Coconut Bay Resort Reviews

Home page > Saint Lucia > Saint Lucia Hotel Index > Coconut Bay Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Coconut Bay Resort  

Vieux Fort, St. Lucia

"Sheer paradise and fun"
Posted by: Sarah on Feb 25, 2012
see all reviews

Coconut Bay Resort Reviews
Coconut Bay Resort Pictures and Information
Coconut Bay Resort Vieux Fort Saint Lucia

#1
of 1 Hotels in Vieux Fort

User rating 3.9

Based on 11 reviews

Coconut Bay Resort Information


Every room includes at least a partial view of the ocean from the balcony

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Coconut Bay Resort Reviews

Coconut Bay Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  7
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 11

"Sheer paradise and fun"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
197 people found this review helpful

This the second time I've been to coconut bay with my children and it just gets better. Not only are the rooms facilities and food fantastic, but the staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful making it the best holiday we have ever had. My children all can't wait to go back next year

Room Number:
106 and107

Arrival:
So warm and friendly with cocktails and cold cloths to cool you down when you arrive and so close to the airport it's so easy.

Rooms:
Large well equipped rooms with daily maid service air conditioning and fridge. Essential in the heat.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great choice of food with 3 amazing restaurants to choose from as well as 2 evening outdoor events each week plus daily pool and beach lunchtime bbq's and non stop beach grill. The choice is amazing

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spoilt for choice and pools water slides and spa pools there is something for everyone

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Exercise sessions paintball biking water slides kids club, bingo, disco, spa treatments. Talent shows singers, walking groups. Yoga.
Basically everything you could want to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Exceeding expectations! 5+ star staff!"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
329 people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Coconut Resort was wonderful! We had went there for our 10th year anniversary and before we stayed I read the reviews some great some were worse. For those people who gave a bad review for 1) Hurricane Haiti damage. REALLY! 2) Loosing glasses 3) the noise before 10 pm 4) the accomidations not being 5 star 5) the beach 6) Seaweed... really need to settle down. The resort is not Sandles resort. BUT YOU DID NOT PAY FOR A SANDLES RESORT IN ST LUCIA! You pay for a 3 star resort but you will receive with a 5+ star staff! The resort is geared for families and couples (Harmony side). We did not bring the kids this time but next time I would have no reservations on bringing our three children. Really enjoyed it. If you are a picky person who stays at 5+ star and love to stay on the beach this resort is not for you. If you the type of person who likes the pool, has kids and/or can realised you are going to a 3.5 star resort and can look past the outdated decor or that there is no room service. The staff make up the difference for the decor. Go to Coconut Resort!

Room Number:
454

Room Block:
Harmony

Arrival:
Wonderful! The wine and towel were great after the flight.

Rooms:
Are clean not the greatest decor. Bed is comfortable. There is plenty of closet space. The resort is nice but may need some work for trim ect..The gardens are exceptional and the overall resort is clean.They do spray for the bugs but it lasts just a minute.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
Was great. There are restaurants you can book, the buffet was nice. Mexican night was good. Silk was also very good. The pool bars are great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
If you are a beach person, this resort may not be for you. The beach is not large and there is seaweed. They clean up the seaweed three times a day, but you are on the Alantic and not the Caribean sea side of the island therefore the water is rougher.
Pool
There is a large pool with a swim up bar and an adult pool. Very clean and well maintained.The waterslides were great as well. You should try the lazy river.
Grounds
Very clean. the gardens and shrubs are beautiful and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment
Was okay. We went during the down time but there were activites for adults and kids. This resort is wonderful with the kids. They even had a pirates night and always involved the kids.

Trips
LOVED them. Juias is wonderful. The people there are friendly and helpful. We went on the Private tour of the island and it was the best money spent. The driver takes you where you want to go. You should do the zip linning! Choose the zip tour that is only the zip tour you get better views and the staff there are great. Botanical Gardens was okay, I am not a gardener so.. We loved the mud bath as well.

Other Comments:
Staff
5 Star! They really are wonderful. By the 2nd day they all had already remembered us. The bar staff would remmeber your drink and the restaurant staff also always did their best to make you happy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fabulous place to stay - with the very best staff !!"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gerry  on Feb 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
299 people found this review helpful

From Jan.23, 2011 to Feb. 6, 2011 we spent 2 glorious weeks at Coconut Bay Resort and Spa.
Our group consisted of 8 adults and one child.
We landed at Hewanorra Airport, and less than 15 minutes later we were met in the main lobby of the resort, with a glass of champagne and a cool towel.
In less than 10 minutes we were in our rooms.
Upon our arrival, our rooms were very clean, and remained that way during our entire stay.
Our housekeeper, Virginia, did a wonderful job the entire time. Thank you Virginia.
Duty manager Salah William went over and beyond his call of duty whenever we had dealings with him.
Thank you Salah for making our stay so memorable and wonderful.
Thank you especially for arranging the 2 birthday parties.
The buffet dining room staff was extremely polite and helpful, and we want to extend a special thank you to Ryan. He was one of the best.
The entertainment staff was phenomenal, especially Jason, Marcellus, Anson and the girls.
The daily activities were lots of fun and always well attended.
If you wanted to do your “own thing” during the day, there were lots of beach chairs available at all times.
Hammocks were also readily available.
The Lazy River was lots of fun, and very relaxing.
The water slides too were lots of fun.
The pools and Lazy River were always clean.
The pool staff were always busy keeping the pool, and grounds clean and tidy.
The beach was kept very clean despite the fact that some sea weed does wash ashore from the Atlantic.
The Kids Club had lots of activities, and the kids always had lots of fun.
The nightly entertainment was great, especially Country and Western night, and the nights with Ms. Lynn.
The bartenders were super girls and guys, and always eager to please, especially Mich and Fatta.
The drinks were plentiful, with many varieties always available.
We especially loved the “Mich Specials.” Thank you Mich.
The food in the buffet dining room, and the a-la-carte restaurants was excellent.
The variety of foods at the buffet was always plentiful, with fresh fruit and vegetables always available.
The beach BBQs were wonderful. The staff always did a great jobsetting up all that was needed to make each BBQ so successful.
The wonderful staff at the Beach Grill made it another great place to eat.
The gym was well equipped for good workouts.
The spa staff was wonderful, and they do a great job.
Our excursions were fantastic experiences.
The island is a gorgeous place, and it’s well worth exploring by car, or 4 wheeler.
Zip lining was another exciting adventure for us.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Coconut Bay and we will be back !!

Room Number:
225, 232, 167 and 464

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible experience! Rate should be ZERO!"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Nov 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

We traveled to St. Lucia one week after hurricane TOMAS. Resort flat out lied about the conditions to all the guests that we talked to. We were there for 24 hrs! When we arrived we were informed that some of the "ammenities" would not be available such as waterslide and some pool areas. What a joke!! We had dirty water available 2 hrs. a day and NO HOT WATER PERIOD! THESE ARE NOT AMMENITIES!! The food was horrible and there was little air conditioning. The island was not travelable for tours as many roads were washed out and blocked by landslides. The power and been out for sometime prior to our arrival which was the first since the hurricane. It's a miracle we were not sick from the food. Our travel agent and my husband and called 3 seperate times in the days prior to our traveling there and were told that there had only been damage to some outdoor furniture! HALF OF THE RESORT WAS CLOSED! These people are so desperate for your money they will say ANYTHING to get you there and HOPE you will stay. NEVER AGAIN! BEWARE!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Coconut Bay excels"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hlywud  on May 7, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
343 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Deboarded the plane at 1:08 pm and were in our room by 1:30 pm, very fast and efficient transfer and check in procedures.

Rooms:
4th floor premium cean view Harmony (Adults Only) side.
Clean and comfortable, built in electric converters did not work but not a major problem during our stay.
Some signs of mould from humidity on ceiling outside of bathroom.
Water was always hot for the shower, pressure was also excellent.
Rooms were not lavish but well appointed and very nice size, with lots of closet space and a very large electronic safe also a large scree lcd tv with a very good selection of channels.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was impressive although not overbearing, having been to many 4.5 and 5 star resorts here everything was piping hot and never luke warm. There was a very decent selection of foods available, it would be your fault if you went hungry.
A la cartes needed to be booked a day in advance and I will say that they rivaled any I have been to at any resort I have been to, well presented, very tasty and definite hot, service was excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Splash side had great huge pools, lazy river and water slide which was great for families, very clean pools with a large swim up bar which we never used.
A great hot tub was also available.
Beach is long and extensive but lots of rocks along the shore as they try to save the sand from the constant waves of the trade winds, we went knowing that the beach was not going to be great and would have lots of seaweed each day, but you still could go in and find warm clear waters with a nice sand bottom.
Grounds were quite extensive and would be beautiful if the island were not in the midst of a 12 week drought and all the vegetation was getting very stressed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
St. Lucia Jazz festival was on and each night was a variety of live music on in the lobby, some was excellent and some was a bit too loud for my liking. Overall on a scale of 1 to 10 the entertainment should rate a 6.

Other Comments:
In most cases this resort is advertised as a 3 to 3.5 star resort, it definitely falls into a 4 star category based on its food, cleanliness and great staff. Atually I have been to many advertised 4.5 star resorts in the DR and Mexico that would not come close to this gem on the south shores of St. Lucia.

Photos: http://www.worldisround.com/articles/359095/index.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful St. Lucia"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Jan 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
314 people found this review helpful

Travelled with a friend.

Your Arrival:
No problems with arrival. Had to wait until chk in time. In the mean time.. we checked out the resort.

Rooms:
Rooms were nice.. I had no problems with anything.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good food..many choices. And almost at all times.. food is available. Both restaurants were good.. Italian being better. The bars were always kept clean. Many to choose from. My dissappointment - No Clamato Juice!! Wat!!:)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
3 pools.. not once used:(.. but looked good.. and felt warm. The Beach was great.. water felt warmer than the pool.. loved the waves...on extreme left or right side of the beach. Alota seaweed.. but what the hell.. it wasnt soooo bad.. put some water shoes on and you'll be fine:) Atleast they clean every now and then.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wasnt involved in much activities in the resort. Disco was alright..its more busy on the Fridays, Saturday & Sunday. I say! go out and party ;) much better..lol

Other Comments:
I love this place.. its a great resort and great people work there. No other resorts are around.. Will want to make it there again with my boyfriend this time. Thank you all for showing me a good time.. at your resort.
(Gregg, and other front desk staff, Maryanne - for our clean room, Small J, J-Bay, El, Loan, Hidy, Mitch, I could go on... but might run outta space;))
The only thing I didnt like - Too many kids!!! lol.. and thats why there is an adult side;)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  T. Posavad  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
335 people found this review helpful

The people were extremely courteous at the hotel. They were welcoming and very helpful.

Rooms:
The rooms were okay. Little difficult to share only 2 drawers with 4 people. The pillows were extremely stinky and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. The cleaning staff changed our sheets at least twice while we were there for 2 weeks. Enjoyed the bright colours in the room. The T.V. didn't have many channels. All were fuzzy. The bathrooms were a nice size and they were very generous in the size and the amount of towels in the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Didn't go to the bar as we were with our two girs. The main buffet restaurant didn't have a huge variety. There was only 1 veggie at every meal. The beef was extremely tough and the portions were very little. The food was good...always had an item that was awesome at every meal. Didn't go to the Chinese restaurant. The Italian restaurant was good, not amazing. Totally enjoyed the 2 nights that were BBQ nights on the pool deck. Was great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was really sea-weedy. No one went in the ocean. A guy would come out several times a day to clean up the beach. When it was raked, it was beautiful. The pool was awesome by the swim up bar. Didn't go to the other pool or the adult only pool. The lazy river was relaxing and my kids (and husband) loved the waterlside, especially the one in the tunnel!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't participate in the activities on the resort. Just enjoyed the beauty of St. Lucia...listening to the ocean as it's beside the pool and enjoying the 31 degree weather every day. We did "discover St. Lucia" tour. Worth every penny. They had several trips, but with 2 kids, we couldn't do much. Loved our tour...has a bananna right off the bananna tree; tried a cocoa bean, right off the tree; had a coconut-drank the juice and ate the actual soft coconut....awesome day!!!

Other Comments:
St. Lucia is an amazing place to visit. Always wanted to go there and was happy that I did! The resort was beautiful...very clean. It's on a lot of land and there is no other resort there. No one bothers you...just a relaxing and beautiful island. Didn't want to come home! Everyone should go there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would go back"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brad  on Sep 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
295 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
Arrival was good. Only 10 mins to check in. Best of all there is a bar nearby so,we got a drink. That was after the welcome cocktail. What made check in better is that the resort was 2 mins from the airport. Never any bother for noise though.

Rooms:
Rooms were modest. Good shower and hot water. Can drink the water. Adequate for anyone just using it to clean up and sleep and hit the pool/beach. What else do you need? Was clean and air conditioning worked well.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food overall was excellent. We ate well. If you want food you are used to from North America, you got it. Ribs on western bbq night, salads, etc. No complaints. If you want chicken fingers, pizza, hamburger, fries, salad for lunch by the pool you can have it. Want a full buffet? You can have that too. The italian restaurant was awesome. The steak - to die for. Oriental restaurant was good. Resort was not full. Maybe half. Could use an extra hand or two at the pool bar. Perhaps another bar but, not bad. I never went thirsty!! Filled my large thermos mug every time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were average. Pools were nice for swim up bar or just hang around. Other two pools were for activites and adults only with its own bar. Beach not great. Seaweed always cleaned from beach several times daily but, swimming was not pleasant. More seaweed. Not a place to go for swimming in the ocean. Want to lay on the beach? Long stretch to find a nice quiet spot. Like water slides? What grown man doesn't? Nice break to do during the day after a few laps around the lazy river with a cold one (or two.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly activities were great. Something to do after dinner till about 11pm. Was decent local entertainment. English, friendly, fun. Was a high class Club Med many years ago. There are 4 tennis courts and lot of room to roam. An old go cart track (not in usable condition exists too. Paintball is available on the resort. Staff are very friendly and run games and activities all day long if you want to play.

Other Comments:
Would go back. If a beach and ocean makes or breaks your vacation, this is not your resort. If you want a fun vacation (not a party till you drop vacation) with good food and good people, this is the place.

Email: saintsfan23@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My stay at Coconut Bay Resort"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne & Ryan, Guelph  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
324 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan.18 - 25
We arrived at Coconut Bay Resort with little line-up to get checked in and shown to our rooms. Front Desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Lobby was attractive but certainly not lavish. This is not a 5 star, A bit of a stretch for a 4 star but still very nice.

Rooms:
We have stayed in nicer resorts with rooms that were much more attractive than the rooms at Coconut Bay but they were clean and view from our balcony was lovely. You can see the ocean from pretty well every room so don't upgrade to an oceanview. Rooms did not come with fridge which was unusual for us as we have never stayed in a resort that doesn't provide fridges in the room. Pretty bare bones in the rooms. You need adapters if you take curling irons or electric razors etc. The hallways are not really well lit at night but still felt very safe at resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the buffet (main dining area) every day but one. WE ate at the Itallian Rest. which was very good. The food at the resort was excellent. Great variety particularly at the theme evenings. Spare Ribs were wonderful. Breakast was OK, Nice variety at lunch and better at supper. Wait staff very friendly, not standing around with hands out looking for tip. Never once had to wait to get a seat at restaurant. Seemed like there was more than enough room for everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lots of fun and activiites around the pool area. Great spot for families with kids that like to be entertained. great lazy river and water slides. Beach was pretty nice, lots of sea weed but they work hard at keeping it clean (the beach) The hotel itself is a bit tired and could use some paint, new signs, some of the pool side cement tiles were loose which I think is unacceptable but overall it is a nice place. Lots of sand in the pools as a result of the winds off the ocean but it's a beach resort and if a little snad is going to bother you, then stay home and shovel the snow from your front steps instead. Outside lunch grill served lots of fast food for people if you chose not to go into dining area to eat. That was nice because if you were outside by the pooland didn't want to get changed or go indoors to eat you could grab something quick right there.l This was particulary good for young children who would prefer to be outside anyway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not go off the resort while visiting St. Lucia. Lots to do right there. Gym was good with no line-ups to use equipment. Entertainment was probably the best we have seen in any resort. They worked very hard to keep people happy in the evening and I would suggest that you attend every evenings entertainment.

Other Comments:
Other Comments:
St Lucia folks are amazingly friendly, honest, and very accommodating. I enjoyed our stay at the Coconut Bay Resort and feel that it was worth the price we paid for the resort. We paid $900.00 plus taxes. It was certainly worth the price, but would have been disappointed had we spent more on this resort. I think the resort is a great location for kids and families because it is so close to the airport an the activities that are there for them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a fabulous time"

Coconut Bay Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  T&M  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
312 people found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time. The weather was nice and hot with a constant breeze. Hotel room was simple, but clean and comfortable and a good size. Food was very good. The buffet was smaller than what we have enjoyed at other resorts but they changed up the menu every day and always had a good variety. I never ate the same thing twice or experienced anything I did not like. The Hotel puts on a Country and Western BBQ night on Wed and a Pirate theme cookout on Sat, plus with the Italian restaurant, the Asian restaurant and the Beach Grill, you only need to eat at the buffet restaurant 2 evenings, if you choose. Alcohol was plentiful. They offer all kinds of mixed tropical drinks and they are strong! Kids lazy river, pool, water fountain area, and slides were all alot of fun. Pools were cleaned daily. No need to reserve loungers as they offered plenty. Towels were picked up and dropped off as required by the pool. No towel cards required. No arm bracelets required. Beach was also cleaned daily of seaweed. Ocean was very rough so we did not swim there but did walk along the beach and put our feet in. Cushioned beds offered along the beach for a nice afternoon siesta.

My only complaint, and that is because we were travelling with a 4 year old, is that we arrived at the hotel at 1pm. Luggage follwed in a separate truck, but we did not get our room keys until after 4:30pm. Our little guy was very cranky and exhausted by then.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with young children because of all the great activities included. Hotel is literally minutes from the airport.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube