Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Reviews

Home page > Turks and Caicos Islands > Turks and Caicos Islands Hotel Index > Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Grace Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

The Sands at Grace Bay

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2010

Sibonne Hotel on Grace Bay Beach

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 19, 2010

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort  

Lower Bight Rd, Providenciales

"Friendly Staff - Im not stella"
Posted by: barbara on Jul 6, 2014
see all reviews

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Reviews
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Pictures and Information
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Grace Bay Turks and Caicos Islands

#1
of 7 Hotels in Grace Bay

User rating 3.1

Based on 7 reviews

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Information


Dive into a one-of-a-kind, unbelievably exciting all inclusive family vacation at Beaches Turks & Caicos.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Reviews

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 3.1 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (4)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
Solo
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 7 of 7

"Friendly Staff - Im not stella"

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  barbara  on Jul 6, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
27 people found this review helpful

Hotel was overpriced. Wait staff friendly, over friendly at the dive shop to the point of annoyance especially the boat captain and the dominican instructor who was abrupt and asked us to go to trip-advisor to give him positive reviews after he gave me his phone number and my address.

The beach is the best thing about the property.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun Family Vacation"

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff  on May 10, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
187 people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Turks Beaches following 4 very enjoyable stays at Beaches Boscobel. We travelled with our two sons (age 6 & 7) and visited for 10 days.
Let me begin by saying that this destination is quite expensive and considerably pricier than Beaches Boscobel.
Highlights:
Resort is extremely close to the Airport.
Large, beautiful beach.
3 well-appointed pools: all with swim-up bars.
Italian Village Pool is nicest: we spent half our time at this pool.
Water park is good but not great.
Large selection of restaurants but need more choices on the ala carte menus.
Although the resort is quite large, it doesn't feel like it. You can walk between the villages within about 3-7 minutes of each other.
We stayed in the French Village which is conveniently located near the water park. Room was ok.

Arrival:
Arrival is quick and seamless...though we did arrive on a Friday which we gathered is far less busy than arriving on the weekend. Resort is very close and we were put into a shuttle within minutes.
We left on a Sunday and the airport was MUCH busier. Many people complained about the cramped conditions.

Rooms:
As above, we were in the French Village: Luxury Walk-out King. Rooms are quite small and you only get outdoor space if you pay extra for a terrace (which we did). The 2nd or 3rd floors do not have balconies.
Our bathroom was relatively small and we did get ants in the washrooms sinks + floor over 2-3 days. This was quickly addressed by the staff who sprayed immediately.
There was also a 'trundle' bed which offered a pull-out mattress. Works well for children. The room in Beaches Boscobel were more 'dated' but they were also much larger for the same category of room.
We would have preferred to stay at the Italian Village; but it is far more expensive.

Restaurants and Bars:
Large selection of Restaurants. We prefer ala carte so I'll focus on these. The Breakfast buffets are also all good (largest & newest is Marios).
Favorites:
Kimono's: Japanese stlye. Very entertaining and quality of food was good. Only drawback is that you have to make a reservation as soon as you arrive and limited to one visit/week.
Schooners: Mostly seafood, but the steak & chicken were both good as well. The scallops were excellent.
Barefoot by the Sea: Great all around for breakfast and dinner. The tenderloin is very good. Beware of sand-mites: we wore bug spray as a precuatuion (bring this with you).
Bobby D's Diner: fantastic for ice cream, sundaes, milkshakes, popcorn, etc. Also good for very casual fast food: onion rings, burgers, etc.
Sushi Bar: enjoyed the decent selection of sushi.
Le Petit Chateau: Adult only, enjoyed the duck.
Cafe De Paris: great for coffee & specialty coffee drinks. Also offered a tasty selection of pastries and mouth-watering chocolate croissant.
2 Pizzerias: both good for pizza & sandwiches. The thin crust pizza at the Caribbean Village pizzeria was amazing.
Biggest complaint about the ala carte restaurants (not including the adult only spots) is that the selection on the menu is quite limied unless you like fish.
At Schooners, Barefoot by the Sea and Arizonas, outside of chicken or steak, there isn't a ton of choice. At Beaches Boscobel, the Venetican Restaurant had a treamendous selection (steak, chicken, rack of lamb, pork tenderloin, etc...) and there was no ala carte restauranat at Turks Beaches which offered this type of menu. Also, NO shell fish (Lobster, Crab, etc.) could be found anywhere we ate.
We were told the buffet restaurants for dinner were average.
BARS:
Good swim-up bars with very short waits.
Very few other bars for socializing aside from the pub.
There is virtually no adult entertainment after 9pm.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Italian Village pool was heated and was our favorite. It is also the busiest by far. Great design with lots of shallow areas for toddlers.
French Village Pool is also nice with the most comfortable lounging chairs.
Caribbean Village Pools are the oldest but one of them offers some waterfalls which are fun to swim under.
Waterpark: Not a great layout and really only 2 medium sized slides. The priates island portion is on land and not in water. Ok for very small toddlers. Beaches Boscobel water park is significantly larger and more fun: has many waterslides including a few large ones which are a blast. Also at Beaches Boscobel, adults can be in the pools where the slides are set up so they can watch their children while enjoying the pool. In the Turks Waterpark, the slides are set up very diffent- with no 'social-pool' area for the adults to swim in or lounge around.
There are NO large waterslides in the Turks waterpark.
Lazy river and surf simulator are both a ton of fun for adults & children.
Beach is very, very nice and definitely one of the draws. The water is beautiful and very little seaweed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
X-Box Garage is large and well equipped with games...however, you will often need assistance from the near invisible staff to reset a game, replace the batteries on the controllers OR add a second controller for two players.
There is an outdoor area for young children which has a few pool tables, ping pong, fooseball and a basketball game. Regretfully, during our visit the basketball game broke down and was never fixed during our stay.
The 'tweens' have their own games room which looked fun; as well as a disco.
Tennis courts were good and rarely busy.
Sesame Street shows are a hit with the kids; but they haven't changed these in 4-5 years.
Sesame Street Parade: wonderful and children love the entire parade route.

Other Comments:
Even with my reservations noted above, this is still a great resort and most likely you'll have a wonderful vacation. Kids of all ages likely won't notice any of the negatives and the majority of adults will enjoy the amenities as well. Overall, our family would still receommend this destination.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation for Families w/friendly staff"

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Dec 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
261 people found this review helpful

This is our 6th visit. We've generally been here variously form late December to April. Plenty to do and the food is satisfactory. Service has steadily improved over the ears. We have gotten to know some of the staff and the stability is I pressive. Esmeralda has been mixing drinks for me at Arizona's for years! Tony keeps us informed abot another order who had had family/health issues but Beaches has kept. I don't knowcabout wages/benefits, but they seem to like their work and are friendly to guests.

We stay in the cheapest rooms because there isn't much reason to get nicer amenities when you can eat anywhere Andy's any facilities. We ate at Sapodillo's last night for the first tie (adults only). It was spectacular.

Room Number:
223

Arrival:
Dec27

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beaches Turks Is. Vacation "

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda  on Nov 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
242 people found this review helpful

Beaches Resort is a fine resort but it felt like I was in the Philippines or Jamaica. I get that its owners are from Jamaica but each Resort should have the country flair it is in. I usual travel with vacation with a purpose and like to empower and enrich lives when I travel.

The resort was fine. Everyone was cordial, the food was great and the grounds were well kept.

Two things bothered me most was that the salaries paid to workers at the resort is really minimum wages. The workers are not treated too well by management. I got that comment alot. WOW. I like to have little chit chats with team members and, being the biologist that I am, was surprised to see the large groups of casurina in pine trees on the resort adjacent beach.

They should replace them with native coconut trees which give a feel for the tropics.

I would recommend it but the price of the vacation and the airfare must decrease. I could go on three vacations in Aruba, Belize, Mexico or the Bahamas for one vacation at Beaches Turks Islands. With the recession in place people are looking for value for money.

Arrival:
Taxi drove way too fast. Like I was scared. Like they are in the Indi 500.

Rooms:
Clean and neat. Lots of ants in room and cockroaches. Guess this is normal for the tropics. Yuck

Restaurants and Bars:
Love the kids restaurant near the water slide. Milk shakes were wonderful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great - Pool & Beach Staff Great ! Seem demoralized by management

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Fantastic. Love the native dress.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Family Resort - Worth the money"

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  PatToronto  on Dec 31, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
343 people found this review helpful

Our children are aged 11, 9, 8 and 6. This is the best family resort we've ever been to. On each visit I continue to see more and more couples of all ages without their children (or grand-children) on the trip with them. It truly is a resort for all everyone, so don't dismiss it because you won't be there with children. Many extended families make the trip together. There is enough to do that you could hide from that one relative and spend extra time with the ones you like.

Rooms:
We received the connecting rooms we requested for our family of six. The rooms were the best connecting rooms we've ever had.

Restaurants and Bars:
With 16 restaurants it's hard to complain. If you don't like what you get just get up and go to the next. Only two places require reservations for dinner. You can get a buffet or order of a menu at any meal at almost any time of hte day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach on Grace Bay is incredible for sun worshippers, scuba divers, and everyone else.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The water park opened earlier this year and was a great addition to the last time we were at the resort.

Other Comments:
I enjoy not wearing a wrist-band, not tipping, not being told I need to lineup at 3pm to book my meals for the week, not having to keep track of my six towels, not paying for the safe each day, not being told I can't order two entrees (add the Risotto to your Steak!!), not checking my watch to know when the restaurants open...you get the idea. Spend the extra money. It's worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our trip was a total disaster to Beaches Turks"

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Nov 1, 2009  >  22 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
321 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 2009
We stayed at Beaches Turks and Caicos in June...we where 5 time returning guests to Beaches...this past June we had things stolen from our room...underage drinking in club liquid...no security on grounds...no room upgrades for returning guests...and lots more...addressed my complaint to the resort..they want to do nothing about it

Other Comments:
our trip was a total disaster to Beaches Turks and Caicos...the resort was not willing to address anything we brought up...

Email Karen: coolmom122@comcast.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"On a whole a great vacation"

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort
User Rating:  Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wellington  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
326 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Aug 29 2009-Sep 5 2009
Travelled with my wife and 2 1/2 year old son, our first visit to Beaches/TCI. Carrier was Air Canada Vacations and began as a disaster, flight was delayed for over 2 hours and arrived at Beaches after 11 pm. It was a full flight and food at the departure lounge for my 2 year old was a challange. Luckily I packed some instant noodles and only had to get hot water. (Tim Hortons's was kind...the line up at Tim Hortons's was 30-40 minutes). Once arrived the airport transfers went smoothly. Beaches provided small vans that took 2 families at a time and there was no waiting. Once at Beaches (Stayed at the French Village) checking in was smooth and our luggage was delivered just as quick. Of course,nutrition was a priority and fortunately while all the regular restuarants were closed...Bobby D's was open 24 hours and provided a reasonably good meal. At night it seemed to be a MAZE to get there, but in reality the resort facilities were very close and central. Beaches has 3 villag! es/sections..the older French Village, the Caribbean Village and the new Italian section. There is a Water Park for different ages, a lazy river, Spa and Gym and off course the beach...Grace Bay. Sand was perfect white and torquoise blue with little ripples.

Rooms:
The French Village though the oldest was comfortable and located at the back end of the resort. The Caribbean Village and Italian Village are closer to the beach and are adajacent respectively to the west and east side of the French Village. Our room had the usual double beds, fridge and dressers and TV. It was clean and housekeeping was excellent. We never seem to run out of towels. We were tucked in every night and fresh towels were provided again. There was no walk out balcony except a balconette. The French Section was in the form of a large C, all overlooking a large swimming pool. There is one elevator and the building has 3 floors and almost all are connected by a passage way. There were no mosquitoes here or in the Caribbean Village. (Italian Section however harbored a few critters) Only problem in the French Village was with rain..water always covered the passage ways and drainage was inadequate.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was no problem with 15-16 restuarants and Bobby D's open 24 hours. Each Village had a Buffet for breakfast/lunch and dinner (French-Giuseppi's, Caribbean-Reflections and Italian-Mario's} The best was Mario's for meals (there are to entrances to Mario's. The side entrance was next to Gordon's Pizzeria and no steps to go up and down and certainly easier with a baby stroller). Bye the Sea (restuarant) provided caribbean choices and was spicer. Schooner's was my other choice..a la carte. The staff here was superb and kept my 2 year old occupied with crayons and even took him for a stroll while we ate. Engelo was perfect with kids. The Cricketer's Pub is worth mentioning..lover their Fish and Chips. Arizona serves a good Jerk chicken all day (Beach Grill) The bad side...coffee was a challange everywhere. The BEST coffee...served at Cafe de Paris..laite/cappucino and deserts to die for. At closing time (10pm) most deserts were gone. The staff af the Cafe were super.The Suchi! i Bar was interesting and good for the novice. Food on a whole was good but tend to lack depth. Presentation was good. Deserts at Beaches/Sandals still remain the best of all the Caribbean Resorts (Paradisus-Melia chain and Iberostar in comparison). The bars are everywhere and bartenders were very capable)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grace Beach..one word...PERFECT. No sea weeds, clear torquoise water and little ripples safe for my 2 year old. Beach chairs were abundant and shade was sufficient. The usual BEACH CHAIR HOGS are here too...so be warned. Unlike other resorts..most guests wake up late (probably due to kids) Pools and grounds are clean and well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of children activites..Sesamee St characters. Club Sesame was great. Air conditioned with a shallow kid pool adajacent. They provided care from birth to 24 months and up. Better still..will baby sit till 10 pm at no charge. The close between 5-6pm and reopen after 6pm. There is Chocolate Extravaganza on Monday nights (try the Chocolate Martini's), A Sesame street Parade and a Beach Party (If you like Suckling Pig...there is only one roasted..so be early).Did not go on tours.

Other Comments: On a whole a great vacation. Good food and staff. Beautiful Beach and resort. Coffee needs to be improved.

Email: WPWthillca@aol.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube