, the resort was beautiful, nicely laid out, with lush gardens everywhere, staff was friendly enough. Our sungwing rep. Linda, was very helpful and if you had any issues with anything she would be available and take care of things immidiately.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would Not Recommend"

Smugglers Cove
User Rating:  Smugglers Cove Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  june  on Apr 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
317 people found this review helpful

I booked a 7 day holiday to ASC through Transat Holidays for $5062 for my spouse and myself, expecting to receive what was advertised by the tour company & resort.
A week before our trip we contacted our travel agent, Transat Holidays, Almond headquarters in Fla., and the resort director at ASC to express our concerns about the empty pool, hot tub, low water levels and bed bugs mentioned in the Feb. 2010 reviews on a hotel review website (along with the link to show the pool/hot tub photos).
Transat Holidays had our full payment and refused to allow us to switch to the sister property of Almond Morgan Bay and Almond headquarters assured our travel agent that the pool situation had been rectified before our stay.

Your Arrival:
On our arrival we noticed the water levels were well below the skimmers, one pool was less than 1/2 full, but people were still trying to use it and the hot tub water level was below the jets for most of the week. The pools were dirty every day even after some cleaning took place.
While we were at the resort we contacted the director about the dirty, 1/2 empty hot tub/pools and asked if they could be taken care of. We also filled in 2 surveys while there expressing our concerns re: cleanliness, condition of pools, hot tub and the thief of our travel documents when the reception people were watching our suitcases while we were sent off for lunch at the children's buffet at check in time.
Speaking to other guests who had been at the resort for 3 weeks, we found out that the pool situation had been the same for the entire time. They were told there was a drought and the resort was not filling the pools to conserve water and the one pool had a leak. So those were the excuses being given, while the water flowed freely in the restaurants. Your glass was never empty. Lots of ice was being used in the drinks, as well.
We were also told by other guests about 3 cell phones being stolen from the guest rooms, so we carried our valuables with us, as the safes could not be relied on.
On our 5th day there, we noticed pool maintenance & management people taking a look at the condition the pools. It was evident that this area of the resort had been neglected for quite a while. Clean up started at that point. Someone came out to the hot tub with liquid cleaner and a rag to scrub it down. Someone came out to test the water in the adult pools and on our departure date the 1/2 empty pool had been filled.
We spoke to people who stayed at 3 other resorts on the island the same week and they were aware of the drought, but had full, sparkling, clean pools to enjoy. Not so for ASC, we did not swim in the pools because they were so dirty and uninviting.

Rooms:
We had a garden room behind the Piton Lounge. The room was basically clean except for the ants crawling around the bathroom floor, counter top and tub. The air conditioning worked well and we had water for showers, but no towels on our last day. Trying to get atleast 2 towels & washcloths was quite a task. Reception kept promising someone would bring them. It took 3 & 1/2 hours for that to happen. We went to dinner dirty.
You will see a variety of reviews about this resort. It shows inconsistencies. Having been former Almond Resort guests in Barbados, I must say Almond Smugglers Cove doesn't compare at all and we would not recommend it.
We did speak to others at the resort who said they'd been upgraded to a suite and they paid so much less than we did for their vacation there, which prevented them from expressing their concerns to management.
We didn't get what we paid for.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars would be considered average for an all inclusive. They ran out of diet coke our last two nights there. Bottles of water had to be bought in the gift shop. You order your item, go to reception room to pay for it and then go back to gift shop to pick it up.
Bars generally opened around 10 am.
Reservations were needed for all restaurants for dinner.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is a dark sand and murky looking.

Grounds were well kept, except for room service trays being left outside the neighbour's doors.

Pools-reported at beginning of review.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to lobby for archery group to meet. No one showed up. Left after 1/2 hour. No archery although it was advertised in the program.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube