Rendezvous Resort Reviews

Home page > Saint Lucia > Saint Lucia Hotel Index > Rendezvous Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Castries Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2010

Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort & Spa

3.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 22, 2011

Smugglers Cove

3.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 14, 2013

Rex Papillon

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 15, 2010

Rex St. Lucian Resort

1.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 18, 2011

Rendezvous Resort  

Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia

"Romantic Couples Resort"
Posted by: nick on Jun 3, 2014
see all reviews

Rendezvous Resort Reviews
Rendezvous Resort Pictures and Information
Rendezvous Resort Castries Saint Lucia

#2
of 10 Hotels in Castries

User rating 4.6

Based on 5 reviews

Rendezvous Resort Information


Other couples-only holidays offer you the frenetic pace of what feels like a singles bar! If you like music blaring on the beach all day, if you like being prodded into doing what the staff thinks is holiday-camp fun and games, Rendezvous is not for you.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Rendezvous Resort Reviews

Rendezvous Resort Review: 4.6 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Romantic Couples Resort"

Rendezvous Resort
User Rating:  Rendezvous Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  nick  on Jun 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
10 people found this review helpful

Loved Rendezvous. The staff there was great and they really go out of their way to make sure you have a completely personalized romantic holiday. I coulnd't have been happier with our stay there. Very private, relaxing, and you can easily hang out at the resort and feel like your on a private island - simply the best.

Rooms:
Rooms were ok. We had a Garden View room which was the cheapest available. Great value for the cost and they recently redid them which was nice. Bathroom was great - personalized room service was by far the best though!

Restaurants and Bars:
Definitely take mixology if you get there! http://www.theromanticholiday.com/activities/mixology
They were great about learning what we liked and making up drinks for us on the spot!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't leave the resort, stayed there the entire time. Played tennis, went diving, and just stayed in the water. Malabar beach is amazing.

Other Comments:
Loved the staff here!

Photos: http://www.theromanticholiday.com/the-resort/video-and-image-gallery/resort-photographs

Videos: http://www.theromanticholiday.com/the-resort/video-and-image-gallery/resort-videos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful and Relaxing"

Rendezvous Resort
User Rating:  Rendezvous Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Val  on Sep 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

I left a little piece of my heart behind when I left the Rendezvous Resort and St. Lucia. My spouse and I were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. From the minute we arrived "via helicopter" to the resort we were so warmly welcomed.

The veranda suite was our little oasis for a week. It was large with a king size bed a love seat and ottoman a fridge / a small area with a tiny chandelier to change your clothes. We enjoyed the jets in the shower. There was not a bathtub in this room category.The terrace was large with 2 steamer chairs and a small table with two side chairs. The gardens are beautiful with the sound of tree frogs at night.

The main restaurant was so nice to look at the sea first thing in the morning while I enjoy my coffee. We had service always with a smile. The meal were always varied and we enjoyed all of them. The Trystings is also very nice. We enjoyed our meal there as well. We also ventured to the sister resort La Sport and had dinner at the Tao restaurant. It was amazing!!

The tour to the volcano and botanical gardens was also really nice. It was a great photo opportunity for the Pitons. The boat tour operator was very knpwledgeable about the island. It was a great day!

We also took advantage of using the taxi service at the resort. Andy was so much fun to be with.He took us to Rodney Bay so we could venture onto Pigion Island. It was an interesting sight as well.

I can not say enough good things about this resort. We are going back next week for two weeks for our anniversary again.I am so looking forward to seeing the people at the resort and the island. I am sure there is a condo there with my name on it!

Enjoy your trip!

Cheers

Room Number:
120

Room Block:
verandah suites

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Met our expectations and then some"

Rendezvous Resort
User Rating:  Rendezvous Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Harry  on Apr 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
308 people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights at the Rendezvous and were pleasantly surprised that every aspect met our expectations. We stayed in a Veranda Suite which had an oversize terrace with 2 lounge chairs and a small table and chairs which we fully utilized. I would say that our terrace was one of the most private due to the amount of foliage in front, plus it was an end unit. Directly across from us was one of the hidden entrances into the small hidden pool where we spent most of our pool time. Several small nooks and crannies. If you wanted somewhere to dip in the water with a somewhat private place to lay in the sun, it was perfect. We especially loved it when Minnie Me jumped through the bushes to offer to bring drinks. Always with a big smile on his face!
We did take 2 taxi ventures out of the resort, and would advise other guests to do the same, rather than attempting to auto-ing around the island. Other islands are easier to drive around. St. Lucia is not, so here are the two drivers to definitely contact. One with Andy Alexander (758.720.9829) who proved to be just as wonderful as many previous reviews indicated. He was knowledgable, accommodating and went out of his way to provide the best experience possible. We went to Soufrieres, the Pitons, the Volcano and Marigot Bay. All very interesting. We also hired Linus Placide (758.384.3016) who took us to Rodney Bay which we were a little bit disappointed with. However Linus was very accommodating as well. We wanted to go to Coal Pot restaurant and Linus offered to make our reservations and drive us there as well. We had a terrific table by the water and the restaurant was excellent and just 5 minutes away. We met another couple from Indiana, Lisa and Tom, whom we had dinner with on several occasions. They were great company and we owe them a bottle of wine which we hope to be able share with them on another get together!
All Rendezvous amenities were as advertised. There were smiles and greetings from every part of the resort....from the gift shop to the spa to the pools throughout the dining areas. The only negative of our stay would have been certain attitudes that a couple of the ladies who manned the front desk. No names, but they really should follow the examples set by their fellow employees.
The internet can only be used by one guest at a time. We are sure they will improve this to offer wireless available in the rooms and suites. We can appreciate the no tv policy (even though you can quietly enjoy a flat screen television in the work out room), but even vacationers desire keeping abreast of happenings at home and around the world.

Room Number:
116

Arrival:
March 18, 2010

Rooms:
garden veranda suite

Restaurants and Bars:
coal pot
the tryst

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lots of potential but not cutting it"

Rendezvous Resort
User Rating:  Rendezvous Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  andrew  on Feb 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
460 people found this review helpful

This resort has the makings of a great place to go, But there are quite a few short commings. The food is very boring,lacking in imagination and variety. there is no wifi or computer hookups available. As the beaches are public, if your roon is on the ground floor you need to sleep with the doors locked, but the windows don't open so you must have the A/C on all night. Makes it very hard to hear the surf. it seems that all the liquor is watered down, a double scotch and you can't even tell you've had a drink. And worst yet is they put instant coffee in the rooms for the morning, If i'm paying $ 1000. per night give or take I want some good cofee.On the plus side the staff are all, without question very friendly and helpful. No I won't go back.

Rooms:
Very nice, but no opening windows, no water 3 days in a row for about an hour each morning.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nothing is too much trouble"

Rendezvous Resort
User Rating:  Rendezvous Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janet from Cornwall  on Dec 4, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
479 people found this review helpful

Many travel agents report that the rooms have been upgraded during the recent $15 million refurbishment, this is not true the bathrooms in the ocean front rooms are exactly the same as in 2004 and need some tlc, the most that has been done is that they may have received a lick of paint.

Rooms:
The trysting place is a very nice restaurant the air conditioning works a little too well so a light wrap or similar would be advisable. The terrace dining area has been refurbished and is very nice but is too bright in the evenings to even be close to romantic. The food in both is very good considering it's an all inclusive as they can vary greatly.

Beach and Pools:
Malabar beach is a very nice beach nearly 2 miles long of mostly soft sand the locals play football and bring their families at the weekends as with all beaches on st Lucia it's a public beach. No one bothers you much a couple of hawkers Paul and Jimmy but they don't hassle you. There are plenty of loungers on the beach and a flag system is operated for drinks, just stick your flag in the sand and someone comes to take your order. There are 2 pools the beachside pool with a swim up bar which could do with some tlc but it's quite nice with more comfortable loungers than on the beach. The second smaller pool is what's called the activities pool where they do water arobics twice daily then it's quite quiet and has new loungers and chairs which are very comfortable and the pool has just been retiled and the new spa has just been built overlooking the pool, I can't comment on the spa because it wasn't finished when we stayed, nor was the running river or the gym.

To do:
The grounds are lovely but to mind they've ruined part of it by building a running river with wading pools? older photograghs show this area as a green planted lawn with hammocks dotted around between the trees there are no longer any signs of the hammocks but as I have said the running river was nowhere completed when we stayed. There is plenty to do here or not whichever is your choice.
There is snorkelling and scuba diving, sailing, kayaking, pedalos, doughnut rides, water skiing with qualified instructors even for beginners, these are all very good. There are also archery lessons and golf along with other fun games and antics which are also very good fun. An island tour is a mustvisiting the drive in volcano and the botanical gardens and the waterfall where you can swim and a water taxi to swim between the Pitons and snorkel. We also chartered a speed boat for an afternoon from Rodney Bay called Trade Winds and the guy's name was Alvis, well worth the money and local piton beer all afternoon or wine or soft drinks, we went into small coves and fishing villages that you can only really see from the sea.

Tours:
The island tour we did with Cosol tours they are very good and knowledeable about their island again plenty of beer and rum punch you can do a private tour or a group tourwhichever you prefer, also fresh local bread and biscuits. Cosol's number is 758 7196697 or 758 4506848 his email is cosol966@hotmail.com he also has a website cosol-tours.com well worth checking out. It's also possible to do a helicopter ride around the island which I'm told was excellent.

Rendezvous Resort:
When we booked our holiday at Rendezvous we were told that the revamp had been completed this was nowhere near the case we had to walk over planks and through mud to get to our room because they were building the running river many of the paths were unusable because they were working on them, there were diggers outside our room when we arrived and also on the beach moving sand to cover cables and large parts of the garden were being dug up to replace drainage piping. We were in a verandah suite which was very nice with a bottle of bubbly waiting for us on arrival,unfortunately as I've said it was quite difficult to get to and noisy,they also started working on the gym which was next door so they were hammering and banging and angle grinding until 10.30 at night.After 3 days we were moved to an ocean front room which was quiter but also smaller and the bathroom needed some tlc as I've already said. We also had a powercut for 24 hours so had no airconditioning. In view of all this the management organized a catamaran trip for everyone who wanted to go, we wentto pigeon island and had a barbeque on the beach and plenty of music and rum punch. All the negatives aside I'm sure Rendezvous will once again be as beautiful as it once was and it truly is a wonderful place and what makes it so special is the staff, some of them are truly exceptional and have worked at Rendezvous almost as long as it's been open, they truley are like a family and this shows in their work. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is delivered with a smile and a "you're welcome" and it is meant. If they haven't got it they will endeaver to get it for you. This is why we will be returning to Rendezvous in March 2010 for 3 weeks. It will also be nice to see the refurb finished.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube